All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

everling
post May 29 2011, 11:02 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(RubikFan @ May 28 2011, 09:37 PM)
i am curious,

can i use a 3.5" HDD with a 2.5" enclosure / cover?
will it work?
I don't think you can physically fit a 3.5" HDD into a 2.5" enclosure. But if the PCB and the SATA interface of the 2.5" enclosure is removable, you might be able to hook the naked PCB and HDD up to your system.

And just to cover all our bases, a 2.5" HDD into a 3.5" enclosure is plausible.

QUOTE(jcst83 @ May 28 2011, 10:55 PM)
hi,
i 1 to ask something here dono can or not.....

my seagate HD ST3500320AS (500Gb) sometime will disappear from my computer... i mean the HD driver at my computer missing...and at Disk Management also cannot detect the HD.... i have to restart my PC the only the drive will appear normally.... so,...is it symptom that the HD is going to spoil?...

mostly it will happen when i torrenting and the torrent file directory will save at that HD..

thanks if can help....
It'll probably get damaged sooner or later. What is your PSU's specifications and how old is it? Did you install any new hardware, like a GPU, recently? It may be a symptom of insufficient power supply. You might even want to try to use another power connector to the HDD, in case the current connector is bad or something.

This post has been edited by everling: May 29 2011, 11:03 AM
everling
post Jun 17 2011, 01:42 PM

3,591 posts

Yes.
everling
post Jun 17 2011, 02:44 PM

3,591 posts

You prefer 2.5" or 3.5"? Budget? Capacity?
everling
post Jun 17 2011, 06:38 PM

3,591 posts

While there is a possibility that a clean format might help, there are a few other things that you might want to try out first.
  1. Check your HDD's data and power cables. Like use another set of data and power cables.
  2. Test your RAM with memtest86.
  3. Try to test if your PSU is unable to provide the power required. Either use a PSU calculator to estimate roughly if your PSU can still support or tests like unplugging your DVD drive and other unnecessary power consuming devices and see if your system is stable afterwards.

If all those checks out fine, then a clean install might help.
everling
post Jun 17 2011, 08:49 PM

3,591 posts

Sounds like your HDD was physically fine. Unless your HDD was encrypted, it should have been very possible to retrieve your data with the help of another computer or laptop. sad.gif
everling
post Jun 18 2011, 11:14 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 18 2011, 10:00 PM)
more likely its the HEAT that killed it.. most bt client these days have advance caching so they will store in memory until a certain size then only write to disk
It has been like that since the early days of BitTorrent. yawn.gif
everling
post Jun 18 2011, 11:48 PM

3,591 posts

If it has happened only once so far, it is likely to be mere chance. If it happens a second time, unless you have reason to suspect something is going on, it is still likely to be chance. If it happens for a third time, there is a slightly larger chance it is because of something.

HDD have a large variety of causes for physical failure, most of which are beyond our control. Google has produced a white paper on HDD reliability, indicating that most HDDs in their server farms fail without warning.

The thing that most of us can do is to backup our precious data and hope that we are given warning signs and that we can recognise it in time.

This post has been edited by everling: Jun 18 2011, 11:49 PM
everling
post Jun 27 2011, 05:51 PM

3,591 posts

Higher RPM is noticeably better. Larger cache is less noticeably better.

For HDDs, you should prioritise reliability and cost. Performance HDDs are cost-ineffective. SSDs are clearly superior to the fastest performance HDDs.
everling
post Jun 28 2011, 01:24 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(neychung @ Jun 27 2011, 07:02 PM)
if that's the case. either blue WD will do?

Should i change my old green WD?
Last I checked, Samsung's F3 HDDs are pretty good on cost, performance and reliability. You might want to research them and compare against WD.

WD Blue would be better than WD Green in performance. But if you don't have a pressing need to upgrade, the WD Green will be okay.

If your WD Green is a WD10EARS model or newer and you're using Windows XP, you may want to research into 4k alignment, as that will improve performance.

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 27 2011, 09:11 PM)
also can u recommend me a good 2TB drive that is able to withstand 24/7 operation?
They're all intended for 24/7 operation, as that is what a significantly large proportion of users will use their HDDs for. At this time, there are no known wide-scale manufacturing defect in any HDDs, so we don't have anything to recommend to avoid. It is likely to be just bad luck.
everling
post Jun 28 2011, 12:38 PM

3,591 posts

The Samsung F4 are out, but I'm not sure where to find them. The price lists are rather bare on such details.

I have two WD10EADS and I don't have a performance problem with either. My OS is on a Samsung F3.
everling
post Jun 28 2011, 02:11 PM

3,591 posts

I treat my WD10EADS the same as any other HDD. I even used to have my OS on the WD10EADS before I bought my F3. Migrating the OS from the WD10EADS to the F3 did not give me noticeable performance improvements. Migrating to an SSD gave me noticeable performance difference.

As for 24/7 operation, I have ran my HDDs for over a week straight. Didn't have a performance problem with my WD10EADS then nor any now.
everling
post Jun 28 2011, 02:22 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 28 2011, 02:12 PM)
both of my WD10EADS have issue. ur lucky.
It wasn't a problem free experience. My first WD10EADS encountered some damage, so I bought my second WD10EADS to transfer the data to and then RMA the first. Both the second HDD and the replacement HDD has worked without issue since then. smile.gif

QUOTE(neychung @ Jun 28 2011, 02:16 PM)
i guess my HDD is facing aging factor. been 24/7 since 3 years ago.
Well, that would be natural. And the way you were asking your questions had me thinking you don't really do 24/7 a lot. laugh.gif

24/7 for three years is a very good record. smile.gif

Added on June 28, 2011, 2:24 pmBut didn't you said that your WD10EADS is only a year old?

This post has been edited by everling: Jun 28 2011, 02:24 PM
everling
post Jun 28 2011, 02:47 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Jun 28 2011, 02:35 PM)
btw, i'm thinking of getting a 2TB to store my movies. current HDDs are almost full already. So WD Green 2TB or the Samsung F4 2TB? and generally, is 2TB alright? Coz to me seems like a bit risky to have so much data on a disk laugh.gif
I used to think that having 1TB of data on a single HDD is risky. laugh.gif

I'm also thinking of getting a 2TB myself this weekend, but haven't done my homework yet.

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 28 2011, 02:38 PM)
Can a F3 2TB run a mirror RAID with a F4 2TB?
It should be able to do so. But it seems that RAID have their own synchronising problems, even with RAID-1, that can lead to a lost array anyway.
everling
post Jun 28 2011, 03:04 PM

3,591 posts

Sorry. More like in the event the first HDD fails, there is a slim chance of corrupted data on the second HDD, which might lead to the OS not booting properly or some such. It should usually work as advertised, but there are a number of horror stories about RAID.
everling
post Jul 2 2011, 12:33 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 29 2011, 02:44 PM)
fyi,

The new Samsung 2TB F4 HD204UI uses three 667GB platters for a performance gain of 19% over the older 4 platter HD203UI F3 model it replaces. It also uses 23% less power in standby mode. nice.
Came across a firmware update for the HD204UI. Those planning to buy might want to read the following first.

http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/smartmont...ngF4EGBadBlocks
http://www.samsung.com/global/business/hdd..._bbs_msg_id=386

It seems to be a relatively minor problem however. Although if the bug is triggered and "bad blocks" are reported, it is a software problem and not an actual hardware problem.

everling
post Jul 4 2011, 12:45 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(frank76 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:19 PM)
What if my os is Windows 7 64bit?
I think it was Windows Vista 32-bit and 64-bit and above that will automatically align the partitions for you, so you don't need to worry about that.

QUOTE(frank76 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:19 PM)
do i need to get another WD Blue for OS?
It's not absolutely necessary. Today's green HDDs does outperform older 7200RPM HDDs, thanks to higher platter densities. Storing your OS on one would be okay, while perhaps a little slower than today's 7200RPM HDDs. It is a valid option if you're not fond of the idea of spending a lot on your computer and you find the performance acceptable.
everling
post Jul 5 2011, 01:24 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Jul 5 2011, 11:00 AM)
Hi all, how to check results of chkdsk /r . I scheduled it at boot up and left it overnight.

(This morning was @ windows login screen.) Thank you.  smile.gif
Check your Event Viewer. It will be logged there. Try checking every entry from the applicable time range, there shouldn't be too many entries.
everling
post Jul 5 2011, 08:18 PM

3,591 posts

Where did you read that the WD20EARX is a 7200RPM HDD? By all rights, it should be a 5400RPM drive or be bumped up to either a Blue or Black series.
everling
post Jul 6 2011, 12:32 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jul 5 2011, 10:09 PM)
99% chance false data.

WD specifically marketed their green drives as variable RPM. Empirical testing on the WD10EADS using two different methodologies, one of them is noise analysis, reveal that instead of variable RPM, it was actually at a static 5400RPM.

I haven't been able to locate a WD20EARX performance benchmark, but I expect that it will perform the same as the WD20EARS. As for the HD204UI, although it has the same platter count, platter density and RPM, the one benchmark I have come across shows a significantly higher performance than the WD20EARS. I'm sceptical however, but bought a HD204UI nonetheless. It's an okay HDD.

edit: Fixed model no typo.

This post has been edited by everling: Jul 6 2011, 08:52 PM
everling
post Jul 17 2011, 02:52 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jul 17 2011, 12:54 AM)
My rig has 6 fans, 2 high performance Cooler Masters and my graphics card fan also very loud. So even if got sound, I can't hear it  blush.gif plus most of the time using headphones
For your next rig, I recommend you spend some time on quieter hardware. You might enjoy the experience. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jul 17 2011, 01:06 AM)
electronic things very subjective bro.

in terms of speed, Samsung F3 better because its 7200rpm HDD.

I owned both WD Green and Samsung F3 as storage.
Both perform well  notworthy.gif
+1 icon_rolleyes.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:56 AM