9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"

xDarkKnightx
post Dec 31 2010, 02:09 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(CubeLogic @ Dec 30 2010, 08:26 PM)
1. Brand. anything
2. Budget. (1.5k-2k)
3. Specs. (high res screen/wont lag)
4. What you need in the phone (speed,batt life,)
AP/ORI Desire. No other phone has that amount of speed or battery life in that price range. Galaxy S is a no-no for the lag issue.

Added on December 31, 2010, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(aba9785 @ Dec 31 2010, 11:42 AM)
Happy new year to all, kinda noob to android phone.
so would like to seek advice here
currently using nokia 5800, a good basic touch screen phone, but doesnt have the means to become a good travel companion (i need more useful app when i go travel, better reliability, better surfing device)

here's my requirement
---------------------------
- stable, reliable, good surfing experience (not like my 5800 which lags when i open few tab when surfing and show me Memory not enough)
- to view document, picture, offline maps, travel info (i m more like a backpacker and travel light, so prefer something that i can refer to)
- apps, plenty of useful travel apps. (not so related as android market will fit my needs)

i understand that battery life might be an issue when i go travel, i m prepare to get an extra mobile charger to charge it on the go. mostly will bring a garmin gps device with me (cant afford the data rate for google online map) when abroad.
kinda torn between getting a cheaper android tablet for travel or getting a better spec android phone  brows.gif

Pls help to recommend me...  notworthy.gif

Android tablet
--------------------
1. Brand?
any

2. Budget?
less than 1k

3. Specs. (Processor / RAM / OS Version / screen size)
OS - at least android 2.1 (with chance to upgrade to 2.2 or 2.3 with custom rom or factory OTA)
the rest should be alright since this is a budget travel companion

4. What you need in the phone
refer to requirement above
Android phone
--------------------
1. Brand?
any

2. Budget?
1.5k-2k (maybe till 2.5k or try to get contract from maxis/digi

3. Specs. (Processor / RAM / OS Version / screen size)
OS - at least android 2.1 (with chance to upgrade to 2.2 or 2.3 with custom rom or factory OTA)
better camera quality, hd video recording, 3G video calling (front camera)

4. What you need in the phone
refer to requirement above
or i should just sign up from digi n get their offering?  blink.gif
For the Tablet i'm not sure. Maybe Nook Colour or any other tablets will be okay. For the phone, i recommend you go for the Nexus S thats gonna be available soon for around 1.7-2.4k depending on when you wanna get it because it has a front camera like the Galaxy S and also the camera has flash unlike its Samsung counterpart. Vanilla UI is also a core selling point for this phone without any sort of lag and a smooth browsing experience which is a contender, if not superior to the iPhone 4.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Dec 31 2010, 02:11 PM
xDarkKnightx
post Dec 31 2010, 06:41 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(keyzjh @ Dec 31 2010, 05:12 PM)
Hey, I'm unsure whether to get an SE x10 or HTC desire. AP sets for the x10 is a few hundred ringgit cheaper than the desire but other than the screen, it seems desire trumps it in every other department.

Do you guys think the extra cost is worth it over the better UI, more RAM and more polished user experience?
The extra cost is worth it as Gingerbread is already available for the Desire. Having Gingerbread is quite important if you require a smooth browsing experience. x10i doesn't even have custom roms for FroYo afaik. Go for the Desire.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 1 2011, 06:10 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

khalpowers is trying to advertise for xt720? BTW Nexus S does not have a definite release date, or even a high chance of it actually getting an official release in Malaysia. Your best bet is to wait for it to release in SG and if you have a friend or relative there you can get it. Or maybe even a Garage Sales dealer who travels to SG often.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 1 2011, 11:46 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

IE the LG Star or the new Samsung which will launch mid next year with dual core 1.2 ghz Qualcomm + S-AMOLED v2
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 3 2011, 08:22 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

For the sub 1k phones, the best you can get is the O1 or the G5. Sides from that all of the others get outdated firmwares.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 4 2011, 04:58 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Go for the Optimus One thats launching soon. And to the Desire Z and DHD photo quality, obviously the DHD has a better photo quality. SE x10 Mini is not worth it and if you're going for G5, Obviously O1 is a better choice if you have the budget
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 4 2011, 08:44 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(JinLeon @ Jan 4 2011, 06:25 PM)
should i compare G5 to mi300??
Which one should i take?
Both are roughly the same AFAIK. Only that the Mi300 has a better camera(5mp) and a higher resolution display 320x480(3.2") but since its CSL, i don't think most of us here will recommend it to you. But its up to you actually. Its not bad. Another option is the Optimus One which is launching soon which is Gingerbread ready.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Jan 4 2011, 08:44 PM
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 5 2011, 05:57 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(Iddy @ Jan 5 2011, 01:32 PM)
I need recommendations on this phone. Deciding whether it's worth it or not to get it. Sadly, I'm not a fan of HTC but will take any opinions into consideration smile.gif

1. Brand: Samsung Galaxy S
2. Budget. (1.5k-2k)
3. Specs: Android versions, Screen, User Friendly or not? Push notifications, Camera, Bluetooth availability for file transfer.
4. What I need in the phone: User friendly, long time investment (i dont wanna keep changing phones), high satisfaction level.

Thank you for your help! smile.gif
Samsung Galaxy S is not a brand sweat.gif Samsung is. Go for either Desire AP(1.5k) White colour is available or Samsung Galaxy S like you mentioned. Both user friendly and confirmed to have Gingerbread. Both available in white colour.

TO 41ly, Go for Desire Z if you're aiming for QWERTY phones. AP unit around 1.9k. Most other phones do not have the guarantee of getting Gingerbread but the Desire series would definitely get it.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 5 2011, 07:06 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Jan 5 2011, 06:11 PM)
Hmmm.. i but prefer the T-Mobile G2, stock Android.  There is that issue with that hinge. Wobbly when the keypad is closed i heard.  unsure.gif
But will try to molest the phone first  whistling.gif
Lol. If you're afraid of it being wobby go for the Milestone 2 but i do not put much hope on it getting more firmware update past Gingerbread.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 5 2011, 07:39 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

^ What he said
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 5 2011, 09:44 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(imationyj @ Jan 5 2011, 08:43 PM)
hey can anyone recommend me an android phone for budget at abt RM 1100+/-? currently aiming for wildfire isit a nice phone?
Nope. It has Froyo but a low resolution and a slow processor. Go for Optimus One (RM899) or Galaxy 5(RM650). Both uses the same processor but the O1 has a better camera(3.2mp) and a higher resolution(320x480).
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 6 2011, 09:41 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 6 2011, 04:28 PM)
My budget is sub RM1k
currently thinking of X8, Optimus One and Optimus Chic (Optimus Chic available in Malaysia?)

------------------------------------

Advantage of X8
-Cheap RM760
-*16M colour screen (but i read somewhere saying that the display is not actually 16M)
-Design wise seems to be better than Optimus One

Disadvantage of X8
-BIGGEST of all is Slow software updates being stuck at Android 2.1 resulting in Apps being unable to install in SD card
-Camera no Autofocus
-no multitouch
-single widget
-somewhat low RAM

Advantage of Optimus One
-multitouch
-camera with autofocus
-2.2 Froyo and can upgrade to 2.3 Gingerbread
-big battery
-512mb RAM

Disadvantage of Optimus One
-3MP camera compared to Optimus Chic
-video @18fps
-256k colour compared to X8's 16M*

Advantage of Optimus Chic
-nice design
-5mp camera
-multitouch
-camera with autofocus
-2.2 Froyo and can upgrade to 2.3 Gingerbread

Disadvantage of Optimus Chic
-a bit pricier i think but i heard it might be cheaper than Optimus One too
-battery smaller than Optimus One
-review shows that buttons must be pressed harder

i don't know whether Optimus Chic will be out in Malaysia or not and I don't know the price, though i estimate it to be below 1k or not more than 1.1k.
anyone have solid info about this?
i wud prefer to get X8 but from the complains i read in various forums about X8 really scares me.

all in all, it's between O1 and OC.
summarizing it, OC has nicer design and better camera. O1 has bigger battery. wat would u guys choose and why?
To your question, O1 and OC are rougly the same. If you have a higher budget go for OC. I have not heard of the button problem though. I recommend you get the OC if you use the camera often. Chances are it might get 720p too if it doesn't already have it. x8 is not a choice. Bad screen size/old firmware/cheap build and many more. In the sub 1k range the only phones worth buying are the Huawei IDEOS/Samsung Galaxy 5/Optimus One. Thats it i guess.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 6 2011, 10:02 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Yea. The O1 seems to be the talk of the town instead of the higher spec-ed OC.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 7 2011, 09:20 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Nexus S beats DHD IMO. Better screen, very good battery life, front camera, Vanilla android, fastest O.S updating and a few more. Price wise too. All in all its still your choice but my vote goes to Nexus S and so does a few of our recommenders.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 7 2011, 12:52 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 7 2011, 12:36 PM)
for me, strong points of Nexus S is nice screen, big battery and possibly faster software update if not the fastest. (there's front camera too for video call, but not something that i would be using unless can video call thru gtalk like facetime biggrin.gif)

HTC's strong points are slightly bigger screen, got microSD, more RAM, better camera and HTC have been using android for quite sometime already so i guess software update shouldn't be too far behind. (there's 720p video recording, but again, not something that i would be using often)

i didn't mention FM radio cuz i don't use that at all...so it's not at all a disadvantage for nexus or an advantage for dhd tongue.gif
Even if theres more ram, the Sense UI or any other launcher would eat up a portion of it. Vanilla UI consumes the LEAST ram compared with every other one IIRC. Software update would be fastest for Nexus S, then Nexus One/Desire line, SGS and so on. 720p recording is present in Nexus S too. HTC's screen is TFT which is ugly at that pixel(480x800).
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 7 2011, 01:22 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 7 2011, 12:57 PM)
ahh...ok...i didn't really look at Nexus S and DHD's real unit...dun wanna poison myself yet since i dun have the budget for those phones yet tongue.gif
Nexus S is cheaper. Coming in at $5xx. I have personally used the DHD and i find it smooth. VERY smooth. Thats on FroYo. With Gingerbread + Vanilla on the Nexus S i think it would be cream smooth.

Nexus S>SGS>Desire
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 7 2011, 01:54 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

^ Lol! Impossible. Then it would really be the best phone ever.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 7 2011, 09:31 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

^ Lol! Sad case. Check out Acer Liquid Metal. Same specs as DZ and it has a camera button.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 8 2011, 08:50 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Nexus One is already one of the best performing single cores now. Like phantomesh said, Moto Atrix is your best bet. Grab the laptop/desktop dock along and you're good to go.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 8 2011, 01:45 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Don't make rash decisions. The LG Star(Tegra 2 processor) is releasing next month. Thunderbolt and the Samsung 1.2ghz hummingbirds is coming up soon too.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:36 PM