82 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Wireless Broadband Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #3, 3G/3.5G Wireless Broadband

ihatechonglin
post Dec 23 2010, 01:06 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(breonwei @ Dec 22 2010, 02:30 PM)
Just subscribed to Maxis wireless broadband (3GB RM38 for first 5 months), bought wifi modem E5832 too.

Speedtest using my iPhone 4 Maxis 3G yield about 500kB/s but with E5832, max speed is ard 250kB/s

Any idea why is it so? Tests done both in the same location. Sungai Dua, Butterworth, Penang.
rm 38 for the first 5 months ? after the period over it will become revert back to rm 68?
marshallx
post Dec 23 2010, 01:16 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Dec 10 2010, 02:59 PM)
let's the picture do the talking biggrin.gif
[attachmentid=1931242]
steady speed there.. i'm also using unlimited data.. what modem u use? care to share.. i'm using e220 better signal..b4 this using e1762 not so good on signal ..or is't depends on area? anyone know how to check is ur modem upgraded to 7.2mb firmware or not ?
hown
post Dec 24 2010, 01:13 AM

iPhone 12 mini
1,514 posts

anyone got extra e1762?i need it urgently..sad.gif
KKW
post Dec 24 2010, 08:06 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(marshallx @ Dec 23 2010, 01:16 PM)
steady speed there.. i'm also using unlimited data.. what modem u use? care to share.. i'm using e220 better signal..b4 this using e1762 not so good on signal ..or is't depends on area? anyone know how to check is ur modem upgraded to 7.2mb firmware or not ?
Hmm.. as I know.. if E220 upgrade to 7.2mpbs firmware..
You still can't get 7.2mbps.. it happen to my friend which upgraded the firmware and get max speed of 3.6mbps only..
Three of my e1762 has very good signal.. maybe urs got some signal issue or maybe you can get external antenna
noprob
post Dec 25 2010, 03:20 AM

1,982 posts

guys , what is the different btwn E1762 vs E1552 modem ?
9M-MAS
post Dec 25 2010, 08:16 AM

1,422 posts

E1762 supports up to 7.2Mbps DL / 5.76Mbps UL. E1552 3.6Mbps DL / 384Kbps UL
noprob
post Dec 25 2010, 12:24 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Dec 25 2010, 08:16 AM)
E1762 supports up to 7.2Mbps DL / 5.76Mbps UL. E1552 3.6Mbps DL / 384Kbps UL
Ic Ok thanks

Q : currently if with Maxis 3G , i can get 3G 4bar with sometimes H with 0bar ... if i want to subscribe Maxis WBB , i shud get the same coverage rite ?
billygoh
post Dec 25 2010, 09:50 PM

1,606 posts

nowadays i dont know why my maxis broadband is not stable..it shows "WCDMA"..sometimes even shows "HSPA".. but the speed is really unstable..sometimes it cant even go to a website.. and when playing a youtube video..sometimes it will stop buffering halfway.. sweat.gif
its like auto-disconnect doh.gif

you guys got experience this before?

here is the speedtest

This post has been edited by billygoh: Dec 25 2010, 09:55 PM
cruxidex
post Dec 26 2010, 11:36 PM

898 posts

very WIERD. HSPA after connected using e1762 cannot use at all.100% packet loss when ping to ur DNS 58.71.136.10.both my e1762 is the same but if i use k3565 on HSDPA my connection is perfect.. pls resolve.. location:Kuarters TNB, Jalan Bukit Kajang. this problem started since 23.12.2010
noprob
post Dec 27 2010, 12:09 AM

1,982 posts

Hi guys ,
I just subscribed to Maxis wireless broadband (3GB) today , plus bought the E1762 modem
Paid total Rm200 , activation fees and the modem
7 days free trial or money back if return
RM38 per month for 5 month , then back to RM48 per month

speedtest result

Good or no good ?

checked the maxis broadband manager -> tools -> network type -> WCDMA prefered , all bands (is set defaulted)
Why is that so ? ... the network type shud be HSDPA rite ? Because compare to my maxis 3G on my HTC shows HSDPA 4bars all the time

Do i need to set a new profile management or how to enable the network type option ?

This post has been edited by noprob: Dec 27 2010, 12:27 AM
M1X
post Dec 27 2010, 02:21 AM

2,334 posts

If your area have weaker 3G signal better use WCDMA Only, to force 3G signal, so it won't jump to GPRS just because GPRS signal is better.

HSDPA is auto, depend on your signal. In my case I just use WCDMA Only, and my signal is keep jumping between WCDAM-HSDPA all the time, since I'm not in city =3

Well thats not really a big deal, the big problem now is - I HIT THE DAMN QUOTA 3RD TIME THIS MONTH ALREADY!! (this month's bill is over RM100, 2x Extra 1GB purchase -.- wtf... I need a damn telephone cable... only if TM want to link one to this kind of remote area, after being stolen twice.)
noprob
post Dec 27 2010, 02:26 AM

1,982 posts

ic .. ok how to enable the network type option ? mine seem defaulted to WCDMA prefered ...
leyley
post Dec 27 2010, 07:45 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 25 2010, 03:20 AM)
guys , what is the different btwn E1762 vs E1552 modem ?
E1552 need to install USD-ModeSwitch. It will enable to switch from a Pendrive storage device to the 3G USB modem device.
ajay67
post Dec 27 2010, 07:46 AM

2,960 posts

can we get the daily/weekly broadband on a postpaid plan?
hown
post Dec 27 2010, 08:46 AM

iPhone 12 mini
1,514 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 27 2010, 12:09 AM)
Hi guys ,
I just subscribed to Maxis wireless broadband (3GB) today , plus bought the E1762 modem 
Paid total Rm200 , activation fees and the modem
7 days free trial or money back if return
RM38 per month for 5 month , then back to RM48 per month

speedtest result

Good or no good ?

checked the maxis broadband manager -> tools -> network type -> WCDMA prefered , all bands (is set defaulted)
Why is that so ? ... the network type shud be HSDPA rite ? Because compare to my maxis 3G on my HTC shows HSDPA 4bars all the time

Do i need to set a new profile management or how to enable the network type option ?
3GB is rm68 right?

noprob
post Dec 27 2010, 09:06 AM

1,982 posts

Yupp but got special offer for those existing postpaid Maxis customer , only Rm48 for 3Gb

This post has been edited by noprob: Dec 27 2010, 09:07 AM
luckyhillkop
post Dec 27 2010, 09:49 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 27 2010, 09:06 AM)
Yupp but got special offer for those existing postpaid Maxis customer , only Rm48 for 3Gb
Serious? that's a pretty good deal. what if i terminate my current broadband (3gig=rm68) then get a new 3gig broadband, will I be eligable for the special promo?

noprob
post Dec 27 2010, 10:15 AM

1,982 posts

i'm not sure but they shud hv all ur acc details edi , can just claim and change the package only .. but go straight to maxis centre , less hassle

anyone can guide me how to change the network type option to WCDMA only ?
Mine wur set WCDMA prefered as default

This post has been edited by noprob: Dec 27 2010, 10:17 AM
M1X
post Dec 27 2010, 03:25 PM

2,334 posts

Well you can only change the setting while you are not connected. Are you try to do it when you are connected? thats why it is greyed out and cannot change.

Actually 0.89Mb download is not as nice as I thought, are you in town/city? I can even get 1Mb+ in kampung area.

So, the E1552 is capped on 3.2Mbps? No wonder I can't exceed that speed while in city... Is there any firmware upgrade thing to fix it? (i not actually need it anyway, 3.2Mbps is already enough)

Added on December 27, 2010, 3:39 pmBtw, is it possible that I put my handphone's SimCard into this broadband modem (I can switch the card to Broadband mode, and subscribe prepaid RM25, 2GB per week). Will that works? At least I get 8GB by paying RM100... (for postpaid it's 6GB for RM98...)

Damn stone-aged plans...

This post has been edited by M1X: Dec 27 2010, 03:39 PM
noprob
post Dec 27 2010, 03:41 PM

1,982 posts

No wonder la .. thats y

this after setting changed

Not nice also la , me in kampung area ..
compare w celcombb , highest can get upto 1.2Mbps

82 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:56 AM