Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"
xDarkKnightx
Jan 7 2011, 09:20 AM
Nexus S beats DHD IMO. Better screen, very good battery life, front camera, Vanilla android, fastest O.S updating and a few more. Price wise too. All in all its still your choice but my vote goes to Nexus S and so does a few of our recommenders.
justnits
Jan 7 2011, 12:36 PM
for me, strong points of Nexus S is nice screen, big battery and possibly faster software update if not the fastest. (there's front camera too for video call, but not something that i would be using unless can video call thru gtalk like facetime  ) HTC's strong points are slightly bigger screen, got microSD, more RAM, better camera and HTC have been using android for quite sometime already so i guess software update shouldn't be too far behind. (there's 720p video recording, but again, not something that i would be using often) i didn't mention FM radio cuz i don't use that at all...so it's not at all a disadvantage for nexus or an advantage for dhd This post has been edited by justnits: Jan 7 2011, 12:38 PM
xDarkKnightx
Jan 7 2011, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 7 2011, 12:36 PM) for me, strong points of Nexus S is nice screen, big battery and possibly faster software update if not the fastest. (there's front camera too for video call, but not something that i would be using unless can video call thru gtalk like facetime  ) HTC's strong points are slightly bigger screen, got microSD, more RAM, better camera and HTC have been using android for quite sometime already so i guess software update shouldn't be too far behind. (there's 720p video recording, but again, not something that i would be using often) i didn't mention FM radio cuz i don't use that at all...so it's not at all a disadvantage for nexus or an advantage for dhd  Even if theres more ram, the Sense UI or any other launcher would eat up a portion of it. Vanilla UI consumes the LEAST ram compared with every other one IIRC. Software update would be fastest for Nexus S, then Nexus One/Desire line, SGS and so on. 720p recording is present in Nexus S too. HTC's screen is TFT which is ugly at that pixel(480x800).
justnits
Jan 7 2011, 12:57 PM
ahh...ok...i didn't really look at Nexus S and DHD's real unit...dun wanna poison myself yet since i dun have the budget for those phones yet
ShinnKQ
Jan 7 2011, 01:08 PM
Nexus S > Galaxy S > DHD imo.
xDarkKnightx
Jan 7 2011, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 7 2011, 12:57 PM) ahh...ok...i didn't really look at Nexus S and DHD's real unit...dun wanna poison myself yet since i dun have the budget for those phones yet  Nexus S is cheaper. Coming in at $5xx. I have personally used the DHD and i find it smooth. VERY smooth. Thats on FroYo. With Gingerbread + Vanilla on the Nexus S i think it would be cream smooth. Nexus S>SGS>Desire
justnits
Jan 7 2011, 01:48 PM
for a moment i thought you meant RM5xx XD
xDarkKnightx
Jan 7 2011, 01:54 PM
^ Lol! Impossible. Then it would really be the best phone ever.
imationyj
Jan 7 2011, 05:09 PM
lg optimus one is the best for budget rm 1k+/- ?
Music Mania
Jan 7 2011, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(imationyj @ Jan 7 2011, 05:09 PM) lg optimus one is the best for budget rm 1k+/- ? For now, IMO, yes, one of the best entry smartphone. Although, the newly unveiled Huawei IDEOS X5 (not available in Malaysia at the moment) seems to outmatch it, IF the price is of the Optimus One's range. Anyone has a rough estimation of the IDEOS' price?
jiashun001
Jan 7 2011, 06:53 PM
any new android phone recommnd?
justnits
Jan 7 2011, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(Music Mania @ Jan 7 2011, 05:47 PM) For now, IMO, yes, one of the best entry smartphone. Although, the newly unveiled Huawei IDEOS X5 (not available in Malaysia at the moment) seems to outmatch it, IF the price is of the Optimus One's range. Anyone has a rough estimation of the IDEOS' price? http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_u8800_ideos_x5-3596.phpsays release in may 2011...but seeing the specs, i doubt it'll be the same price range as Optimus One...possibly sub 1.4-1.5k range
41LY45
Jan 7 2011, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 7 2011, 07:43 PM) http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_u8800_ideos_x5-3596.phpsays release in may 2011...but seeing the specs, i doubt it'll be the same price range as Optimus One...possibly sub 1.4-1.5k range Same specs as the Desire Z la bro. http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...6&idPhone2=3421Same processor, next gen Qualcomm processor
lucifer_666
Jan 7 2011, 08:32 PM

almost bought O1 today but someone grab it (the only one:P) while i withdraw the bucks. darn!!!
xDarkKnightx
Jan 7 2011, 09:31 PM
^ Lol! Sad case. Check out Acer Liquid Metal. Same specs as DZ and it has a camera button.
imationyj
Jan 7 2011, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Jan 7 2011, 08:32 PM) almost bought O1 today but someone grab it (the only one:P) while i withdraw the bucks. darn!!! wa so good sales? is it tat good till no stock? i mayb tmr go buy XD hope got stock
versey
Jan 7 2011, 11:13 PM
I want to turn my phone into wifi-spot, so I need the phone comes with froyo 2.2 standard. pls recommend me. thanks budget less than RM 800.
JinLeon
Jan 8 2011, 12:31 AM
recenly i saw many android phone selling arround me... backflip (i really like the design) RM680 G5 (the best phone that fits my budget) RM630 Wildfire (many ppl have a good review on it) RM590 CSL Mi300 (low budget v high spec) RM699 Hua wei IDEOS ??? RM699
Calex
Jan 8 2011, 01:32 AM
Hmm... whats worth upgrading to from a Nexus One?