Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

Andy214
post Jul 19 2010, 04:23 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(VeilSidex @ Jul 19 2010, 02:39 PM)
i already download the plugin and msn show at the im tab but i just cant sign in..it keep show me not siign in swt..
Use MSN (Pecan), it's more stable. After install, advice to restart your N900 first.

Previously I use telepathy-butterfly version (MSN Protocol Plugins For Conversations & Contacts), and there is always network error, which I need to restart the phone or kill the process in order to connect again.
But later one, I face one major problem,... I can IM to others, but I cannot receive others message. Ended up I never receive any IM message.

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jul 19 2010, 03:22 PM)
im so lucky...went for jakuzzi yesterday and plugged in the earphone while enjoying myself...maybe coz i keep change song so the phone got wet...nth strange happened til i launched zenbound and realised that the graphics are disorted...so quickly switch off the phone...after that when i tried to switched it back,it just stucked at white screen with nokia on it..and auto reboot...but solved it by reinstalling firmware...lucky me
You might want to consider off your phone and put it inside a rice bag or something to absorb any possible moisture inside your phone.

Andy214
post Jul 20 2010, 04:35 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jul 20 2010, 02:47 PM)
hi guys, some problem with my msn(haze.pecan) here.

haze plugin are unable to connect anymore these two days. (showing network error)
Pecan always ask me to authorize my friend every time i log on.

any way can solve this ?
Which version of Pecan are you using?

Also, did you try to restart your N900 after install?

Andy214
post Jul 20 2010, 10:05 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jul 20 2010, 08:03 PM)
Is the Router Yours???

You can disable it...if its yours.

Go to your Router and Disable Compliance Setup.

Kau tim...

Refer this...

OMG! Are you Kah Fui? I thought I saw same Avatar...

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jul 20 2010, 09:09 PM)
two days ago i change the plugin from haze to pecan.

all contacts auto change to the pecan plugin.
but it didn't change back to haze in contacts after i use haze plugin again.

anything can fix this?
Don't have authorization issue; As I know, there're MSN plugins in extras-testing and also extras-devel, make sure you're installing the right one.

Previously was using telepathy-butterfly, but this one always have network problem and worst of all, not able to receive IM from others. Dangerous.

Btw, MSN (Pecan) was developed by someone who work in Nokia.

For the contacts problem, I use Contacts Merger and merge those duplicate contacts.
For the auto change issue, Pecan plugin have this feature but others I think don't have.

Andy214
post Jul 21 2010, 11:45 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 21 2010, 11:15 AM)
Well, thing is, I was surfing the net. As always, it was lagging a bit so I restarted.

Then kapoof, it died and just refused to restart, no matter what I did. Reflash, R&D mode. I guess I'm one of the FIRST guys to FRY the CPU then...

Even greater shame is that I was SURE it would last me a good couple of years. Looks like I was wrong.

Anyhow, any chance Nokia Care would repair an out of warranty N900 - AP set summore - with payment? Or do I have to wait for an 3G version of the EPIC 4G...

Well, back to my old W810i then, for now, though it has been dead for a loooooooooooooooooooong time nowadays.

Now, where's the charger...
Are you sure it's the CPU fried??? It could be other problems?

You mean your N900 totally unable to start, or there is light but no respond? Or where did it stop at? or nothing at all?
You're able to go into R&D mode? If yes, it should mean the device is still working right?

Just wonder could it be the kernel fail to load the default? As with OC, if there is something wrong, your device will restart and reload default clock speed, etc. BUT, if it fails to load the default... wonder what will happen?

Andy214
post Jul 21 2010, 12:39 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jul 21 2010, 12:28 PM)
i think i was running at least 3 browser windows, some with flash some now. conky was running in background and angry birds minimized.

maximum stress u can guess. and my 750:42,430 did not hold it in... *poof* rebooted...

next thing, the loading ". . . ." ran for 5 minutes. and then went to desktop.

Added on July 21, 2010, 12:28 pm
easier with ssh and winscp if you want to see the "rest" of the filesystem from windows. without that you can only see the "home/mydocs" folder...
There're some owners stress test the N900, running over 20 apps (including games, emulator, video, etc).

For me, the worst part is when the it uses too much virtual/swap memory, or some important processes were stored in swap/virtual memory (Not sure if allowed to, if yes, I strongly wonder why they allow that). This will cause the whole phone not responding for a LONG TIME. Once I face this, touch the screen, press the power button, etc. Nothing works. I press CTRL+DEL, nothing works. So, I leave it, drive my car, after quite some time, my previous "actions" kicks in. Ok, now it was in the Desktop, but still the respond is super duper super slow. You can either restart the device, or wait very long for it to finally "wake up" from the swap memory, then you can close the other applications.

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 21 2010, 12:30 PM)
Will do, I'm thinking it's fsck-ing as well. Worse comes to worst will reflash eMMC and see how - if nothing off to the nearest Nokia Center (which is a good 2 hours away by bus darnit).

It's completely fscking my day up real good though... sweat.gif
Probably try another battery or charge the battery, as jananan mentioned, it won't allow reflashing, etc if the battery is below certain level.

Andy214
post Jul 21 2010, 03:44 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 21 2010, 01:59 PM)
Nokia refrain themselves when Apple commented on others phone reception cause Apple didn't name Nokia directly.Now Apple has demoed N97 mini antenna reception.Time to Nokia to pwn Apple kaw2.
See how hard they hold the N97 and how long it take to drop the bars. Seriously, who will hold it so tightly and so uncomfortable that it's also hard to press keys? It's lame and stupid.

They waste so many time to research and discover this? They don't have anything better to do? Why not find real solution for their iPhone4? Instead of trying to find faults on others.

I seriously think that Jobs is just a marketing/sales person, NOT the genius/person behind the product. He keep finding lame excuses and cheap tricks such as this. OMG. I also wonder if the iPhone4 is really their invention... Maybe it's entirely FoxConn invention, Apple just took the name and rebrand it; LoL, after all, if it was brand by FoxConn, it will not get repuration, but if branded under Apple, it's a total different story, like the joke, Apple could use a brick and call it an iPhone, it will sell. "I don't care. It is the coolest phone". This might explain why they don't know about their phone and don't know how to answer questions which results to giving lame excuses?
Seriously, resulting in such cheap tricks, that's really sounded like some marketing/sales person who talk rubbish/kok to the Customers, and only dumb Customers/budak-kipas will buy it.

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 02:44 PM)
how bad is the batt lifespan? 1 day?  unsure.gif
wow wow~ thats good~ i guess~ only let down is the screen~ 65k color and not multitouch~ anything else i need to take note about the pros n cons of n900?  tongue.gif
I wonder. Firstly, you should take a look at the N900; Then decide whether you care about the colour.

Multi-touch?
It depends on whether you really need this feature (although it doesn't mean Resistive touch can't support this feature).
Those capacitive touch screen, you can't use finger-nails, pen, stylus, etc. and there is no pressure sensitivity, it's super sensitive.
Multi-touch is only really useful for gaming. For web browsing, it's no really that important; If you can use fingernails or stylus, there's no need to waste time to zoom in out, and no need to worry keep touching the wrong link especially if you have big fingers.

Finally, make sure you know what you're getting. The N900 lacks many of the phone features (e.g. contacts grouping, ringtone assignments, etc). It's a very powerful device, but if the user don't know how to utilize it, it may not utlilize it's potential. Just like buying a manual trans sports car, but the driver is a automatic transmission driver and always drive slowly, it's not the car's fault.
If you can learn and utilize this phone, have a little patience (it's like a PC after all), then you will discover many wonderful things on this phone that is not available on most (if not all) of the phones available today.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jul 21 2010, 03:47 PM
Andy214
post Jul 21 2010, 05:37 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 04:05 PM)
iphone is a joke without their apps~ tongue.gif

well~ at the moment i am reading forums, reviews and specs on this n900~ so i not sure if the 65k and 16mil color screen make much diff anyway~
as i said. i need a smartphone where i can do mobile internet when i am outside~ since this phone wont be my primary phone~ phone calls and sms will be at its minimum coz not much ppl know this digi lien anyway~ so do tell me whats the missing things in this n900 i need to take note if i can live with it~ thx~ biggrin.gif
icic~ so i guess the maemo OS is still has plenty of room to mature eh? great~ thumbup.gif
Maemo OS is very powerful, it's a Tablet OS rather than a smartphone OS. It has a real Desktop like your PC Windows desktop instead of Homescreen like other Smartphones. So, that means flexibility, powerful Desktop, where you can drag and place icons anywhere you want, you can overlap one another, widgets are not restricted or limited to limited space or area like the usual smartphone homescreen.

There is also something unique, a new concept? It's emphasize on social, whereby your contact/address book can integrate with your instant messaging like Facebook Chat, Skype, MSN etc. What it means? It means, when you add a new contact, you can add their IM accounts and their status will show in your contacts.
The messaging is also all combined into Conversations, your sms and IM message are all here. No need to install and open third party IM applications rclxm9.gif
I believe Microsoft notices this, they'll doing something similar in their new Windows Phone 7 OS, dropping their previous mobile OS..

The drawback? This phone works mostly in landscape mode (it's a tablet afterall), and many people don't understand the concept of Desktop and how it works and they're used to smartphone's homescreen, so they always think Portrait mode. Though, doesn't mean there canot be Portrait mode, but the Desktop is still work best as it is. Others can have Portrait mode implemented easily.

Maemo OS, altough powerful, there're still a lot of improvements needed, need to be polished and missing many features. If Nokia really emphasize on this, it'll become a great OS, outstanding from the rest; It's totally different from the others. Android, Symbian, WinMo, even MeeGo... they all look very similar and alike, but Maemo looks different and unique.
The bad news? Nokia has abandon the ship long ago adn concentrating on MeeGo. The N900 is surviving thanks to the Community; Many of the plugins, add-ons, features are provided by the community.

If you're into apps, not games, there're many really nice and good apps on the N900. It's not just simple or useless apps, it's really powerful and useful apps. You have MyPaint, a very powerful paint application which was ported from Desktop version, there're Firefox browser, there're unofficial? Opera browser, there're Chromium (Google Chrome) port from Desktop version. There're just so many useful and powerful apps.
The drawback? There's no news of update for Flash 10, it's a big disappointment because N900 was among the first to get Flash on a smartphone. Now it's going to be left behind.

If you're into Movies, the N900 is also another device for you. Unlike many other smartphones, N900 can play many types of video files (need to install codecs). With mplayer, you can play even more types or quality. With Knots2, you can stream FULL HD videos to your N900 and output to your Plasma/LCD.

The camera and video recording on the N900 isn't something to shout about but it's good enough and possibly above average. It can take quite good quality picture is you set the settings properly.
With this phone, you can capture video and use the built in share service to share it to Facebook, YouTube, etc. So, you can report post your videos, pictures, while you're at some event. It's almost LIVE reporting, at least faster than those reporters. And if you install Qik, you can stream it live.

Not sure what else to share, but too many to list.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 21 2010, 04:15 PM)
Since i been too used to nokia n900 and all other phones

When i used iphone in was like huh this phone is boring without application.
But why i kinda like about iphone is when u run apps there totally no lag
Cannot really compare iPhone, there is no desktop, no homescreen; It's plain and simple, and only allow one application to run at a time. It doesn't work like a smartphone or computer, it works like a gaming/entertaiment device. I think even PSP is better than it, haha.
The only problem I hate is, some games are offered to iPhone but not PSP or other console, and some games are BETTER in iPhone, e.g. Need For Speed: Shift!!!!

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 04:31 PM)
eh, i notice 1 thing tho~ n900 doesnt support java?
Java as in Java MIDP or J2ME, then NO (officially).

What's the good news? There is icedtea6, which is the J2SE version. Now, with this, it's better than any smartphone outthere with only J2ME.
You can also install microEmulator which can run J2ME applications.

Any sifus please correct me if I'm wrong above.

Andy214
post Jul 21 2010, 08:56 PM

3,308 posts

Man! LMAO! You guys should watch this:

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0428sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:34 AM