Asus A42J/A52J (C/K/R/V) Versatile Performance, Review n discussion
lee_what2004
Aug 11 2010, 12:02 AM
*stare* ji--------
QUOTE(verdangilte @ Aug 10 2010, 10:49 PM) can more details on it ? how to delete it >?? i after uninstall it , boot safe mode , then i see driver sweeper have many thing , which should i delete ?? choose the nvidia display and physx and press scan then delete then restart...
Xeigen
Aug 11 2010, 12:06 AM
I did clean install the driver,i use driversweeper to remove the previous driver but still getting low fps 20-40...i usually play at 60 fps with my old laptop...need help here...
This post has been edited by Xeigen: Aug 11 2010, 12:13 AM
murv90
Aug 11 2010, 12:13 AM
 why so many people having problems with nvidia driver and dota and some other games? i haven't face any problems yet. *touchwood*. only the laptop gets pretty hot while gaming. so i do it in a aircond room.  additional game tried DMC4, Splinter Cell Conviction and COD MW2.  will upload SC's if needed. This post has been edited by murv90: Aug 11 2010, 12:14 AM
dunkiedonuts
Aug 11 2010, 12:33 AM

Hey people. I tried playing x-men jus now. Tried with 2 kinds of settings. One with 50% max processor speed, one with 100% processor speed, and the cpu max temps were 80 and 96 degrees respectively, with gpu 8x degrees. Is it normal?( Using my lappie under ceiling fan and without cooler). And is x-men a graphic intensive game?Thx in advance.
wokan
Aug 11 2010, 12:35 AM

I'm too having problem playing SC2 at medium mode with FPS < 20. I will try to investigate further. One thing for sure is that I'm have not updated the NVIDIA Graphic card driver to the latest version. Still on stock version. Maybe I will upgrade the driver but scare run into problem... I wonder Shall I or Shall I Not upgrade to new gc driver....hmmm...
Xeigen
Aug 11 2010, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(murv90 @ Aug 11 2010, 12:13 AM)  why so many people having problems with nvidia driver and dota and some other games? i haven't face any problems yet. *touchwood*. only the laptop gets pretty hot while gaming. so i do it in a aircond room.  additional game tried DMC4, Splinter Cell Conviction and COD MW2.  will upload SC's if needed. i am able to run Battlefield Bad Company 2 at medium settings around 30 though...I just don't understand why the fps of an old game like warcraft 3 can drop to 20 + mouse lag...
ph0bic
Aug 11 2010, 12:41 AM

gta IV, assasin's creed all smooth but splinter cell conviction got crash on the third mission,,but seriously the heat produce sure cn make heater,,
verdangilte
Aug 11 2010, 01:13 AM
i also duno why , but i willing to choose using intel g card to play dota game
i think should be the optimus option
murv90
Aug 11 2010, 01:20 AM
QUOTE(Xeigen @ Aug 11 2010, 12:40 AM) i am able to run Battlefield Bad Company 2 at medium settings around 30 though...I just don't understand why the fps of an old game like warcraft 3 can drop to 20 + mouse lag... hmm. i used fraps to check while im playing dota just now. fps 30+ only. sometimes it goes 20+ but never lags. QUOTE(ph0bic @ Aug 11 2010, 12:41 AM) gta IV, assasin's creed all smooth but splinter cell conviction got crash on the third mission,,but seriously the heat produce sure cn make heater,, yeah splinter cell got problem i think but i never went that far yet. was just trying. when it was detecting the hardware it said gt335m not supported  . and nfs shift got a few fps drops but for like 0.5seconds. uninstalled the game anyways. sucky.
kevyeoh
Aug 11 2010, 09:08 AM
i play DOTA... my graphics is 310M only...i never update driver...no problem...play smoothly.... is it because of 335M problem? QUOTE(murv90 @ Aug 11 2010, 12:13 AM)  why so many people having problems with nvidia driver and dota and some other games? i haven't face any problems yet. *touchwood*. only the laptop gets pretty hot while gaming. so i do it in a aircond room.  additional game tried DMC4, Splinter Cell Conviction and COD MW2.  will upload SC's if needed.
eugenechiuu
Aug 11 2010, 09:27 AM
i still think it's a software problem though... I often have stuttering and 'hang' 1-2 seconds when watching youtube or playing PES2010... My drivers are the latest and I switched Avast to gaming/silent mode everytime.. Will just have to wait for the new updates ><
Clementooi
Aug 11 2010, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(markypcs @ Aug 2 2010, 09:21 PM) As I said above, Starcraft 2 is not laggy at all on A42Jv running on ultra high setting. May i know which driver did u update? coz my Gt335G not even funtion during play sc2~ bsd, playing dota also will spike~ Bt, others game like lfd and battlefield smooth~ bsedi, gt335g seem only run youtube when using google chrome browser~
verdangilte
Aug 11 2010, 11:24 AM
we need to wait until the nvidia update a new driver for us due on so many problem happen
Clementooi
Aug 11 2010, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Aug 9 2010, 10:07 AM) i'm using U45JC and DOTA runs damn smooth.... all high settings somemore.... i also check my 3D setting and DOTA exe file is in the list.... Added on August 9, 2010, 10:08 amguys... especially sifu leewhat.... got one question here...usually there's a battery icon at the lower right side of our taskbar...where all the icon status is.... my problem is..that battery icon disappear sometimes...i check my settings already...i put the battery setting as 'show icon and notification'...means should appear...but it's not appearing....what's the problem? thanks. mine also in the list~ bt it gonna spiky~ it will bit spike~ intel even more smooth~
Xeigen
Aug 11 2010, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(murv90 @ Aug 11 2010, 01:20 AM) hmm. i used fraps to check while im playing dota just now. fps 30+ only. sometimes it goes 20+ but never lags. Yea dats what i am getting also, but i am not used to it as i usually play at 60fps with my older laptop on ati... Do u got any mouse lag with warcraft?... I didn't know nvidia is this bad... You can try using opengl by adding the parameter -opengl , with opengl i get 60 most of the time and it wont drop below 50...mouse lag is also gone with opengl...
Clementooi
Aug 11 2010, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(Xeigen @ Aug 11 2010, 12:39 PM) Yea dats what i am getting also, but i am not used to it as i usually play at 60fps with my older laptop on ati... Do u got any mouse lag with warcraft?... I didn't know nvidia is this bad... You can try using opengl by adding the parameter -opengl , with opengl i get 60 most of the time and it wont drop below 50...mouse lag is also gone with opengl... Sorry~ bt how to do so?
fhatz
Aug 11 2010, 12:51 PM

use this for ur referent.. all about graphic laptop + the benchmark that probably u will get but depend on others spec also.. Notebook Check
Xeigen
Aug 11 2010, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(Clementooi @ Aug 11 2010, 12:49 PM) Create a shortcut of the warcraft, then right click and choose properties...In the target box add the parameter "-opengl" without the quotes Mine looks like this "D:\User\Games\Warcraft 1.24b\Warcraft III 1.24\Frozen Throne.exe" -opengl
lady joe joe
Aug 11 2010, 04:32 PM
its weird tet some ppl can run sc2 smoothly on ultra setting while some cannot although all using the same laptop...
chang3rd
Aug 11 2010, 04:48 PM

Hey guys,
I have a A52Jr bought in February 2010 i3-350M, HD 5470, 2GB RAM, Win7-64bit
AFAIK, this machine should be able to handle some rather impressive games at moderate settings at least ? Right now, I have problems playing TF2. I've tried putting all the settings at low but sometimes it still "hangs" for about 30secs in the game before coming back alive, but by then I'd have been dead. its rather annoying..
i think i have updated my graphic cards driver, but I'm not sure.. how to check current driver version ? whats the current driver version for HD 5470 ?
another thing, will upgrading ram to 4gb help ? if i upgrade ram myself now.. will i void the warranty ?