6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

Andy214
post Jun 23 2010, 01:55 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 23 2010, 12:59 PM)
This could be ISP problem also.
Reset your modem & try again.

If there's something that I want to complain N900 is I wish Nokia added more RAM for this phone.256MB RAM is ok but anyhting higher than 384MB would have been sweet.
True, when I first found out it has 256MB during it's initial spec, it's disappointing. Plus, the Virtual/Swap Memory is too slow and will cause lag. Too bad it can't be upgraded...

But surprisingly, with 256MB ram, N900 can multi-task very well and support many apps running.
Symbian owners might remember the dreaded "Memory Fulll. Close some applications and try again". One thing I always complain about Nokia smartphones is the lack of memory provided, and thus we always have this problem. That's one thing prevented me from getting the N97. But it was lucky I didn't get it as N900 was announce later.

Check out the N8 un-released version, even with 256MB Ram, multi-tasking is not enough to sustain 6 apps. Probably they need to fine tune the memory management part as other Symbian with lower ram, I can still open quite a few app.

http://thenokiablog.com/2010/06/21/nokia-n...m-multitasking/
Andy214
post Jun 23 2010, 06:02 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 23 2010, 05:33 PM)
Good, and the N900 is more linux workstation than what you probably imagined. Really.

Your Linux knowledge, especially if you use xterm often, will be of great use.
Yep, supposedly most of the apps in the distro, recoded for hildon-gtk WITH a wifi driver patch to allow packet injection. There's also news that suggest that the entire distro might be made run as a saperate OS for dual-booting on the N900 though.

Everything is patchy but it word is should be out soon.

We already have Metasploit, heh heh heh.
WARNING! Geek talk detected! Geek talk detected! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Andy214
post Jun 24 2010, 12:29 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 24 2010, 12:22 AM)
update to 2.1? omggggggg
=D hehehehe
Wow, updated Android? tongue.gif
Andy214
post Jun 24 2010, 11:31 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 24 2010, 09:26 AM)
@super_evil_alien

Not really buy tongue.gif just want to do comparison i gonna play it for 1 week straight jail break it and install apps/games until it breaks down haha to see how good it is and then do a side by side comparison

We cannot be bias against iphone
You bought new or under plan? Is it worth it since iPhone 4 is coming and it's so much better and major major improvements over 3GS.

Added on June 24, 2010, 11:34 am
QUOTE(Cannibal @ Jun 24 2010, 09:32 AM)
morning.

LOL!!! Aspire, please BE STRONG when touching "IT".

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 24 2010, 11:34 AM
Andy214
post Jun 24 2010, 03:13 PM

3,308 posts

Darn Nokia:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/643017?tstart=0

"We are working with Nokia to bring Flash Player 10.1 to their devices. We cannot comment on the availability of when or which one of their devices will support Flash Player. It’s best to ask Nokia about their device and support roadmap."

"Regarding Flash 10 on the N900 (or any other device), the agreements we have with our partners severely restrict what we can say about products in development. If we do say anything it is with their permission and cooperation, and they control how much we disclose.

At this time there is nothing we can say about the N900, you might have better success asking Nokia instead."

And Nokia isn't giving any answer or bother about N900, just like PR1.2!!!!!

Added on June 24, 2010, 3:21 pmAnother disappointing answer... and it's FROM "cpitchford"!!!!!

There's announcement Flash for MeeGo and Symbian, but NOT Maemo. WHY?
Something is FISHY. Perhaps Nokia hopes Maemo owners will change their N900 for a MeeGo device later. vmad.gif

Anyway, I really hope this isn't true and N900 will still get Flash 10.1, although the hope is very slim based on all these...

http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/t5/Mae...N900/m-p/691738

"Flash 10.1 beta on Froyo on Nexus one is pretty darn good! My misses has a Nexus one after she could not cope with the firmware policies of Nokia relating to her unbranded 5800..

Her 5 month old Nexus one has already received two updates, one obviously major.. and now has flash 10.1.. and it is all good.. and she's very happy..

I want to be proven wrong, but I really doubt we'll see flash for the N900..

It costs to develop flash for the N900.. and who's going to pay? You? No, you already bought the phone..

New features are for new phones.. sucks, but that's the track record..

Shame, as flash10 is sparkly and more and more sites now don't work on the n900"

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 24 2010, 03:22 PM
Andy214
post Jun 28 2010, 03:27 PM

3,308 posts

I'm using Golla Pouch which the N900 fits perfectly; Found it in All IT Hypermart, many place don't have this pouch it seems.

I prefer my N900 naked, not so bulky; When not in use just put inside the pouch.
I wanted those leather pouch like the one which comes FREE with N97 Mini Raoul Edition , but can't find a ftting one for N900.

The thing is, put a hand strap on the N900. Always put on the hand strap when using your phone, so you don't have to worry your phone drop.
The problem I face is with my iPod Touch, there's no way to put a hand strap! mad.gif Once it slipped off my hand, but luckily I was on a sofa couch. mad.gif

Btw, Golla is also "Finland" product tongue.gif
Andy214
post Jun 29 2010, 12:45 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jun 29 2010, 12:22 AM)
WRONG - n900 cuts down intake to 500mw only once it detects its not a nokia charger, and just a usb cable.
The detection is by the pins, perhaps can mod the pins. I remember reading someone modify the pins somewhere to make their own usb charger.

http://wiki.maemo.org/N900_Hardware_USB

USB battery charger
The bq24150 charger from TI is a flexible charger. It, along with the PHY chip - support charging without the intervention of the SoC when the system is charging from a completely dead battery. The PHY chip detects a charger (shorted D+ and D- pins) and the charger uses this information to charge more rapidly.

Andy214
post Jun 29 2010, 09:23 AM

3,308 posts

Even if it may you provide sufficient charging compared to a actual charger, but it can still provide little charging when you're using the phone. Not sure about 3G but in GSM/2.5G mode if you plug in those external power pack charger and you're using your phone, it's stil capable of charging and increasing your battery mah.

Lately, I've been streaming HD videos through N900 to my TV as N900 is not capable of playing HD videos, specifically HD MKV files with vbr. It consume more power than usual, but when I plugin the DC-11 charger, it's still capable of increasing the battery mah while streaming. I think it's good enough, it's an portable charger after all. Of course, if it can do better, it'll be better, but what I'm trying to say is, at least, it's acceptable or good enough.

Btw, when using mplayer under KMPlayer, it's using the processor instead of DSP (if I remembered correctly) and it'll drain your battery much faster too.
Andy214
post Jun 29 2010, 11:45 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 29 2010, 09:40 AM)
Using 3G it will charge, but much slower due to increased consumption (read above). IINM consumption governs how fast you can charge, and the N900 (unlike the Axim and iPad) doesn't eat more then 500 ma at any given time (the Axim eats like what, 900ma?).

Again a larger mAh (or mah, or MAH) only lasts longer. It does not necessarily charge faster (unless it specifically outputs 1000ma/5v).

I do 3/3.5G while charging through the battery pack all the time. It just doesn't charge the internal battery that fast.

Which reminds me, does the DC-11 provide 500ma/5v output? I can't seem to find any data on that. Some battery packs are known to ONLY provide 250ma/5v = even slower charging (and in the case of the N900, no charging at all at full 3G load), and the DC-11 is well known to have charging problems with the N900 to begin with.

Also there's the problem of reverse trickle. Like water in osmosis, battery power moves from higher cap to lower cap, and that becomes a problem when the external battery pack is a extremely low power levels. For instance ext. batt pack at 10% and int. batt pack at 80%.

With modern power circuits, no reverse trickle happens (it's blocked), but the external battery pack no longer charges your phone.

And yeah, mplayer is not DSP friendly. VLC IS IINM. thumbup.gif
If I'm not wrong, DC-11 provides 5V output. I'm not sure about charging problems with N900. Been using it for long time already and it's working like charm, just that it's not enough juice; Internally, it packs 1500mah battery, which according to the documentation is capable of fully charging a 900mah battery in around 2 hour++.
So far, I've tried charging it around 40% and it's capable of fully charging the N900 (connected to internet using GSM mode with 3 IM running, emails checking interval of every 1 hour). So, I have no complaints as it does it job. Of course, would be better if it packs larger capacity, hehe tongue.gif
Btw, it's capable of charging 2 device at a time.

Still waiting for stable release of VLC, which don't know when will happen. The unstable version has been around since before N900 was officially launched. hmm.gif

Andy214
post Jun 29 2010, 03:43 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 29 2010, 03:15 PM)
it doesnt changes anything at all. it still doesnt support flash and its a fanboy phone
No, it changes the way you should hold your phone. It teaches people how to hold a phone the right way, the Jobs way.
The ads provided by Apple is showing the wrong way (on purpose), but people mistaken it as the right way. As the great Mr. Jobs said, you're holding it the wrong way, nothing wrong with the product.

The phone is also very smart, you can hold it upside also can. The home button at the bottom doesn't mean it's the bottom. Oh wait... wait... I need to check if the speaker and microphone location first! Maybe it available at both sides!

It's no surprise that he will give such lame excuses, just as how he gives for Flash Support, Java Support, Stylus Support, Task Manager. The fans accept it and support it.
Sometimes, it really make me question his intelligence and whether he is the real person behind the product; He sounded more like a sales/marketing fellar who tried to twist and turn when the product he sells have problems or being questioned.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 29 2010, 03:43 PM
Andy214
post Jun 30 2010, 02:20 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(fedoracore @ Jun 30 2010, 01:51 PM)
that is exactly happened to mine. after reboot seems fine though.
It's same like your PC; it's because of the Virtual/Swap memory.

Just restart your computer, oops, I mean N900 when you notice it's laggy, or restart it once in a while.

Andy214
post Jul 1 2010, 11:45 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jul 1 2010, 02:32 AM)
saw the screen shots and the youtube video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EW5wpg5epMs

one word = fugly. i'll stick with maemo for now, thanks.

nokia, when is PR 1.3 coming ?

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:36 amlaggy & fugly. android-ish interface.

nothing like the meego tablet preview we saw earlier in youtube...

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:38 amunless arm meego looks totally different from moorestown meego, but i doubt that it will...
Already said when I first saw the MeeGo UI way back. It felt Androd-ish. No more Maemo feel.

It's not Maemo + Moblin.
It's Symbian + Android, LoL!

It's no longer a Internet Tablet OS like Maemo, this is a "normal" and "common" smartphone OS, which has nothing special or unique. It's just like every other smartphones OS out there.
In this case, I feel Android OS looks better than MeeGo OS somehow, especially the one on Motorola Milestone.
Windows Phone 7 OS might be "unqiue" too, but have to see the actual preview first.

If there're coming out this MeeGo, might as well stick back to Maemo. It looks so much better and "unique", "different". Those who don't like Maemo, can opt for other "common" smartphone OS like Android, Symbian, etc.
We need something different, NOT ANOTHER Android-Symbian-Apple-etc alike OS.

Andy214
post Jul 1 2010, 12:29 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 1 2010, 12:01 PM)
I know 100++ members in maemo talk just waiting for the proper compiled version.
Droid X with iOS4?
Please don't compare chocolate with sh*t.
Android with Droid/Milestone is better.
Talk about smartphone capabilities, any smartphone is better than iOS4.
But when talk about graphics, animations, smoothness, responsiveness, iOS4 wins hands down. This has been a trend for Apple products. Windows until today, cannot even come close to Mac OS in terms of graphics, response, smoothness, etc.
It's just different target product, cannot compare.

"Apple's mobile OS is specifically created for those customers that want a simple, lightweight operating system that makes them more productive while on-the-go, or while sitting on the couch flipping through pictures on an iPad. The biggest problem with iOS 4 is that it only runs on Apple devices. "

There's something wrong from above statement from the website which shows the reviewer has failed.
SIMPLE and LIGHTWEIGHT, YES..... BUT, that doesn't mean you have to remove the advance features. Simple.
A good product should be simple and lightweight BUT AT THE SAME TIME, allow options for advance users to unleashed it capabilities.
iOS4 are simply a SIMPLE, STRAIGHTFORWARD, LIGTHWEIGHT OS that only can do "so much" and there's no option for even intermediate features. It's fully "LOCKED DOWN".
In any (if not all OS), we can turn on/off advanced features, e.g. Windows. BUT iOS4 simply is FACTORY LOCK, sorry, it's only for SIMPLE users.
Many fanboys failed to understand it and continue to support blindly or say how good is the product; Well, YES, in terms of graphics, animation, smoothness; BUT it's a failure as a smartphone, it's nothing like a computer to me, it feels like a SIMPLE gaming/entertainment device; not something I would like to use as a mobile computer, it's nothing like it at all.

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 1 2010, 12:01 PM)
Trouble is that's what the "normal" customers are asking.
You know as well as I do that while Maemo gets very well reception among geeks,it's just don't suit normal end users.
Nokia have to listen to majority of people if they want to reclaim top stop in smartphone category.

All said it's just the 1st version of MeeGo.We can just sit back & relax till beta in August.
Who know by then we'll have PR 1.3 for Maemo? brows.gif
Trouble is, there's already Symbian for "normal" Customers, and there're so many... like Android, Apple iOS, Windows Mobile, etc.

If they stop Maemo, is there any replacement that is good enough to replace it?

Andy214
post Jul 1 2010, 02:21 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jul 1 2010, 02:13 PM)
i am not using fmms. because nokia said we should not have mms... haha
Hmm... this sounds familiar.... wahaha tongue.gif
Andy214
post Jul 1 2010, 03:19 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jul 1 2010, 03:08 PM)
to be honest, i kinda like the the UI. clean and organised. and these mascots are cuter than the androidbot heh!

come this october with at least release candidate, i think i will be a convert for sure.

i know maemo is great but if meego is the next spotlight of the show, things dont spell doom at least for some time am i right?
That's why I said, it felt different from Maemo. So why replace Maemo?
Perhaps they can consider replace Symbian? No point having 2 alike/similar products. But then, Symbian is also their core product, there're many users, and many apps, companies developing apps, etc. unlike Maemo, which they can easily ditch off or wash hands. They don't even want to give any news about Flash 10.1 for Maemo, altough it's quite obvious there isn't one as it's not even listed.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jul 1 2010, 03:21 PM
Andy214
post Jul 1 2010, 04:51 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jul 1 2010, 03:34 PM)
i can see why they set to replace maemo. not because maemo is not good. it's all business at the end of the day.

why? ask nokia-intel. dont forget maemo is fully nokia so could it be contract and agreement stating meego has to be the main player because intel collaborated? i dont know. it may be, may not be.

anyway come next quarter, n900 users will be segregated into maemo users and meego users, you cant stop that. maybe dual boot users too. wink.gif you can keep maemo in n900 and purchase the new meego device too if you wish.  biggrin.gif

plus, nobody claims meego is going to be official OS for n900. maemo still is and always is flagship OS for nokia tablet phones. remember, nokia doesnt support meego officially, and so it will void your warranty. (well lol)

look at maemo now, it is fully community driven; apps-wise, even ovi store are mostly third party apps.
I'm not talking about official OS for N900, I'm talking about replacing Maemo OS.
They should maintain and continue Maemo as it's a different OS from MeeGo. They say MeeGo = Maemo + Moblin.
BUT I don't see any part that is similar or have the Maemo feel. It doesn't feel like a Tablet OS. It feels like a "regular" smartphone OS, particularly Android.

There will be no more future Maemo; Maemo6 has been rebranded as MeeGo.... So it's the end for Maemo.

Community driven is nice, we get many community support, help. But the core itself is still depends on Nokia, unless Nokia release the full source. Else, the OS itself can hardly be refined and cannot add features properly.
Imagine the community version of the firmware, I bet in no time, we can get 3G Video Calls, FULL MMS support, Contacts Grouping, Portrait SMS, Contacts Ringtone, SMS Archiving, etc, unlike Nokia which take ages just to incorporate one Facebook plugin, DUH!!!!! If there're community version firmware, I bet NOW, we're already enjoying most of the features, but if NOKIA, gone case.
The only problem with community is there will be many version from many different developer, unless they can set up a group and work together as a team or some sort.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jul 1 2010, 04:52 PM
Andy214
post Jul 3 2010, 08:45 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 3 2010, 01:31 AM)
Guys i just tested Iphone 3GS the games available for this phone is amazing

I already tried Angry Birds there have many more levels
Asphalt 5 cool game using accelerator
Even the 3D roller coaster jurrasic park thats coming for n900 already available
I have tried Prince of persia bloody hell amazing somemore no lag.

For flexibility yea n900 wins and for iphone its confusing even wanna JB its not easy. For internet surfing yes N900 win hands on. I am kinda not used to playing capacitive and resisitive sometimes i can confuse myself why use finger nail dun work 1  biggrin.gif Iphone really design for dumb proof means anyone can use it. If u want more advance thing then it comes very  confusing

I love my nokia n900 still of course
now playing this

Added on July 3, 2010, 1:36 amMy n900 i have OC to 900mhz. Its quite stable until now even on PR1.2
Yup, there're tons of games available, some games that are NOT even available for consoles or portable gaming device like PSP or NDS.
There're also PLANT VS ZOMBIES.

For the racing game, try "GT Racing: Motor Academy", "Real Racing" and "Need For Speed: Shift". These are superb.
On the iPod Touch 3G, the performance was slightly better, faster loading times, etc.

As I said, it's a great entertainment/gaming device, it felt just like having a PSP except without the controls, everything is touch. However there're some games that are really hard to play with capacitive touch, like those shooting game which ask you to touch to aim (e.g. MGS), unless you have really small fingers, still nothing beats finger nails or stylus.

Firmware 3.1.x is easy to JB, just use Spirit, it comes with Cydia by default, and there's a Cydia store, an app store for JB, no joke, $$$ again.
Nonetheless, in terms of entertainment/gaming, it wins hands down.
As a smartphone, it doesn't even feel like a smartphone, honestly. It does not even qualify, that's why many "expert" or "advanced" users won't even regard it as a smartphone.
One more thing, ladies with long fingernails will have hard time using the iPhone, especially typing text

Anyway, if one just looking for the games/apps, iPod Touch 3G is a much much better option and spend the rest of the money on a better smartphone instead. This way, you can enjoy BOTH, instead of keeping the EGO just to have this statement "I have an iPhone".
As I said, iPhone 3GS 32GB = 2.8K?
iPod Touch 3G 32GB = 1.1K
You still have 1.5K to get a "REAL" smartphone.
Plus, those that get iPhone, paid extra 1.5K for just the added phone, 3MP Camera, built-in GPS. Then because of all the games, ended up using the battery then not enough for phone calls, etc. Is it worth paying 1.5K for it?
The extra 1.5K can get you many great smartphones with far far better camera, GPS, etc.

By the way, really disappointed with Nokia. They never get developers to develop for N900/Maemo, it's abandoned, left aside. My friend recently just bought Samsung Wave which is running Samsung's Bada OS. At first, I told him that since it's Samsung own OS, it might have less support, not much apps, etc.
Surprisingly, Samsung put effort to bring in developers...
It comes pre-installed with Asphalt 5 (which by the way, looks better than iPhone 3GS, well the specs is similar with Galaxy S/iPhone4 anyway).
Btw, it's Super AMOLED, so we tested a comparison with my iPod Touch 3G and gosh, it's makes iPod Touch 3G screen looks like rubbish. But the iPhone 4 Retina display is superb tough.
Recently, Samsung provides FREE Need For Speed: Shift!!! FREE!!!
There's even PapaGo M6 and M7 according to my friend.

Hello Nokia? Previous article about the symbian-guru website shutdown, someone comment about developers, which is very true. WHAT IS NOKIA DOING?

Added on July 3, 2010, 8:48 am
QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 3 2010, 08:41 AM)
lol what game is tat? haha
Huh? jloi? Never watch Iron Man?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jul 3 2010, 08:48 AM
Andy214
post Jul 3 2010, 09:22 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 3 2010, 09:03 AM)
Hehe its iron man 2. They also have iron man aerial flight u play as iron man flying shooting down plane abit addictive.
Yea i already won plants and zombie on the pc so addictive. I have also install in the iphone.

I was shock i can even play asphalt 5 with the accelerator its quite stable.

Another thing more shocking was there resident evil 4 in iphone. Back then i played it on my computer with high spec. The iphone speaker sux like hell it makes my music sound like crap. Even my 5800XM speaker perform better

I like my maemo but after awhile you realize why is there so few good games available?
Totally agree with your statement if games ipod touch is a better choice.

Just sad waiting of waiting n900 so limited quality applications. What happen to EA games? Gameloft? all this not worth to invest in maemo?
Yea, Iron Man 2 games was a lot better than Iron Man game, great improvements, but I kinda bored already, haha.
Prince of Persia was great~

You should try the other racing games, it's more amazing, especially NFS: Shift, OMG... it's very realistic, the car will damage and the windscreen can crack and break if you crash more, and if it rains, it'll enter your car, super cool. Plus, you can DRIFT~
For track type racing, go for "Real Racing" or "GT Racing: Motor Academy".
GT Racing: Motor Academy is by Game Loft, so far, only available for iOS. Darn.
For those who loves to play manual transmission, it's not really fun to play on iPhone, yes the accelerometer is cool, but there're no buttons for controlling the gears "properly". I keep wanting to press on L1 and R1.

For Resident Evil 4, there's a better game by GAME LOFT,.... AGAIN... Its called ZOMBIE. Go try it...
There's also GANGSTAR by RockStar, same like Grand Theft Auto... I think this is also only available for the iOS...
Star Wars Force Unleashed, Driver, Time Crisis,
For Plane game, can try Top Gun, Hawx, ACE Combat,.... there's also Flight Simulator game...
For RPG, darn.... check out Chaos Rings by Square Enix...
Simulation: Sim City, Sims3
Sorts: NBA LIVE, FIFA, Real Soccer, etc...
Fighting: Street Figther 4!!!
There're really many games available, even Cooking Mama...

For apps, if you like cars, there're dyno app, like Dynolicious, Pocket Dyno, g-Tac, etc.

For N900, I wonder if it's the company not wanting to invest? Because for Samsung Wave (Bada OS) case, Samsung took the effort to secure the developers. For Maemo, seems Nokia isn't doing anything, it's abandoned and left to the community....
Plus, it shouldn't be much trouble for them to port to Maemo. It's more like depends on NOKIA.
Even Flash 10.1, it seems will not be available for Maemo. From Adobe Forums, the staff mentioned that they're under terms with Nokia that they're not allowed to reveal any information and whether the it will be available for Maemo is DEPENDS ON NOKIA. So, it's Nokia decision. I really wonder if Nokia is doing this so that the N900 owners will sell their N900 and switch over to MeeGo device later, cause if they continue to support N900, less people will switch to their MeeGo device later.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jul 3 2010, 09:23 AM
Andy214
post Jul 3 2010, 10:26 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 3 2010, 09:43 AM)
Yea i tried dawn of the dead. Using bat to kill zombie haha. Very addictive too..

So many bloody game. Furthermore the games size are all so big. Now i installing until 3rd page already
Try this, very similar to Resident Evil on iPhone, but better:
http://www.gameloft.com/iphone/zombie-infection/
Andy214
post Jul 3 2010, 02:52 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 3 2010, 02:06 PM)
i know tat is ironman..i mean as in is console game or game for n900? lol
Aight sorry bro, that Iron Man 2 game was on the iPhone OS (now iOS).

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jul 3 2010, 02:25 PM)
this is not a hate post. but i pretty damn agree with everything you lamented in the quoted post above. however, it's not only the marketing, platform abandoning, and lack of software support.

even this n900 thread has been slowing down.

my wife owns both nexus one and n900. she was really excited with n900 initially until she met nexus one. now she wants to get rid of n900 already. even surfing on nexus 1 feels better. and what can the n900 do that nexus one can't do other than the nature of "openness"? especially comparing the SUPPORT from both manufacturers? Nokia has made absolutely ZERO announcement on their next patch, update or etc. but knowing Nokia, it could be another LONG WAIT or judging the situation now(maemo is set to replaced by meego), could be none at all. but of course, take this view of mine with a pinch of salt or you can totally forget about this.

i want to support n900 maemo. i want to support nokia, my first device was nokia, and loved nokia ever since their genius symbian platform was released on soap phone 6600, then 6630. but like someone said, Nokia needs to wake the hell up! after this experience with nokia, there's is simply no way for people to trust their next devices. unless the first two meego devices went incredibly well, maybe only people will start paying attention to them again. look what they did to N8 even before the device is released to the market. lol. the competition from Android, Apple and recently Bada... can Nokia pull it off with meego? i really doubt so. it's too android-ish, fanboys will make fun of it as android clones. so my bet is on android OS which will dominate the sales chart coming next fiscal year 2011. just wait and see. it could be htc android, google android, samsung android as long as android.

i've tried both Galaxy S and iPhone4 yesterday, i believe my love to nokia is dying faster than a light could travel.  laugh.gif

lastly, props out to Datawiz for their daring approach to release games for n900! because i would not do that. :/ but i will not be buying Spin, yet before i finished ZenBound.
Very well said. It's not hatred, it's disappointment, and it's also the truth... and we're no blind supporter
N900 was a great product, Maemo OS was great, all let down and ruined by Nokia. They built it, and they destroy it, the community comes and saves it, but that's only as far as it gets. Community expands to many possibilities and makes a lot of great things, but there's a limitation to it; There's a difference between FREE and PAID. Companies would not simply release their apps/games for free.

Some people at talk-maemo forum tried to protect Nokia where they talk about the delay in PR1.2 about testing problems and so on. That's all whole load of crap, there should be timeline, buffer, etc. Look at MeeGo with it's proper timeline and planning and it's not even a finished product yet it has announced publicly of it's timeline and so on. It's simply too obvious.

I guess we can only continue to enjoy the N900 on our own. I still love the Maemo OS, no smartphone OS has come close as it's not the common smartphone OS. Just very disappointed with Nokia on what they have done to such a great product and OS.
Their N900 advertisement and so on, shows how great the device is, but the truth is, seems they conning people to buy something they're letting go.
The 3D Roller Coaster game was announce to be available soon with PR1.2 since February in YouTube (which speculated to be release in March), nothing can be seen until today and the stupid OVI Store is still in BETA stage and super little apps. What a joke, look at Samsungs's Bada... plus MeeGo already release pre-alpha version for mobile.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:06 AM