83 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v3, FullHD Network Mediaplay, Sharing some of the information

bsl555
post Nov 26 2010, 01:12 PM

8,046 posts

I updated my unit with European firmware. The only difference I see so far is different EU language options, otherwise the rest is same as Asian firmware. If your media files are in Chinese, it'll still show chinese characters as it is. I suppose this is because of Unicode setting. Yes, no problem with updating with either version. It rewrites everything and revert to default settings. It doesn't save any custom settings.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 26 2010, 01:15 PM
Pilote
post Nov 26 2010, 09:22 PM

17 posts

I got this echo and distorted sound every 30 mins interval and last for 1 mins when connected HDMI to LCD TV ? sad.gif

Anyone can share ?

Box Builder any comments?

hmm.gif
TSBoxBuilder
post Nov 26 2010, 10:11 PM

292 posts

[quote=kencul,Nov 26 2010, 11:19 AM]
[quote=BoxBuilder,Nov 26 2010, 08:53 AM]
Is your unit is DD+ version? What is the BDMV files u hv?

Should be the newer version, just updated to ver. 4415. the files are Inception/Expendables. abt 45 Gb each.

[/quote]
If the unit u bought after this May, it should be DD+. Than it can support truehd and DTSMA. All u need is set the AV to HDMI RAW at mini. Than yr hifi should detect the HD Audio.
As for the movie files, r u downloaded or rip from BD?

Added on November 26, 2010, 10:16 pm[quote=Pilote,Nov 26 2010, 09:22 PM]
I got this echo and distorted sound every 30 mins interval and last for 1 mins when connected HDMI to LCD TV ? sad.gif

Anyone can share ?

Box Builder any comments?

hmm.gif

[/quote]
It is strength. Can u troubleshoot below:
1. Change the HDMI port at yr LCD TV
2. Change another HDMI cable
3. Is it every movie file like that or only 1?
4. Is video set to 1080p/60Hz?

This post has been edited by BoxBuilder: Nov 26 2010, 10:16 PM
Pilote
post Nov 26 2010, 10:59 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Nov 26 2010, 11:11 PM)
If the unit u bought after this May, it should be DD+. Than it can support truehd and DTSMA. All u need is set the AV to HDMI RAW at mini. Than yr hifi should detect the HD Audio.
As for the movie files, r u downloaded or rip from BD?

Added on November 26, 2010, 10:16 pm
It is strength. Can u troubleshoot below:
1. Change the HDMI port at yr LCD TV
2. Change another HDMI cable
3. Is it every movie file like that or only 1?
4. Is video set to 1080p/60Hz?
1.TV got 4 hdmi port, so far port 1 & 2 same problem. Port 3 & 4 not yet try.. will try sad.gif
2.Changed 2 hdmi cable still same
3.Most of the movies same problem ( mkv, avi, mp4 ) except rmvb ?
4.Tried auto & 1080P/60 same problem

Help cry.gif

TSBoxBuilder
post Nov 27 2010, 02:33 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(Pilote @ Nov 26 2010, 10:59 PM)
1.TV got 4 hdmi port, so far port 1 & 2 same problem. Port 3 & 4 not yet try.. will try  sad.gif
2.Changed 2 hdmi cable still same
3.Most of the movies same problem ( mkv, avi, mp4 ) except rmvb ?
4.Tried auto & 1080P/60 same problem

Help   cry.gif
Last 2 questions, is mini audio set to LPCM and what brand LCD TV u use? can u set the video to 720p/60 and 720p/50 and try? If problem persist, pls send back the unit to where u bought from. You let me know and we will react immediate to u, if u bought from our authorise reseller ya.

This post has been edited by BoxBuilder: Nov 27 2010, 02:39 PM
Pilote
post Nov 27 2010, 04:54 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Nov 27 2010, 03:33 PM)
Last 2 questions, is mini audio set to LPCM and what brand LCD TV u use? can u set the video to 720p/60 and 720p/50 and try? If problem persist, pls send back the unit to where u bought from. You let me know and we will react immediate to u, if u bought from our authorise reseller ya.
Audio set to LPCM
TV is Toshiba
Set to 720p/60 & 720p/50 still same

May i know who's your reseler?

Thks smile.gif

uk19xx
post Nov 27 2010, 10:42 PM

242 posts

looking for a home theater system.

should I connect direct from the acryan playon or from the TV.

by the way my tv is toshiba 47zv series.

anyone?

tq

Pilote
post Nov 28 2010, 12:13 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Nov 27 2010, 11:42 PM)

anyone?

tq
Hi could you try connect to your tv using hdmi see you have the same problem like me echo and distorted sound every 30 mins ?

my tv is 42zv600e

Thnks icon_rolleyes.gif
TSBoxBuilder
post Nov 28 2010, 05:00 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(Pilote @ Nov 27 2010, 04:54 PM)
Audio set to LPCM
TV is Toshiba
Set to 720p/60 & 720p/50 still same

May i know who's your reseler?

Thks  smile.gif
Where u bought from? Is there got Box Builder sticker behind the player? Pls return to them and let me know. We will react promptly if u bought from our resellers ya.
Thks.
Sting Ray
post Nov 28 2010, 09:33 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Pilote @ Nov 28 2010, 12:13 AM)
Hi could you try connect to your tv using hdmi see you have the same problem like me  echo and distorted sound every 30 mins ?

my tv is 42zv600e

Thnks  icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm using 47ZV600E with POHD connected directly to the TV via HDMI, no such issue encountered since day 1.
AVFAN
post Nov 28 2010, 10:25 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Nov 27 2010, 10:42 PM)
anyone?
tq
For Mini w/o coaxial output: If there is a coaxial digital output from the TV, you can go HDMI from mini to TV then connect from TV to HTS coaxial using RCA cable. Maybe some signal loss but you have benefit of not having the HTS on if you don't want it and just listen from TV.
But best audio performance results will be mini to HTS, then to TV - both via HDMI.

For POHD with coaxial output, can have the option to connect POHD to TV via HDMI as well as POHD to HTS via coaxial.
doremon
post Nov 29 2010, 07:59 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

My Mini POHD yesterday got hang. Not sure what's the cause of it. So I have to disconnect from electric and reconnect it back. Then ok. Is this normal? Scare if offen accouter this might damages the cute POHD huhhuhu

BoxBuilder, the POHD any plan to release new look hehe. Even cuter then this mini version tongue.gif . Im so in love this A C Ryan now LOL
TSBoxBuilder
post Nov 29 2010, 09:24 AM

292 posts

Hi, sometimes the files may cause this hang. But electronics item sometime a bit crazy as well. Very hard to trace. Nevertheless, if got any problem, pls let us know and we will solve for you.
btw, do u know that after u play some time, the hard disk need to scan and fix the files? Pls do this periodically as this is a routine for the hard disk maintainance. Just like u need to defrag the PC hard disk periodically.
Enjoy!
medan78
post Nov 29 2010, 09:42 AM

101 posts

Upgrade my mini to 4415 recently. Initially was OK but when I shut it down and restart it "Error Unsupported Hardware" appear. Shut it down again and unplug my 1T external drive, restart it again and it's OK. Tried a few times and the same result happens. Seems for 4415, I need to unplug the USB everytime I want to swtich it on. Downgraded to 3852.

Hope to get a fix on this.
doremon
post Nov 29 2010, 10:13 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Nov 29 2010, 09:24 AM)
Hi, sometimes the files may cause this hang. But electronics item sometime a bit crazy as well. Very hard to trace. Nevertheless, if got any problem, pls let us know and we will solve for you.
btw, do u know that after u play some time, the hard disk need to scan and fix the files? Pls do this periodically as this is a routine for the hard disk maintainance. Just like u need to defrag the PC hard disk periodically.
Enjoy!
Bos, you mean each time I plug in my external hdd to my note book and automatically display options one of it is scan and fix right? Click on this i it? Last time i tried all my documents in the hdd hilang oooooo. I cry like hell and my boss got so mad cow rclxub.gif . U sure or not bro?
Btw, I just wanna double confirm only hehehe

Hail to A C Ryan notworthy.gif

Added on November 29, 2010, 11:52 amAiya forgot to ask something. Planning to get the Fat POHD. Due to space constrain lol, can I place the mini version on top fat version? Would it be any side effect later say 2 to 3 months?

This post has been edited by doremon: Nov 29 2010, 11:52 AM
Sting Ray
post Nov 29 2010, 01:15 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Nov 29 2010, 09:24 AM)
Enjoy!
hi boxbuilder, how to scan and fix the files ? I'm using POHD with internal HDD.
TSBoxBuilder
post Nov 29 2010, 06:27 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 29 2010, 10:13 AM)
Bos, you mean each time I plug in my external hdd to my note book and automatically display options one of it is scan and fix right? Click on this i it? Last time i tried all my documents in the hdd hilang oooooo. I cry like hell and my boss got so mad cow  rclxub.gif . U sure or not bro?
Btw, I just wanna double confirm only hehehe

Bro, u r misunderstand. What I mean scan the hard disk is using PC, not POHD. Because only PC can fix the file corruption at root directory of hard disk.
Method: go to Command Prompt, type: 'chkdsk (directory of external hard disk):/f' than PC will check and fix the file in the hard disk. 

Added on November 29, 2010, 11:52 amAiya forgot to ask something. Planning to get the Fat POHD. Due to space constrain lol, can I place the mini version on top fat version? Would it be any side effect later say 2 to 3 months?
No problem Bro, but leave a gap in between for the heat dissipation.

Added on November 29, 2010, 6:28 pm
QUOTE(Sting Ray @ Nov 29 2010, 01:15 PM)
hi boxbuilder, how to scan and fix the files ? I'm using POHD with internal HDD.
Hi Bro, pls refer to above for the method. Thks.

This post has been edited by BoxBuilder: Nov 29 2010, 06:28 PM
bsl555
post Nov 29 2010, 07:32 PM

8,046 posts

Since the mention of "heat dissipation",
My thoughts about the POHD.
1. Cheap skate generic aluminum heat sink for the Realtek Processor, it could have been better with fan. Maybe like Coolermaster Ice something..whatever. I actually opened the heat sink to see how well they installed the heat sink paste and I was shocked that it was bare minimal paste, and the heat sink or chip wasn't entirely flat. It was like one sided contact and this isn't good. What I did was bring out my left over "branded" heat sink paste (better quality and designed for CPU's), cleaned out the old paste, buttered up new paste and re installed the heat sink. I'm now assuming it'll do a better job in CPU cooling. BTW, forgot to say, the HS clip was not exactly straight and resulted with a slightly angled heat sink position. Careful bending of the clip and voila the HS is now PROPERLY and PERFECTLY INSTALLED. Hope I didn't void the warranty. There's NO problem so far for many hours. This is elementary stuff, no more complicated than installing your Intel or AMD CPU heat sink.
2. I'm a bit skeptical about installing an internal HDD. I'm thinking its still far safer to have an external HDD, THATS WHY I BOUGHT AN EXTERNAL ONE TODAY!. Why? One should carefully choose a HDD that doesn't suck current for breakfast, energy savings ones are highly recommended like WD Green types? (unsure). We live in hot country, and compacting another heat source in the form of a HDD may just make matters worse here. WD Raptor performance isn't crucial for POHD streaming. A cooler operating HDD will do just fine. Green again?
3. Whilst shopping today, it occured to me on some notebook coolers that may serve a purpose for POHD cooling. Yup..if I've got extra money, I'll consider it someday.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 29 2010, 07:34 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 29 2010, 08:01 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 29 2010, 07:32 PM)
Since the mention of "heat dissipation",
My thoughts about the POHD.
1. Cheap skate generic aluminum heat sink for the Realtek Processor, it could have been better with fan. Maybe like Coolermaster Ice something..whatever. I actually opened the heat sink to see how well they installed the heat sink paste and I was shocked that it was bare minimal paste, and the heat sink or chip wasn't entirely flat. It was like one sided contact and this isn't good. What I did was bring out my left over "branded" heat sink paste (better quality and designed for CPU's), cleaned out the old paste, buttered up new paste and re installed the heat sink. I'm now assuming it'll do a better job in CPU cooling. BTW, forgot to say, the HS clip was not exactly straight and resulted with a slightly angled heat sink position. Careful bending of the clip and voila the HS is now PROPERLY and PERFECTLY INSTALLED. Hope I didn't void the warranty. There's NO problem so far for many hours. This is elementary stuff, no more complicated than installing your Intel or AMD CPU heat sink.
2. I'm a bit skeptical about installing an internal HDD. I'm thinking its still far safer to have an external HDD, THATS WHY I BOUGHT AN EXTERNAL ONE TODAY!. Why? One should carefully choose a HDD that doesn't suck current for breakfast, energy savings ones are highly recommended like WD Green types? (unsure). We live in hot country, and compacting another heat source in the form of a HDD may just make matters worse here. WD Raptor performance isn't crucial for POHD streaming. A cooler operating HDD will do just fine. Green again?
3. Whilst shopping today, it occured to me on some notebook coolers that may serve a purpose for POHD cooling. Yup..if I've got extra money, I'll consider it someday.
ACRyan is a commodity media player, cheap la. Internal HDD no sweat, used it for 1 yr liao. Cost vs benefit, you figure it out...

Think you bought the wrong thing - you should have spent 1-2K and get the premium-prime-dune-jupiter-saturn stuff lor. tongue.gif
bsl555
post Nov 29 2010, 08:19 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 29 2010, 08:01 PM)
ACRyan is a commodity media player, cheap la. Internal HDD no sweat, used it for 1 yr liao. Cost vs benefit, you figure it out...
Think you bought the wrong thing - you should have spent 1-2K and get the premium-prime-dune-jupiter-saturn stuff lor. tongue.gif
There's no need to be on the defensive mode that suggested to be accepted as a cheap thingy. All I'm saying that there's room for improvement and I think they're reasonable realising its not a perfect product, but its does sell at a premium and premuim prices are to attain a clear edge over its competitors. I even think the software features lags a distance behind the Seagate Home Theatre+.
It says it can support external drives, but it can't play my audio cd and it irks me.
We're here to share views as the topic says, of course its not neccessarily reflect the views of other users.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 29 2010, 08:52 PM

83 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:42 AM