128 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V8, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

sophisticatedren
post Jun 21 2010, 11:34 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Live4eva @ Jun 21 2010, 11:06 AM)
Haha after reading the few interesting postings about you LYN members going out playing ,having friendlies i was jumping in excitement wondering if i could join you guys. Next time you guys have something on i definitely want IN providing its at the right time!
Hope to be able to play with you guys soon.
WIll PM Carto or Inv!
c'mon carto.. tennis knowledge is one thing la can improve one ma.. but ur enthusiasm beats everyone else.. so envy after looking at the pics... haha
Live4eva
post Jun 21 2010, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 21 2010, 11:22 AM)
we play weekends mornings (sat & sun, 730am to 11am like tht) at sunway college

what is ur working schedule like?

Added on June 21, 2010, 11:28 am

yes i agree with u....

if u dun know ur partner , u probably wont know how 2 cover him and u would probably expect him to be as good as u. so if he misses a shot that he shouldnt, u probably wont be anticipating it and also probably felt dissapointed with ur partner and thts where ur team work will break down.

Added on June 21, 2010, 11:30 am

...and alex desa is the guy in red shirt in the above pic....
Awww man i work on Saturday(Half Day) and sunday morning i have tennis coaching(being coached)! grrrr...maybe its about time to stop me coaching and play with pros like you guys to improve eh? If you guys dont mind having me tongue.gif
cartographer
post Jun 21 2010, 12:00 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Live4eva @ Jun 21 2010, 11:40 AM)
Awww man i work on Saturday(Half Day) and  sunday morning i have tennis coaching(being coached)! grrrr...maybe its about time to stop me coaching and play with pros like you guys to improve eh? If you guys dont mind having me  tongue.gif
oic... can u change ur coaching time to maybe sat evening? then sun morning come play with us?

Added on June 21, 2010, 12:07 pm
QUOTE(sophisticatedren @ Jun 21 2010, 11:34 AM)
c'mon carto.. tennis knowledge is one thing la can improve one ma.. but ur enthusiasm beats everyone else.. so envy after looking at the pics... haha
thanks alot for ur encouragement........

anyway, i also juz realized tht i hav another flaw: bad time management shakehead.gif

on top of vobs that i have voted, i would like to vote for kelvynlym or blackrose 2 be leader, since they both are always on time, unlike me...... im 'malaysian time'.............. i do realized punctuality is important so i dont think im fit enough...

and to all those who waited for me last sat.... sorry notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
i regreted for being late and i will belanja 100+ this coming sunday morning in sunway. serious nod.gif

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jun 21 2010, 12:07 PM
sophisticatedren
post Jun 21 2010, 12:09 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 21 2010, 12:00 PM)
oic... can u change ur coaching time to maybe sat evening? then sun morning come play with us?

anyway, i also juz realized tht i hav another flaw: bad time management shakehead.gif

on top of vobs that i have voted, i would like to vote for kelvynlym or blackrose 2 be leader, since they both are always on time, unlike me...... im 'malaysian time'.............. i do realized punctuality is important so i dont think im fit enough...

and to all those who waited for me last sat.... sorry  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i regreted for being late and i will belanja 100+ this coming sunday morning in sunway. serious  nod.gif
haha i think if u realize ur mistake and take action to it tat should be enuf la...

every week whoever going to sunway sat/sun session.. please put down name.. easier for carto to track the attendance.. hahaha
hondamugen
post Jun 21 2010, 12:47 PM

14 posts

I want to thank Carto and his friends for letting a total beginner like me to join your Tennis session... It's fun but i do realise i probably need to go for coaching.... I don't want to hit your tennis balls out to the streets anymore =_=;;...

But guys... thanx a bunch!
Live4eva
post Jun 21 2010, 01:54 PM

hmmm , its hard to change that timing but....maybe for now i plan to join you guys 2 sundays a month?
Starting from this sunday if possible! so its like 1 month 2 times coaching 2 times hitting wif lyn members.
I should be on the right track to improve mwahahah!
cartographer
post Jun 21 2010, 02:31 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(sophisticatedren @ Jun 21 2010, 12:09 PM)
haha i think if u realize ur mistake and take action to it tat should be enuf la...

every week whoever going to sunway sat/sun session.. please put down name.. easier for carto to track the attendance.. hahaha
haha... thx alot sophis... im flattered notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

ya we shud follow this format like what the LYN badminton thread does:

Date : 26th June 2010 (Saturday)
Time : 07:00am till 11:00 am
Venue : Sunway college
Court : 2 courts
Level : No limits smile.gif

Participants :

01. cartographer

Added on June 21, 2010, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(Live4eva @ Jun 21 2010, 01:54 PM)
hmmm , its hard to change that timing but....maybe for now i plan to join you guys 2 sundays a month?
Starting from this sunday if possible! so its like 1 month 2 times coaching 2 times hitting wif lyn members.
I should be on the right track to improve mwahahah!
yea thts sound like a good idea too thumbup.gif

Added on June 21, 2010, 2:41 pm
QUOTE(hondamugen @ Jun 21 2010, 12:47 PM)
I want to thank Carto and his friends for letting a total beginner like me to join your Tennis session... It's fun but i do realise i probably need to go for coaching.... I don't want to hit your tennis balls out to the streets anymore =_=;;...

But guys... thanx a bunch!
oic...

if u want coach, u can try pm vobs or altezza.. both of them are quite reputable in this forum nod.gif

on top of tht, feel free 2 join us again next time biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jun 21 2010, 02:41 PM
Live4eva
post Jun 21 2010, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 21 2010, 02:31 PM)
haha... thx alot sophis... im flattered  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

ya we shud follow this format like what the LYN badminton thread does:

Date : 26th June 2010 (Saturday)
Time : 07:00am till 11:00 am
Venue : Sunway college
Court : 2 courts
Level : No limits  smile.gif

Participants :

01. cartographer

Haha if there is a list for the 27th than i am IN!
Btw is there like a court fee or any kind of fee to be paid?
cartographer
post Jun 21 2010, 03:17 PM

69 posts

to ur pleasant suprise, im pleased to tell u that its 100% free of charge
praetorian
post Jun 21 2010, 03:18 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 21 2010, 11:05 AM)
ok.... after almost getting heart attack.... now abit cool down liaw so i can comment abit  tongue.gif :

i would be more than happy to serve LYN tennis members, but a leadership role requires great responsiblity and knowledge. for tennis, i still think im lack of knowledge, and also in general i dun really have ppl skills (always offended ppl even without knowing it... sad.gif )

but i wish to thank ck, angel, kevin and vobs for having the confidence in me. i would love to take up this role, i just scared i not qualify nia...  sad.gif  bcuz my tennis knowledge/ skill still not good enough... like for the friendlies, i wanted 2 plan who partner who, but just dun hav the knowledge/ experience to see our members strength and weekness including myself...

so wat u guys think...? i can still be the coordinator to arrange frenlies and stuff, and for the leadership role, i pass to somewan more experienced? like vobs for example...?  brows.gif
Carto no need to be scared, I from East Malaysia, and you have my support heheheeh.
Being a leader doesn't mean being a know-it-all, right now the most important thing is people that have 'elected' have your vote of confidence and your respect, things will work hand in hand, I rather have a leader that tries to improve himself by listening to others , open to positive criticism's, that a leader that 'pretends to know it, but cannot do it'....
You are welcome to ask for any advice, from experience players, and the general forum.

Have fun! thumbup.gif
vobs
post Jun 21 2010, 03:56 PM

90 posts

and to all those who waited for me last sat.... sorry  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i regreted for being late and i will belanja 100+ this coming sunday morning in sunway. serious  nod.gif
Im out of the picture please.....

So new nomination and also I will nominate INV as i think he is quite responsible in making sure newbies are at ease then they first visit sunway tennis court:

1) Carto
2) KelvynLim
3) Blackrose
4) INV

Who else, we shall end this nomination by Friday evening, then saturday u all can discuss at the court, then sunday night confirm k....carto to coordinate:)

Added on June 21, 2010, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 21 2010, 03:18 PM)
Carto no need to be scared, I from East Malaysia, and you have my support heheheeh.
Being a leader doesn't mean being a know-it-all, right now the most important thing is people that have 'elected' have your vote of confidence and your respect, things will work hand in hand, I rather have a leader that tries to improve himself by listening to others , open to positive criticism's, that a leader that 'pretends to know it, but cannot do it'....
You are welcome to ask for any advice, from experience players, and the general forum.

Have fun! thumbup.gif
yeah carto, u can pm me anytime if u need help

This post has been edited by vobs: Jun 21 2010, 04:00 PM
cartographer
post Jun 21 2010, 05:15 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 21 2010, 03:18 PM)

Have fun! thumbup.gif
thank u so much prae..... u always give advise and now summore give so much encouragement.... u r a very good mentor

Added on June 21, 2010, 5:20 pm
QUOTE(vobs @ Jun 21 2010, 03:56 PM)
Im out of the picture please.....

So new nomination and also I will nominate INV as i think he is quite responsible in making sure newbies are at ease then they first visit sunway tennis court:

1) Carto
2) KelvynLim
3) Blackrose
4) INV

Who else, we shall end this nomination by Friday evening, then saturday u all can discuss at the court, then sunday night confirm k....carto to coordinate:)

Added on June 21, 2010, 4:00 pm

yeah carto, u can pm me anytime if u need help
first of all, thx again for making the frenlies happen.... i enjoyed the game....
and also thx for being a great advisor for our sunway grp so far.....

anyway, can i request the discussion to be this sun instead? bcuz sat normally blackrose n kelvyn wont be there... and for this sat, im attending a seminar so i cant come also.

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jun 21 2010, 05:20 PM
vobs
post Jun 21 2010, 05:38 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 21 2010, 05:15 PM)
thank u so much prae..... u always give advise and now summore give so much encouragement.... u r a very good mentor

Added on June 21, 2010, 5:20 pm

first of all, thx again for making the frenlies happen.... i enjoyed the game....
and also thx for being a great advisor for our sunway grp so far.....

anyway, can i request the discussion to be this sun instead? bcuz sat normally blackrose n kelvyn wont be there... and for this sat, im attending a seminar so i cant come also.
yeah guys, u heard our carto, quick nominate your favourites and discuss on sunday morning.

as for the frenlies no prob la, small matter, glad u guys enjoyed the tense sensation during those matches:)

This post has been edited by vobs: Jun 21 2010, 05:39 PM
sophisticatedren
post Jun 21 2010, 06:26 PM

108 posts

ok sun morning count me in hehehe...

This post has been edited by sophisticatedren: Jun 21 2010, 06:26 PM
PINK_MING
post Jun 21 2010, 07:03 PM

guys...i owes have tis problem...i can stroke..but when it comes to playing game....i owes lose....y??? sad.gif can some1 pls enlighten me??
praetorian
post Jun 21 2010, 07:15 PM

866 posts

Hahahaha I dunno how many YEARS it took me to get where I am x-p , if I can pass any advice, you decide if you want take lah, I like the concept caring is sharing mah, hopefully you guys pass on your knowledge as well to new friends/kaki's you meet up with.Sure make alot of new friends!!!! Who doesn't like friends?!! <3
Anyway whoever becomes leader must delegate certain responsibilities to other poeple, as it can be frustrating if you expect leader to organize, facilitate, provide, etc.

Please have 'open communication' all the time, then everyone who expected to know, something, will :-D
yanhui95
post Jun 21 2010, 07:17 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Jun 21 2010, 07:03 PM)
guys...i owes have tis problem...i can stroke..but when it comes to playing game....i owes lose....y??? sad.gif can some1 pls enlighten me??
confidence? most likely you don't dare to go for big shots... same problem with me
pressure?
game also depends on serve and taking serve, both also must have confidence

PINK_MING
post Jun 21 2010, 07:23 PM

i dono...i don feel like i don have confidence..but i jus dono y..i think i've de problem of rallying...i tend to slice while returning serves...wat say u,bro prae??? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif any advice?tennis guru!!hahaha...
praetorian
post Jun 21 2010, 07:55 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Jun 21 2010, 07:03 PM)
QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Jun 21 2010, 07:23 PM)
i dono...i don feel like i don have confidence..but i jus dono y..i think i've de problem of rallying...i tend to slice while returning serves...wat say u,bro prae??? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif any advice?tennis guru!!hahaha...
Wah pinky, I am expecting new Dunlop racket from you!!! Instead of chicken or chicken rice!! brows.gif
J/K hehehehe

To be honest, without ever watching you play, I think most of it is mental, lets say for example, I feed you 20 balls and I tell you you must get all 20 in, almost guaranteed , you will slow your swing, pop open your racket face, and get all 20 in.I don't think anyone in their right mind, will bash the living crapola outta the ball, as your chances of hitting all 20 in, will decrease.

Its the same for stroking, thats why I emphasize you have to have certain drill's that 'force' you to play low percentage shots ( at the moment, naturally this will be your bread & butter shot)

As for returning serve, if you have a chance to 'block' or slice the ball deep, and the opponent cannot really take a full swing at the ball, at your level you have accomplished what you set out to achieve, now the rally starts, here you either have to be consistent , by drawing an unforced error from your opponent, or if the situation arises hit a 'winner'.

If you want to learn how to return of serve, you must find a practice partner:
1. Your partner serves, (he practices his serve, he MUST tell you where he is serving, so you can groove that particular return)
2.You practice your return of serve , set up targets , if you can hit your 'target' you have accomplished something.

Make sure you have more than 30 balls, try and get a rhythm.

Have fun , Mr Pink!
PINK_MING
post Jun 21 2010, 08:02 PM

haha...walao...i'm jus back to miri..i have oly a can of aussie open..haha...sorry ba...old balls throw liao in kl... :3

128 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:07 PM