[attachmentid=3090030]
Picture from few years back !! For now till new one taken !! That RTcatfish is about 16-18 inch while the Flowerhorn fish is 11-12 inch in size
Cheers
Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5
Oct 8 2012, 06:07 PM
517 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Borneo ISLAND |
[attachmentid=3090030]
Picture from few years back !! For now till new one taken !! That RTcatfish is about 16-18 inch while the Flowerhorn fish is 11-12 inch in size Cheers |
Oct 8 2012, 06:23 PM
15 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: kl n ipoh |
Nice sam....hmm any new hatchling?
Oct 8 2012, 08:08 PM
115 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: everywhere |
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Oct 8 2012, 06:07 PM) [attachmentid=3090030] Really big enclosure. I wish i could hv a bigger tank/pond as well.. Do u hv pics for the whole pond?Picture from few years back !! For now till new one taken !! That RTcatfish is about 16-18 inch while the Flowerhorn fish is 11-12 inch in size Cheers |
Oct 9 2012, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(antzz @ Oct 8 2012, 09:08 PM) Really big enclosure. I wish i could hv a bigger tank/pond as well.. Do u hv pics for the whole pond? That's the smaller guys in the 10x3x4 ' fiberglass tank - blue n all fiberglass tank are the same so did not bother to take pic of whole tank !! Cheers Added on October 9, 2012, 1:59 am QUOTE(kaseinogen @ Oct 8 2012, 07:23 PM) Yes but mostly tortoise - these 3 months !! I have hatchlings popping out on a weekly basis since march this year !! Cheers This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Oct 9 2012, 01:59 AM |
Oct 10 2012, 12:50 PM
5 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
hi guys,
checked the CITES list, seemed that musk and mud turtles are not included, so these can be kept without permits right? I mean just like the RES. is this correct? anyone can confirm? Thanks in advance. btw samperth, if we have a permit for the torts, technically the CB babies cannot be sold by the pet owner to a direct buyer, is this the law right now? |
Oct 10 2012, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Ben99 @ Oct 10 2012, 01:50 PM) hi guys, Ya , keeper permit not same as dealer permit and to breed for sale one need a breeder permit !! checked the CITES list, seemed that musk and mud turtles are not included, so these can be kept without permits right? I mean just like the RES. is this correct? anyone can confirm? Thanks in advance. btw samperth, if we have a permit for the torts, technically the CB babies cannot be sold by the pet owner to a direct buyer, is this the law right now? Cheers |
Oct 10 2012, 07:32 PM
5 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Oct 11 2012, 09:59 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2012 From: Canadia, Spicy Chicken Burger world |
hai pplz want to ask about some turtles
ive seen before baby softshell turtles when they just got them (not 100% healthy when bought) after awhile the turtles skin get this kind of plaque white stuff on the skin and their turtles soon die after why this happen? any way to prevent it? oso for hardshell turtles is there any kind of treatment for their shells if they get sick? oh yah also want to ask how to get permit for special turtles liek gator snapper or something :D k thnkx |
Oct 13 2012, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(IDemandUrSkittlez @ Oct 11 2012, 10:59 PM) hai pplz want to ask about some turtles Those white stuff - kind of fungus usually from cold water , In hatchlings usually v high or 100% mortality !!ive seen before baby softshell turtles when they just got them (not 100% healthy when bought) after awhile the turtles skin get this kind of plaque white stuff on the skin and their turtles soon die after why this happen? any way to prevent it? oso for hardshell turtles is there any kind of treatment for their shells if they get sick? oh yah also want to ask how to get permit for special turtles liek gator snapper or something k thnkx As for other sickness pls be specific but usually there's cure/treatment !! |
Oct 13 2012, 03:20 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2012 From: Canadia, Spicy Chicken Burger world |
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Oct 13 2012, 01:35 PM) Those white stuff - kind of fungus usually from cold water , In hatchlings usually v high or 100% mortality !! oh so cold water effects hatchlings, i see. but older softshells are okay with the cold water? cos the rivers they live in are pretty cold but i guess thats why they bath in the sun n stuffAs for other sickness pls be specific but usually there's cure/treatment !! as for hardshells, im talking about maybe some colour disfiguration on the shells or liek some red tinting on the shell like i found on a black marsh turtle i found somewhere along the highway any general cure for teh shells? |
Oct 13 2012, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(IDemandUrSkittlez @ Oct 13 2012, 04:20 PM) oh so cold water effects hatchlings, i see. but older softshells are okay with the cold water? cos the rivers they live in are pretty cold but i guess thats why they bath in the sun n stuff U mention the small soft-shell not 100% healthy did u not ? as for hardshells, im talking about maybe some colour disfiguration on the shells or liek some red tinting on the shell like i found on a black marsh turtle i found somewhere along the highway any general cure for teh shells? That's just staint and not sickness ( if not sickness where's the cure ? ) - find the cause then find the solution !! Cheers |
Oct 14 2012, 03:47 PM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
hi guy,
i would like to ask all the sifu here. i has read a particular web-site the compact light bulb come with uvb+uva is harmfull to tortoise eys ?, it this true ? Here the link http://thereptilewhisperer.blogspot.com/20...o-reptiles.html |
Oct 14 2012, 10:14 PM
117 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(CalebBugg123 @ Oct 14 2012, 03:47 PM) hi guy, I think it depends on the setup..i would like to ask all the sifu here. i has read a particular web-site the compact light bulb come with uvb+uva is harmfull to tortoise eys ?, it this true ? Here the link http://thereptilewhisperer.blogspot.com/20...o-reptiles.html have been using them for quite long so far no issue wit my tur and tor.. |
Oct 15 2012, 11:38 AM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(smsseah5 @ Oct 14 2012, 10:14 PM) I think it depends on the setup.. Would there be any guide-line on setuping the light ? have been using them for quite long so far no issue wit my tur and tor.. Would it be fine if i put 90 degree horizontal with the height of 18 inch, and using Repti Glo 5.0 Compact ? This post has been edited by CalebBugg123: Oct 15 2012, 12:04 PM |
Oct 15 2012, 03:13 PM
117 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(CalebBugg123 @ Oct 15 2012, 11:38 AM) Would there be any guide-line on setuping the light ? I have seen the guide before, it stated the distance and temperature, can't remember where I saw it.Would it be fine if i put 90 degree horizontal with the height of 18 inch, and using Repti Glo 5.0 Compact ? You can try to look for it.. But 18inch sounds fine for me..jut my view.. |
Oct 15 2012, 04:35 PM
The sun is xxxxxx km away from us and if you look up without protection will it blind our eyes ? Let alone our tortoise's !!
All uv ray will be harmful just look at the good side ( the vitamin D your pet can get / produce from it ) !! So use a big enough enclosure when using heat lamp or uv lighting so it can run away if too hot or for the uv case - get out of sight of the uv ray !! Cheers |
Oct 16 2012, 11:19 PM
15 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: kl n ipoh |
U could also put vase/pvc pipe so they can hide..
Just my rm0.02.. This post has been edited by kaseinogen: Oct 16 2012, 11:20 PM |
Oct 20 2012, 11:56 AM
98 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
HI, would like to ask if you guys give your star tortises any type of extra calcium supplements?
Oct 20 2012, 06:25 PM
8 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Depends on whether you are putting your ST indoor or outdoor. Normally indoor tortoise is given Calcium+D3. For outdoor, Calcium only. But if their meal is high in calcium already, then you can skip that.
Oct 22 2012, 02:06 PM
649 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Anyone know where i can find pnt for sale?im looking high and low for it