The Watches Thread V2

TSpatryn33
post Nov 30 2010, 10:10 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Nov 30 2010, 09:37 PM)
Don't be so harsh guys, youngster don't care much about movement and value.

One must have 1-2 'showing off watches' and Tag and Oris fit into the bill nicely among younger peers.

a997862, yes you could get Tag F1 (non-chorno) under 2k. While for Oris, I think you need to pay a bit more for its entry level automatic.

Get whatever you like and enjoy it!
interestingly Oris? show off? a brand that focus on outsourcing cases to far east and keeping profit up.
I would get a Bvlgari or Longines. Tag ya... esp the marketing.

just send my spouse oris to get it service thru AD, it cost me US$350!
oris gasket on the crown is attached it the steam, no way to replace gasket alone, need to replace crown and stem that cost ~US$100.

@ a997862, 2K can get Tag F1 non chrono, might as well get the chrono COSC ML on ebay. they are going real cheap. I did post that a few pages back (pg 86 to be exact)
eg

thats the ML watch
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f9/maurice-la...tml#post2412021

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 1 2010, 07:25 AM
TSpatryn33
post Nov 30 2010, 11:03 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Nov 30 2010, 10:48 PM)
OMG shocking.gif No other competent watchmaker there?
no one competent to replace the gasket. Oris like Rolex restrict parts floating around.
It would cost me US$120 to oil and service it thru local watchmaker.
to check water resistance that should not cost me much. parts they rip U off!

I am also changing from leather to steel that cost me US$90 when I get servicing done thru them, else its US$150!

Added on December 1, 2010, 7:30 am
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Nov 30 2010, 10:01 PM)
icic...how bout Tissot? what's the price range for Tissot Sport?
btw the Visodate caught my attention..But i guess the price is high  unsure.gif

btw...I'm looking for casual usage type for the watch ..  nod.gif
Tissot have a US site that list their MSRP. if U get it thru stores expect ~30% off.
http://www.shoptissot.com/?gclid=CJfz1oXZyaUCFUtA4wodan9rDQ

Added on December 1, 2010, 12:09 pm
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Nov 30 2010, 09:39 PM)
hey wanna ask...if my budget around 500-600...or can be even slight higher... which brand of watch should I go for?

pls recommend me whether quartz or automatic
and I prefer the rubber or leather strap ...
if can...luminor feature is a plus

sry im a noobie... duno very much bout watches
pls educate me if necessary and correct me if I made some mistakes
luminor feature? 1 of the cheapest maybe UZI, more branded try Traser.
http://www.lapolicegear.com/uzih3trwa.html
http://www.discountwatchstore.com/Tritium-Watches_c_609.html

this is a great buy. on ebay it is going for ~600.
http://www.victorinoxstores.com/victorinox...dorXLManualWind

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 1 2010, 12:09 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 1 2010, 11:27 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Dec 1 2010, 09:03 PM)
If I were to go diving, I most probably wouldn't dare to wear say, a Rolex Submariner or DSSD if I had one haha. I would most probably get myself a Frogman, or wear my Mudman, or any G-Shock as they all have 200m WR. Though I might also just get myself a cheaper Seiko or Orient diver's watch so even if it spoils, heck it. This is because I'm getting my diving licence next year and it gives me a reason to get one! =p
have U seen this? I am trying to find a article that say black face isn't suitable for murky water, orange/yellow dial for those analog dial is a better choice iirc.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diving_watch

there are reviews on mechanical diver watches, some didn't take the depth it claim and crystal crack, others runs too fast or slow. A digital is the safest bet, its more safety than the fact of breaking an expensive watch.
TSpatryn33
post Dec 2 2010, 01:13 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Dec 1 2010, 11:47 PM)
Its nice how Rolex Submariner is the first picture on wiki's Diving_Watch article!

However, regarding readability, G-Shocks have an auto light function where if you were to tilt the watch >15 degrees, it auto lights itself.

While scuba diving, the water is clear, although it can be quite dim depending on depth, so a strong lume also plays a big part in readability. For other types of diving, I think contrasting hands and markers are definitely more important than dial colour.
I believe U misread my reply.digital watches, there is always LED backlight that's never an issue.

not a diver, am just stating what I read. hopefully it is from the Pro that have been doing it for decades. That is why I state iirc and looking for the article.

lume from all non Tritium watches goes dim pretty quick, after 30mins+ its like non existence. Is dive usually short?

Added on December 2, 2010, 1:29 am
QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Dec 1 2010, 11:41 PM)
anyone knows how much is the entry level Rolex cost? (normal size not the mini one)

and if possible include picture?

i want to know how much from official boutique and how much in authorized dealer and how much they cost after discount??

thanks alot
air king is the cheapest at ~$14K after discount
picture click!!!
http://www.rolex.com/en/rolex-watches/oyst...el-m114200-0010

Added on December 2, 2010, 1:41 amUSA LVMH sales started on Tag Heuer ends on Dec 6th
They do not ship out of USA. May have to use Orientwatch USA method to get your watch, using Shipito.com

Access Key: holiday2010
https://www.lvmhpartners.com/

Tag F1 going for US$499

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 3 2010, 12:37 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 2 2010, 12:15 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 2 2010, 11:56 AM)
wah oris ridiculous pricing for service.. i was interested in Oris TT1 due to its unique shape.. the examples you posted earlier were unique as well but didn't rock my boat..
btw: oris has their case and steel bracelet make in china.
I didn't know about it until yrs later. to pay US$90 for the steel bracelet I still feel its costly. Some other AD still dare to quote me US$250!

I wasn't my intend to rock your boat on the Oris TTI, I am just showing examples of watches that are not trying to sub. there are more outstanding ones. eg: Anonimo didn't claim they are watch makers, they make case and special leather that is water resistance! Anonimo watch makers largely come from Panerai.

anyway, I gather U are no longer interested in Oris.
diver watch... go with quartz is best!
don't Suunto make excellent dive watches too? (I am not familiar with their products)

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 2 2010, 12:18 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 3 2010, 12:39 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(vince_teh @ Dec 2 2010, 03:40 PM)
asking for prices in WATATIME sungai wang

Tag Auaracer 500M got 23% discount
Ball Spacemaster got 25% discount
Omega Planet Ocean got 25% discount.

just want to ask is that best best we can get??
any shop recommend??
interested to get one of them..
I thought end of the yr, LVMH at KL have same sales on TAG? usually ~50%
anyway LVMH USA is running sales now. if U have seen my post.

Added on December 3, 2010, 12:40 am
QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 2 2010, 11:35 PM)
Currently have TAG,Maurice Lacroix and Tissot...thinking on buying EPOS..but needs an advise on the EPOS brand....
Epos little marketing, build quality better than Tissot. Maybe close to ML esp for mechanical they are nicely decorated with blue screws

Added on December 3, 2010, 12:45 am
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 2 2010, 11:20 PM)
thx for ur opinion
I see...I get this feedback from my fren as well... he complained the colour faded within 1 year

actually I'm trying to find a gd nice watch within 500-600 budget...but dont seems to find any I like  unsure.gif
looking for a PVD diver. pay peanuts get peanuts.
U wouldn't find good PVD for the price u are paying.
Fossils watches are made in the far east iirc.

I thought U looking for tritium watches?
perhaps don't buy, keep saving and get a better watch

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 3 2010, 12:45 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 3 2010, 01:50 AM

3,940 posts

with regards to peanuts I am not referring to how much one can afford that a different case. I am comparing it to varies brands out there.

its like buying food, can expect to buy peanuts and expect it to taste like abalone. esp one cannot the price of a abalone.

I have to agree Jap did a great job at these lower price pt watches. may it be citizen, Seiko, orient, Casio.

some ppl spend big $$ on watches, others on phones, some on car, others on clothes/shoes. ultimately we have no control what ppl wanna do with their $$ right? LOL tongue.gif

Added on December 3, 2010, 1:52 am
QUOTE(nabelon @ Dec 3 2010, 01:13 AM)
hi there watch pros, I am looking for a watch around 500-600 range, currently looking into citizen eco drive series, edifice and also seikos, but I am open to recommendation, if any of you sifus are willing to help.

P/s : saw on earlier posts, cw watch kinda looks interesting. Btw, if order from overseas, does customs charge tax or duty ?
don't know what to recommend. U need to give some inputs on requirements /style.

overseas - no tax or duty!

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 3 2010, 01:52 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 3 2010, 08:07 AM

3,940 posts

check out this Seagull Zenith homage!
http://www.usseagull.com/EnProductShow.asp?ClassID=66&ID=99

Added on December 3, 2010, 10:57 am
QUOTE(nabelon @ Dec 3 2010, 02:03 AM)
If modern styling anything with chrono or diver type would do.

If vintage styling, I am kind of attracted to visodate and B-UHR.

but at the end of the day most of em are out of my price range, and btw any recommended online watch site, make it stand alone sites or ebay sellers.

thanks for the help smile.gif
http://www.discountwatchstore.com/assets/i...30308.19SBB.jpg

http://www.longislandwatch.com/Junkers_Page-2.htm

alot of citizen diver is within your budget.

Orient watch - mako

Wenger watches
http://www.bluedial.com/wenger-watch-aerograph.htm

http://www.longislandwatch.com/Aristo/Aristo-Watches-2.htm

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 3 2010, 11:08 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 3 2010, 09:06 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Dec 3 2010, 05:31 PM)
Updates on LVHM sales, yes, it's start today!

My friend just bought a Tag Lady Link (auto) with 60% off! He is contemplating to get himself a Carrera Chorno with 50% off.
when is it ending?

QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 3 2010, 06:18 PM)
Thanks fren...just made wire transfer to watchseller.... for the Epos Emotion Regulator EPO129. The model now is gone from the website.....reserved for me...  thumbup.gif
congrats! waiting for pics!
http://www.watchseller.com/epemreau.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 4 2010, 12:20 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 4 2010, 06:48 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(edwardng86 @ Dec 4 2010, 01:50 AM)
my hand very small 1.which watch can match ?like cerruti 1 but very big , tissot and oris got side match small hand ?
page 1 post 1 do have some info for ppl like your.
Oris doubt it since they cater to the majority, may have 1 or 2 watches that are unisex.
the same with Tissot too.
I don't think Oris or Tissot make unisex watch at 33mm to 36mm today.

I found the Oris Big Crown Pointer Date Unisex Midsize at 36mm. Its not no sapphire crystal but on plexiglass that scratch rather easily.
replace should cost ~RM30-100 with labor.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 4 2010, 08:12 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 4 2010, 08:14 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HengMas @ Dec 4 2010, 05:17 PM)
I got one of this Zenith watch but has been send for services many times ( within 4 years ).
My personal advice ....dun buy this model cos many problems will arises. especially the buttons...... mad.gif
where did u send it for service?
within the 1st 3yrs U should have called lemon and get it exchange for a new watch.
On the zenith forums I am not seeing many post on EP chronomaster issues.
those that have got it quickly resolved by getting watch service in Switzerland.

U could have gotten a Breguet watch if u had not buy a chronomaster.

Added on December 4, 2010, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 4 2010, 01:42 PM)
anybody here own a  Tissot PRC 200 (T014.410.16.057.00)
can give some evaluation on the quality and durability?
btw since when this watch is released?
quartz watch, no worries. wear it while playing golf no issue.

QUOTE(raul88 @ Dec 4 2010, 02:10 PM)
what is the price range of "affordable watches"??
price range varies from ppl to ppl. what is affordable to me may not apply to U. This is subjective.

Added on December 4, 2010, 10:01 pmEmail Roland directly: Roland.Kemmner@t-online.de

Octopus 2000
RP ~us$600
made by Roland Kemmner (alot of his projects could be found on ebay)
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f74/kemmner-o...tml#post3339436

http://www.luxury4play.com/watches/66381-n...ilot-watch.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 4 2010, 10:18 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 5 2010, 01:16 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(skccks @ Dec 5 2010, 12:35 PM)
the 3rd watch is nice.....how to get it?
if u have click on the link or saw the email address U know how! sweat.gif
TSpatryn33
post Dec 6 2010, 07:40 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Dec 3 2010, 02:03 AM)
If modern styling anything with chrono or diver type would do.

If vintage styling, I am kind of attracted to visodate and B-UHR.

but at the end of the day most of em are out of my price range, and btw any recommended online watch site, make it stand alone sites or ebay sellers.
another watch for your consideration
This running on jap movement.
http://www.countycomm.com/maratacpilotauto.htm

another CW sale going on

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 6 2010, 11:47 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 7 2010, 12:36 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 6 2010, 08:12 PM)
sure...imagine u ordering one and the next day its 15-20% off biggrin.gif

im gonna get the c5 finally rclxm9.gif

pls dont do the aligator free upgrade thingy in jan doh.gif  sweat.gif
I think can complain and get them refund the difference. with the return policy is it just creating more work for them to process return and ship new watches.

Thing is when ppl are buying at 15% off they are also getting a free watch winder. the 5% diff by no means equal to a watch winder. Don't understand why they complain, well everyone wants more with little money.
TSpatryn33
post Dec 7 2010, 07:30 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Dec 7 2010, 03:56 AM)
have you guys heard of Swiss Legend watch?
http://www.amazon.com/Swiss-Legend-10013-7...oductPromotions
this watch looks nice...can get it in malaysia??
a good majority of swiss legend mech watches uses Chinese Seagull movement, thing is 51% of the movement is make and assembled in Switzerland which make it swiss made!

the quartz ones are generally running on Ronda.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 7 2010, 07:31 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 7 2010, 12:36 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(damiendamonster @ Dec 7 2010, 11:34 AM)
Hi guys,

i want to find out buy watch online and send it back here is there subjected to tax?

Recently i just bought a watch from watchseller expecting to arrived in these few days.
no tax.
what did U get? do post pics when U get it.
silencer also ordered a watch from then a Epos regulator.

Added on December 7, 2010, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(-Max91- @ Dec 7 2010, 11:46 AM)
Ahhh ~~~ CW seems t be not bothering all my emails....I still don't get any replies from there...iiisshhhh
did U try this email? Wizziethewiz@christopherward.co.uk

do quote your order number and write in as your brother since U're using his card.

I would create a different thread on it. with title "when is C60 shipping, X emails to customer service no replies"
http://www.christopherwardforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5512

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 7 2010, 12:44 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 8 2010, 01:51 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(MaxWealth @ Dec 7 2010, 09:23 PM)
Thanks bro. Then i will forget about Cerruti.. The price is like 1.4k...Can buy better watch?
Btw,  Tissots are made in?
tissot are swiss made.
definition on swiss made is 51% of the movement must be made in swiss, watch must be assembled in Switzerland.

what do u mean by better watch?
mechanical or quartz?
mechanical try page 1 post 1. lots of links to good value watches

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Dec 7 2010, 09:41 PM)
Went through CW website and saw quite a lot of nice watches there but the price is quite sweat.gif

I've been monitoring the thread for quite sometime and notice that Japanese made watches seldom gets the mention here, I wonder why  hmm.gif :hmmm:

I managed to "pow" my elder bro to get my a watch of my liking and I quite buy into Seiko's watch, however, I'm looking for alternative brand therefore, sifus here, ada opinion?

Budget around 800-1k(RM), prefer leather and either automatic or chronograph will do.

p/s: I didn't know much about watch, just surface only sweat.gif
what's you budget?
there is a seiko thread, here maybe Orient once awhile.
auto watch on leather swiss made try UHR the info is on page 1 post 1.

QUOTE(IMAX @ Dec 7 2010, 10:56 PM)
RM3k can get any fine Automatic Non-chronograph watch?
what is fine? willing to shop online or grey?
Guinand, D freemont makes great watches... qns is do you like the style.
for links check page 1 post 1.

Added on December 8, 2010, 1:53 am
QUOTE(damiendamonster @ Dec 7 2010, 09:44 PM)
This is what i got from watchseller.
Mechanical hand-wound skeleton movement Unitas 6498, engraved.

http://citytime.my/upload_images/product_i...c839e2d5ac.jpeg
interesting watch, not many ppl like those 1 hand watch

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 8 2010, 01:53 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 8 2010, 10:46 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Dec 8 2010, 10:06 AM)
My contribution back to the thread in the form of a photo. tongue.gif Was asking recently about buying online. I ended up with this Mondaine Sport I Chrono in PVD black that arrived yesterday.

cooling looking watch! I love their clock, just got 1 2 weeks back. loving every bit of it!
where did U end up buying? damage? buying experience if online?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 8 2010, 10:49 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 8 2010, 10:19 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Dec 8 2010, 03:30 PM)
Oh haha, im in love with the Graham Chronofighter R.A.C  drool.gif
+1 on the Graham. U are darn quick!
how much did U pay for it? do U mind?
Pam is over rated now. pics! pics! on new watch!
TSpatryn33
post Dec 9 2010, 12:14 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Dec 8 2010, 11:21 PM)
Im not fast, have been eyeing on this 2 watch for quite some time.

How do i upload pics ?

Patryn33 will pm you the price.
post on http://imageshack.us/ and click on the IMG icon next to http:// to insert the URL to the pics

thanx for the PM!

28 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:38 AM