16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V8, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

praetorian
post Jun 19 2010, 11:35 AM

866 posts

GGGGGRRRR damn you kev!!!! :-p
2nd in reporting in!
praetorian
post Jun 19 2010, 12:41 PM

866 posts

wah pinky so far in miri also still wheelin and dealin kah!?!
praetorian
post Jun 20 2010, 07:59 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jun 20 2010, 07:17 AM)
hahaha, just to manage your expectation, there are no ladies player on their side:)

anyway, before anything about handling your opponent, i think LYN need to handle themselves first in terms of TEAM work.....but this comes with match experience, no worries, u guys already played few friendlies, and i am sure you may have already found a partner that you can work together on court with. There are several learnings that I can suggest (just my two sen opinion, i may not be correct so dont F me ya)

what i observed during your friendlies with DKTT:

1) that each of you are doing your own thing on court without your partner knowing whats next, that is why some of the partnership broke down half way.

2) There is no communication between the partnership, that is why even with a strong lead, opponent are able to chase your down.

3) Body language is also important not only to psycho your opponent, its important for your partner to build confidence in case you guys are down or incase they make mistakes they wont feel so bad if both is psyching each other up.

4) there must be one team leader to bring you guys together, to arrange partnership, to lead who will play first and not i meet you here, they meet them here, i dunno where is he and i dunno who play first....because early team preparation is good for building focus and plans when you reach the court, without it, you will rush into the court and by the time u warm up, the game is over.

5) it may feel weird doing it at first when you guys do not have enough players, but cheering for your team is a good motivator for them, but what i see is some of you are away to pee la, to drink la, to dunno where you went la, while your team are struggling under the hot sun to make names for LYN.

I can see some of the partnership applied some of the above, it is the first step to any competitive fun session, so once you guys are ready and can do the above, then i think you guys will have even more fun times playing together:)

its just my two sen observation, no harm intended, and honestly, u guys did great yesterday:)
WAH!! Thanks for posting this vobs!
sweat.gif you guys better heed the advice above, elect a good leader, try and find a partner that you ENJOY playing with win or lose.Better have more communication between all of you, sounds like you guys enjoyed yourselves thats the important thing <3

praetorian
post Jun 20 2010, 10:14 AM

866 posts

wah pinky sure or not?!!!
In Miri your lobang so good kah, better you post prices leh!
You just got back to Miri, already so fast settle down, and now selling Dunlop?!!!
You my hero!
Pinky for the win! <3
praetorian
post Jun 21 2010, 03:18 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 21 2010, 11:05 AM)
ok.... after almost getting heart attack.... now abit cool down liaw so i can comment abit  tongue.gif :

i would be more than happy to serve LYN tennis members, but a leadership role requires great responsiblity and knowledge. for tennis, i still think im lack of knowledge, and also in general i dun really have ppl skills (always offended ppl even without knowing it... sad.gif )

but i wish to thank ck, angel, kevin and vobs for having the confidence in me. i would love to take up this role, i just scared i not qualify nia...  sad.gif  bcuz my tennis knowledge/ skill still not good enough... like for the friendlies, i wanted 2 plan who partner who, but just dun hav the knowledge/ experience to see our members strength and weekness including myself...

so wat u guys think...? i can still be the coordinator to arrange frenlies and stuff, and for the leadership role, i pass to somewan more experienced? like vobs for example...?  brows.gif
Carto no need to be scared, I from East Malaysia, and you have my support heheheeh.
Being a leader doesn't mean being a know-it-all, right now the most important thing is people that have 'elected' have your vote of confidence and your respect, things will work hand in hand, I rather have a leader that tries to improve himself by listening to others , open to positive criticism's, that a leader that 'pretends to know it, but cannot do it'....
You are welcome to ask for any advice, from experience players, and the general forum.

Have fun! thumbup.gif
praetorian
post Jun 21 2010, 07:15 PM

866 posts

Hahahaha I dunno how many YEARS it took me to get where I am x-p , if I can pass any advice, you decide if you want take lah, I like the concept caring is sharing mah, hopefully you guys pass on your knowledge as well to new friends/kaki's you meet up with.Sure make alot of new friends!!!! Who doesn't like friends?!! <3
Anyway whoever becomes leader must delegate certain responsibilities to other poeple, as it can be frustrating if you expect leader to organize, facilitate, provide, etc.

Please have 'open communication' all the time, then everyone who expected to know, something, will :-D
praetorian
post Jun 21 2010, 07:55 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Jun 21 2010, 07:03 PM)
guys...i owes have tis problem...i can stroke..but when it comes to playing game....i owes lose....y??? sad.gif can some1 pls enlighten me??
QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Jun 21 2010, 07:23 PM)
i dono...i don feel like i don have confidence..but i jus dono y..i think i've de problem of rallying...i tend to slice while returning serves...wat say u,bro prae??? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif any advice?tennis guru!!hahaha...
Wah pinky, I am expecting new Dunlop racket from you!!! Instead of chicken or chicken rice!! brows.gif
J/K hehehehe

To be honest, without ever watching you play, I think most of it is mental, lets say for example, I feed you 20 balls and I tell you you must get all 20 in, almost guaranteed , you will slow your swing, pop open your racket face, and get all 20 in.I don't think anyone in their right mind, will bash the living crapola outta the ball, as your chances of hitting all 20 in, will decrease.

Its the same for stroking, thats why I emphasize you have to have certain drill's that 'force' you to play low percentage shots ( at the moment, naturally this will be your bread & butter shot)

As for returning serve, if you have a chance to 'block' or slice the ball deep, and the opponent cannot really take a full swing at the ball, at your level you have accomplished what you set out to achieve, now the rally starts, here you either have to be consistent , by drawing an unforced error from your opponent, or if the situation arises hit a 'winner'.

If you want to learn how to return of serve, you must find a practice partner:
1. Your partner serves, (he practices his serve, he MUST tell you where he is serving, so you can groove that particular return)
2.You practice your return of serve , set up targets , if you can hit your 'target' you have accomplished something.

Make sure you have more than 30 balls, try and get a rhythm.

Have fun , Mr Pink!
praetorian
post Jun 22 2010, 06:53 PM

866 posts

I'd highly recommend each person buy 2 tubes of balls if you have 15 people you have 90 balls, trainer balls I would suggest for beginners, you guys are almost intermediate level lah.

This post has been edited by praetorian: Jun 22 2010, 06:54 PM
praetorian
post Jun 22 2010, 08:02 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Jun 22 2010, 07:40 PM)
rclxub.gif  conpius2...

feel like want to let go my 4D300 for 4D 300 tour...  for try

but afraid will end up like k6.1 team..
Bro try this instead its cheaper hehhe,add lead tape at 3 and 9 , see how loh

Regarding balls if only 5-6 players also 2 tubes per person is doable 1 tube got 3 balls then each person is contributing 6 balls if got 5-6 of you got 30-36 balls, also can mah, still better than nothing.
praetorian
post Jun 23 2010, 09:08 AM

866 posts

pressure-less balls don't go soft ....even when botak lol, pressured balls last 2-3 weeks at best before they start to go soft.
praetorian
post Jun 24 2010, 08:27 AM

866 posts

this match is gila......it broke all the history books, longest match in history was 6 hours and 33 mins, this match between Isner and Mahut, the 5th set alone is 7 hours plus.......the first 4 sets was less than 3 hours lol.This is an epic fight.
praetorian
post Jun 24 2010, 10:15 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jun 24 2010, 08:03 PM)
yeah lor, will buy as much needed gears i can afford, but i wont brand coordinate la, whatever nice i buy, no need have wilson must have wilson bag hehehe.....just campur rojak it:)

Added on June 24, 2010, 8:04 pm

Im looking for head racquet bag but susah to get a reasonably priced one.....so since i like the blx racquet bag tot of getting it lor:)

okok, call me, i follow u there to see see look look what i can buy hehehe
Wah vobs see got this Head bag! (head tour team monster combi)
I am having a hard time sourcing this locally x-p

praetorian
post Jun 25 2010, 01:57 PM

866 posts

pinky fly the whole lowyat gang over for some nice seafood and tennis session lah :-p
also dun mind see your swiftlet factories/buildings :-o
praetorian
post Jun 26 2010, 12:10 PM

866 posts

pinky thats so GAY!!!! :-p

Better you come to Kl since you know KL so well, also when you were studying in KL, you stay with family or rent a place/apartment/bungalow :-p

If stay with family, still can fly back to KL and lepak lepak.Miri to KL, air fare how much?
I calculate my one, EM-WM at least RM300 one way :-O Hotel in WM , how expensive, below RM200 a night have or not , if more than RM500 per night .

Got some mention ada RM50 per night, but dunno if he batu-api me or not, even here in EM, cannot get RM50.......WM still got chance meh?
praetorian
post Jun 26 2010, 09:14 PM

866 posts

wah lowyat.user47, you're are selling some good sticks!!! May I ask what has poisoned you?!!! (what I mean is what stick are you eying now hehhehehe )
Hope you don't mind me asking :-p
Thanks!
praetorian
post Jun 27 2010, 01:16 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Jun 27 2010, 12:31 PM)
Anybody interested in a dunlop aerogel 200 -unstrung - goin for RM 150... condition around 8.0-8.5... saw it at a shop yesterday..
Bloody hell where did you see that racket?!! The price is incredible!!!
I will see can kipas student to buy, really worth it! Dunlop rackets, I haven't encountered counterfeit one yet, so this must be a real deal.....

QUOTE(lowyat.user47 @ Jun 27 2010, 12:58 PM)
Wah your prices drop again........I sms'ed a friend, today if weather good, I can cerita with friend and see if he is interested or not in the Prince, I may have a another friend interested in the Dunlop,but see first, if you get someone who wants to purchase, any/both rackets, just go ahead and sell first. Don't hold anything for me.

Gila man.....I really wish I stay in KL sometimes....... vmad.gif
praetorian
post Jun 28 2010, 08:50 AM

866 posts

Wah so much support for k3vin82 to do bulk.... kevin you mark up an extra 10-15 buxs loh, at least make it worth your while, who know's if you buy 10 pairs of shoes, the shop owner may give you an additional 5-15% discount!

Its AWFULLY tempting to get the Barricade 6, but the unfortunate thing is I have wide feet, I have read that the shoe toebox area is abit small and tight, which will mean I will most likely have to get 1/2 to a full size larger to compensate for the tight area, which means size 12-12.5US........

Wah Pinky Nike 1.3's eh, Pink color?
hehehehe

Kev, got see Nike 2.3's or not?
Semi interested in that shoe for coaching....

FCUK man this man alot of tempting things just come up (all tennis barang2) and I kipas sendiri.......aigoooooo
praetorian
post Jun 28 2010, 08:58 AM

866 posts

Soo many nice tennis polo's out from adidas, nike (not so much but I like the Summer Slam shock face designs) my personal favorites are the Sergio Tacchini's from Midwest Sports....gila man....now I see Barricade 6........I think I better stop coming to tennis forum......die die.....x-p
praetorian
post Jun 28 2010, 09:36 AM

866 posts

wah scirocco! You are indeed far away, but the courts where you are I am assuming are in much better shape than here! Have you played with anyone yet?
Hehehe 2011 Australian Open, if got chance, to go you have a chance to watch Fed/Nadal play in final wowowowowowowow~!!!
praetorian
post Jun 28 2010, 09:40 AM

866 posts

Wah betul betul this lowyat tennis group all ada gaya one!!!! <3
Now got APD-GT geng
Youtek Radical MP geng
akan datang Barricade 6 geng!!!!
:-p

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top