Nokia N900 V4 (More than 100 owners), Where tablet meets mobile phone

porselinaheart
post Aug 3 2010, 11:51 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

hi guys, i'm finally back inmalaysia! quick update on latest version of nitroid. 3d effects are working so its super smooth and transitions all work. better key mapping, and auto rotation now enabled. the only thing left to do is for the phone/gps/3g module (the three things are connected ) to be unlocked, then no need to buy a new android phone oredi, yahoo!. asphalt hd rox my socks! hope its soon so i can leave my phone in android mode. leceh sometimes swithcing between both, hehe

any meet-up scheduled guys? would be very beneficial to many of us, plus a good oppurtunity for prospective buyers to see what a non-standard n900 can do.
porselinaheart
post Aug 3 2010, 11:57 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 3 2010, 11:55 PM)
Froyo build or Ecclair?
Graphic acceleration working?
froyo 2.2

brows.gif

affirmative, 3d accel is working ( live wallpapers look damn cun, lol )

Added on August 3, 2010, 11:58 pm
QUOTE(angelbratz @ Aug 3 2010, 11:56 PM)
Neopwn...still no news liao...
yalor waiting for that too.....

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 3 2010, 11:58 PM
porselinaheart
post Aug 4 2010, 12:11 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 4 2010, 12:03 AM)
How is your battery life with Android?Any improvement?

If I'm not mistaken,neopwn will be released in September.

Okay then.Will start my NITroid project the weekend after this.
quite a big improvemnt on batt life bro. you should def give the latest nitroid a try (ver 0.0.6 i think )

the new installation method also is quite straight forward ( much easier than the earlier froyo and eclair build ). if you get stuck just lemme know, i should be on the site more often now.
porselinaheart
post Aug 4 2010, 10:21 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 4 2010, 07:50 AM)
Thanks for the tutorial already change my transition but i notice the font colour is white it effect my wallpaper certain text cant see
if i'm not mistaken, if you edit many of the values in the transition.ini file manually and all at once, you can end up with this problem. I also had the same issue, luckily backed up my original file and reused that. Its a bit leceh, but its better to change the values one by one, and see the effect it produces.

Hildon is damn cranky sometimes. I myself am having an issue when i changed my clock/alarm icons. The pngs not showing even tho they are in the correct size, etc.

@Eiraku, sorry to hear about your phone bro. I myself am considering the droid 2 as my next phone, but don't think i'm gonna sell my n900 anytime soon. it'll prolly just replace my n82 as a 2nd phone.

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 4 2010, 10:23 AM
porselinaheart
post Aug 8 2010, 09:23 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

guys just OC'd my Nitroid, wahhhh, big difference when running apps liao, now its quite smooth, almost no errors. Hope dj_steve gets the gsm module working soon, its top on his to do list,
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 8 2010, 09:31 PM
porselinaheart
post Aug 8 2010, 09:35 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 8 2010, 09:28 PM)
If it's not smooth Nokia wouldn't have released Maemo5
He said yesterday that the GSM progress is going on very slowly.Wonder whats wrong.
I suspect its because since there isn't any nokia phones using android, some code and files have to be written and replaced from scratch. the other stuff was quicker because they were using modified config files from other android devices ( milestone mostly )
porselinaheart
post Aug 8 2010, 10:05 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 8 2010, 09:42 PM)
If boot NITDroid from microSD, smooth or not?
no problems, its quite smooth. The latest build has graphic acceleration, and works fine running at 600mhz. if you want super smoothness at all times tho need to OC after installation, hehe, biggrin.gif
porselinaheart
post Aug 9 2010, 02:41 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

lee0125, try OCing Nitroid flash is much faster, biggrin.gif

@josh, its the best way buddy, i learned how to
1) run virtualxp/vbox linux on my pc
2) increased knowledge of maemo architecture
3) learned about partitioning, mounting/unmounting etc
4) become even more comfortable with xterm, biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 9 2010, 02:44 PM
porselinaheart
post Aug 9 2010, 04:34 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(lee0125 @ Aug 9 2010, 03:11 PM)
how fast you OC your Nitdroid?

by the way, why all the games not in full screen?
My nitroid is using max speed 1000mhz

As for the fullscreen issue do this:

A) Firstst of all, you need to be on maemo 5 and have a text editor such as leafpad (my preferred, more user friendly than vi) installed.
run a xTerm session

1] type:
sudo gainroot
mount -t ext3 -o noatime,rw /dev/mmcblk1p2 /and

2] open the file build.prop in a text editor. if you have leafpad installed type:

leafpad /and/system/build.prop

3] in the file
search for the line "f.lcd_density=160"
and replace it by "f.lcd_density=240"

4]after that save it by clicking the upper contextual menu

exit leafpad

exit xTerm

reboot your device and voilaaaa !

B)If you want to to allow nitroid to OC :

1] first download this file
http://downloads.nitdroid.com/power.conf

2] next u need to mount the nitdroid partition in maemo

3] Open Xterm

4] type:

sudo gainroot
mount /dev/mmcblk1p2 /and
cd /and/system/etc

5] transfer the power.conf file that you downloaded into this folder

6] now u need to edit /and/init.nokia.rc and remove the cpu scaling lines :
( remove the entire #power management section )

7] if your using leafpad, type :

cd /and
leafpad init.nokia.rc

8] remove the section of text below:

# Power Management
write /sys/power/sleep_while_idle 1
write /sys/power/enable_off_mode 1
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor ondemand
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq 250000
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold 86
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/sampling_rate 46875
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_min_freq 250000
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq 600000
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_governor ondemand

9] save the file and next time u boot nitroid it will be OC'd

Added on August 9, 2010, 4:44 pmFor those interested in dual booting nitroid, refer

http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=58890

it has the most up to date installation method. however u need to check post number 2 for the latest nitroid build, 0.0.6

Added on August 9, 2010, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Aug 9 2010, 01:15 AM)
Anyone successful dual boot android?

I have tried manual and autoinstaller for many times. But dont know y i cant seem to repartition the 8gb memory card.

Any advice?? or some 1 here can help me to get this android working on my phone....many many thousand thanks
bro take a look at the link in my post above. if u get stuck drop me a line, its not as hard as it looks.

on another topic, anybody using the 'Shorctcutd' app? It allows you to set proximity sensor and camera button to for opening, phone, desktop commands, and even enable 'crtl+shift+r' for enabling autorotation, wink.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 9 2010, 04:49 PM
porselinaheart
post Aug 9 2010, 09:50 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

i get what you guys are saying about shortcutd, i set the proximity sensor for loading the phone, but its twitchy.

@super_evil_alien, to limit it at 850, you have to edit the power.conf file in some text editor and change the values i think. there are also a list of freqs to use and avoid, they should be adjusted accordingly. a word of caution abt messing around with the lower limits tho, as they can cause os crashes, or so i hear.

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 9 2010, 09:52 PM
porselinaheart
post Aug 9 2010, 10:19 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

anyone know if there is a widget/app for android that measures ur cpu speed?? ( like desktop command widget for maemo )??

any news about possible meetup? would be good to see some of the sifus phone setups. biggrin.gif

Added on August 9, 2010, 10:20 pm@Eiraku, your phone back bro??

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 9 2010, 10:20 PM
porselinaheart
post Aug 9 2010, 11:08 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 9 2010, 10:26 PM)
You're asking this at wrong section bro laugh.gif
Ask at Android section.Maybe some Milestone users know about the widgets.
haha, forgot where i was for a second, lol.
porselinaheart
post Aug 10 2010, 09:03 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

haha, nice comeback aspire, lol, tongue.gif

@dasanyeoh, depends on what apps you're running, etc, some heat is to be expected. ( i.e. 1 hour playing asphalt, makes my baby panas, hehe )

Added on August 10, 2010, 9:36 am
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 10 2010, 12:28 AM)
My old one still in the repair shop lah wei... I'm gonna be stuck with ANOTHER N900 if I do that lol.

That and the fact that the new Droid 2 looks really tempting right about now... brows.gif
yalor, the droid 2 is in the back of my mind now. If it gets good reviews, i'm seriously considering it as a 2nd phone.

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 10 2010, 09:36 AM
porselinaheart
post Aug 10 2010, 10:42 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Aug 10 2010, 10:19 AM)
y every1 into android now? nog enuf with maemo meh  tongue.gif
haha of course not lar, just all busy trying out nitdoid i think, hehe ( at least in my case lar ). as for maemo, my phone does almost everything i need it for now, so its great just being able to use it stress free, hehe
porselinaheart
post Aug 10 2010, 11:39 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Aug 10 2010, 10:56 AM)
Icic... maybe i open have too many applications running coz i dont know whether the application has been fully closed anot. Can it see all the running application like maemo??? 1st time using android  rclxub.gif
haha i oso quite blur, but i know, slider is backspace to close, but for task launcher its long press of camera button if not mistaken

Added on August 10, 2010, 11:40 am
QUOTE(acat @ Aug 10 2010, 10:57 AM)
miracle happened to me today, after 3 weeks of not being able to connect to internet with so many bug+battery problem, today all the problems are gone. maybe n900 has self-healing, no? tongue.gif
hehe, have u installed anything since then?? seems the more i tweak my phone, the better it runs, but must be careful lar, dun wanna go over de limits, wink.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 10 2010, 11:40 AM
porselinaheart
post Aug 10 2010, 02:20 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Aug 10 2010, 01:28 PM)
this dual boot thing is just fascinating i guess.. BTW android does seem to have a lot more apps n games compare to maemo. But i still Love maemo. more responsive n easy to understand
yeah, its not 100% usable yet as well, so for now i only use it for gaming, tongue.gif everything else i still prefer maemo, biggrin.gif

porselinaheart
post Aug 13 2010, 03:33 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Aug 13 2010, 12:44 PM)
Not yet...no time to do dual boot yet...And summore...My memory card got Hijacked...now im left with a 2GB....sad...T.T
mistake in partitioning ka? i oso kena first time installing nitroid, tongue.gif
porselinaheart
post Aug 13 2010, 03:36 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(toocommon @ Aug 13 2010, 12:58 AM)
guys,
can some one send me the link of instruction to dual boot android?

thanks!  smile.gif
installation instructions in the first post:

however be sure to use the sd card files from the 2nd post ( more recent build of nitdroid )

Added on August 13, 2010, 3:51 pm
QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Aug 11 2010, 11:26 AM)
I Followed the instruction at http://wiki.nitdroid.com/?title=n900-install
Seems like there is updated version (0.06) but I dun find the tutorials with the latest NITDroid.

I almost wanna reflash since I dunno to boot maemo. after googling around, I just have to press 0 to boot to maemo *sigh*. Anyways, I'm still dun have Virtual Keyboard since mine is Taiwan AP set sweat.gif .

Can I reflash by following the instruction on FP?
latest installation directions:

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Aug 13 2010, 03:51 PM
porselinaheart
post Aug 13 2010, 05:40 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

wow, am very interested, do your POIs work with the the SE-Asia, sygic map?
porselinaheart
post Aug 13 2010, 08:34 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(boonping @ Aug 13 2010, 08:19 PM)
Hi just wanna contribute something here.Dunno this has been posted here b4 or not but there is an application called movie schedule.Can search the cinema nearby for movie currently on screen.
works for kl arr dude??

0.0573sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:26 PM