Asus A42J/A52J (C/K/R/V) Versatile Performance, Review n discussion

AlexLai
post Aug 24 2010, 05:34 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 24 2010, 05:30 PM)
Nobody has encountered/ solution to the problem i mentioned before? pressing the on/off button the screen has nothing but only background light, even the ASUS logo doesnt show. requires a force shut down. After 10 minutes it is fine. @.@??
I think that might be enough to warrant RMA.
RedDevils88
post Aug 24 2010, 05:49 PM

3,244 posts

it is only 1 week old.. but it seems the problem is gone. i think it is caused by a 4 port USB hub that i m using. it happened right after i plugged that into my laptop. now that i'm not using it, this problem hasn't occur so far. hope that that's the case! no wonder my brother isnt using that USB hub =_=

This post has been edited by RedDevils88: Aug 24 2010, 05:51 PM
Ultima
post Aug 24 2010, 05:53 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

ok guys...

erm wht caused the wifi to turn on automatically even when i turn it off?

i cant seem to turn off my wifi as it will turn on automatically sweat.gif
eugenechiuu
post Aug 24 2010, 05:54 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Aug 24 2010, 05:07 PM)
80 degree C still fine. NVidia card can support up to 100+ degree C.

Notebook X-Lite if turn to High mode can spin the fan around 2000 rpm.
Apparently, it should drop the temperature +/- 17 degree C.

Just monitor that.
Hmm did u get the impression of another cooler?? It's the rm45-50 cooler master notepal x-lite I am talking about.. It only has 1 big fan in the middle and 1 fan speed... No, it doesn't really help much for my A42Jv ><... Maybe due to the size of laptop barely fitting the small cooler.. Mine cools around 4-5 degrees only

And yes, 80+ is fine but that should be temperature WITHOUT a cooler wor... Mine was with a cooler and air conditioned room

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Aug 24 2010, 05:56 PM
RedDevils88
post Aug 24 2010, 05:59 PM

3,244 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Aug 24 2010, 05:54 PM)
Hmm did u get the impression of another cooler?? It's the rm45-50 cooler master notepal x-lite I am talking about.. It only has 1 big fan in the middle and 1 fan speed... No, it doesn't really help much for my A42Jv ><... Maybe due to the size of laptop barely fitting the small cooler.. Mine cools around 4-5 degrees only

And yes, 80+ is fine but that should be temperature WITHOUT a cooler wor... Mine was with a cooler and air conditioned room
i am using the notepal E1 and that cooler is HUGE! rclxub.gif
wokan
post Aug 24 2010, 06:13 PM

61 posts

Maybe I mistaken on this one...lol.
You should get Notepal Infinite (without 4 port USB hub). Around RM85-90.
That actually have 3 fan speed low spins at 1000 rpm, mid at 1500 RPM, High speed spins at 2000 rpm
with lowering temperature up to +/- 17 degree C.

I'm not sure whether air-cond rooms helps in lowering your GPU temperature significantly
as the heat generated usually disperse by the Cooler Master.

Huge cooler is nothing if the fan does not spins fast enough and blow at the critical component CPU, GPU.

Hope this helps!

This post has been edited by wokan: Aug 24 2010, 06:14 PM
evazym79
post Aug 24 2010, 08:02 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(eball88 @ Aug 24 2010, 02:21 PM)
can topic starter point up the info on how to settle up the problem rise on nvidia geforce gt335m cuda since there are so many info that confusing others member who using the nvidia geforce gt335m... thk you  icon_question.gif  cry.gif
discuss about all range or nvidia M - mobile version too please. smile.gif
SUSgogo2
post Aug 24 2010, 08:04 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Ok, new thread already have tutorial how to set 335M.

Please stop posting in this thread so that new thread can have more information
evazym79
post Aug 24 2010, 08:09 PM

15 posts

how abt super low end 310m 1gb cuda?
budingyun
post Aug 24 2010, 08:11 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

new thread~~

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1537350 biggrin.gif
SUSgogo2
post Aug 24 2010, 08:16 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(evazym79 @ Aug 24 2010, 08:09 PM)
how abt super low end 310m 1gb cuda?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1537350
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 12:10 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

i am researching to buy a laptop for my sister use. She will mainly use it for lecturing, doing some light animation works, and some CAD/CAM stuff. Her budget is below RM3,000.

Is the Asus A42 series with i3-370M and Nvidia Geforce 310M good enough? Is the A-Series Asus laptop generally good build quality?

I have a general perception that Asus laptops have good build quality but dun know which series is better than another. Noob in Asus laptop.

Thanks. smile.gif
eugenechiuu
post Aug 26 2010, 12:16 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 26 2010, 12:10 AM)
i am researching to buy a laptop for my sister use.  She will mainly use it for lecturing, doing some light animation works, and some CAD/CAM stuff.  Her budget is below RM3,000.

Is the Asus A42 series with i3-370M and Nvidia Geforce 310M good enough?  Is the A-Series Asus laptop generally good build quality?

I have a general perception that Asus laptops have good build quality but dun know which series is better than another.  Noob in Asus laptop.

Thanks.  smile.gif
check new thread

Asus A42Jv FTW

A42JV [SRP-RM2, 599] offer: RM2470
I5-450M 2.4GHz, 14”, 2GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Win 7HP, nVidia GT 335M 1GB GDDR3

Get 2gb ram upgrade as well so would be around rm2.6k...

Best choice u could get for that budget..

Else there is a new Acer 4820TG coming up during mid-end september which has similar specs except the GPU is HD5650 and RRP is rm2699, that one has better battery life...
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 12:37 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Aug 26 2010, 12:16 AM)
check new thread

Asus A42Jv FTW

A42JV [SRP-RM2, 599] offer: RM2470
I5-450M 2.4GHz, 14”, 2GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Win 7HP, nVidia GT 335M 1GB GDDR3

Get 2gb ram upgrade as well so would be around rm2.6k...

Best choice u could get for that budget..

Else there is a new Acer 4820TG coming up during mid-end september which has similar specs except the GPU is HD5650 and RRP is rm2699, that one has better battery life...
thanks for the recommendation. It looks like a good choice. thumbup.gif
verdangilte
post Aug 26 2010, 12:41 AM

1,379 posts

OMG
A42JV only 2470?? 
stalkerrox
post Aug 26 2010, 10:27 AM

1,587 posts

Guys i wanna ask how to make the nvidia graphics to run at lower frequency?
when i open CpuZ it shows my GT 335m can run at lower Mhz when running just 2d desktop apps...
now my graphic idle is always 450 Mhz / 790 Mhz @ 0.90V
temp is around 57-59 degrees
wokan
post Aug 26 2010, 11:33 AM

61 posts

Guys, this thread is long enough and don't want looking at 2 same type of thread.

Please visit new thread V2.

Link below

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1537350

Moderator, please lock this thread. TQ.

0.0169sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:49 PM