Nokia N900 V4 (More than 100 owners), Where tablet meets mobile phone

cloud8318
post Aug 4 2010, 08:53 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

@jananan
thanks for the tips thumbup.gif .....and i also facing same ploblem like aspire2oo6....any solution tongue.gif
porselinaheart
post Aug 4 2010, 10:21 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 4 2010, 07:50 AM)
Thanks for the tutorial already change my transition but i notice the font colour is white it effect my wallpaper certain text cant see
if i'm not mistaken, if you edit many of the values in the transition.ini file manually and all at once, you can end up with this problem. I also had the same issue, luckily backed up my original file and reused that. Its a bit leceh, but its better to change the values one by one, and see the effect it produces.

Hildon is damn cranky sometimes. I myself am having an issue when i changed my clock/alarm icons. The pngs not showing even tho they are in the correct size, etc.

@Eiraku, sorry to hear about your phone bro. I myself am considering the droid 2 as my next phone, but don't think i'm gonna sell my n900 anytime soon. it'll prolly just replace my n82 as a 2nd phone.

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 4 2010, 10:23 AM
Andy214
post Aug 4 2010, 10:53 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 4 2010, 02:43 AM)
9 Desktop lags the phone?
Technically, the more you have, the more memory it requires, also depends on your desktop customization.

Once I was out, want to converse battery, get fast response and smooth video recording then use 3G to upload the videos to facebook. So I turn off 3 other desktop, only left 1. The phone is much more responsive and I believe the contributes a lot of battery life as well.
The drawback... after I enable back my 3 other desktop, I have to customize those 3 desktop again! Darn it! I'm not gonna do it again.

So, those phone that have only 1 simple homescreen or worst, NONE at all, surely it's smooth as butter.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Aug 4 2010, 10:54 AM
chicaman
post Aug 4 2010, 11:13 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

I am only using 1 desktop, the other 3 empty lol
Josh_M
post Aug 4 2010, 11:23 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 4 2010, 11:13 AM)
I am only using 1 desktop, the other 3 empty lol
at the moment im using 4 all 4 divided for different function..
one to house all internet stuffs.
one to house all telephony stufss
etc .. etc
angelbratz
post Aug 4 2010, 11:33 AM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

Lulz...

Yeah...i literally put all my stuff on the 9 desktop...

here it goes...

1. Main Deskstop - Phone/agenda/calendar/Overall Phone Info/Ip
2. Technical Desktop - OC info/Batt/RDP/Connect Now/Memory...etc etc
3. Web Desktop - All the bookmarked page/Browsers/Touchsearch
4. Email Desktop - QBI email Icon, Email Summary
5. ETC desktop - Dr.Launch/Others/RSS Feed
6. Navigation Desktop - Ovi Map, Dr. Launch/Sygic
7. Camera/Imaging Stuff/Files Desktop - All those shortcut
8. Entertainment Desktop - Movies, Music, Knots2, Groove, Mediabox etc etc
9. Contact Desktop - Important contact with Picta

There...all 9 desktop utilize...Lagness,not noticable...coz i disable all the transition effect and im only using a Blank.jpg desktop background that is 1kb in size...also im running a 500-850 OC on my device...

This post has been edited by angelbratz: Aug 4 2010, 11:47 AM
super_evil_alien
post Aug 4 2010, 11:43 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Changed my SP from matte to clear.
Have to say that the screen look pretty damn clear now.Screw the fingerprint,I'm gonna stick with clear SP for a while.
cloud8318
post Aug 4 2010, 11:58 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Aug 4 2010, 11:33 AM)
Lulz...

Yeah...i literally put all my stuff on the 9 desktop...

here it goes...

1. Main Deskstop - Phone/agenda/calendar/Overall Phone Info/Ip
2. Technical Desktop - OC info/Batt/RDP/Connect Now/Memory...etc etc
3. Web Desktop - All the bookmarked page/Browsers/Touchsearch
4. Email Desktop - QBI email Icon, Email Summary
5. ETC desktop - Dr.Launch/Others/RSS Feed
6. Navigation Desktop - Ovi Map, Dr. Launch/Sygic
7. Camera/Imaging Stuff/Files Desktop -  All those shortcut
8. Entertainment Desktop - Movies, Music, Knots2, Groove, Mediabox etc etc
9. Contact Desktop - Important contact with Picta

There...all 9 desktop utilize...Lagness,not noticable...coz i disable all the transition effect and im only using a Blank.jpg desktop background that is 1kb in size...also im running a 500-850 OC on my device...
wow...u really fully used 9 desktop screen...i only fully used 2, the other 2 still at virgin laugh.gif

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 4 2010, 11:43 AM)
Changed my SP from matte to clear.
Have to say that the screen look pretty damn clear now.Screw the fingerprint,I'm gonna stick with clear SP for a while.
is the matte SP so bad for viewing?
my clear SP have all my fingerprint all over the screen, been thinking replace clear to matte, but afraid effect viewing... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cloud8318: Aug 4 2010, 11:59 AM
jananan
post Aug 4 2010, 12:04 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Aug 4 2010, 08:53 AM)
@jananan
thanks for the tips thumbup.gif .....and i also facing same ploblem like aspire2oo6....any solution tongue.gif
you can change the font colors...

cd to "usr/share/themes/your-theme/gtk-2.0/"

you will find a file gtkrc. use a text editor to edit ( i use leafpad)

look for "logical color definitions" section

the colors are defined here, then these values are used throughout the gtkrc file.

DefaultTextColor = xxxxx
SecondaryTextColor = xxxxx
ActiveTextColor = xxxxx

for e.g.

# VKB

style "hildon-im-vkb" = "osso-logical-colors"
{
bg[NORMAL] = @DefaultBackgroundColor
}
widget "*osso-im-vkb-renderer" style "hildon-im-vkb"

by changing the values in the "logical color defitions" you can change the virtual keyboard background color, bg[NORMAL] = @DefaultBackgroundColor

so it calls upon the value of the @DefaultBackgroundColor that you defined earlier in "logical color definitions"

unless the theme itself has other modifications....

use color values in hex.

get it from here - http://www.webmonkey.com/2010/02/color_charts/

This post has been edited by jananan: Aug 4 2010, 12:39 PM
chicaman
post Aug 4 2010, 12:19 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

Btw, u guys working or what? This thread is active from morning to night to midnight to morning lol!
haushinka
post Aug 4 2010, 12:23 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Aug 4 2010, 11:58 AM)
wow...u really fully used 9 desktop screen...i only fully used 2, the other 2 still at virgin  laugh.gif

is the matte SP so bad for viewing?
my clear SP have all my fingerprint all over the screen, been thinking replace clear to matte, but afraid effect viewing... hmm.gif
if u use ur hp inside ur house or the office where the envieronment kinda dim there no big difference, but when u use ur hp outdoor...on day time...u will notice the difference
Josh_M
post Aug 4 2010, 12:24 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 4 2010, 12:19 PM)
Btw, u guys working or what? This thread is active from morning to night to midnight to morning lol!
as for me im working. ill be very active during 9 - 6
after that when reach hse ill online again untill 11pm plus.

how bout u
chicaman
post Aug 4 2010, 12:33 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

still studying smile.gif will check forum when I am free or anywhere with wifi tongue.gif
Josh_M
post Aug 4 2010, 12:41 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 4 2010, 12:33 PM)
still studying smile.gif will check forum when I am free or anywhere with wifi tongue.gif
i guess few of them over here is student..

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BTW guys just now something funny happened when i unlocked my N900 i was holding it in (portrait) mode...

all the menu item were in portrait mode i was able to scroll up & down but only one issue all my 4 screen became cacat edi, i tried opening few application the opened in portrait but seem like half screen hilang..

frustrated i rebooted and now it is back to normal..

i didnt install any funny apps rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
angelbratz
post Aug 4 2010, 12:57 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 4 2010, 12:19 PM)
Working Liao....

9-630...a bit browsing here....then go home

Then after dinner till late 2-3 am browsing here again...

sometime when in bed...also still browsing via n900...

Lolz

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:59 pmGlitch...i got that sometime...then i move it to landscape....then it move back to normal...

This post has been edited by angelbratz: Aug 4 2010, 12:59 PM
mrfarhatadib89
post Aug 4 2010, 01:01 PM

2,414 posts

can this phone make vdio call?
how's the battery life?
Josh_M
post Aug 4 2010, 01:09 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(mrfarhatadib89 @ Aug 4 2010, 01:01 PM)
can this phone make vdio call?
how's the battery life?
SKYPE video call yes

3G video calls not at the moment.

Battery life depends on your usage..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

any TT session for N900 owners... ??

This post has been edited by Josh_M: Aug 4 2010, 01:10 PM
Mgsrulz
post Aug 4 2010, 01:21 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

@aspire2oo6: Please add pycallblocker to the apps list.
it's to block incoming calls from specific numbers.(you have to key in the numbers in the application)
the phone only registers the missed call, but will NOT ring.

acquired from Maemo Extras-Devel

love it! rclxm9.gif

the last time i used this type of app on my previous Symbian S60 phones the phone always rings first,then blocks the call doh.gif

but then again,that was years ago..so maybe instant blocking isnt that new blush.gif
jananan
post Aug 4 2010, 01:22 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Aug 4 2010, 12:41 PM)
i guess few of them over here is student..
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BTW guys just now something funny happened when i unlocked my N900 i was holding it in (portrait) mode...

all the menu item were in portrait mode i was able to scroll up & down but only one issue all my 4 screen became cacat edi, i tried opening few application the opened in portrait but seem like half screen hilang.. 

frustrated i rebooted and now it is back to normal..

i didnt install any funny apps  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
yeah it does that, slow transition when rotate. its because the n900 video drivers dont have vsync.

Added on August 4, 2010, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Aug 4 2010, 01:21 PM)
@aspire2oo6: Please add pycallblocker to the apps list.
it's to block incoming calls from specific numbers.(you have to key in the numbers in the application)
the phone only registers the missed call, but will NOT ring.

acquired from Maemo Extras-Devel

love it! rclxm9.gif

the last time i used this type of app on my previous Symbian S60 phones the phone always rings first,then blocks the call doh.gif

but then again,that was years ago..so maybe instant blocking isnt that new blush.gif
some symbian phones can instantly block, some cannot also depends on firmware. its a hit and miss case...

This post has been edited by jananan: Aug 4 2010, 01:24 PM
gavinchong
post Aug 4 2010, 01:25 PM

65 posts

Guys... Ive tried to download and install FMMS
But it says Phyton not there

Ive googled everywhere but theres NO detail steps given
Any help around?

126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top