You can certainly try it for any dead HDDs. For most of us, it is the only practical option if we want to recover lost data.
All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
Sep 2 2011, 12:11 PM
3,591 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
You can certainly try it for any dead HDDs. For most of us, it is the only practical option if we want to recover lost data.
Sep 2 2011, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Sep 2 2011, 02:13 PM) how can u be so sure? That was a joke. I had not made a statement or a claim of how things are in that joke. I only pointed out that a regular consumer can't confirm that enterprise HDDs are not retail HDDs in disguise. And for all we know, for the cost of a single enterprise HDD, buying two regular HDDs might actually give us better data reliability.ur working in hdd industry? me working in hdd industry can say that ur statment is wrong.. Did you responded because I hit uncomfortably close to the truth? |
Sep 2 2011, 05:17 PM
Just because I had meant it as a joke, it doesn't mean it can't be true. So if my joke was indeed true in real life, it would have been 'uncomfortably close to the truth' for you. It would be silly to deny that simple logic.
And with regards to "for all we know", it does not mean 'common knowledge' or something like that. It means something like "we don't actually know". Someone else has explained it better: QUOTE Had it not been early morning hours, I'd have recollected that "for all" is regularly used idiomatically to mean "despite". .. For all Goliath's size and strength, young David easily overcame him. .. "A Man's a Man for A' That" .. For all his riches, he was a wretched man. Source: The meaning of "For all you know" Now, to claim that "for all we know" means something like "common knowledge" is actually a misleading statement. |
Sep 8 2011, 04:10 PM
Faster too.
Sep 19 2011, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Sep 18 2011, 09:09 PM) sifus, can help on how to recover data on an undetectable WD10EADS? Try this: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=hard%20drive%20freezerIts very important. 20 years + photos and documents here is the sound http://www.mediafire.com/?kzzft4t8b8a81uh |
Sep 24 2011, 05:32 PM
Short stroking, to be blunt, is stupid.
You can get the same thing by partitioning the first 20% of any HDD. The remaining 80% of capacity you can then format for your data and other stuff. And even a cheap, low-capacity, budget SSD will still crush, kill and destroy a short-stroked HDD in performance. |
Sep 28 2011, 06:11 PM
If you can't find a replacement, then you could either move the HDD into your desktop or get a replacement external HDD casing without a HDD.
Oct 3 2011, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 3 2011, 07:57 AM) What harddisk would be good for Raid then? And my file server is an office file server for 40+ users. So, do I need to put performance in mind as well? What is your LAN speed, 100 megabit/s or 1 gigabit/s? If your LAN is 100 megabit/s, it doesn't matter what harddisk you use as you will be bottlenecked to a slow ~12.5 megabyte/s. |
Oct 8 2011, 04:48 PM
Oct 11 2011, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(brinkc @ Oct 10 2011, 11:31 PM) PS: i just sent my WD ext hdd to Viewnet for RMA a week ago, No surprise there. It is far cheaper to give you another HDD than to fix a HDD and recover any data. Check the serial numbers. I have never been returned my original HDD if there really is a problem.and now they say the item is ready to collect but ofcause all my data inside gone~~~~~ |
Oct 20 2011, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Oct 20 2011, 08:19 AM) Only because its opponents defaulted, which isn't very good. I very much prefer them to be the price leader because everyone is pushing down the prices. Also, there is no indication that Samsung's HDDs will not be affected by the supply chain disruptions. Also, it doesn't mean Samsung's prices will stay low if there is a HDD shortage and more people buy Samsung. |
Oct 23 2011, 10:18 PM
If your USB is USB 3.0 and you are not using RAID, it would be no different than using SATA. Even if you are using RAID, the performance penalty wouldn't be too terrible as USB 3.0 should be able to handle more than 300MB/s.
Oct 24 2011, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Oct 24 2011, 11:56 AM) I don't know if I am a heavy user, sometimes I open my pc overnight to download... I dunno why samsung out of stock, all shops doesn't have. The one shop had was Startec and they charge RM230 for 1TB f3 wth? It may be people buying HDDs in fear of future HDD shortage caused by HDD manufacturing facilities in Thailand getting flooded. I was thinking about buying a 2TB spare myself, just in case I lose a HDD in the next nine or so months.Then I find 1TB WD, also RM240 o_O at least found 1TB WD Green 170... Sigh QUOTE(Boldnut @ Oct 24 2011, 12:56 PM) Your SpeedFan results appear to be fine. Your Reallocated Sector Count is still zero, indicating that you don't have bad sectors. It seems like you may have a software problem. Have you tried defragging your HDD?QUOTE(apecorp @ Oct 24 2011, 01:42 PM) Not sure if this is the rite place to post but need advice: 2TB may be sufficient for a while, depending on how quickly you accumulate your files.I wanna get ext hdd to store movie files. Is 2 tb enough?? And which ext hdd brand is recommended? QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 24 2011, 02:28 PM) Assuming you are not using RAID or are using RAID-1, giving you 8 TB of capacity, it will take you 3 days to full format on USB 2.0. On USB 3.0, it may take you one day to do the same. |
Oct 25 2011, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 25 2011, 04:29 AM) i made a comparison with the price of HDD between April and this month. I bought one Samsung HD204UI yesterday at RM255. Today I got a quotation for the same HDD at RM300++. Looks like Samsung is also heavily affected by the floods.With the same model, price is definitely increasing! HDD shortage! QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 25 2011, 09:48 AM) If they accept that they have to do the format for you, they will most likely do a quick format, which doesn't scan 99.99% of the HDD for problems, and give the hardware to you in less than thirty minutes. 95% of the time, this will not be a problem for the customer.Personally, I'd do the formatting myself just to be sure. But a lot of people won't bother and most of them seem to get along fine. This post has been edited by everling: Oct 25 2011, 03:35 PM |
Oct 29 2011, 11:31 PM
Oct 30 2011, 12:40 AM
Oct 30 2011, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 30 2011, 07:25 AM) They all have decent performance. Intel and Samsung SSDs have good reliability. SSDs using SandForce-controllers have a reliability issue at this time, but if you're lucky, you get to enjoy the best possible performance. On the other hand, SandForce has recently been bought out by another company, LSI, that has a focus on enterprise clients, so we can hope to expect reliability problems to be reduced to Intel levels in the future.If you don't particularly care for any brand, going by cost/GB is an option. I think the OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (uses SandForce-controller) at Viewnet has the best cost/GB at this time at RM589, although you can get a Corsair Force 3 SATA 6.0Gbps 120GB for only RM50 more. |
Nov 15 2011, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(vivre @ Nov 13 2011, 05:53 PM) I was very frustated.. Was planning to get 1 TB WD Black but the price increased from RM245 to RM420. Worse, mot of the shops LYP refused to sell unless u purchase it with mobo. Wtf?!? That is a smart requirement, because people who need to buy motherboards tend to need to buy other peripherals like CPU, GPU and etc. Whereas if you only need a new HDD, then your purchase of a HDD means there is one less potential computer that can be built. The HDD stocks for retail must be pretty low for everyone to cause such a rule to be had. |
Nov 19 2011, 07:43 PM
I wonder what is the cause of the floods. Can it happen again within the next ten years?
Nov 22 2011, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(Sata_Cable @ Nov 22 2011, 01:44 PM) I just bought 20 pieces of Imation DVD Kosong and it cost me RM20. Can save up to 80 GB of space for now..hehehe You have my condolences for having to experience the pain and heartache of storing your data to DVDs. Not only will it take forever to burn stuff, it will also only be of a limited capacity, and you will probably never watch their contents again. |
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:36 AM |