67 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Motorola MILESTONE XT720, A Milestone XT,Android 2.1

cloud8318
post Jul 29 2010, 01:17 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

so the XT720 from starhub SG, is 720mhz or 550mhz, seem like it have two different model, confuse :star:
kevin613
post Jul 29 2010, 08:30 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 29 2010, 01:17 AM)
so the XT720 from starhub SG, is 720mhz or 550mhz, seem like it have two different model, confuse :star:
only 1 model lah... the processor is capable of 720mhz, but its clocked @ 550mhz now.. go check in moto products page lah.. I think the confusion is because moto release the news before spec is finalized.. so news has 1 spec and actual product has another set. .
TSKannaSai1
post Jul 29 2010, 08:50 AM

6,933 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 29 2010, 01:17 AM)
is it important?

i feel no diff with my desire as well for the speed.

choonwai11
post Jul 29 2010, 09:20 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Jul 28 2010, 09:36 PM)
can last week. if no internet. biggrin.gif

Really? for mine, no internet(data off), no wifi, some games, calls and sms can last for 52hrs max.......

Added on July 29, 2010, 9:23 am
QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Jul 29 2010, 08:50 AM)
is it important?

yes, currently sometimes i felt the transition from screen to screen are not so smooth or have to wait a while, if clock speed faster this will be reduce. but for me, it is still bearable........depends on individual usage.

This post has been edited by choonwai11: Jul 29 2010, 09:23 AM
kevin613
post Jul 29 2010, 10:09 AM

2,236 posts

if you increase the clockspeed, then expect the battery life to be shorter..
heard of the original milestone going beyond 1Ghz, so i think the XT720 should have the same potential too.. but whether it's necessary, different story lah...
sanosizo
post Jul 29 2010, 10:33 AM

4,553 posts

my personal opinion after using this phone for more than a month, the speed is quite ok. when people say its slow, they are comparing with 1ghz equipped smartphones, of course it will be slow but it wont reach into the annoying level yet. For day to day use, I would say this phone is good. I browse websites everyday with it, download songs, movies, youtubes, documents and when Im home, I use USB tether with my laptop.

AP price costs very high, because they provide the warranty service (u dont have to go to singapore) but if u happened to be able to go down there, I suggest u guys go and buy the phone from people who bought it with contract. u can easily save around rm500-600 if u do that. xt720 is an expensive phone, in SG its S$988 if u buy it without contract, in US its $599.
choonwai11
post Jul 29 2010, 11:55 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jul 29 2010, 10:09 AM)
if you increase the clockspeed, then expect the battery life to be shorter..
heard of the original milestone going beyond 1Ghz, so i think the XT720 should have the same potential too.. but whether it's necessary, different story lah...
agreed on the battery life thing, but compare to my frs HTC desire which running at 1Ghz, my milestone xt720 battery life is just comparable to his desire. In my opinion, xt720 should have longer battery life since it running at 550mhz....

but as i mention, the speed of xt720 is still not annoying me, so no complain. i charge my phone everynight, so as long as battery life can last me from morning until night, i can accept.

conclusion, xt720 a great phone foe me........yeah!!!

Added on July 29, 2010, 12:02 pm
QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 29 2010, 10:33 AM)

AP price costs very high, because they provide the warranty service (u dont have to go to singapore) but if u happened to be able to go down there, I suggest u guys go and buy the phone from people who bought it with contract. u can easily save around rm500-600 if u do that. xt720 is an expensive phone, in SG its S$988 if u buy it without contract, in US its $599.
yes agreed, go to singapore, buy from othes ppl, or even some shop selling Starhub set without contract with cheap price, normally range from SGD550~600. but this shop normally wouldnt do warranty claim for you for free, you need to go direct to motorla SC in spore to warranty / software upgrade urself.

This post has been edited by choonwai11: Jul 29 2010, 12:02 PM
kevin613
post Jul 29 2010, 01:58 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(choonwai11 @ Jul 29 2010, 11:55 AM)
agreed on the battery life thing, but compare to my frs HTC desire which running at 1Ghz, my milestone xt720 battery life is just comparable to his desire. In my opinion, xt720 should have longer battery life since it running at 550mhz....

but as i mention, the speed of xt720 is still not annoying me, so no complain. i charge my phone everynight, so as long as battery life can last me from morning until night, i can accept.

conclusion, xt720 a great phone foe me........yeah!!!

Added on July 29, 2010, 12:02 pm

yes agreed, go to singapore,  buy from othes ppl, or even some shop selling Starhub set without contract with cheap price, normally range from SGD550~600. but this shop normally wouldnt do warranty claim for you for free, you need to go direct to motorla SC in spore to warranty / software upgrade urself.
Software upgrade is FOTA..
cloud8318
post Jul 29 2010, 04:28 PM

4,016 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jul 29 2010, 08:30 AM)
only 1 model lah... the processor is capable of 720mhz, but its clocked @ 550mhz now.. go check in moto products page lah.. I think the confusion is because moto release the news before spec is finalized.. so news has 1 spec and actual product has another set. .
oic thanks....will check it later notworthy.gif

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Jul 29 2010, 08:50 AM)
is it important?

well that depand on how u look at it.....if moto launch it and announce it have 720Mhz....but the phone i bought only 550mhz.....is it important?

Note: now i know moto downclock it 720 to 550mhz

QUOTE(choonwai11 @ Jul 29 2010, 09:20 AM)
Really? for mine, no internet(data off), no wifi, some games, calls and sms can last for 52hrs max.......

Added on July 29, 2010, 9:23 am

yes, currently sometimes i felt the transition from screen to screen are not so smooth or have to wait a while, if clock speed faster this will be reduce. but for me, it is still bearable........depends on individual usage.
can i know game for how long? lots of call and SMS?
sanosizo
post Jul 29 2010, 05:41 PM

4,553 posts

only US version has 720MHz cpu and 512MB ram
kevin613
post Jul 29 2010, 06:36 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 29 2010, 05:41 PM)
only US version has 720MHz cpu and 512MB ram
can show me link to US version on motorola US Homepage?
I cant find it leh.. biggrin.gif
sanosizo
post Jul 29 2010, 06:44 PM

4,553 posts

already on sale in the us - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16875209238
kevin613
post Jul 29 2010, 07:28 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 29 2010, 06:44 PM)
it's unofficial dude.. probably shipped in from UK and sold as is with spec ripped from some other site....
it will be on Motorola US site if it's launched..

cloud8318
post Jul 29 2010, 07:38 PM

4,016 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 29 2010, 06:44 PM)
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jul 29 2010, 07:28 PM)
it's unofficial dude.. probably shipped in from UK and sold as is with spec ripped from some other site....
it will be on Motorola US site if it's launched..
wonder why motorola set different clock speed for different region hmm.gif
512 ram....sweet wub.gif
sanosizo
post Jul 29 2010, 07:47 PM

4,553 posts

my mistake. it should be on sale this august.

Added on July 29, 2010, 7:57 pmbtw, my phone currently running at 800MHz tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sanosizo: Jul 29 2010, 07:57 PM
kevin613
post Jul 29 2010, 08:41 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 29 2010, 07:47 PM)
my mistake. it should be on sale this august.

Added on July 29, 2010, 7:57 pmbtw, my phone currently running at 800MHz tongue.gif
You rooted your xt720?
jkn
post Jul 29 2010, 09:22 PM

34 posts

How... please tell us how!!

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jul 29 2010, 08:41 PM)
You rooted your xt720?
sanosizo
post Jul 29 2010, 09:55 PM

4,553 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...t=701966&page=7

Look for post #66

Do at your own risk biggrin.gif

Added on July 29, 2010, 10:42 pmSome word of warnings...

As of now there is no nandroid backup option yet, only the starhub sbf flash file is available. So be careful when doing modifications to the phone.

What do you get when you gain root access?
- system app removal, like starhub tv for example
- replace stock keyboard with the droid x multi touch keyboard
- overclocking, only attainable using milestone overclock 1.2
- remove the camera click sound

This post has been edited by sanosizo: Jul 29 2010, 10:42 PM
fees_88
post Jul 30 2010, 07:41 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 29 2010, 09:55 PM)

Look for post #66

As of now there is no nandroid backup option yet, only the starhub sbf flash file is available. So be careful when doing modifications to the phone.

wahh bro..
i hope we can meet up to see ur rooted phone..
heheh~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
cloud8318
post Jul 30 2010, 07:55 AM

4,016 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 29 2010, 09:55 PM)

Look for post #66

holy 1.2ghz.... shocking.gif better than my N900 sweat.gif

67 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:47 AM