6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

My parents doesn't like my girlfriend, Because she has no degree

TSNemesis181188
post Jul 5 2010, 10:08 AM

635 posts

She only has a spm certificate too but it's not like she doesn't want to pursue her studies , it's just her financial background isn't really good that's why she's forced to work and thankfully she has a job at a bank.
animeme
post Jul 5 2010, 10:09 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Rascal Stitch @ Jul 5 2010, 10:02 AM)
wow,u got same situation like me man~
my ex-gf's mom dun like me cuz i dun have a digree/diploma at all while my ex-having diploma n taking higher diploma now~
she hated me so much wen she got my background tat i dun have any cert at all n jus got my lousy spm cert~
but i'm working on myself on my own business rather than jus worling for ppl~
hahahahaaa~
anyway it's up to u if u can endur d pain thru out d relationship wit her from ur parents,while i've suffer d pain for 2 1/2yrs from her parent's rejection from 1st day till v broke up~  laugh.gif
Hmm...........so why broke up?
Rascal Stitch
post Jul 5 2010, 10:16 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(animeme @ Jul 5 2010, 11:09 AM)
Hmm...........so why broke up?
many probs arise lor~
mainly is from her parents,then me n an a$$hole playing my back spannaring her lo~
jusco1
post Jul 5 2010, 10:35 AM

618 posts

bad fren.. hahaha..
if u want something.. go get it..
find the easiest way to solve all problems arise...
get her degree?
change ur parents thinking.. slowly...
or maybe.. just buy her the degree...
then tell ur parents she took part time. hehehehhee
gundamsp01
post Jul 5 2010, 10:42 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

first of all, it is ur happiness, u should tell ur parents: "she is my gf, not ur gf, and i'm the one who is going to marry her, not both of u, and btw, the whole process doesnt need a penny from u, so why u care?"

well, harsh word aside, ur parents are just typical achievers who think university paper is everything, and these type of pp can only be satisfied by money and power, so maybe u can prove to them, that both of u can have a happy life maybe rich is even better...

btw, even u get a degree or master graduated gf, that doesnt mean she will be freaking gold digger, it is just paper.
u should tell ur parents that u choose ur gf because u like her, not because she is graduates, and also finding a wife is not trophy collection...we dont simply go to the street and freaking tell everyone "my wife is a university graduate"
geekster129
post Jul 5 2010, 10:50 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jul 5 2010, 10:42 AM)
first of all, it is ur happiness, u should tell ur parents: "she is my gf, not ur gf, and i'm the one who is going to marry her, not both of u, and btw, the whole process doesnt need a penny from u, so why u care?"

well, harsh word aside, ur parents are just typical achievers who think university paper is everything, and these type of pp can only be satisfied by money and power, so maybe u can prove to them, that both of u can have a happy life maybe rich is even better...

btw, even u get a degree or master graduated gf, that doesnt mean she will be freaking gold digger, it is just paper.
u should tell ur parents that u choose ur gf because u like her, not because she is graduates, and also finding a wife is not trophy collection...we dont simply go to the street and freaking tell everyone "my wife is a university graduate"
it's all about status, bro.
gundamsp01
post Jul 5 2010, 10:55 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Jul 5 2010, 10:50 AM)
it's all about status, bro.
but university graduate doesnt guarantee u anything, i'm a gradute..so? if his parents want him to have a rich gf then i can understand...but a university graduate? dont make me laugh doh.gif
geekster129
post Jul 5 2010, 11:09 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jul 5 2010, 10:55 AM)
but university graduate doesnt guarantee u anything, i'm a gradute..so? if his parents want him to have a rich gf then i can understand...but a university graduate? dont make me laugh doh.gif
That's what I meant.

But unfortunately, some people are realistic that they will think having a degree have a higher status... sweat.gif

Sorry TS, if I have said anything wrong.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Jul 5 2010, 11:12 AM
munkeyflo
post Jul 5 2010, 11:16 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

tell your parents its you who wants to spend the rest of your life with her, not them. and you choose her for yourself, not them.

if i were you, i'll talk to them properly about accepting her. if that still fails, i'll just avoid that topic whenever i'm with them until i get married and show them that we still can have a bright future ahead regardless of a degree or not.
BlurSotong
post Jul 5 2010, 11:24 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:53 AM)
Haha yup that's what I plan to do when I'm back home.Probably talk to them nicely over dinner at home about it.I have tried that on skype that time as they brought the matter up and I really did get a nice scolding from both of them.My dad didn't gave me a chance to say anything as he kept scolding scolding saying the same thing over and over again sleep.gif" All I wanted to say was how can you judge a person like that when you haven't even met her and he said he doesn't want to meet her.He said he'll be very stubborn etc etc(really childish sometimes I would say sigh but still he's my dad) as for my mom she was also adding more oil to the fire as she was sitting beside my dad.

Haha I guess I was pampered quite alot last time too since I'm the eldest but I remembered once I got caned for crying cause I wanted a computer when I was 9 hahaha.Actually come to think of it I got caned alot haha but I was trained to do housework too so I guess it's good training but my parents still got me the toys I wanted haha.
you're right, talking when you're together physically has more effect. But not over dinner. Parents tend to be dramatic. Later bang table, walk off or what not. Old ppl. Eating together peacefully important to them. We're playing by their rules to win. You want them to see things your way, you gotta show them you viewed things their way and found yours better, and seeing that your way is better, you also want them to have the best. Talk after dinner when perut penuh. Hungry men are angry men. You don't need all that extra load piss. Pacify them whenever you can. Then slowly wedge in to have a proper discussion over tea or something. You're no longer the boy to throw tantrum to get what he wants now. You're your own man, your visions, and your dreams and you want the ppl you love to share your dream. tell them that. Show them they raised you right and show them how superficial a simple cert is. Remember pacify them while making points. Speak like you do everything for them. Throw in small words with big impact. Bombastic words only serve to show your arrogance.

Added on July 5, 2010, 11:28 amBut for your gf's sake, a degree is important. Get it whenever she can. You said she's sought after and works in bank. These Corp usually have employee self improvement programmes. She can apply to study part time with bank's loan. In fact, if she performs well in school, the company will support her financially. Degree holders can apply for masters thru company too.

Added on July 5, 2010, 11:30 amI said degree is important because it's easier to get promoted. A degree holder has an advantage over spm/diploma holder no matter how deserving the promotion is.

This post has been edited by BlurSotong: Jul 5 2010, 11:30 AM
msblack
post Jul 5 2010, 11:38 AM

ts, since u are not planning to marry her anytime soon, why do u want ur parents to like her?
Drian
post Jul 5 2010, 11:40 AM

4,999 posts

I don't know about you but can you guys really click? Or are you just choosing her because you have no gf?

I myself have talked to non-degree holders before and I do find that their mindset is different. Hard to me to explain but they just don't get it sometimes.

BlurSotong
post Jul 5 2010, 11:44 AM

111 posts

Same here. I don't click well too. Only talk bout general stuff. No serious talks usually. Especially if it pertains to work.
SUSPrince_Hamsap
post Jul 5 2010, 12:29 PM

Nightmare of Solomon
542 posts

She loves u, got 'degree' in housework and can give birth is wat matters... whistling.gif
tech3910
post Jul 5 2010, 12:30 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:53 AM)
Haha yup that's what I plan to do when I'm back home.Probably talk to them nicely over dinner at home about it.I have tried that on skype that time as they brought the matter up and I really did get a nice scolding from both of them.My dad didn't gave me a chance to say anything as he kept scolding scolding saying the same thing over and over again sleep.gif" All I wanted to say was how can you judge a person like that when you haven't even met her and he said he doesn't want to meet her.He said he'll be very stubborn etc etc(really childish sometimes I would say sigh but still he's my dad) as for my mom she was also adding more oil to the fire as she was sitting beside my dad.

Haha I guess I was pampered quite alot last time too since I'm the eldest but I remembered once I got caned for crying cause I wanted a computer when I was 9 hahaha.Actually come to think of it I got caned alot haha but I was trained to do housework too so I guess it's good training but my parents still got me the toys I wanted haha.
u wan the dinner to go down from ur spine?
QUOTE(Drian @ Jul 5 2010, 11:40 AM)
I don't know about you but can you guys really click? Or are you just choosing her because you have no gf?

I myself have talked to non-degree holders before and I do find that their mindset is different. Hard to me to explain but they just don't get it sometimes.
QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Jul 5 2010, 11:44 AM)
Same here. I don't click well too. Only talk bout general stuff. No serious talks usually. Especially if it pertains to work.
my gf is from CE world, i'm from EE world.
v hav no frens in common, meaning no mutual fren.
my native language is english, her native language is cantonese.

well....v click well...... tongue.gif

Added on July 5, 2010, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(Prince_Hamsap @ Jul 5 2010, 12:29 PM)
She loves u, got 'degree' in sex and can give birth is wat matters... whistling.gif
fixed.

btw, all these talk here in the thread is way too early if TS haven't nail her girl......

This post has been edited by tech3910: Jul 5 2010, 12:31 PM
BlurSotong
post Jul 5 2010, 12:36 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jul 5 2010, 12:30 PM)
u wan the dinner to go down from ur spine?
my gf is from CE world, i'm from EE world.
v hav no frens in common, meaning no mutual fren.
my native language is english, her native language is cantonese.

well....v click well...... tongue.gif

Added on July 5, 2010, 12:31 pm
fixed.
Good for you then... I can't click well with many CE but when I do, we're good. The kind to see each other a year later with complete BS for few hours.laugh.gif But I tot it's about degree holders and high school diploma holders...
TiF
post Jul 5 2010, 12:38 PM

1,192 posts

-edited- quote missing, damn it

This post has been edited by TiF: Jul 5 2010, 12:39 PM
tech3910
post Jul 5 2010, 12:42 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Jul 5 2010, 12:36 PM)
Good for you then... I can't click well with many CE but when I do, we're good. The kind to see each other a year later with complete BS for few hours.laugh.gif But I tot it's about degree holders and high school diploma holders...
well...same case.....it's about mentality.
BlurSotong
post Jul 5 2010, 12:51 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jul 5 2010, 12:42 PM)
well...same case.....it's about mentality.
pls elaborate...
Cas
post Jul 5 2010, 12:53 PM

262 posts

If she's fully indepedent then what's the problem? Some parents can be very sticky la - always find fault with their son's choice etc, this is when you fully stick up for your gf and tell them of her good attributes!

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0232sec    1.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:11 PM