4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V8, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

sophisticatedren
post Jun 21 2010, 08:54 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(kororomen @ Jun 19 2010, 05:32 PM)
ada orang main dekat2 bangi/kajang/serdang tak?buringnyer takde kawan tenis...huhu
come mmu cyberjaya every thurs wed and friday.. im sure u got someone who u noes there..
sophisticatedren
post Jun 21 2010, 11:34 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Live4eva @ Jun 21 2010, 11:06 AM)
Haha after reading the few interesting postings about you LYN members going out playing ,having friendlies i was jumping in excitement wondering if i could join you guys. Next time you guys have something on i definitely want IN providing its at the right time!
Hope to be able to play with you guys soon.
WIll PM Carto or Inv!
c'mon carto.. tennis knowledge is one thing la can improve one ma.. but ur enthusiasm beats everyone else.. so envy after looking at the pics... haha
sophisticatedren
post Jun 21 2010, 12:09 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 21 2010, 12:00 PM)
oic... can u change ur coaching time to maybe sat evening? then sun morning come play with us?

Added on June 21, 2010, 12:07 pm

thanks alot for ur encouragement........

anyway, i also juz realized tht i hav another flaw: bad time management shakehead.gif

on top of vobs that i have voted, i would like to vote for kelvynlym or blackrose 2 be leader, since they both are always on time, unlike me...... im 'malaysian time'.............. i do realized punctuality is important so i dont think im fit enough...

and to all those who waited for me last sat.... sorry  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i regreted for being late and i will belanja 100+ this coming sunday morning in sunway. serious  nod.gif
haha i think if u realize ur mistake and take action to it tat should be enuf la...

every week whoever going to sunway sat/sun session.. please put down name.. easier for carto to track the attendance.. hahaha
sophisticatedren
post Jun 21 2010, 06:26 PM

108 posts

ok sun morning count me in hehehe...

This post has been edited by sophisticatedren: Jun 21 2010, 06:26 PM
sophisticatedren
post Jun 22 2010, 11:22 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jun 22 2010, 10:19 AM)
from what i see, i think pinky is lack of good body language and also lack of focus.

body language: pinky always stand very straight up, no knee bend
focus: pinky cant seem to judge a sliced ball bounce well

p/s: btw im not pro, i just put here what i felt with the intension to help pinky. if pinky or the others agree with what i say then prae & vobs can give advice 2 pinky  nod.gif
if not.... sorry for the wrong info  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
nvm carto.. scold this pinky only.. i agree with u.. tat fella play like he is reacting slowly to the incoming shots which affected his own shot preparation...
sophisticatedren
post Jun 23 2010, 09:37 AM

108 posts

i had the pleasure of trying out kokolomondo's pressureless balls.. it's just heavy...
sophisticatedren
post Jun 23 2010, 05:04 PM

108 posts

looking for a place to play la... koko how?
sophisticatedren
post Jun 28 2010, 08:34 AM

108 posts

kevin.. do bulk on barricade 6 la...
sophisticatedren
post Jun 28 2010, 08:54 AM

108 posts

prae... u kipas sendiri .. very hot hot d...
sophisticatedren
post Jun 28 2010, 09:38 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Jun 28 2010, 09:35 AM)
aiyoyo, u bot mp radical lo!
we got 4 members now,
me, you, yan and karom

ini macam boleh buat geng rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
sophis, lets all buy the barricade 6

we order from kevin

can ah kev? icon_question.gif
im ok if the price is right and kevin is ok with it la.. hehe
sophisticatedren
post Jun 28 2010, 10:53 AM

108 posts

this weekend playing where?? all making trip to shah alam again?? hahaha angel how? u ok with this plan?
sophisticatedren
post Jun 28 2010, 11:00 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Jun 28 2010, 10:56 AM)
sophis, looks like they wanna play sumwhere else la this time
is it?? i tot normally play at sunway... haha.. where's carto the leader? need him to sort this weekend out..
sophisticatedren
post Jul 1 2010, 09:47 AM

108 posts

hey prae... need some advise from u...

recently i switched to a lighter racquet in comparison to my previous one (>335g). i think this lighter racquet is around 315g after strung and with one piece of tourna grip added..

im worried if i swipe this racquet too fast.. on the long run it will strain my arm n elbow.. any advise on this??

coz with lighter racquet... so much easier to generate faster racquet head acceleration.. been checking in tennis warehouse forum but hard to find any justification there

This post has been edited by sophisticatedren: Jul 1 2010, 09:51 AM
sophisticatedren
post Jul 1 2010, 10:21 AM

108 posts

alaa... prae ald knows the model..

prae.. if u may... tell me my possible options to stick the lead tape hehehe... ur expertise is needed here
sophisticatedren
post Jul 1 2010, 11:24 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 1 2010, 11:12 AM)
Ok here is where I suspect alot of people can be confused with racket head acceleration, and the confusion between what type of a racket you should get.

I am not letting the cat out of the bag regarding Sophi's new racket, its his racket, so he should do the honors brows.gif

May I ask is there any particular reason why you switched to a lighter frame?
Ok regarding racket speed acceleration, as you all know, you need to have very good sound technique and naturally good racket head speed acceleration to pull off some heavy hitting and mega-uber spin.
People will normally assume that the lighter the racket the more head speed you are able to generate, this is of course true, in some sense. Anyone who studies economics , should of heard the term, law of diminishing returns, in this case, you can only generate say xx amount of racket head speed with xx racket, with your current stroke.

Let me ask you this, this is a general question , it is NOT directed at Sophi, I am pretty sure alot of people should know this, k, here is the question, Do pro's on the ATP use the same exact model racket that can be easily purchased from retail?Are their rackets the same weights as those bought from retail?

If you think you know the answer to these 2 questions feel free to post em.

Sophi, my advice to you is this, experiment if you have some lead tape on you.This is no guarantee, that it will magically transform your game, but I suggest when you have time do the following.

You are using your new *ahem* racket use it for 1 whole week, or even a month, post here what you like and don't like.

After that do this, add some lead tape to 3 and 9 add about 6cm worth of lead tape I have attached a pic, please add the lead tape exactly like I have.

Test kau kau, you will SHOULD notice you need slightly more time to prepare for your strokes, but on impact you may notice it takes less effort to produce a nice/heavy ball.Please post your mini/detailed review when you are happy with your experiment, if you have any ??? to ask, just post em.

Hhehheheehe have fun Sophi thumbup.gif
haha... switching to this racquet ah.. a fan of it since last time.. but then of course this racquet suits my style more...

mini feedback ah..
damn easy to do 'banana' ball d especially since im a south paw it helped me greatly to throw my opponent wide at their backhand....
some more very very helpful in doing kick serve...
stiffness is high for this racquet but i try to compensate it back by stringing it low roughly 50lbs..
tremendous angle can be created and easier for me to shoot the ball bag at the leg of the advancing volleyer..
somehow.. i feel the power level for this racquet is higher than my previous one.. so still working to get the timing down. anyway it's the first time i get to hit with this racquet so still needs a lot of more drill on it.

hmm so far wat i dun like is due to it's unusual wide frame... haha felt weird or 'kekok' with my backhand preparation.. coz i like to grip at at the throat of the racquet while preparing for a backhand return.. im have a single BH by the way
sophisticatedren
post Jul 1 2010, 12:36 PM

108 posts

haha.. prae pick ur colours man... for the barricade and out with the money!!!
dun think too much d... and pls switch to pure storm racquets like wat sampras did..
sophisticatedren
post Jul 1 2010, 01:52 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 1 2010, 12:45 PM)
!!!!! wah sophi ask for advice and then kipas me!!!! Mana boleh!!!
Barricade 6 I already pick my color!!!
Just need to decide when to get whistling.gif
I will not use Pure Storm, I know this is a very good racket, but I was thinking about getting a APD-GT if I don't like, it has better re-sale value, ALOT of Nadal fans here,so I can off load it easier, Pure Storm series, I have only met one person who use's that series and he is from KK....
buy only.. use first complain later.. haha

Added on July 1, 2010, 1:53 pmdun forget apdgt helped two players to win french open this year... wahahah

This post has been edited by sophisticatedren: Jul 1 2010, 01:53 PM
sophisticatedren
post Jul 1 2010, 03:49 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Jul 1 2010, 02:56 PM)
haha...sophis..i noe wat's ur new ahem racquet liao...from de throat u describe..it's ahem apdgt ahem...hahha!!! tongue.gif

btw,bro prae,adding lead at 3 n 9 o clock...wil oso change de overall balance rite?tat's wat i think of when i wanna add lead tape...
haha cant stand the temptations ma so just buy it lor..
sophisticatedren
post Jul 1 2010, 05:26 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jul 1 2010, 05:20 PM)
Waaa like dat oso can ar.
If next time can't stand the tempation of women what will happen?
hmm.gif
haha buy also lor...
sophisticatedren
post Jul 5 2010, 03:10 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 5 2010, 03:08 PM)
This one is individual preference, if you think you want to pick up tennis for fun, (but dunno how committed you are) then I suggest you test/demo from friends, if you can meet up with the gang from lowyat, you UNTUNG banyak banyak....these guys are friendly always willing to help, promote tennis, share review, share knowledge on tennis.

IF you know you are committed then for sure I recommend you buy a slightly better stick, long term saves money.Trust me heheheeh, also, though I am abit knowledgeable on some things, I am not a real sifu..... lol.Still can learn, this old dog still wanna learn new trick's x-p

All of us learn by mistake, and by sharing, if you guys don't post small review on racket/string, how I can learn......true or not?

Everyone can contribute leh, I am very embarrassed some time, when you all mention my nick, dunno can live up to expectation x-p, hopefully as a community we can go forward, have fun on the tennis courts!
we have faith in u sifu...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:52 AM