munkeyflo
post May 7 2015, 05:18 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(mjy1984 @ May 5 2015, 10:51 PM)
Hi people.

I'm planning to visit Perhentian later this year with my girl. I'm looking for a affordable place with good sunset view actually. And I ended up with Shari-la and Abdul's Chalet. They're both affordable. So, between those 2, which one has better view? Or any other recommended places?

By the way, she's not a fan of snorkeling. We just want to chill over there. smile.gif Are there any packages without snorkeling in it....?

Thanks a lot!
So happen I've stayed at both of those before. If you like some partying, then go for Sharila cause you can walk over to long beach. Otherwise, the rooms at Abdul's is much better and more spacious and cleaner.

QUOTE(CommonPeople @ May 6 2015, 11:48 AM)
Hi guys ,

Just wondering is it safe for a couple to visit Pulau Perhentian ?

I heard stories if we travel in couple or small group ( more girls) , the beach boys will kacau the girls or start a fight..

Im planning to go there with my wife this June...
Anyone can confirm this ?

thank you
No la. Totally safe. Very rarely this sort of thing happen on the islands on the east coast.
zstan
post May 7 2015, 10:17 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mjy1984 @ May 5 2015, 10:51 PM)
Hi people.

I'm planning to visit Perhentian later this year with my girl. I'm looking for a affordable place with good sunset view actually. And I ended up with Shari-la and Abdul's Chalet. They're both affordable. So, between those 2, which one has better view? Or any other recommended places?

By the way, she's not a fan of snorkeling. We just want to chill over there. smile.gif Are there any packages without snorkeling in it....?

Thanks a lot!
well i stayed at sharila. the beaches nearby already a lot of fishes. just need to bring some bread and sit on the waters (quite shallow) and all the fishes will flock to you. my friends kena marah by other tourists because they were trying to catch the fishes sweat.gif

but on a negative note, my room didn't have hot shower. 3 days there bath cold water rclxub.gif

Hi guys ,

I heard stories if we travel in couple or small group ( more girls) , the beach boys will kacau the girls or start a fight..

thank you
no such issues the time i went
mjy1984
post May 7 2015, 11:57 AM

37 posts

Thanks for the input. Really appreciate it a lot. ^^
Shari-La sounds fun.

zstan, is your room the only room without hot water...?

lormaikai
post May 8 2015, 11:27 AM

Any tips to take taxi from Kota Bharu Airport to Kuala Besut Jetty ?
Around how much ? Only Airport taxi available ? Anything to share is good.
munkeyflo
post May 8 2015, 01:04 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(lormaikai @ May 8 2015, 11:27 AM)
Any tips to take taxi from Kota Bharu Airport to Kuala Besut Jetty ?
Around how much ? Only Airport taxi available ? Anything to share is good.
How many people? You can always ask around whoever else are going and share taxi cost with them. Or you can arrange for transfer beforehand if you have quite a number of people.
lormaikai
post May 8 2015, 03:19 PM

4 ppl, perfect for one taxi.
Just wonder to take the airport taxi or any taxi on the street.
mrkeann
post May 11 2015, 08:42 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 7 2015, 05:18 AM)
So happen I've stayed at both of those before. If you like some partying, then go for Sharila cause you can walk over to long beach. Otherwise, the rooms at Abdul's is much better and more spacious and cleaner.
No la. Totally safe. Very rarely this sort of thing happen on the islands on the east coast.
May I know how long does it take to walk from sharila to long beach?
munkeyflo
post May 11 2015, 08:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(mrkeann @ May 11 2015, 08:42 PM)
May I know how long does it take to walk from sharila to long beach?
10 min or so. Bring a torchlight.
mrkeann
post May 11 2015, 10:08 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 11 2015, 08:50 PM)
10 min or so. Bring a torchlight.
It's acceptable actually, thanks for the info
zstan
post May 11 2015, 10:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mjy1984 @ May 7 2015, 11:57 AM)
Thanks for the input. Really appreciate it a lot. ^^
Shari-La sounds fun.

zstan, is your room the only room without hot water...?
i didn't check with my friends laugh.gif
zstan
post May 11 2015, 10:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mrkeann @ May 11 2015, 10:08 PM)
it's quite steep and pretty scary when it's pitch black laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post May 12 2015, 01:17 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(mrkeann @ May 11 2015, 10:08 PM)
Yea, it's not that far. Don't get crazily drunk then try to walk back with no lights la. Later get lost in the jungle pulak.
fruitie
post May 14 2015, 01:41 AM

Rise and Shine
72,935 posts

I just came back from Pulau Perhentian Kecil last week and I stayed in Shari-La, that was the only available hotel during that time.

The first night, our room had no hot water and I kept calling but nobody bothered to come and fix it. They kept telling me is that they have switched it on outside, so it will be hot after a while. I was trying to tell them that there is no current for the shower in our room. The shower switch LED didn't light at all. Anyway, we kept our temper down and bathed with cold water that day. Luckily, it wasn't freezing cold.

The next day when I woke up, I straight went to their receptionist and sounded to them how unhappy I was with the service I got. Eventually they agreed to change the room for us. Thank God, this room has hot water and the shower switch LED finally lit.

Just FYI, I stayed in room 318 which has spoilt hot shower and changed to 308, then it is fine. This is just for your information only, in case really so touch wood anyone is assigned with that room. sweat.gif

We took the free and easy package which came with breakfasts only, 2 snorkeling sessions and two-ways boat tickets. Taking a cab from Kota Bahru airport to Kuala Besut jetty is very simple, once you get out from airport, you could see a taxi counter. It is fixed at RM 78. We got a Nissan Cefiro airport cab, very comfortable ride.

Then, once we reached Kuala Besut jetty, went straight to Shari-La office to settle the remaining 50% payment and also get our boat tickets. They will give you two-ways ticket. You are now ready to go to Perhentian! Anyway, the people in Shari-La office are very friendly and they even told me to go back to them when I reach Kuala Besut from Perhentian. They will help to get a taxi for us, afraid that we get slaughtered by some of the taxi men. laugh.gif They got a taxi for us from Kuala Besut jetty to KB airport for RM 78 as well.

In Perhentian Kecil, a reminder is there is no ATM in the island... So, bring sufficient cash or withdraw your money in the airport. Luckily, some of the restaurants accept credit cards. Travelling in a touristy island, so be prepared to pay higher prices for water (RM 3.00-4.00 for 1.5L water), RM 4.00 per pack of Twisties. laugh.gif

At night, everywhere is selling BBQ and the taste? So-so lo. Anyway, we had seafood platter for two in Bubu restaurant in Long Beach (near to the D' Rock Garden Resort) for RM 150.00. Not too bad actually for the portion, fresh and big seafood.

If given a choice, I would prefer Long Beach to Coral Bay any time because Long Beach's sand is really soft not like Coral Bay that has all sorts of rocks and corals... sweat.gif To access to Long Beach, Shari-La no longer has the short cut, so you have to go to Ombak Divers which is also very near to Shari-La. The journey was around 15 minutes and dark, so we depended on our mobile phone torchlight. laugh.gif

The snorkeling sessions we had together in our package were good, our boatman was very accommodating and nice. I forgot to ask what's his name... blush.gif He is an old man by the way. smile.gif

Back to Shari-La, recommended to stay? I will say no. During my 4D3N there, there were few rounds of blackout and that irritated us a lot. Aircond is old, super old type... In term of staff, they are generally quite polite. Attentive to their customers? Nah. Maybe I cannot complain much when I only paid around RM 1.5k+ for 3 pax for 4D3N.

Atsumori
post May 15 2015, 11:14 AM

150 posts

Hi guys ,

thank you
Haha really? i also planing to go there this june for a honeymoon
mrkeann
post May 16 2015, 06:30 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 14 2015, 01:41 AM)
I just came back from Pulau Perhentian Kecil last week and I stayed in Shari-La, that was the only available hotel during that time.

The first night, our room had no hot water and I kept calling but nobody bothered to come and fix it. They kept telling me is that they have switched it on outside, so it will be hot after a while. I was trying to tell them that there is no current for the shower in our room. The shower switch LED didn't light at all. Anyway, we kept our temper down and bathed with cold water that day. Luckily, it wasn't freezing cold.

The next day when I woke up, I straight went to their receptionist and sounded to them how unhappy I was with the service I got. Eventually they agreed to change the room for us. Thank God, this room has hot water and the shower switch LED finally lit.

Just FYI, I stayed in room 318 which has spoilt hot shower and changed to 308, then it is fine. This is just for your information only, in case really so touch wood anyone is assigned with that room. sweat.gif

We took the free and easy package which came with breakfasts only, 2 snorkeling sessions and two-ways boat tickets. Taking a cab from Kota Bahru airport to Kuala Besut jetty is very simple, once you get out from airport, you could see a taxi counter. It is fixed at RM 78. We got a Nissan Cefiro airport cab, very comfortable ride.

Then, once we reached Kuala Besut jetty, went straight to Shari-La office to settle the remaining 50% payment and also get our boat tickets. They will give you two-ways ticket. You are now ready to go to Perhentian! Anyway, the people in Shari-La office are very friendly and they even told me to go back to them when I reach Kuala Besut from Perhentian. They will help to get a taxi for us, afraid that we get slaughtered by some of the taxi men. laugh.gif They got a taxi for us from Kuala Besut jetty to KB airport for RM 78 as well.

In Perhentian Kecil, a reminder is there is no ATM in the island... So, bring sufficient cash or withdraw your money in the airport. Luckily, some of the restaurants accept credit cards. Travelling in a touristy island, so be prepared to pay higher prices for water (RM 3.00-4.00 for 1.5L water), RM 4.00 per pack of Twisties. laugh.gif

At night, everywhere is selling BBQ and the taste? So-so lo. Anyway, we had seafood platter for two in Bubu restaurant in Long Beach (near to the D' Rock Garden Resort) for RM 150.00. Not too bad actually for the portion, fresh and big seafood.

If given a choice, I would prefer Long Beach to Coral Bay any time because Long Beach's sand is really soft not like Coral Bay that has all sorts of rocks and corals... sweat.gif To access to Long Beach, Shari-La no longer has the short cut, so you have to go to Ombak Divers which is also very near to Shari-La. The journey was around 15 minutes and dark, so we depended on our mobile phone torchlight. laugh.gif

The snorkeling sessions we had together in our package were good, our boatman was very accommodating and nice. I forgot to ask what's his name... blush.gif He is an old man by the way. smile.gif

Back to Shari-La, recommended to stay? I will say no. During my 4D3N there, there were few rounds of blackout and that irritated us a lot. Aircond is old, super old type... In term of staff, they are generally quite polite. Attentive to their customers? Nah. Maybe I cannot complain much when I only paid around RM 1.5k+ for 3 pax for 4D3N.
That's really cheap. I booked 3D2N fullboard package for this June. 2 persons for RM 1.1k, hopefully I won't get 318
fruitie
post May 16 2015, 08:23 PM

Rise and Shine
72,935 posts

QUOTE(mrkeann @ May 16 2015, 06:30 PM)
That's really cheap. I booked 3D2N fullboard package for this June. 2 persons for RM 1.1k, hopefully I won't get 318
Ours is not full board, just free and easy. laugh.gif
And you won't get room 318 because it's a triple room. One single size bed and one queen size. laugh.gif

Enjoy your trip! biggrin.gif
Sky.Live
post May 21 2015, 10:28 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Going to perhentian for the third time this weekend,, still going to pulau besar this time.. Have yet to explore pulau kecik
SUSeksk
post May 26 2015, 10:39 PM

586 posts

is there any place on perhentian besar with makan shops outside of the resort like in perhentian kecil?.
ukiya
post May 27 2015, 01:47 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(eksk @ May 26 2015, 10:39 PM)
is there any place on perhentian besar with makan shops outside of the resort like in perhentian kecil?.
Depending which part of Perhentian Besar u staying at?!

If you are wild and enjoy backpacking, go Perhentian Kecil - Long Beach.
SUSeksk
post May 27 2015, 02:51 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ May 27 2015, 01:47 PM)
Depending which part of Perhentian Besar u staying at?!

If you are wild and enjoy backpacking, go Perhentian Kecil - Long Beach.
thinking either Tuna bay or Perhentian island resort.. any shops there? i've been to Long Beach on perhentian kecil but this trip going with wife and small kid lar.. want a bit quiet..

42 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:04 AM