Why should i switch from iPhone to HTC (Android)?, share your opinion

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 15 2010, 10:26 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jul 13 2010, 11:17 PM)
yes, SOFTWARE..
android OS u can use GOOGLE MAPS WITH VOICE NAVIGATION after rooting..
Iphone still cannot... but can use PAPAGO or TOMTOM after JB.... too GREAT~~
May I ask, can you preload the google map into the phone using free wifi? Or you can only download while on the road using telco's expensive data charge?

greyPJ
post Jul 15 2010, 11:28 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 15 2010, 10:26 AM)
May I ask, can you preload the google map into the phone using free wifi? Or you can only download while on the road using telco's expensive data charge?
google cannot preload, papago can.
novin
post Jul 15 2010, 06:46 PM

79 posts

Android. Why? Because it's Android for heavens sake!!! biggrin.gif wohooooooooo
TSxjukie
post Jul 15 2010, 08:02 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

in other words mostly Android's base is FREE
suit for us that pokai liao
uhhh cant tahan wor, gonna switch to HTC Android base in short time
michael9413
post Jul 15 2010, 09:28 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

it is the future, more customizable and also open source (which is most important)...

actually i'm also having my headache which to choose... Android or Iphone... which to choose... now the plan for 3Gs is quite tempting...
benny888
post Jul 15 2010, 10:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Jul 14 2010, 12:31 PM)
Iphone is easier for kid n old man. One button make them feel easy. Haha.  But we all not that old yet
Bro - correction. Not applicable all old man. I am old man 55 already and I love my Nexus. Rooted it the 2nd day and now after using it more than 3 months , I already lost count how many times I change the kernel, the various roms, radio etc. I juz love to tinker with it and customize to my liking. I also have iPhone , 99 % of time in the drawer. Use it only to sync video podcasts and listen audio books when I am on flight. The iPhone I find is just a good out-of-the box for those who love games/play with apps without worrying how to make it better and you can't unless you jailbreak it and try some of the apps not approved by Apple.
michael9413
post Jul 15 2010, 10:52 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jul 15 2010, 10:36 PM)
juz curious.. is there any "free" version of papago out there?
i don think so unless u root ur phone for "ahemm" softwares
crimv
post Jul 15 2010, 11:24 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 15 2010, 10:52 PM)
i don think so unless u root ur phone for "ahemm" softwares
no need also can wahhahahah
oneeleven
post Jul 15 2010, 11:59 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Jul 14 2010, 12:31 PM)
Iphone is easier for kid n old man. One button make them feel easy. Haha.  But we all not that old yet
That's their sales strategy pitch. Old men like Jobs and Gates were programming using switches before most ppl here were born and even TWO buttons couldn't scare those geezers!

Unfortunately the image sticks.... I see certain glitterati flashing their iPhonie$ to show off and I think, "I dunwanna be seen as part of THAT airheaded crowd."

shadow111
post Jul 16 2010, 07:13 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(crimv @ Jul 15 2010, 11:24 PM)
no need also can wahhahahah
means that you can get "ahem" version of papago for android?
one of the stopping point to get android is the gps. i don't wan to use google map since we need to pay for the data download for the map.
KTCY
post Jul 16 2010, 07:54 AM

BumbleBeeâ„¢
12,505 posts

Stop talking about piracy yo sweat.gif
Baronic
post Jul 16 2010, 09:33 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Stepping in, issueing vacations for piracy discussion
gzero
post Jul 16 2010, 11:59 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jul 16 2010, 09:33 AM)
Stepping in, issueing vacations for piracy discussion
Lol the term "vacation" just made my day laugh.gif
kentang_peranchis
post Jul 17 2010, 12:05 AM

279 posts

apple is for ppl who appreciates style and simplicity. iphone users have better things to do in their life, and dun spend more than necessary time to 'customize' or tinker arnd wt a fone.
while for android fones, is mainly for geeks and nerds who gets a high from endless tweaking and trying to be different juz for the sake of being different. in other words, pathetic.
junkieG
post Jul 17 2010, 03:58 AM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

QUOTE(kentang_peranchis @ Jul 17 2010, 12:05 AM)
apple is for ppl who appreciates style and simplicity. iphone users have better things to do in their life, and dun spend more than necessary time to 'customize' or tinker arnd wt a fone.
while for android fones, is mainly for geeks and nerds who gets a high from endless tweaking and trying to be different juz for the sake of being different. in other words, pathetic.
i feel special...iphone users are just plain boring
andrekua
post Jul 17 2010, 06:35 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(kentang_peranchis @ Jul 17 2010, 12:05 AM)
Why is it Apple fanbois so pathetic? Girls drool over you cos you have style, cos you got an Iphone. Is it being the case you have much better things to do or just being too stupid for an Android?

LOL... just joking.

Sometimes it really make me ROFL real bad when people are being rip few thousand bucks while being told how to hold onto their beloved phone thinks that others are not in the same league. Phone companies that did not teach you how to hold onto your phone is pathetic... GET IT NOW!!!

Anyway, I think Iphone users also JB their device which makes it tweaking as well. Whats the difference now? Besides, Apple got a big AppStore with tonnes of games inside. You claimed you got better things to do? I seen a couple Iphone fanbois trying to shoot each other with their Iphone on the street...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Jul 17 2010, 06:44 AM
JustForFun
post Jul 17 2010, 07:31 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

And people are complaining that iPhone is too simple and non-customizable? I bet most of the users out there don't even bother about customizing the phone. iPhone is good because it's simple and thus user-friendly, look is very personal, it does look good to me compared to most of the HTC phones out there which look... weird doh.gif

When stuff gets too complicated it gets unstable too.

iPhone is hella common though... Almost 50% of people here in UK are using iPhone
michael9413
post Jul 17 2010, 07:55 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha yea... but in the end what you want from that phone... entertainment that it, and of course the main thing is the calls, sms and also mms... that serve the purpose of a handphone with entertainment...

frankly speaking those are calling Iphone user lame or pathetic might be one themselves too for android system... each system has their own advantage and also disadvantage, just like last time WM and Symbian, but i don like both... coz WM device will never last you 2 days of calls abusing and symbian system is not that user frenly... that is my say...

eg compare a N97 with Xperia 1/2... which will give you an upper hand???? WM or Symbian, Battery Life (talktime/stand-by time)???

i still can't make up my mind which to choose, android (desire) or iphone 3Gs... both has the thing that i want but both does not give me god talk time, well that i what i concern most, over 8hrs of talktime on the spec is more important than anything else... but again there is some stuff that u need to consider also, the UI interface friendliness, the file sharing also and lastly the problems of the phone and system itself...

just my single cents...
kidmad
post Jul 17 2010, 08:53 AM

4,482 posts

lol in my case simple. I just dorwanna be those uncle aunties walking round town bragging bout their iphones... Too common and there is nothing special bout it. More over... I do not want to sulk up into Apple's branding. That's all. haha

Added on July 17, 2010, 8:53 amon top of that... i dont think iphone 3gs spec worth the price...

This post has been edited by kidmad: Jul 17 2010, 08:53 AM
michael9413
post Jul 17 2010, 09:05 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well hard to say with the current promo it is quite attractive...
BTW isn't it there a lot of ppl with smart phone already outside... Symbian and WM is everywhere and now BB also growing fast... so what you want to be special??? Android??? u r wrong it is not special at all my fren...
last time during WM and Symbian launching time has similar condition also, wow very good, multi function and plenty of stuff to play with... but now it is very slow now.... so it will happen to Android also...

what is desire, nexus 1 or Galaxy S... cheap phone with multitasking in some ppl point of view... want to look for special phone??? my boss last time using 1, Gold Edition Nokia 8800 if not mistaken for that phone with normal basic function only is it worth that much?.... that is special ppl will see u like "wow you are rich or special"

that is my common sense... there is nothing as cheap and not common... just like car... u buy Mitsu Lancer GT coz it is common, come on it is a common car anyway although i did not own one and can't afford 1...

BTW argue also no use as every individual has different preferences... smile.gif
for me Iphone serve my purpose and currently with the price it is more attractive than desire coz it is cheaper for me with my kinda usage... but Desire is nice which is higher spec and it's battery is changeable, that is what i see the most obvious advantage of it over Iphone... OS customization, support more freeware, faster processor, better camera did not make much different as u think... simple and easy life for JB or rooting the phone as no trace after that, u need not to worry about warranty also smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jul 17 2010, 09:14 AM

37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0273sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:22 AM