124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Redang/Lang Tengah/Perhentian/Kapas/Rhu, all you need to know.....

dsiew
post May 22 2006, 06:58 PM

715 posts

stayed in berjaya during my visit
advise: don't bother... go stay in long beach.. much better

Tachikoma
post May 22 2006, 10:23 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

Its not that we cannot touch coral because its poisonous, once you touch the coral it will die.
scubamy
post May 22 2006, 10:29 PM

39 posts

u are wrong..some of the coral are poisonous!! Remeber do not touch anything...

QUOTE(areankim @ May 21 2006, 09:11 AM)
i dun think so it's poisonous... if it is. surely we are not allow to touch it nor go near it.
TSjuichuan
post May 23 2006, 01:26 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ May 21 2006, 09:11 AM)
i dun think so it's poisonous... if it is. surely we are not allow to touch it nor go near it.
some corals are poisonous.. many don't realize but everytime you snorkel, you snorkel at your own risk. This is why scuba divers need to wear protective suits.. ask our rukawa.. diver here smile.gif
QUOTE(hellangel @ May 21 2006, 08:44 PM)
hohohohoh... yday bak from redang... hohoh.. saw rukawa thr also..wokakaka..

beautiful sea n beach ~~ wanna go again icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(rukawa @ May 22 2006, 02:52 PM)
haha...
I just back on Sunday.
Ya...can see hellangel there of all places tongue.gif
sweat.gif of all places..
rukawa
post May 23 2006, 02:18 PM

::+::KukuKawa::+::
1,903 posts

OK...Why you're not allowed to touch the corals?
Corals - there are 2 types, hard and soft corals. Hard corals are those you often see wash upshore and becomes white. Well, they are painful if you step on them as it can cut. Whenever snorkling don't ever kick it, it'll damage the coral as they take awhile to grow.

Soft corals, some are nice to watch but once damaged, they are gone. More care need to be taken care. Yes, some corals are covered with poisons. Well, though sea anemone, (yes, the ones you see with Nemo (clownfish) can sting you and inject poison. I have the opportunity to touch them though tongue.gif.

jc,
yes, of all places meet in redang. I even met my school friend there who only stays like few blocks away from my house. It was weird
TSjuichuan
post May 25 2006, 07:04 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

out of topic.. hey rukawa.. lets go rafting.. check out the new thread..

oh btw.. i'm organising a trip to lang tengah this 1st september.. pricing is RM 430 everything inclusive from KL (bus, meals, accommodation, jetty transfer and snorkelling trip)
boyz
post May 27 2006, 12:30 AM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,523 posts

Back frm Redang last weekwas @redang beach resort..went freediving(beginner)..u want to do ur part save corals...wear a reshie dont wear sunblock...it helps in the long run..scared of the sun dont go to an island.hehe...anyway..the tides got bigger than the last year and water at the shore hardly visible..no longer clear, beginners in snorkellin will hav to go further out to see more stuff...

btw while i was @ the marine park..i picked up 2 bottles and i women's napkin..jeeezzz..@ the marine park...of coz there are others...well those goin please dont throw ur plastic bag into the sea containin bread once u done feeding...it will choke the turtles becoz it will get mistaken for jellyfish..

boyz
post May 27 2006, 12:32 AM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,523 posts

will be goin Lang Tengah 2nd time next week..will give new feedback..biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by boyz: May 27 2006, 12:35 AM
rukawa
post May 27 2006, 10:00 PM

1,903 posts

I am going back to Redang on September for the sea clean up. Diving again..
Looks like I am a dive addict
dsiew
post May 29 2006, 09:21 AM

715 posts

is the diving experience THAT great?

TSjuichuan
post May 29 2006, 01:26 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(dsiew @ May 29 2006, 09:21 AM)
is the diving experience THAT great?
it really depends.. for me.. i had problems adjusting my ears to the water pressure and as i descend, i had ear pain..
rukawa
post May 29 2006, 09:41 PM

1,903 posts

well, some people can take it, while some can't. That's why we learn to equalise when we descend and ascend in pool.

Noodie Branch is one thing you usually see when you're diving, as well as you get to play with sea anemones. But I am waiting to get my advance to go for night dive, as the night scene is totally different.

Well, anyway I will be hoping to organize more trips to islands. Maybe next time get help from our moderator here too tongue.gif

forrest
post May 29 2006, 10:55 PM

1,045 posts

want to ask at here, what is the price (compare to non-holiday) to visit island (any island at east coast) when the trip is fall on holiday? For example on this coming Hari Raya (October). Any discount for early bird haha biggrin.gif
Im gathering my friends to have a trip on this coming Hari Raya, ppl around 5-10.

This post has been edited by forrest: May 29 2006, 10:56 PM
TSjuichuan
post May 30 2006, 01:09 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ May 29 2006, 10:55 PM)
want to ask at here, what is the price (compare to non-holiday) to visit island (any island at east coast) when the trip is fall on holiday? For example on this coming Hari Raya (October). Any discount for early bird haha  biggrin.gif
Im gathering my friends to have a trip on this coming Hari Raya, ppl around 5-10.
october will be the starting of monsoon..the sea might be rough.. i can check for you the pricing.. will post it here once i have the info
rukawa
post May 30 2006, 08:52 PM

1,903 posts

Having a trip during the monsoon? Most of the resorts close especially Redang, Lang Tengah & Perhentian. Most of them close on October. If you are still persistent make it early October.
scubamy
post May 30 2006, 09:20 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rukawa @ May 27 2006, 10:00 PM)
I am going back to Redang on September for the sea clean up. Diving again..
Looks like I am a dive addict
Ya project aware is really fun! u can help to clean up the beach/uw and at the same time diving!! rclxms.gif for night dive prepare to fork out some money and get at least 1 dive light & light stick..nite dive was really relax..enjoy it
forrest
post May 31 2006, 12:20 AM

1,045 posts

QUOTE(juichuan @ May 30 2006, 01:09 PM)
october will be the starting of monsoon..the sea might be rough.. i can check for you the pricing.. will post it here once i have the info
oh... no doh.gif
Im not sure the period of the monsoon, can anyone provide some info regarding monsoon at east coast? Im sure that im not going to visit there on monsoon season. So how about the pricing before the monsoon hit east coast(safe period to snorkel)?
rukawa
post May 31 2006, 10:45 AM

1,903 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ May 31 2006, 12:20 AM)
oh... no  doh.gif 
Im not sure the period of the monsoon, can anyone provide some info regarding monsoon at east coast? Im sure that im not going to visit there on monsoon season. So how about the pricing before the monsoon hit east coast(safe period to snorkel)?
Is like what we've learn during our primary school years.
Monsun Timur Laut October-Mac (Around that period, certain books put November - March).
So best to go in April-September.
MagKis
post May 31 2006, 11:16 AM

Hi everyone!

Juz back from redang... Me and some of my frens were doin some research for Marine Science Proj. recognize by Marine Science A.. Regarding sun block n stuff like tat... i think is neccessary especialli for those who are goin to that kind of place oftenly. If u don do it, becareful u might get ulcer, skin cancer, and skin allergy, this is due to the releasing of poison by some neurotic corals.

For example, several important drugs have already been developed from chemicals found in coral reef organisms, such as 3'-azido-3'-deoxythymidine, which is extracted from a Caribbean reef sponge. It can treat HIV as well as causing skin problems when u get near or touching it. And this 3'-azido-3'-deoxythymidine, is potential for genetic damage!

Supported webpage:
http://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/els/...k2u6d7gri.alice
http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S0027-5107(99)00111-6

I know sun block somehow damage corals, but if its is damage d corals, y all those redang resorts shop still selling sun block lotion? When u look deep into it, u will realize sun block lotion is protecting our human skin to avoid uneccessary diseases if u go often la. Some of the corals are immune to sun block UV shield functions. But some are not!
For my advise here, if u go often, please try n prevent from ya skin damage, corals die one of the reason is sun block but make sure u use sun block is certified BIO-Safe!

"If we don protect ourselves, how we going to protect other?", "But if we don protect other, other will be protected by other who knows how to protect themselves"!!!

When u go often to sea activities, like scuba-diving, sun bathing.... activities... do we need bio-safe sun block? Think again...
We are not trying to harm corals, we are trying to save both parties from harm!
Enjoy 1st, suffer later?

This post has been edited by MagKis: May 31 2006, 11:44 AM
TSjuichuan
post May 31 2006, 06:58 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

MagKis> perhaps you can apply the lotion when u're sun bathing and wait for 20 minutes before going down to the water and get close to the corals.. like that your skin can absorb the UV protection.. not sure how true is it but sun block, although waterproof, will still dissolve in the water.

or u can somehow adjust your timing.. long beach redang dun have so much corals.. when u follow the boats out to the marine park then apply less? its all up to you to adjust.

resorts selling it coz they wanna make profit? wink.gif thats all malaysian minds can think of when it comes to profit. profit comes first..

PS: this kinda discussion serves as a reminder for tourists. smile.gif

124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:57 PM