Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"

justnits
post Jan 6 2011, 04:28 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

My budget is sub RM1k
currently thinking of X8, Optimus One and Optimus Chic (Optimus Chic available in Malaysia?)

------------------------------------

Advantage of X8
-Cheap RM760
-*16M colour screen (but i read somewhere saying that the display is not actually 16M)
-Design wise seems to be better than Optimus One

Disadvantage of X8
-BIGGEST of all is Slow software updates being stuck at Android 2.1 resulting in Apps being unable to install in SD card
-Camera no Autofocus
-no multitouch
-single widget
-somewhat low RAM

Advantage of Optimus One
-multitouch
-camera with autofocus
-2.2 Froyo and can upgrade to 2.3 Gingerbread
-big battery
-512mb RAM

Disadvantage of Optimus One
-3MP camera compared to Optimus Chic
-video @18fps
-256k colour compared to X8's 16M*

Advantage of Optimus Chic
-nice design
-5mp camera
-multitouch
-camera with autofocus
-2.2 Froyo and can upgrade to 2.3 Gingerbread

Disadvantage of Optimus Chic
-a bit pricier i think but i heard it might be cheaper than Optimus One too
-battery smaller than Optimus One
-review shows that buttons must be pressed harder

i don't know whether Optimus Chic will be out in Malaysia or not and I don't know the price, though i estimate it to be below 1k or not more than 1.1k.
anyone have solid info about this?
i wud prefer to get X8 but from the complains i read in various forums about X8 really scares me.

all in all, it's between O1 and OC.
summarizing it, OC has nicer design and better camera. O1 has bigger battery. wat would u guys choose and why?
justnits
post Jan 6 2011, 08:19 PM

2,968 posts

but specifications sheet doesn't state the PPI...guess i'll have to look at the units with mine own eyes first...
justnits
post Jan 6 2011, 09:51 PM

2,968 posts

i don't see anyone selling OC yet though...would like to have a look at it before deciding...
justnits
post Jan 6 2011, 10:14 PM

2,968 posts

the memory difference is almost negligible since it's only 20MB difference in the internal memory. both have 512MB RAM. so the main difference is the camera and 18fps video vs 30fps video, battery and of course the design tongue.gif

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...6&idPhone2=3494

both have multi-touch, it isn't written here in O1's spec list but it's written in the review. if you look at chic's design, u wud know y i dilemma over O1 and OC tongue.gif
justnits
post Jan 6 2011, 11:08 PM

2,968 posts

i don't know sad.gif dat's y i dilemma LOL!
justnits
post Jan 7 2011, 12:41 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(mizer @ Jan 7 2011, 12:03 AM)
Alright, last choices, DHD or Nexus S ? smile.gif
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...0&idPhone2=3468

do u make video calls? if yes then u need nexus s lol...

personally i wud go for htc dhd..

i just noticed, some site says nexus s comes with 8mp n gsmarena says 5mp...which is true?

justnits
post Jan 7 2011, 12:36 PM

2,968 posts

for me, strong points of Nexus S is nice screen, big battery and possibly faster software update if not the fastest. (there's front camera too for video call, but not something that i would be using unless can video call thru gtalk like facetime biggrin.gif)

HTC's strong points are slightly bigger screen, got microSD, more RAM, better camera and HTC have been using android for quite sometime already so i guess software update shouldn't be too far behind. (there's 720p video recording, but again, not something that i would be using often)

i didn't mention FM radio cuz i don't use that at all...so it's not at all a disadvantage for nexus or an advantage for dhd tongue.gif

This post has been edited by justnits: Jan 7 2011, 12:38 PM
justnits
post Jan 7 2011, 12:57 PM

2,968 posts

ahh...ok...i didn't really look at Nexus S and DHD's real unit...dun wanna poison myself yet since i dun have the budget for those phones yet tongue.gif
justnits
post Jan 7 2011, 01:48 PM

2,968 posts

for a moment i thought you meant RM5xx XD
justnits
post Jan 7 2011, 07:43 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(Music Mania @ Jan 7 2011, 05:47 PM)
For now, IMO, yes, one of the best entry smartphone. Although, the newly unveiled Huawei IDEOS X5 (not available in Malaysia at the moment) seems to outmatch it, IF the price is of the Optimus One's range.

Anyone has a rough estimation of the IDEOS' price?
http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_u8800_ideos_x5-3596.php
says release in may 2011...but seeing the specs, i doubt it'll be the same price range as Optimus One...possibly sub 1.4-1.5k range
justnits
post Jan 8 2011, 08:11 PM

2,968 posts

i'ma wait for Optimus Chic, don't know when that one comes out yet...probably when that one comes out, more handset that cost sub 1k will be available...but that means more headache too LOL!
justnits
post Jan 8 2011, 09:02 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Jan 8 2011, 08:49 PM)
That is why, if ur patient.. wait.. the greater newer android OS phones are coming in soon. Those are worth the bucks. And who knows, a good mid range phone might be on its way.

And LG warranty is ok. I just don trust the brand though. Had problems with my previous LG, nvr turning back.
wat sort of problems with ur previous LG and wat model? i've never had any LG phones before and last time i heard many ppl say that it's bad...would appreciate your feedback smile.gif
justnits
post Jan 9 2011, 01:38 AM

2,968 posts

@LightningFist, i wanted to get Optimus One at first too, but after looking at some video demo of the phone and Optimus Chic's, i'm set to buy Optimus Chic when it's released in Malaysia, when will that be, i do not know, but i'll wait tongue.gif
justnits
post Jan 9 2011, 01:59 AM

2,968 posts

take a look at this two video and try to notice the interface movement and the reviewer's finger, let me know wat u think after watching both video.

Optimus One
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vyt1IjdDGu4&feature=channel

Optimus Chic
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8fKvAUTi5w

justnits
post Jan 9 2011, 11:15 PM

2,968 posts

hmm, after looking at the video again and actually listening to it (i wasn't listening to it when i first watch the video as the pc i was using at that time doesn't have speaker or neither do i have a earphone with me) i heard the reviewer says the interface is a bit choppy at times. =/

LightningFist, smoother and more responsive touch are important. of course we dun expect much from mid-range phones but surely if we have the option to see whichever performs better, we go for the ones that is better right? but of course if the price difference and the performance doesn't match up to your expectations then that's a different thing altogether. if i tried the unit with my own hands and with my own judgement i think that the extra responsiveness isn't worth the price i pay for then i go for O1 instead. though the 5mp and the comment that Chic produces better picture in low light condition compared to O1's.

if my budget went up to sub 1.3k range, i'm gonna have a new set of phones to dilemma thru tongue.gif and that acer's liquid metal's spec looks interesting...
justnits
post Jan 10 2011, 09:15 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(lastlovesong @ Jan 10 2011, 01:10 AM)
can anyone recommend me best android phone with price range around rm600-rm800? was thinking about x10 or mb300... any better phone?
RM850-899 can get LG Optimus One. that's what i'll recommend u.
justnits
post Jan 10 2011, 12:51 PM

2,968 posts

erm, u know right that X10 is priced around RM1.4k? and Optimus One is RM8XX? price difference by so much, based on hardware, definitely X10 beat O1 flat, haha! but even so i wouldn't get X10 or any phone from SE.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/06/sony-er...nd-android-2-1/

X10 is stuck at 2.1 only. for that price range i might just consider Acer Liquid Metal as it's running a 800MHz processor...but i didn't find out much about phones in that price range since it's out of my budget tongue.gif
justnits
post Jan 10 2011, 02:40 PM

2,968 posts

piscesguy, its not launch yet...or at least not dat i know of... sad.gif

X10 is about RM1385 lah, source from www.1handphone.com
the cheaper version is X10 mini...but the screen is freaking small...haha!

i've been looking for sub RM1k phones, for Android phones, Optimus One is the best i've found so far....for me lah. unless u want to go for sub RM800 phones, but of course u have to see if the spec meets your requirements or not. Optimus One certainly meets mine.
justnits
post Jan 10 2011, 05:26 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jan 10 2011, 04:10 PM)
Drop till 900 even those who are not Android users will definitely get it with its specs. O1 is the best of its price range. Period.
agreed biggrin.gif

0.0447sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:13 AM