134 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

SAMPERTH
post May 5 2010, 05:04 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Chok @ May 4 2010, 10:31 PM)
Near you? You in Sandakan too? biggrin.gif  Hmm... Where is this LenU or Burong? Do you mean LenYu? And Oh yeah, wheres other pet shops other than :

- Mile 8, Tmn Fortune Shoplots (Standard Aquarium)
- Mile 7, Beside Tmn Megah (Garden And Fish)
- Mile 5, Pasar Sibuga (I 4got the shop name)
- Mile 4, Tmn Indah Jaya (Sandakan Aquarium), Bandar Kim Fung, Near Bengkel (4got the name too..)
- Mile 2, Tmn Yeng Seng (Birds Petshop)
- Hsiang Garden (Len Yu)
- Bandar Ramai Ramai (Aquarium).
I am from Twu ! All the other shop can only get the regular stuff beside the mile 2(burong) n Hsiang garden(Len yu)
Since your Istar from Len yu r you the buyer who ordered a pr of alligator snapper turtle n more ? As Len yu just got a pr of alligator snapper turtle n a pr of sulcata in from over here in Twu due to special request !

CnT
post May 5 2010, 01:27 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(El Sol @ May 4 2010, 06:01 PM)
Thx man...
my Istar is around 2", every morning and evening I let him sunbath...so no worries about calcium + D3, rite? hahaha...
actually, I never see him poopoo...eat a lot dun poo, 2 days dy..is that alrite? if I soak him while sun bathing, he just wee that white thingy only...no poo...
I think I'll change his diet to mostly hibiscus leaves and flowers, with some occasional okra..biggrin.gif
here's my Istar pic...haven't got the time to buy feeding bowl...hahaha
[attachmentid=1560500]
My torts kept outside shaded w 3-4hrs indirect sunlight. I sprinkle Calcium powder every other meal. I dont use vits or D3. Only need D3 if kept indoors w artificial sunlight.
Currently using exoterra Calc powder. Repcal hard to find n exp. Exo cheaper but powder not as fine as Repcal.
Shld monitor poopoo to assess torts health&diet. If poo watery or too soft, then mayb eating wrong thing or is sick. Torts will normally poo when soaked in water. Weewee w some white thingy is normal. Its the extra Calcium coming out.
Ur daily sunbathing n soaking is an excellent routine, n very important for baby stars. Keep at it. The only thing i can advice is mayb need extra uva/uvb lighting indoors. Baby stars easily catch cold/pneumonia.
Nice little fella u hv ter. As long as its eating well n actively walking about, u will b fine.
Happy torting smile.gif

SAMPERTH
post May 5 2010, 06:28 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ May 4 2010, 09:18 PM)
yes right. as i said, calcium OD is almost unheard of.

most new keepers give out too much vitamin. the worst case is combining uvb light with D3 supplement - surefire OD.

( what humble little experience... if your experience is little, ours are miniscule smile.gif )
i heard about that. sorry for the loss sad.gifhaven't tested exoterra's supplement, haven't even checked them out as they are relatively new.

many  keepers swear by repcal.

(note : if your turtles bask alot under sunlight, opt for supplements without D3)

Added on May 4, 2010, 8:22 pm

no worries. we all started out small smile.gif

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
uzairi works weird shifts nowadays, serving south africa. bukak thread baru pun suruh aku. chit.
Dont worry as most thing I got back thru you know what !! We live in Bolehland !!

Biggest lost are maybe some foreign reserve that SHOULD be in RM if I start exporting legally from another country !!

Just trying to do the right thing but got penalised and pay a huge PRICE/RM as 28 MAY is near very near its 23 days away (or is it coming)?? Anyone can update ??
Chinchillas
post May 6 2010, 03:49 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(CnT @ May 4 2010, 11:14 AM)
Congrats on ur new torts. Glad to hear tey started to eat again. How big r tey? any pics?
As long as they poopoo healthy wat tey eat, then eat more better. Torts know how to stop eating when teyr full.
But also be careful wat tey eat. Torts need food hi in fiber, low in protein. Ur list should be other way round, ie. more hibiscus, less okra. I think okra is good, but too mushy = ciritbirit. I use it more as a laxative, to help digestion occasionally.
Careful on wat tey like to eat, doesnt mean its good for them. Lettuce n beans (longB, frenchB) torts love very much, but its like candy chocolate to us. Not good.
To share, heres wat i feed my leos n stars, ordered from most fed to least fed:
1) TimothyHay pellets
2) Sawi
3) SweetPotato leaves
4) Kangkong
5) Opuntia cactus (tis is bestest, but grows very slow)
6) Okra
7) Carrot skin, broccoli stem (not sure if tis is ok, so only give rarely) mayb other sifus can
comment?
8) Hibiscus (also best, but no supply)
My exp w baby Stars <4" is they r quite fragile. Need UVA/UVB lighting, water, calcium supp. N watch out for runny nose, no energy, always sleeping. Signs of a sick tort.
Happy feeding smile.gif
They chew it down? drool.gif
CnT
post May 6 2010, 05:44 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ May 6 2010, 03:49 PM)
They chew it down? drool.gif
Torts cannot chew, no teeth. Can only bite/cut w their beaks then swallow. They swallow the pellets whole, or mayb sometimes bite into half. The pellets i buy r the smallest size i can find. Oxbow thumbup.gif

Azazel
post May 6 2010, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ May 5 2010, 06:28 PM)
Dont worry as most thing I got back thru you know what !! We live in Bolehland !!

Biggest lost are maybe some foreign reserve that SHOULD be in RM if I start exporting legally from another country !!

Just trying to do the right thing but got penalised and pay a huge PRICE/RM  as 28 MAY is near very near its 23 days away (or is it coming)?? Anyone can update ??
If not mistaken, it's May 26th. But have yet to hear anything. Could be just another "gertak"...which they are very good at. Just my RM0.02 smile.gif

p.s. Sorry to hear about your predicament.

Regards
SAMPERTH
post May 6 2010, 05:59 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Azazel @ May 6 2010, 06:51 PM)
If not mistaken, it's May 26th. But have yet to hear anything. Could be just another "gertak"...which they are very good at. Just my RM0.02 smile.gif

p.s. Sorry to hear about your predicament.

Regards
Maybe my mistake as 26th is a Wed while 28th is the last working day of May (at least in Sabah)
TScamillenoir
post May 6 2010, 07:54 PM

373 posts

June 28th la
El Sol
post May 6 2010, 09:26 PM

399 posts

is it possible that tortoise know their owner??..
Daniel Chok
post May 6 2010, 10:07 PM

1 Question, Star Tortoise shell will become "Horn Shell" when it get bigger? I mean, i saw some pictures of Star Tortoise on google, and im surprised.. blink.gif
TScamillenoir
post May 6 2010, 10:42 PM

373 posts

that's called pyramiding. there are many articles on them on the internet. smile.gif

as a general rule, proper diet/husbandry will prevent extreme pyramiding.
Daniel Chok
post May 6 2010, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(camillenoir @ May 6 2010, 10:42 PM)
that's called pyramiding. there are many articles on them on the internet. smile.gif

as a general rule, proper diet/husbandry will prevent extreme pyramiding.
Oh, thank u thank u.
El Sol
post May 8 2010, 02:55 PM

399 posts

hey guys, I'm thinking to starve my tortoise...

I mean feed it 2 days once (morning and night)..is it OK?...

because tortoise has very slow digestion rite?..so I think twice a day is overfeeding as well??...

TScamillenoir
post May 8 2010, 05:19 PM

373 posts

for your 2" stars, daily feeding is recommended.

twice a day is ok if given in smaller amount (as opposed to one big meal per feeding).

once they hit 3"- 4" feeding frequency can nicely be adjusted (every other day), and bigger specimens can be fed thrice weekly, etc.

Added on May 8, 2010, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(El Sol @ May 6 2010, 09:26 PM)
is it possible that tortoise know their owner??..
yes.

they would learn to recognize your sight, voice, smell etc and associate them with food, not comfort smile.gif

This post has been edited by camillenoir: May 8 2010, 05:23 PM
El Sol
post May 8 2010, 06:12 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ May 8 2010, 05:19 PM)
for your 2" stars, daily feeding is recommended.

twice a day is ok if given in smaller amount (as opposed to one big meal per feeding).

once they hit 3"- 4" feeding frequency can nicely be adjusted (every other day), and bigger specimens can be fed thrice weekly, etc.

Added on May 8, 2010, 5:23 pm

yes.

they would learn to recognize your sight, voice, smell etc and associate them with food, not comfort smile.gif
LOL ok2...thx!
sirisaac
post May 8 2010, 06:17 PM

i am thinking about buying an angonoka around 4-5 cm. i tried searching the internet but not much infos on care and also habitat. i understand there is some forum in mandarin but i cant read mandarin. hope someone here can guide me. lastly, is angonoka fairly easy compare to star and leopard? thanks
El Sol
post May 8 2010, 06:44 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(sirisaac @ May 8 2010, 06:17 PM)

i am thinking about buying an angonoka around 4-5 cm. i tried searching the internet but not much infos on care and also habitat. i understand there is some forum in mandarin but i cant read mandarin. hope someone here can guide me. lastly, is angonoka fairly easy compare to star and leopard? thanks
"The Angonoka or Ploughshare tortoise is one of the ten most endangered animals in the world. There are fewer than 1000 individuals left, and they are found only in one tiny area of the island nation of Madagascar. The Angonoka's favorite habitat is the coarse grass and scrub trees found near bamboo forests. The Angonoka is found only in the dry forests of the northwestern part of Madagascar." according to http://www.thewildones.org/Animals/angonoka.html

I dun think u can buy it...LOL it's endangered!!

SAMPERTH
post May 8 2010, 08:42 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(sirisaac @ May 8 2010, 07:17 PM)

Ya easier than both star and leopard !! Maybe because it's worth more and lesser pieces imported each time thus care provided are better maybe ?

Added on May 8, 2010, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(El Sol @ May 8 2010, 07:44 PM)
"The Angonoka or Ploughshare tortoise is one of the ten most endangered animals in the world. There are fewer than 1000 individuals left, and they are found only in one tiny area of the island nation of Madagascar. The Angonoka's favorite habitat is the coarse grass and scrub trees found near bamboo forests. The Angonoka is found only in the dry forests of the northwestern part of Madagascar." according to http://www.thewildones.org/Animals/angonoka.html

I dun think u can buy it...LOL it's endangered!!

So as what's quoted everwhere about less than 1000 left in the wild !! If that's the case I think captive specimen(those in captives is wat i meant) will and must be greater than those left in the wild !!
I think SHOULD instead of CAN to be used here ! ( due to their status ) LOL
But they are easily CB just need to cross BIG BIG RED TAPE (which I think a local breeder has given up on )

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: May 8 2010, 09:06 PM
El Sol
post May 8 2010, 09:43 PM

399 posts

we can find this Angonoka here in Malaysia??...

costs around how much arh?
TScamillenoir
post May 8 2010, 10:23 PM

373 posts

a lot. and the fines and consequences would cost even more.

we should scrap all discussions about no-export quota animals.

let's get back to discussing red eared sliders smile.gif

134 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:36 AM