The Watches Thread V2

TSpatryn33
post Nov 16 2010, 02:23 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Nov 15 2010, 08:12 PM)
standard for ML pontos range is around 30%. the masterpiece can sometimes be higher due to promotion. last year theres some "how old are you" event which made it possible to get a 50% discount on the masterpiece. ofcourse not the ones with thier inhouse movements.
ML do not have many inhouse movement. They are like Chronoswiss using vintage movement and making big improvements on it

Added on November 16, 2010, 2:25 am
QUOTE(okboy92 @ Nov 15 2010, 07:18 PM)
can ebay be trusted?
not 100% of course, so long it is not a AD that always raise a few question.
do your research well and u'll be rewarded.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 16 2010, 02:25 AM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 16 2010, 03:16 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Nov 16 2010, 03:08 AM)
is it? those skeleton movements arent theirs? the maurice lacroix masterpiece squelette. btw patryn have you handled or owned a stowa before? hwos the fit and finish?
not own a stowa b4.
only read reviews online. Jorg was a jeweler so his work should be good.
anyway those that own a stowa many got hooked and collected them ever since.
that is why a basic Stowa Antea wait is more than 6mths now and those LE is easily more than 2yrs.
TSpatryn33
post Nov 16 2010, 08:02 AM

3,940 posts

what kind of Seiko fake?
anyway, on certain forum, U find ppl reporting fake watches found on ebay.

TSpatryn33
post Nov 16 2010, 11:31 AM

3,940 posts

today ppl are smart at posting replicas on ebay.
when they are from the far east of developing countries be extra careful, thats plain common sense.
when seller ask U to wire, of course stay away. God knows they have buddy or clones in the forums/ebay that leave them good reviews.
blogger I think is Local or from the southeast asia.

with Seiko movement make in Asia (outside japan) one may get very badly QC rejected item.
or a poorly made Seiko movement in a fake case.
so when ppl say Seiko is 100% inhouse, issue is 100% inhouse does not always translate to 100% made in Japan.
I didn't see a Japan rule on what to takes to state "made in Japan", same rule as swiss?
thats a grey area.
TSpatryn33
post Nov 17 2010, 08:29 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(IMAX @ Nov 17 2010, 01:40 AM)
Is Certina a good watch?
what do u mean by good?

TSpatryn33
post Nov 17 2010, 10:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Nov 17 2010, 11:43 AM)
anyone purchased from stowa before? we have to pay the 19% vat right?
iirc if U have a Fedex account U don't have to pay the 19% VAT.
search this thread, I recalling posting the info.

Added on November 18, 2010, 12:29 pm
QUOTE(IMAX @ Nov 17 2010, 11:40 AM)
In terms of quality?
esp when U like the design its good.
or U maybe about to get a mech Epos for alot less money
http://www.watchseller.com/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 18 2010, 12:29 PM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 18 2010, 08:09 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Faithz @ Nov 18 2010, 07:51 PM)
anyone knows the entry price range for zenith and where are they available ?

would really like to take a look at the real watches instead of images online
cheapest MSRP ~$13K.
check here for stores
http://www.zenith-watches.com/site/#/retailers/
TSpatryn33
post Nov 18 2010, 08:59 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Faithz @ Nov 18 2010, 08:45 PM)
in rm?
yes!
TSpatryn33
post Nov 19 2010, 02:01 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Faithz @ Nov 18 2010, 10:10 PM)
err. how about the % of discount offered?
typical discount thru AD was 25-30%. Zenith under the new CEO not sure if that still applies.

FYI:
Zenith has made 600 000 EP movements so far in its history.
Zenith is making 22 000-23 000 watches this year (with around 250 employees).

Added on November 19, 2010, 2:10 am
QUOTE(malayneum @ Nov 18 2010, 09:50 PM)
can someone recommend me a men watch for around RM400. prefer with the "sweeping" seconds hand. if possible with lowest depreciation value.
do U mean RM400K?
by sweeping sec hand it is a mechanical

your choice are like highwind85 had mention, Seiko5, Orient
watches at RM$400 U are almost certain U get hit with the highest possible depreciation.
not even sure who wanted to buy used watches (RM$400) at a high price. certainly not me

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 19 2010, 11:47 AM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 20 2010, 09:57 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 19 2010, 01:35 AM)
really needs help where can i find a reasonable pricing watch winder in Malaysia...or online (if it's cheaper than the local priced)
what u looking for?
watchseller.com is running a good deal.

TSpatryn33
post Nov 21 2010, 11:34 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(damiendamonster @ Nov 21 2010, 09:56 PM)
does it a good buy?
Rolex 15210 Oyster Perpetual Date(Auto,White Dial,Arabic Numerals,Oyster Bracelet)-34mm

http://www.milanclassic.net/goods.php?id=4351
which series?
didn't seem like a good buy. pre own U need to shop around

TSpatryn33
post Nov 22 2010, 11:40 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(damiendamonster @ Nov 21 2010, 11:56 PM)
Saw alot of good reviews on WUS and other forums.
should be save. I would get stuff from them.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f65/watchseller-123562.html

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:45 am
QUOTE(choen @ Nov 22 2010, 04:54 AM)
Not my watch, but it's on my puny 6 inch wrist. The Mido Baroncelli is 38mm without crown.

I was told the prices of Mido will increase in Jan 2011, at least 5%. It's the Swiss watch mafia game (e.g. price racketeering) aint it.

The fit and finish is excellent. It is really good value for money, considering the material they put into making this. An elabore grade 2824-2! Sapphire crystal on both sides, with AR!

and I ain't even a fan of gold finished watches...
some how have trouble loading your pics.

elabore grade is pretty normal. For Mido I will go for their Top grade products. unlike brands like Tissot, Hamilton they do have Top grade 2824.
I have to agree that Mido is of great value.

as for price increase at ~5% thats what we call inflation. U expect salary to increase right? where to find the $$ to pay for worker's salary where cost of raw materials are on the rise? fyi cost of labor in china has gone up by a good 30%.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 22 2010, 11:51 AM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 22 2010, 11:59 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 22 2010, 11:54 AM)
anyone going to the sales, vilaram group?

pls update us on the discount available on watches/brand
This event below? if things are at 70% off, good items may just got out of stock on day 1.. LoL
esp those Omega, IWC, Cartier, Rolex!!!
http://www.valiramgroup.com/cms/index.php?id=9

VALIRAM GROUP LUXURY CLEARANCE SALE up to 70% off

When: 22 Nov - 24 November 2010

Time: 10am - 8pm

Products offered:
Perfumes
Cosmetics
Watches
Shoes
Bag
Leather Goods
Chocolates
Fashion

Brands offered:
Samsonite
Mercedes
Charles & Keith
Asprey
Jimmy Choo
Coach
Shanghai Tang
Chloe
Pedro
Naf Naf
Mercedes-Benz
BMW Lifestyle
Salvador Dali
and many more

Terms:
Visa Cards & Cash only
Strictly No Bags, Helmets, Food/Drinks, Camera allowed inside the venue.
Goods sold are non-refundable, non-returnable and non-exchangeable

Where:

Nikko Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ballroom, Level 2
Jalan Ampang

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 22 2010, 12:00 PM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 22 2010, 08:19 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 22 2010, 02:10 PM)
I'm looking for a watch that is quite strong and durable for daily wear. So is this alright?
Or should I go for steel?
Is there any other brand thats more valuable(for money) in the market? Under rm1k? Under rm700?
Doesn't matter if it's unavailable in Malaysia.
Is Invicta alright?

Many thanks in advance
Here is the watch I was talking about
http://www.amazon.com/Seiko-SKX173-Automat...0405813&sr=1-23
auto or quartz?
have U check out page 1 post 1?

QUOTE(choen @ Nov 22 2010, 05:32 PM)
patryn: I thought all Mido watches are either elabore or chronometer?
edit: added more info

I am a bit confused. Their catalog says elabore, adjusted 3 positions, but uses incabloc for anti shock, and not lower grade etachoc.
their Mido Multifort Automatic Chronograph is Top grade.

http://forums.watchuseek.com/f2/smoke-mirr...d-458060-2.html
The Mido technical specifications on their website included the following:
"Technical characteristics Mido® 1320 calibre (based on the ETA Valjoux 7750) Ø 131/4’’’ or 30.00 mm, thickness: 7.90 mm, 25 rubies, 28 800 A/H, 165 components, power reserve in excess of 42 hours, INCABLOC and NIVACOURBE shock absorbers, GLUCYDUR balance-wheel, NIVAROX I balance spring, NIVAFLEX NO barrel spring, burnished screws, circular-grained bars, oscillating weight with Côtes de Genève and engraved Mido® logo."

Here was some information that helped. So, the movement reportedly has INCABLOC and NIVACOURBE shock absorbers, GLUCYDUR balance-wheel, NIVAROX I balance spring, and NIVAFLEX NO barrel spring.

This seemed to fit with what Mike had said about how to tell, but were these improvements or the standard components?

Well, why not ask Mike? He responded with:

“The "ingredients" you mentioned for sure are what I’d call the "key components" of a "high grade" movement. I sum it up:

Balance wheel: Glucydur vs Ni

Hairspring: Nivarox 1 versus Nivarox 2 or Anachron (ETA)

Mainspring and barrel material: Nivaflex NO vs NivaflexNM

Shock protection: Etachron vs Incabloc vs KIF.

Incabloc is more expensive than the Etachron shock protection and belongs to the "top" and "chronometre" grades of ETA. NIVACOURBE is a patented spring treatment by ETA. The open spring end is treated with heat in order to prevent deformation of the spring in case of a shock. This treatment is named: ETA SA: "ETASTABLE"
NIVAROX-FAR: 'NIVACOURBE"
Most of the mechanical-ETA-movements can be ordered with ETASTABLE if you are willing to add some $$. Certainly a "high end module". Nivarox 1 is the best quality of Nivarox (1-5 is available). 0...0,5 sec deviation within 24 h on a change of temperature of 1º. I’ve to admit: very technical thing. The movement you described imho must be a "Top" or "Chronometre" movement.”

This sounded GREAT! As much as I like the watch aesthetically this information was only making me enjoy the watch more. At this point it sounded good. Then I got a response to my query on the TZ-UK Forum. I had lots of compliments on the watch but had one or two technical inquiries. When I responded Lysanderxiii said again that it sounded like a “Top Grade” Eta movement. I asked if he had any specifics on the various grades and he kindly responded with:

“The material differences are listed below.

Standard and Elabore:
Mainspring - Nivaflex NO
Shock protection - Etachocs
Pallet stones - Polyrubies, Epilame-coated
Balance - Nickel gilt
Balance staff - Epilame coated
Collet - Nivatronic
Hairspring - Nivarox 2
Hairspring heat treatment - Etastable

Top and Chronometre:
Mainspring - NivaflexNM
Shock protection - Incabloc
Pallet stones - Red rubies, Epilame-coated
Balance - Glucydur gilt
Balance staff - Epilame coated
Collet - Nivatronic
Hairspring - Anachron
Hairspring heat treatment - Etastable

The performance differences are the big differences between the various grades: ("The limit values are subject to interpretation: 95% of the pieces delivered in a lot must be within the specified limits.")

Standard:
2 positions (CH, 6H)
daily rate: +/-12 sec/day
Maximum positional variation: 30 sec
Isochronism (between 0 and 24 hours): +/- 20 sec

Elabore:
3 positions (CH, 6H, 9H)
daily rate: +/-7 sec/day
Maximum positional variation: 20 sec
Isochronism (between 0 and 24 hours): +/- 15 sec

Top:
5 positions (CH, FH, 6H, 9H, 3H)
daily rate: +/-4 sec/day
Maximum positional variation: 15 sec
Isochronism (between 0 and 24 hours): +/- 10 sec

Chronometre:
As per COSC specifications, which as far as most owners will notice, isn't much different from Top grade.

There are variations in the finish that will come with the movement, the Top and Chronometre come with snailed rotors, and elabore is a little better decorated that standard. But, even standard grades can be gold plated or even decorated.”

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 22 2010, 08:24 PM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 23 2010, 12:56 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Nov 23 2010, 12:43 AM)
Hmm may I ask what's the use of chronograph? IMO it's just there to make the watch look nice only...
stop watch.
TSpatryn33
post Nov 23 2010, 06:10 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Nov 23 2010, 04:20 AM)
RRP rm1399. tongue.gif
any pic of the back?
TSpatryn33
post Nov 23 2010, 10:19 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Faithz @ Nov 23 2010, 06:41 PM)
does this means the brand is not really worth the price ?
the entry level watches for zenith are the elite series ?
don't get your thought process.
how did U come to the conclusion of "does this means the brand is not really worth the price ?"

entry level are certainly the Elite. no complication cheaper! elite are strip down version of the EP.

Added on November 23, 2010, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(choen @ Nov 23 2010, 07:44 PM)
A Fossil watch bought in March has already rusted in less than 8 months. It is marked stainless steel, mind. 5atm water resistance some more, and I have never even swam with it!

Really defines what a fashion watch really is.

At the same time, an Adidas watch that belongs to my wife also has a rusted case back, after less than 2 months of usage (for yoga!). It is of course, manufactured by the Fossil group.

The warranty sounds more like the sort of indemnity that says 'once you have given us your money, you can piss off'.

Beware. Other brands made by Fossil:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fossil,_Inc.#...esigned_Watches

(I must say I thought that Guess was made by them also).
pay peanuts get peanuts!
50m does not mean U can swim. 100M then can swim.
50m is like washing hands.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 23 2010, 10:21 PM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 23 2010, 10:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(-Max91- @ Nov 23 2010, 08:11 PM)
Ahhh....I still haven't got my watch yet T_________T
pre-order the CW, C60 Trident Automatic on 9th of november >_<
dun even dispatch yet...>_<
did U post of CW forum to see if other ppl are facing the same issue?
U may wanna email CW and let them know its past mid Nov!
maybe can get discount!

Added on November 23, 2010, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(drewin @ Nov 23 2010, 02:19 PM)
when to vilaram warehouse sales... Tag Heuer, Ball, Graham, Oris, Omega all have discount at least 25% ~ 33%....Graham selling for 20k + 33% + 5% discount.... and other brands on display RRP at least 10K.... why dont have sell something with the price tag RM 4K++ arghhhhhhhhhhh
thats kinda typical affordable are generally better sellers.
LVMH sales All Tag go for 50% off.

what do U mean by Graham selling for 20K +33% +5%?
is it 20k off plus 38% off!

other brands RRP is at least 10K but whats the discount? after 70% is ~4K isn't that within your budget?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 23 2010, 10:29 PM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 23 2010, 10:56 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(choen @ Nov 23 2010, 10:45 PM)
Duh! Of course I know that!
That's what I mean... it rusted without ever having been near water!

It was a present from my wife, who does not know any better when it comes to watches...
what to Duh? Yoya no sweat? sweat is water too with SALT that more corrosive that regular water from tap.

Added on November 23, 2010, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(teNtiOn @ Nov 23 2010, 10:50 PM)
Got my first Tissot last weekend. Bridgeport with ETA2892-A2 movement.

Sweet! this maybe the 1st Tissot I saw on ETA 2892!
whats the damage?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 23 2010, 11:00 PM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 24 2010, 03:52 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Nov 24 2010, 12:42 AM)
hi patryn33, RRP +33% off + 5% off does not equate RRP + 38% off.

math as below:
RM20,000 @ 33% discount = RM13,400
RM13,400 @ 5% discount = RM12,730
RM20,000 @ 38% discount = RM12,400

i believe @drewin actually means 33% plus 5% off. hope that helps.
according to what he wrote RRP + X% + Y% does == RRP + (X+Y)%
I believe he meant (RRP * (1-x%)) * (1-Y%), with the proper brackets
I take RRP (must be over 20K) - 20K then get 38%

Added on November 24, 2010, 5:53 am
QUOTE(choen @ Nov 23 2010, 11:41 PM)
So you are saying, having corrosion in less than a year is reasonable for stainless steel watches, albeit from fashion brands?

Even if I hardly use this particular one? smile.gif Ok I need to chill. Just shocked that stainless steel from this manufacturer can rust while the watches that I wear daily for rough and tumble work do not.
I am not saying it is reasonable.
there are different grades for stainless steel, they maybe using the lower end of the spectrum.

anyway interesting read on stainless steel and corrosion.
http://www.eurojournals.com/ejsr_22_4_05.pdf
http://www.azom.com/details.asp?ArticleID=1177
http://www.ssina.com/faq/index.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 24 2010, 05:53 AM

28 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:40 AM