A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v3, FullHD Network Mediaplay, Sharing some of the information
Skylinestar
Nov 21 2010, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 21 2010, 01:44 PM) Thank you guys. Btw, just to check with you all, how on earth to know weather my .mkv running 1080p or not? Initially, the guys at lowyat plaza thought me but I forgot already. Any can help me this part Thanks a lot is your mkv 1080p? have you check the video setup page, and set it to 1080p?
yangxi
Nov 21 2010, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Nov 21 2010, 06:32 PM) Hi Bro, beside the quality, AC Ryan Wifi is 300Mbps and 1 transmission, 2 receiving. So, for wifi N, the best is 2 transmission and 2 receiving. The cheapest is 1 transmission and 1 receiving. Hope u can understand the price different due to this technical inside different. tipu , only "brand" expensive. only 1 type Realtek N wifi RTL8191SU chipset (1T, 2R) cheaper , can use G dongle .Realtek RTL8187B Special *RTL8192SU (2t,2r) hard find in market.. This post has been edited by yangxi: Nov 21 2010, 08:11 PM
doremon
Nov 21 2010, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 21 2010, 07:52 PM) is your mkv 1080p? have you check the video setup page, and set it to 1080p? Yes, done already and the button is info (remote control). From there can check already Thank you bro. A.C.Ryan rocks terms of program and design Long live BoxBuilder  Added on November 21, 2010, 8:10 pmSorry guys wanna ask something. I urgently need cooler pad or something to cool off the ACRyan player. Is dam freaking hot. Any idea? I was thinking to get Zalman NC3000 cooler to ease up the heat This post has been edited by doremon: Nov 21 2010, 08:10 PM
bsl555
Nov 21 2010, 08:28 PM
Freaking hot because of internal HDD?.. IMHO, internal HDD not highly recommended as we live in rather hot climate. If you're in air con room its probably ok. Yes, I know internal HDD can reduce clutter but not suitable in this climate without adequate cooling. Thats why I'm going to get an external 3.5" HDD for future use where it'll be externally powered too. Less stress on the ori adapter. In fact I was having ideas of another DIY box (like amplifier size) with integrated SMPS PSU (to power multiple HDD, Linear PSU for the ACR electronics and enough place to put in a few HDD's solely for the purpose. Only an idea now, unsure if I'll do it later on.
This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 21 2010, 08:31 PM
doremon
Nov 21 2010, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 21 2010, 08:28 PM) Freaking hot because of internal HDD?.. IMHO, internal HDD not highly recommended as we live in rather hot climate. If you're in air con room its probably ok. Yes, I know internal HDD can reduce clutter but not suitable in this climate without adequate cooling. Thats why I'm going to get an external 3.5" HDD for future use where it'll be externally powered too. Less stress on the ori adapter. In fact I was having ideas of another DIY box (like amplifier size) with integrated SMPS PSU (to power multiple HDD, Linear PSU for the ACR electronics and enough place to put in a few HDD's solely for the purpose. Only an idea now, unsure if I'll do it later on. Im using mini ACRyan FYI. I use my 1TB 2.5 external to run all my .mkv. After 3 hours watching Troy, I hold my mini, surprisingly extremely hot. But not so hot on my hdd compare to mini ACRyan. That's y I a bit worry here. Any solution to this matter. Guys, I here to share and update what's going on. Hope you guys be ok with this
bsl555
Nov 21 2010, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 21 2010, 09:11 PM) Im using mini ACRyan FYI. I use my 1TB 2.5 external to run all my .mkv. After 3 hours watching Troy, I hold my mini, surprisingly extremely hot. But not so hot on my hdd compare to mini ACRyan. That's y I a bit worry here. Any solution to this matter. I see. thought is the other POHD. Extreme hot isn't good news for any electronics. My POHD runs quite cool, (maybe because in air con enviroment). I don't like my electronics to run too hot, not even my PC. OK..you'll have to find some form of cooling solution like you mentioned or have a table fan blow it cool during play at worst. I've seen the only heaty thing inside the POHD is the Realtek processor with the elcheapo aluminum heat sink. (ha!..they couldn't even afford a better quality one. I think I'll find a high quality one in due course.)
doremon
Nov 21 2010, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 21 2010, 09:19 PM) I see. thought is the other POHD. Extreme hot isn't good news for any electronics. My POHD runs quite cool, (maybe because in air con enviroment). I don't like my electronics to run too hot, not even my PC. OK..you'll have to find some form of cooling solution like you mentioned or have a table fan blow it cool during play at worst. I've seen the only heaty thing inside the POHD is the Realtek processor with the elcheapo aluminum heat sink. (ha!..they couldn't even afford a better quality one. I think I'll find a high quality one in due course.) Ok, forgot to ask this questions. We have 2 usb ports. Can the usb port support external dvd? What about notebook cooler which relay 100% on the usb port to power up the notebook cooling power? I think that's about it for not This post has been edited by doremon: Nov 21 2010, 09:39 PM
AVFAN
Nov 21 2010, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 21 2010, 09:38 PM) Ok, forgot to ask this questions. We have 2 usb ports. Can the usb port support external dvd? As explained by someone recently, any of the port can be used with an optical DVD reader, not a DVD player. About heating... my POHD with builtin HDD does not get that hot even after 4-5 hours. No aircond, but I keep a good "ceiling" space above it. The Mini... does not seem to get that hot either, just warm.
parsona
Nov 21 2010, 10:47 PM
Hi guys, is it possible to sort the media files in the AC Ryan by date?
bsl555
Nov 22 2010, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(parsona @ Nov 21 2010, 10:47 PM) Hi guys, is it possible to sort the media files in the AC Ryan by date? I don't think there's any provision for file management in this POHD such as sorting. Having played around with the Seagate Home Theatre+, amazingly that Seagate box seems to have a better program interface and file management for your amusement. The POHD seems more down to earth with less interface frills and less complication even a child could be comfortable navigating around the menu and getting to play the media. I feel the POHD software is far from perfect and need a lot of improvement for sophistication. There's a problem especially with long file names and it doesn't look nice. I've observed quite a number of areas needing improvement. Sometimes it even looks like some historic DOS program. Oh well, just hope there'll be more improvements to the menu interface along with correcting hardware or decoding flaws. I just can't wait for the upcoming new menu interface thats appearing for the POHD Essential...if its ever offered soon. I'm just surprised that the POHD menu isn't really more impressive than the much cheaper Seagate box. This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 22 2010, 12:23 AM
parsona
Nov 22 2010, 12:45 AM
Thanks for the answer man. I agree with what you said, rather dissapointing actually. I have not seen other media players so I didn't know PoHD was severely lacking in the UI.
doremon
Nov 22 2010, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 21 2010, 10:00 PM) As explained by someone recently, any of the port can be used with an optical DVD reader, not a DVD player. About heating... my POHD with builtin HDD does not get that hot even after 4-5 hours. No aircond, but I keep a good "ceiling" space above it. The Mini... does not seem to get that hot either, just warm. Thanks bro. Ooo, didn't realized the previous given feedback before. This media is getting better and better. Maybe, I drop by this few days to lowyat and consider to get the Big version. This going to be fun  .
Ngto
Nov 22 2010, 09:09 AM
Although you can connect an external USB DVD drive, the Playon!HD won't be able to play encrypted discs. Also don't expect all drives to be compatible.
doremon
Nov 22 2010, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 22 2010, 09:09 AM) Although you can connect an external USB DVD drive, the Playon!HD won't be able to play encrypted discs. Also don't expect all drives to be compatible. Well bro, I sure Mr A.C.Ryan will comeout with something soon  . Box Builder, please look into this matter LOL
AVFAN
Nov 22 2010, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 22 2010, 07:57 AM) Thanks bro. Ooo, didn't realized the previous given feedback before. This media is getting better and better. Maybe, I drop by this few days to lowyat and consider to get the Big version. This going to be fun  . I bought the mini after the big one - for two reasons. After a while, I really dun wan to keep moving it between floors. I also wanted to keep a backup of some of my precious stuff, can't afford a crash and find 1TB of my fav files gone! Dunno how prices of other brands are vs performance, but I find the ACRs at current price serve all my needs and wants.
doremon
Nov 22 2010, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 22 2010, 10:19 AM) I bought the mini after the big one - for two reasons. After a while, I really dun wan to keep moving it between floors. I also wanted to keep a backup of some of my precious stuff, can't afford a crash and find 1TB of my fav files gone! Dunno how prices of other brands are vs performance, but I find the ACRs at current price serve all my needs and wants.  Bro, U just give me an idea. Back up hdd needed incase the hdd failure. Got to get the big version asap then huhuhu. Thanks for the input man
bsl555
Nov 22 2010, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 22 2010, 04:10 PM) Bro, U just give me an idea. Back up hdd needed incase the hdd failure. Got to get the big version asap then huhuhu. Thanks for the input man  Backup is and always will be most basic fundamental in IT tech. It'll be common thing to see many people havin a few, multiple or numerous HDD's for macam macam purposes. 1TB is now somewhat RM170+...can buy one every month after payday...hahahah!
doremon
Nov 22 2010, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 22 2010, 04:21 PM) Backup is and always will be most basic fundamental in IT tech. It'll be common thing to see many people havin a few, multiple or numerous HDD's for macam macam purposes. 1TB is now somewhat RM170+...can buy one every month after payday...hahahah! But I prefer the 2.5' external version. As for the big version, 2TB can ngam nicely right? What about 3TB or 4TB later part. better get the biggest posible to sumbat all the nice movies LOL
bsl555
Nov 22 2010, 09:59 PM
Ok!.. just great! The itchified me went out and got the Asus USB N-10 wifi dongle. Plug it in, setup the wireless network, key in the WPA security code and VOILA!.. All the internet feed works without any hitch!. RM60+ only. Unfortunately it'll take up one USB port permanently or I'll need a hub later on if I were to connect more devices OR install the dongle as and when needed. I had earlier tried all the internet feed via network cable hook up. This involved shifting the entire modem router near the POHD. I'm told this dongle works on the Seagate Home Theatre+ too. (some bird at some shop told me so, but didn't try). I risked buying this and happy it works and didn't waste my good money!. Pity no Youtube feed. My TV got.
AVFAN
Nov 23 2010, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 22 2010, 04:43 PM) But I prefer the 2.5' external version. As for the big version, 2TB can ngam nicely right? What about 3TB or 4TB later part. better get the biggest posible to sumbat all the nice movies LOL  The big bro can take max 2TB built in, I think - can check the manual. Problem with 2.5" is it is still costly for 1TB. Most economical one now should be 2TB ext powered 3.5".