129 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

HTC Desire HD - officially launched in Asia Pac, The Ace has arrived. Soon to Malaysia

pluginbaby
post Oct 17 2010, 12:57 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 17 2010, 12:25 PM)
i am holding back selling off my SGS . Just wanna see how the official Froyo will perform. Tested 2 unofficial Froyo roms and disappointed, do not find any major improvements. The lag and slow launch of programs is still there, only marginal improvements
The SGS was great and still is the king. The only reason people would sell it is because they expect a better software but some users dosent care as long as that phone is capable of performing intense jobs such as great graphic experience and such. I guess people selling the SGS to get DHD is not quite an update since the SGS is still the king of android powerhouse. The Desire HD upgrade would only be worthit if one is a fan of HTC Sense or wishes to have a bigger screensize
Andrew Lim
post Oct 17 2010, 01:42 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Not everybody thinks SGS is king. It's got a nice Super AMOLED screen, but it's build quality feels plastic and it's a fingerprint magnet. Also it's got lag issues. I've tried both and I prefer the regular HTC Desire. The HTC Desire also won T3's Phone of the Year.
benny888
post Oct 17 2010, 01:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 17 2010, 12:57 PM)
The SGS was great and still is the king. The only reason people would sell it is because they expect a better software but some users dosent care as long as that phone is capable of performing intense jobs such as great graphic experience and such. I guess people selling the SGS to get DHD is not quite an update since the SGS is still the king of android powerhouse. The Desire HD upgrade would only be worthit if one is a fan of HTC Sense or wishes to have a bigger screensize
I agree that the SGS is king just soley based on its hardware specs. But its software implementation is really poor. If one ever used the Nexus or Desire , the difference is very obvious. Even my present Dell Streak and old HD2 on Android performs better than it. Samsung needs to put in lots of effort to catch up on its software.
pluginbaby
post Oct 17 2010, 01:56 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 17 2010, 01:42 PM)
Not everybody thinks SGS is king. It's got a nice Super AMOLED screen, but it's build quality feels plastic and it's a fingerprint magnet. Also it's got lag issues. I've tried both and I prefer the regular HTC Desire. The HTC Desire also won T3's Phone of the Year.
SHS is the king in terms of hardware for sure.. the plastic build opinion varies from user to user.. at 1st i feel that its very plastic but after a while playing with my dads n my friends unit, its not bad at all.. the Gorilla glass is also one good thing about it. The lag issue is there for sure. Ive been using a HTC Desire previously and i didnt notice lags and if there is some, it would be the moment when apps are installing via the android market (very common thing isnt it?).

The Desire HD wont beat SGS in terms of hardware but in terms of software, hopefully it would be valid till the next 4.3inch comes. Good thing about 4.3inch phones is that its only out once a year. Eventhough there would be a new htc perhaps releasing in march-april, it wont be 4.3inch for sure so Desire HD would be the flagship for now till early 2011 and will remain valid since there are no direct contenders of phones with a 4.3inch display. Just look at HD2, it is still rocking up till now. We may not hear much since its a winmo (yes, the android port is there) but still HD2 rocks out for now until HD7 is mass supplied through out the world
Andrew Lim
post Oct 17 2010, 02:05 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

What I'm hoping for is another phone about the size of the original Desire but with better specs. The Desire HD2 has a big screen but also has the same resolution as Desire and a battery with lower capacity than the Desire.

And I wish HTC would use white or silver more often. Quite tired of seeing their dull brown/gray Desires.
pluginbaby
post Oct 17 2010, 02:08 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 17 2010, 02:05 PM)
What I'm hoping for is another phone about the size of the original Desire but with better specs. The Desire HD2 has a big screen but also has the same resolution as Desire and a battery with lower capacity than the Desire.

And I wish HTC would use white or silver more often. Quite tired of seeing their dull brown/gray Desires.
Desire Z is ur option but not everyone wish to carry the extra burden of the keyboard. Or maybe u wanna wait till feb/march next yr.. HTC might gonna announce some new phone running the same 2nd gen Snapdragon but clocked at 1.3-1.5Ghz.. but i recommend if u wanna go a higher clock, wait for the 3rd gen of snapdragon since no use of getting higher clock on the same chip based since it will use more power.. 3rd gen are based on ARM Cortex A9 like the Samsung Orion which is better, dual core and better on the battery (lower power).. and hell yes, HTC is always late at implementing such new technology, thanks to Qualcomm.. lol
Andrew Lim
post Oct 17 2010, 04:36 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Desire Z is definitely not my option because it's too heavy at 180g. My Nokia N86 at 148g already weighs down my shorts. Also, I don't need or want a physical QWERTY keyboard.

I'd just like the Desire form factor with better software hardware specs. smile.gif
ahtac
post Oct 18 2010, 01:22 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Oct 17 2010, 08:57 AM)
I have seen 3rd party batteries that was even rated for double the capacities of the original ones (not DHD or Desire batteries). basically speaking Li-ion batteries have not really evolved at the rate computer chips, so even if you do see some 3rd party batteries rated higher then the originals - buy it with lots of doubt.

Besides - what is really stopping the 3rd party manufacturer from claiming that his battery is 10000000mhA when it only holds 1000mhA? If they managed such technological breakthrough they will be winning the nobel prize.  blush.gif
agree...my dslr original battery just 1400mhA but last 50% longer the 3rd party battery with 1700mhA
pluginbaby
post Oct 18 2010, 05:56 AM

2,661 posts

guys, it seems like there is an issue with the proximity sensor not working on the DHD ==" .. european users are reporting it.. the phone wont respond once u pick up ur call and the screen goes dark as the proximity sensor is triggered.. the only way to enable back the screen and buttons is by pulling the battery out..
CocoMonGo
post Oct 18 2010, 07:50 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 18 2010, 05:56 AM)
guys, it seems like there is an issue with the proximity sensor not working on the DHD ==" .. european users are reporting it.. the phone wont respond once u pick up ur call and the screen goes dark as the proximity sensor is triggered.. the only way to enable back the screen and buttons is by pulling the battery out..
wow thats serious flaw... seems like a software flaw rather then the proximity sensor though. guess its good that the europeans are the DHD guinea pig 1st. Hopefully by the time it we get it the problem is fixed tongue.gif

edit i think u meant something like this?
Proximity Failure in DHD

This post has been edited by CocoMonGo: Oct 18 2010, 08:00 AM
cychen
post Oct 18 2010, 09:31 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Oct 18 2010, 07:50 AM)
wow thats serious flaw... seems like a software flaw rather then the proximity sensor though. guess its good that the europeans are the DHD guinea pig 1st. Hopefully by the time it we get it the problem is fixed  tongue.gif
edit i think u meant something like this?
Proximity Failure in DHD
does it mean that everytime after we pick up the call we need to restart the phone?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Andrew Lim
post Oct 18 2010, 09:56 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

jiidaineko
post Oct 18 2010, 10:10 AM

579 posts

hmm seems like it is already shipping in Netherlands
Ahkwang
post Oct 18 2010, 12:33 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Oct 18 2010, 10:10 AM)
hmm seems like it is already shipping in Netherlands
yeah - xda developers forum is now packed with ppl posting questions asking bout the phone. biggrin.gif

oh - got this from the forum - the first deceased DHD - dropped by some dude shocking.gif

shocking.gif shocking.gif - need to get screen protector plus casing ..
jiidaineko
post Oct 18 2010, 12:44 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Ahkwang @ Oct 18 2010, 12:33 PM)
yeah - xda developers forum is now packed with ppl posting questions asking bout the phone. biggrin.gif

oh - got this from the forum - the first deceased DHD - dropped by some dude  shocking.gif

shocking.gif  shocking.gif  - need to get screen protector plus casing ..
that was fast sweat.gif gonna lurk on XDA to read up on the batt thingy
hihihehe
post Oct 18 2010, 02:33 PM

13,784 posts

the softkey dont have backlight?
ccgenius
post Oct 18 2010, 02:41 PM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 18 2010, 02:33 PM)
the softkey dont have backlight?
maybe drop till light no more d?
hmmm...
hihihehe
post Oct 18 2010, 02:59 PM

13,784 posts

im not saying that picture
i saying that youtube video
ccgenius
post Oct 18 2010, 03:25 PM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 18 2010, 02:59 PM)
im not saying that picture
i saying that youtube video
ya hor
like no backlight for the keys
hihihehe
post Oct 18 2010, 03:29 PM

13,784 posts

if it is due to proximity sensor then i understand but it doesn't light up in the whole video hmm.gif

even when he touch it

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Oct 18 2010, 03:29 PM

129 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:49 PM