MOTOROLA MILESTONE: SERVICE CENTRE EXPERIENCE, Original Brightstar. Was it worth it?

TSspeedstars
post May 25 2010, 03:20 AM, updated 16y ago

Prior to the good review and was claimed the ultimate gadget of the year, Motorola Droid/Milestone have caught my attention. Bought it soon after the product was launched in Malaysia, and i have decided to buy the original set, a Brightstar unit from an authorized dealer in Sunway Pyramid.

Only few weeks of using the Milestone, i have found out that the touch screen is somehow too sensitive, a slight touch to the ear would mute, hold the call and even pop up the dialpad. And now, less than 2 months using, the touch screen is no longer working smoothly; hardly working at all. After much observation, i am confident that the problem occured was caused by hardware faulty.

Last week i went to the shop where i bought the unit, and was recommended by the dealer to go straight to the service center located in Dataran Sunway (Mentari Court), and so i went there, reporting the problem and claimed my 1 year warranty.

I was attended by a lady, who took my report after i have explained to her in detail on the problem, of course in a layman's term so she would understand. It seemed to me that the lady is having difficulty understanding or to explain my problem in the report, as if she do not understand the product itself.

From the copy of the report, she stated "Screen no touch". That's it. Period.

After 5 working days, i called up the service center, and they said my Milestone is ready. I went there and the same lady attended me. I asked her, what really caused the problem, she said it was software problem, so the technical upgraded my software. I checked the properties of the phone, it was Android 2.1, no upgrade done. I bet the techical person only does a master reset on the phone, not even bothered to look into the hardware problem as reported.

What suprises me the most, the lady who attended me, told me that the same problem would occur again, and could be much worse. She even asked me to trade in my phone and get a different set because most of the Motorola customers always came back again to the service center; angrier and more dissapointed.

I was shocked by the statement, which i took it seriously; as a disclaimer that they could not do anything. So many questions to ask, but looking at her, i bet she could not help me further.

Now, where do i stand? As a customer who is willing to pay more to get original set, for the sake of product support. Was it worth it? I am most definately not going to get a one-to-one replacement eventhough i only used it for less than 2 months with extreme care. What matters most, how could a company which i could say, saved by this particular product and claim its sales beats the iPhone, does not prepare a reliable service centre for this product, especially here in Malaysia even after the unit was launched?

Only a few hours after i got back my Milestone, guess what people? Yes, the same problem occured again.

shakehead.gif
balraj
post May 25 2010, 03:37 AM

18 posts

i feel ur pain...,i to want to get a milestone,bt after hearing about all the problems that it has,i dn think im willing to buy it anymore..

so wt r u goin to do with ur phone?
plz update..
TSspeedstars
post May 25 2010, 03:46 AM

thanks for replying to my post.

honestly, at this point of time, i don't know what to do with it. knowing the service centre lady already told me earlier that the problem will occur again.

cry.gif

i need advice actually. to go again, or to find other alternative. i love the phone.

but knowing you pay more and get nothing, really sucks!

QUOTE(balraj @ May 25 2010, 03:37 AM)
i feel ur pain...,i to want to get a milestone,bt after hearing about all the problems that it has,i dn think im willing to buy it anymore..

so wt r u goin to do with ur phone?
plz update..
batusaix
post May 25 2010, 05:34 AM

15 posts

Try going to other service centre? I'm not sure if theres any difference in terms hardware, but I'm having a AP Milestone for about 2 months now. Been formatting/flashing for like almost everyday? (I noe it sounds insane but im a linux geek, so i noe wat im doing =P) But I still don't have any problems with it.

You should really get it fixed, giving up an android just because of the software failure is so so wasted. Try some other way, or google it. Then start with your rooting, OC, themes, games, and I'm sure you will not regret having android (compairing with that AiFong, or BrickBarry.. Hehe u noe wat i mean =P)
sanosizo
post May 25 2010, 06:32 AM

4,553 posts

U can try pushing a mail to someone in higher position in Brighstar or even Motorola Malaysia itself. Give every detail to them. If nothing else works, u can go to the tribunal to claim your rights. Good luck.
treeantz
post May 25 2010, 07:25 AM

39 posts

that seems pretty outrageous, you should have requested to speak to their manager. I would do so if i were in your place.
Asking you to trade in for a different sounds like motorola is trying to suck your - well maybe mine too since I now own a MS - money.

Let's hope i wont have any problems with my MS.
Hico
post May 25 2010, 08:45 AM

4,709 posts

true, if me i will ask & request to speak to higher level management or manager and explain to them the situation. i think its just some lack of understanding in this problem. maybe she is really know nth abt the hp like you say. so she cant understand ur problem. and so many users using MS but so far very little problem like urs occur. or else sure in forum here all complain this hp. i dun really believe the statement said by her. Try imagine, the sales in USA is really beat iphone while the first launch as according to the news; tats how many unit sold at that time. if really got problem, how come no news spread out? do u think everyone will just keep quiet like tis? yet this model is still one of the top model for android phone until now.

since u spend more money to buy ori set, we as customer has the right to claim the waranty due to the hardware problem. dun waste it...sometime they will just say something nonsense to save their works and increase their sales by asking u to trade with new hp..i believe motorola will still wan to maintain their good name rather than spoil it.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: May 25 2010, 08:46 AM
Cynox
post May 25 2010, 09:44 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Since Brightstar is the agent, you may want to complain about them via email to Motorola and cc a copy to Brightstar higher management. The top down approach is the "best practice" in handling the case like this. Or you can look for the manager of the service centre, try to get a second service and most importantly, get his/her name card - so you have his/her email address for cc purpose later if the problem not solved. laugh.gif
fubukiasami
post May 25 2010, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 25 2010, 09:44 AM)
Since Brightstar is the agent, you may want to complain about them via email to Motorola and cc a copy to Brightstar higher management.  The top down approach is the "best practice" in handling the case like this.  Or you can look for the manager of the service centre, try to get a second service and most importantly, get his/her name card - so you have his/her email address for cc purpose later if the problem not solved.  laugh.gif
I agree with Cynox. Explain your grief to the higher management. They naturally want to safeguard their reputation. Motorola wouldn't want their appointed sole agent to ruin their reputation, with Milestone slated to be an iPhone killer.

Don't give up and let them win smile.gif
sanosizo
post May 25 2010, 10:38 AM

4,553 posts

thats the best and quickest way to get their response. kind of reporting to tv3 style tongue.gif u complaint to management got no response, once it showed up in buletin utama, immediately tomorrow people come to fix.

hopefully u could get that kind of response from Brightstar as well smile.gif
kentang_peranchis
post May 25 2010, 10:43 AM

279 posts

get serious guys, tell sumthg him/her doesn't know...
for example, anybody here knows the email address or even name of the "higher management" in brightstar/moto?

personally, i think brightstar ppl r useless.
treeantz
post May 25 2010, 10:44 AM

39 posts

yup they might throw you a one for one replacement if it gets to the media.

I think i bought from the same shop, i was told that during the 18months i will get a 1:1 replacement if there are any hardware issues? is that not true?
Hico
post May 25 2010, 10:54 AM

4,709 posts

18 months waranty incl 1 to 1 replacement? wow..tats really first time hear it.. u sure thats ori set? i only heard 1 to 1 replacement for ori set if anything happen within 7 days.. cos this is consumer right..but never know will be 18 months? and motorola ori set got 18 months waranty??

Added on May 25, 2010, 10:58 am
QUOTE(kentang_peranchis @ May 25 2010, 10:43 AM)
get serious guys, tell sumthg him/her doesn't know...
for example, anybody here knows the email address or even name of the "higher management" in brightstar/moto?

personally, i think brightstar ppl r useless.
the easier way is just tell the gal i wan to talk to ur manager or supervisor to explain detail abt the problem.. sometime by saying this will scare them as they worry will get trouble themselves... so they will really look into the problem seriously..if not try imagine his manager ask him how could he ans? .. or can try motorola customer service email or tel if any? i believe there will be a way to see their management in order to solve this.. or else the faster way is complain thru consumer dept or media.. sure they will willing to see u after tat.. but i dun think they will refuse to talk to u if u request it..milestone is a great product.and can say save motorola's sale recently. .for sure they wan to maintain the good name of it...so dun give up! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: May 25 2010, 11:02 AM
x132755
post May 25 2010, 12:14 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

QUOTE(speedstars @ May 25 2010, 03:20 AM)
What suprises me the most, the lady who attended me, told me that the same problem would occur again, and could be much worse. She even asked me to trade in my phone and get a different set because most of the Motorola customers always came back again to the service center; angrier and more dissapointed.

I was shocked by the statement, which i took it seriously; as a disclaimer that they could not do anything. So many questions to ask, but looking at her, i bet she could not help me further.

Now, where do i stand? As a customer who is willing to pay more to get original set, for the sake of product support. Was it worth it? I am most definately not going to get a one-to-one replacement eventhough i only used it for less than 2 months with extreme care. What matters most, how could a company which i could say, saved by this particular product and claim its sales beats the iPhone, does not prepare a reliable service centre for this product, especially here in Malaysia even after the unit was launched?

Only a few hours after i got back my Milestone, guess what people? Yes, the same problem occured again.

shakehead.gif
LOLz the lady is too honest...... that will makes they biz down.. betif she let her manger hear wat she said like tis to customer, i thnk she will be fired..

of course , buy ORIGINAL doesn't mean hav better product's quality... icon_idea.gif
wat u get just a better SERVICES... for ur extra 400-500 bucks compare to AP..
SOMETIME BUYING FON IS ALSO DEPEND ON UR LUCK.. sweat.gif

IF that is really just a s/w problem then u gonna wait for the latest update from MOTO...

This post has been edited by x132755: May 25 2010, 12:14 PM
Hico
post May 25 2010, 12:22 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ May 25 2010, 12:14 PM)
LOLz the lady is too honest...... that will makes they biz down.. betif she let her manger hear wat she said like tis to customer, i thnk she will be fired..

of course , buy ORIGINAL doesn't mean hav better product's quality... icon_idea.gif
wat u get just a better SERVICES... for ur extra 400-500 bucks compare to AP..
SOMETIME BUYING FON IS ALSO DEPEND ON UR LUCK..  sweat.gif

IF that is really just a s/w problem then u gonna wait for the latest update from MOTO...
yaya..depend luck too..i used ap set for more than 2 yrs also no problem last time.. but use ori set then this tat come out..actually really depend luck and how u use it too.. if the ladies say like tis to me, then i will just tell her take back this phone with full refund since how can u sell a defect model to the market!! LOL.. moreover i might request ganti rugi for my mental and mind lose cos of the problem keep drag me till i cant sleep well and eat welltoo! rclxm9.gif just kidding!
fubukiasami
post May 25 2010, 12:48 PM

that is why i got my AP phones from a reliable and respectable seller. cheaper and can depend on when something goes amiss smile.gif

btw, i got a chance to look at miss speedstar's milestone. definitely not a software issue. it is as if there is an invisible finger touching the screen. sometimes you can scroll the menus, sometimes it scrolls by itself. and sometimes it does not responds to touch.
TSspeedstars
post May 25 2010, 12:56 PM

thank you all for your replies and advice. i am currently doing an email draft to be sent to those higher level management.

yea lor.. depends on luck. sadly i am not that lucky la, no matter how i care about the phone. the thought of buying an original set to help me if problem occurs, seems to dissapoint me.

by the look and feel of it, it is not due to the software problem. its more mechanical, in which effects the orientation, the sensitivity of the touch screen.

and that, in my humble opinion, definately could not be solved by only doing a master reset or "upgrading" the software. a simple logic.

but then again, main issue. was it worth it? paying extra 500 bucks for nothing. its my first time buying ori.. ohh the pain~! cry.gif

the idea of the lady asking me to sell the phone and buy a different one, crushed me because i love the Milestone. oohh the agony~! cry.gif
Orochimaru
post May 25 2010, 01:35 PM

14 posts

I also have checked speedstar's milestone, the screen went crazy even when we didn't touch it. and when we slide the qwerty board out, the top notification slider will automatically collapsed. and we could not touch anything. it is definitely not a software defect, its more on hardware defect, it maybe because of the ribbon connection between screen and keyboard.

a faulty phone is a different story, its not abnormal for consumer products to be sent for warranty repair, that is what warranty is for. but the fact that a Motorola Service Center came up with this weird sort of "chin-chai" solution is really disappointing. Its like Motorola Malaysia have never been preparing any after sales services.

but then again, if we push this issue to higher level, how high can we anticipate this issue can reach? i mean, in terms of the ratio of faulty phones vs good condition phones.

if anyone have contacts of any important ppl in motorola service ctr/motorola malaysia, it would be good.
Hico
post May 25 2010, 01:52 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Orochimaru @ May 25 2010, 01:35 PM)
I also have checked speedstar's milestone, the screen went crazy even when we didn't touch it. and when we slide the qwerty board out, the top notification slider will automatically collapsed. and we could not touch anything. it is definitely not a software defect, its more on hardware defect, it maybe because of the ribbon connection between screen and keyboard.

a faulty phone is a different story, its not abnormal for consumer products to be sent for warranty repair, that is what warranty is for. but the fact that a Motorola Service Center came up with this weird sort of "chin-chai" solution is really disappointing. Its like Motorola Malaysia have never been preparing any after sales services.

but then again, if we push this issue to higher level, how high can we anticipate this issue can reach? i mean, in terms of the ratio of faulty phones vs good condition phones.

if anyone have contacts of any important ppl in motorola service ctr/motorola malaysia, it would be good.
yeah..i agree with u.. but i think it is just caused by the gal who is new and maybe those technician not so well informed yet or should say not so experience in repairing perhaps? i believe if they get the pressure from upstair and really been asked to pay attention on finding out the defect, they will be more careful and wont so chin chai reply u.. for sure, if other ms set also got like tis problem, lots of complain oledi around the air.. but so far i only hear quite good comment abt ms..anyway, i like ms design too.. kinda professional look.. drool.gif

Added on May 25, 2010, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(speedstars @ May 25 2010, 12:56 PM)
thank you all for your replies and advice. i am currently doing an email draft to be sent to those higher level management.

yea lor.. depends on luck. sadly i am not that lucky la, no matter how i care about the phone. the thought of buying an original set to help me if problem occurs, seems to dissapoint me. 

by the look and feel of it, it is not due to the software problem. its more mechanical, in which effects the orientation, the sensitivity of the touch screen.

and that, in my humble opinion, definately could not be solved by only doing a master reset or "upgrading" the software. a simple logic.

but then again, main issue. was it worth it? paying extra 500 bucks for nothing. its my first time buying ori.. ohh the pain~! cry.gif

the idea of the lady asking me to sell the phone and buy a different one, crushed me because i love the Milestone. oohh the agony~! cry.gif
dun worry..actually buying ori set is like buying insurance too.. like ur case, try imagine if it happen to the AP set, u might get even more lame reply if those are from unknown AP company.. since u pay extra for it, then use it !! try to get ur right back! tongue.gif but i would recommend u go back to the centre, telling her or another person there u wan speak to supervisor or even manager to talk abt the problem.. or u can even ask her give u the motorola own office tel number or address in order for u to check issit got the problem like tis occur to other users.. if tats true, then u can take further action like sell ur unit..if not, and they just wan earn ur money, most probably they will take back wat she said and help u replace the parts.. this is sales tactic perhaps..to increase sale if that person kena tipu and trust her words maybe? no one will know.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: May 25 2010, 01:56 PM
sanosizo
post May 25 2010, 02:38 PM

4,553 posts

btw, did u use any other charger beside the original one? there are few reports about touchscreen misbehaving on droid as a result of charging the phone using an aftermarket charger. (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-general-discussions/1691-touch-screen-suddenly-inaccurate-goes-crazy.html)

if it not the case then it really is a hardware issue. but most of milestone/droid users who have this issue in europe/usa got a replacement unit instead of a software repair. and yes, i believe u better go to that service center again and speak to another person, perhaps the manager. maybe u can print some forum discussions (like the link above) to proof them its a hardware issue so u could get a replacement right away.

0.0182sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:02 PM