U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

cybpsych
post Nov 16 2010, 08:55 AM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 16 2010, 08:33 AM)
this offer should hav came out earlier as i juz bought a Mifi for rm385 (used for 3 wks , rm300) doh.gif

btw, rm210 seems a good price, where can this package be subscribed?  only @ BTS?
FAQ #13:
You can apply at U Mobile Service Centres in Klang Valley, Ipoh and Seremban.

You may login to http://u.com.my/service-centres for more information on the locations of U Mobile Service Centres.

** Subscription via UMB for UB add-on does not entitle for Mi-Fi Promo plan.

cybpsych
post Nov 16 2010, 08:12 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

look at the plan table. http://www.u.com.my/broadband/plans

those with "days" validity = no auto-renewal.

those with "monthly subscription" = yes, autorenewal every month.
cybpsych
post Nov 16 2010, 08:14 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 16 2010, 08:08 PM)
So if you subscribed to prepaid and your data plan expired, your money will get drained with the pay as u use charges.
correction: only UB68 plan is "unlimited" = no extra charges after reaching FUP.

other plans, PAYU charges after quota, but with monthly maximum cap to RM176 only.
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 08:46 AM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(JakkReaper @ Nov 18 2010, 08:08 AM)
how is umobile in terms of surfing, especially chatting via msn n etc?
will it be laggy and cut the instant chat feel? or will it be comparable with wired streamyx? i wanna use it in my office

also, is there a trial period i can sign up for?
definitely no issue on chatting/msn/etc.

no trial period. get the normal prepaid pack and subscribe the broadband plans.

you get cheaper call rates and broadband as well thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 12:54 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Nov 18 2010, 12:24 PM)
have a question, for old user, have u ever been capped? ive been using it for almost 2 years , and only once got capped earlier this year...im staying in wangsa maju btw. my average was like 12gb permonth..sometimes below 5gb, sometimes more than 30gb...theres this one month, almost 60gb....
offically, the FUP is 5GB. but effectively most ppl got capped around 10GB+. you are damm lucky using up to 30GB/60GB for the price you pay!

other provides dont even give you this kind of "hidden" benefits biggrin.gif

Added on November 18, 2010, 12:56 pm
QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 18 2010, 12:32 PM)
Anyone staying in SS19 subang using U-Mobile? is coverage good there? I want to get UB68 plan with MiFi but I'm scared about bad coverage.
i have tried around Subang Mewah, SS13/15 and Sunway Pyramid. Very good performance. I guess SS19 should be well covered.

BTW, Sunway/Subang area will soon be upgraded for 42mbps HSPA+ network.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 18 2010, 12:56 PM
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 02:29 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

donno when but it should be by end 2010 (guess how long this gonna be? biggrin.gif)

http://www.u.com.my/media-room/press-relea...oadband-network

read 3rd paragraph, last sentence.

Added on November 18, 2010, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Nov 18 2010, 02:29 PM)
maxis system check twice a day and once or maybe a few times  in a week( if im not mistaken la..) bzos they got many users also...

ps: i used to work as a csp for hotlink and broadband..
wow, that means it's not real-time or a daily throttling review smile.gif

good for those who downloads 24/7 doh.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 18 2010, 02:30 PM
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 03:05 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

rest asssured, Subang/Sunway area is well covered.

these ares are not fringe area, so chances of no coverage is low.

http://www.u.com.my/broadband-coverage/coverage-map
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 03:16 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

non-3g spots usually due to geographical or simply non-residential area (like quaries in around Subang smile.gif)

to be safe, get prepaid pack for trial. cheap and affordable to trial use smile.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 03:29 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

it's unlocked, of course can use with other operator's sim
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 03:44 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

not rep lah. a user like you smile.gif

had poor experience with p1, digi and maxis. only umobile gives me better service.
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2010, 08:45 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

most probably day-by-day as previous users who complained to CS says theyir cap will reset the next day (if resubscribe plan).
cybpsych
post Nov 19 2010, 09:13 AM

---------------------
65,298 posts

the slow speed (128kbps) is after you reach quota or before?
cybpsych
post Nov 19 2010, 10:05 AM

---------------------
65,298 posts

guys/gals,

call umobile CS to get official answer or response.
cybpsych
post Nov 19 2010, 12:47 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2010, 12:18 PM)
YES will be launch later , anyone wanna try it?
wrong thread for YES discussion.
cybpsych
post Nov 19 2010, 08:40 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Nov 19 2010, 06:47 PM)
capped speed lowered to 128kbps
just called the CS
zzzz
looks like this is confirmed.

capped speed is now lowered to 128kbps.

next tests: is the quota (10GB) still maintain? hmm.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 20 2010, 10:40 AM

---------------------
65,298 posts

no. read the plans again in the website.

except ub68 "unlimited" plan, all other plans dont really have FUP because after quota, it will be charged PAYU rate (which is why it is not considered as "unlimited"). NO throttling as FUP doesnt applies.

ub68 plan is termed "unlimited" as you dont need to pay extra charges. however, there is a quota threshold whereby throttling will take effect (as per FUP)

http://www.u.com.my/policies-terms-and-con...ir-usage-policy

remember: FUP is applied by ALL service providers, not just umobile. FUP is there to protect other equal users as well. most ppl with high-usage felt hindered/troubled because they hit FUP quota too fast smile.gif

the only not-so-clear-FUP is by Streamyx. really unlimited, but you get sux services from them.
cybpsych
post Nov 20 2010, 04:05 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

prepaid=no

postpaid (ubsim only)=yes
cybpsych
post Nov 20 2010, 09:46 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(guamainmain @ Nov 20 2010, 08:52 PM)
just planning to get u68. but throttling to 128kbps from 3.6mbps after 5Gb usage is just too much...sigh..
too much?

have you compared digi's and maxis' FUP quota?
cybpsych
post Nov 21 2010, 07:40 AM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Nov 21 2010, 01:51 AM)
128kbps...

Added on November 21, 2010, 1:53 ami registered my umobile on 16/10/2010 and i downloaded 120gb last month.....should it be reset after a month at 16 of november?
Wat the hell!!! sweat.gif

assuming 50% split: Oct 16th to 31st = 60GB. so in Nov to date, is 60GB!

if umobile dont throttle you, I will hunt you rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif sweat.gif

just kidding la brows.gif

seriously, this is the reason why FUP is in place for unlimited plan.

if everyone sucking 120GB (or 60GB per month) for the price of RM68, where do other users get the bandwidth??

ppl have to remember that each ISP has finite (fixed) bandwidth. they cant forever keep expanding (bandwidth) just because portion of users forever exceeding usage and causing other users (light users) to suffer doh.gif

FUP = Fair Use(age) Policy. it is for fairness sake among ALL users and the service provider itself.

in the FUP by umobile: http://www.u.com.my/policies-terms-and-con...ir-usage-policy

This Fair Usage Policy ("Policy") sets out an acceptable level of conduct between us and our subscribers relating to the use of our Services. This Policy is put into place to ensure that you, as our subscriber, will use the Services responsibly and appropriately so as not to affect the usage of the other subscribers.

You must not undertake or perform any activity which may cause adverse effect to our Services or other subscribers' use or access to the Services.

Our network is a shared resource, and you agree to use the Services, in a considerate manner, which must not unfairly exploit the usage, affect the experience of other subscribers or cause us loss - for example, but not limited to, the Services for reselling purposes, unreasonable bandwidth consumption, or accessing services which are prohibited under the Terms and Conditions for Service or using unauthorised device.

For our Broadband Service, your total usage per month shall NOT exceed 5GB of data volume transmitted (total upload and download usage). This is to ensure that no subscriber can congest the bandwidth at all times.

If you are found to be in violation of this Policy, we may, at our option and discretion manage your bandwidth, suspend or terminate the Services (with or without notice as we may consider appropriate).

cybpsych
post Nov 21 2010, 07:50 PM

---------------------
65,298 posts

QUOTE(bex9432 @ Nov 21 2010, 01:31 PM)
mine capped at 128kbps...
previously it was 384kbps...
why they do that without user agreement?
read the FUP: http://www.u.com.my/policies-terms-and-con...ir-usage-policy

We may change the Policy from time to time without further notice to you. Please visit the website, www.u.com.my periodically to determine any changes to this Policy. Any changes to this Policy will automatically become effective and will apply to you from the date such changes are posted on the website.

service providers seldom nofity ppl what are the throttle speed. the only way is to gather actual user information to find out.

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:44 AM