My parents doesn't like my girlfriend, Because she has no degree
spunkberry
Jul 5 2010, 06:31 AM
危ない人です
well tell your parents that they should be judging her based on how she treats you and how compatible you two are, instead of judging her on her own aka the fact that she doesn't have a degree.
I know someone in a similar situation too.
TSNemesis181188
Jul 5 2010, 06:31 AM
Yeah I totally agree with you.Sigh.I guess now I'll just concentrate on increasing my chances of better job offers.But just to tell them like that isn't easy.How I wish it is that easy.
This post has been edited by Nemesis181188: Jul 5 2010, 06:33 AM
tech3910
Jul 5 2010, 06:38 AM
stop being a mama's boy & stand up against ur parent for ur gf. make ur opinion & idea heard.
spunkberry
Jul 5 2010, 06:39 AM
危ない人です
I don't see why they should care so much about whether she has a degree or not. Some of the smartest, richest people don't have university degrees ... ie Gates and Dell (dropped out of Harvard and Stanford respectively)
Also, you're marrying her, not them. YOU would have to deal with her in your life, not them. They're just the sideline spectators
This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jul 5 2010, 06:40 AM
TSNemesis181188
Jul 5 2010, 06:42 AM
Yeah that's the thing.Maybe because my mom's from a poor family last time and she just wants a better life for me.Probably that's why she prefers a girl who has a degree and is a professional like a lawyer,doctor etc???It is really annoying.
And you're right Tech.I am too soft.Gotta toughen up.
This post has been edited by Nemesis181188: Jul 5 2010, 06:45 AM
tech3910
Jul 5 2010, 06:45 AM
QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Jul 5 2010, 06:42 AM) Yeah that's the thing.Maybe because my mom's from a poor family last time and she just wants a better life for me.Probably that's why she prefers a girl who has a degree and is a professional like a lawyer,doctor etc???It is really annoying. aik....stop whining, get out from ur mom skirt & stand up for urself & ur gf. it's part of being a guy. if u can't stand up for ur love 1 & for urself, how u expect to build a future wit ur love 1? nuf said...... This post has been edited by tech3910: Jul 5 2010, 06:46 AM
Kampung2005
Jul 5 2010, 06:46 AM
Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
Try to meet your GF in different location (insist on that) when you are back to Malaysia.
radi0head
Jul 5 2010, 06:48 AM
i do hope ur parents stop looking down at ppl... some no degree ppl are even more 'educated' n have a better manners than those that are 'highly educated' which in a another way are more 'lansi' n 'cunning'... if u said that ur parents doesnt like ur gf is bcoz she is rude and disrespectful to the old, then ok... acceptable but if ur parents just don like the girl bcoz she doesnt have a degree... that's a totally wrong thinking... life doesnt have to be good only with a degree ok...
soujiro_seta
Jul 5 2010, 06:49 AM

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jul 5 2010, 03:51 AM) as long as she is not those girl dat plan to fast get married & bcom stay @ home housewife, den wat is the problem? people wit no degree cannot hav career? tell ur parents dis. i think its not about career. the parents concern about knowledge n level of thinking.. if u go to univ just for ur career sake..i must say that's quite pathetic..
TSNemesis181188
Jul 5 2010, 06:52 AM
I believe it's because they have really traditional thinking.My gf isn't rude and disrespectful.If she is I would've left her already.
tech3910
Jul 5 2010, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Jul 5 2010, 06:49 AM) i think its not about career. the parents concern about knowledge n level of thinking.. if u go to univ just for ur career sake..i must say that's quite pathetic..  u dun let dat she's smart & has high IQ, but just dun hav the chance to further studies, lets say financial problem. going uni o college doesn't prove u r knowledgeable or high level of thinking smartass.....
Kampung2005
Jul 5 2010, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Jul 5 2010, 06:52 AM) I believe it's because they have really traditional thinking.My gf isn't rude and disrespectful.If she is I would've left her already. Why does it really bother you as you are in charge of your future? Mindset takes time to change. What you have is your girlfriend, so stick with her and move forward to future This post has been edited by Kampung2005: Jul 5 2010, 06:55 AM
soujiro_seta
Jul 5 2010, 06:54 AM

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Jul 5 2010, 06:39 AM) I don't see why they should care so much about whether she has a degree or not. Some of the smartest, richest people don't have university degrees ... ie Gates and Dell (dropped out of Harvard and Stanford respectively) Also, you're marrying her, not them. YOU would have to deal with her in your life, not them. They're just the sideline spectators well.at least they go to univ.. if i am a dropped out of harvard.i wont mind telling ppl that.how many of us go to harvard? marrying is about connecting 2 families my dear fren. its not about individual interest..
tech3910
Jul 5 2010, 06:57 AM
QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Jul 5 2010, 06:54 AM) well.at least they go to univ.. if i am a dropped out of harvard.i wont mind telling ppl that.how many of us go to harvard? marrying is about connecting 2 families my dear fren. its not about individual interest.. i think people who thinks dis was does not hav the rights to choose their own partner. just fix marriage la....
soujiro_seta
Jul 5 2010, 07:01 AM

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jul 5 2010, 06:53 AM) u dun let dat she's smart & has high IQ, but just dun hav the chance to further studies, lets say financial problem. going uni o college doesn't prove u r knowledgeable or high level of thinking smartass..... well then.its never too late to continue study...if the gf really care bout studying going to univ cant prove u to be knowledgeable but in general term, obviously it looks n sounds better than someone without degree.rite? but i do believe when u associate with ppl who gain masters n phd, ur level of thinking and mindset could be better..
tech3910
Jul 5 2010, 07:07 AM
QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Jul 5 2010, 07:01 AM) well then.its never too late to continue study...if the gf really care bout studying going to univ cant prove u to be knowledgeable but in general term, obviously it looks n sounds better than someone without degree.rite? but i do believe when u associate with ppl who gain masters n phd, ur level of thinking and mindset could be better.. PhD school <-------- that way wat u r saying is classic status problem...... like how rich people only can marry rich people.........
soujiro_seta
Jul 5 2010, 07:07 AM

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jul 5 2010, 06:57 AM) i think people who thinks dis was does not hav the rights to choose their own partner. just fix marriage la.... that's shud b the purpose of marriage. either its fix.or u choose urself ur candidates.. its all about family. if not, better go get a house n live with gf/bf without marriage. still cn hv sex n babies as long as the religion permit.. plus can help urself frm spending too much on wedding ceremony... Added on July 5, 2010, 7:08 amQUOTE(tech3910 @ Jul 5 2010, 07:07 AM) PhD school <-------- that way wat u r saying is classic status problem...... like how rich people only can marry rich people......... ppl with knowledge isnt poor.. This post has been edited by soujiro_seta: Jul 5 2010, 07:08 AM
tech3910
Jul 5 2010, 07:12 AM
QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Jul 5 2010, 07:07 AM) that's shud b the purpose of marriage. either its fix.or u choose urself ur candidates.. its all about family. if not, better go get a house n live with gf/bf without marriage. still cn hv sex n babies as long as the religion permit.. plus can help urself frm spending too much on wedding ceremony... Added on July 5, 2010, 7:08 amppl with knowledge isnt poor..  i see wedding as the marriage license, not the wedding dinner ceremony.
Kampung2005
Jul 5 2010, 07:17 AM
Marriage / wedding = for legal purpose
Other than that, banquet is cultural addition.
SUSMonsterjin
Jul 5 2010, 07:21 AM

If u like her very very much, then just get married when the time is correct. Just go to registrar of marriage and register, especially if u dun have religous obligation e.g. witness or etc.
I noe of 1 friend, he is the most unliked son in the family, everything he do oso nobody like, finally he hit the final straw, he just married that gal, and den the parents mengamuk, but he ignore them, finally he and his wife is happily together, as for the parents, they end up being grumpy old folks in the home town, even their own favourite son and daughters oso give up on them.
But you have to make 1 big-big commitment, after all this difficulties and BS, when are you gonna ROM her?, things like this not good if drag for too long. And you risk getting married without your parents showing happy face, and nothing much else. (BTW, yer GF is not a lala mui that does nothing other than being an Ah Lian rite?, if not, then Y u worry so much?) Even lala mui ah lians that I noe sometimes have more morale than ppl graduated from univ (got 1 lala mui tat I noe, every month end sure go help in the orphanage, and another univ grad gal onli noe ONS,.... you say leh?)