VAIO Club V2.5, make.believe

TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:38 AM, updated 13y ago

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

Introduction
Welcome to the club version 2.5. Thanks to all for the contributions and commitment given on V1 and V2. The purpose of this thread is to gather information and in the same share tips and guides with each users. If you have information which useful for all user do not hesitate to send a message to me with a title of VAIO Update.

Quick Links

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Dec 25 2012, 12:23 AM
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:39 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

VAIO S Series

VAIO E Series

VAIO T Series

VAIO Duo Series (Slate or Keyboard PC features)

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Dec 25 2012, 12:20 AM
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:39 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

- None -

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Dec 25 2012, 12:26 AM
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:40 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

VAIO Tips Section

For more information, please proceed to MySony Workshop website: https://mysony.sony.com.my/MyWorkshop/WorkshopListing.aspx

This workshop cover on varieties of Sony products, not limited to VAIO notebooks.

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Dec 25 2012, 12:31 AM
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:40 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

Current / Upcoming VAIO Packages & Promotion

Sony Style VAIO PC Fair Promotion:

- Null -

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Apr 30 2010, 06:34 PM
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:41 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

Frequently Asked Questions (F.A.Q)

1. Why should i choose Sony VAIO while there are a lot of laptops from different brand offer the same/higher specification with cheaper price?

1. Branding. : Yes, have to admit this. any Sony notebook will cost a lil bit expensive than the one with similar specs.
2. Quality. : I have experienced and honestly said that their notebook quality can be qualified from mediocre to elite. I'm satisfied with its built quality, its more sturdy than the Acer i used earlier if i want to compare them. Its always the best to play around with the notebooks at their store. This apply to any product you are going to buy.
3. Design : The notebook is design to have decent looks and it is always top-notch when Sony designing their notebook.
4. LCD: Beauitful LCD screen ever. period.

*Thanks to Miyabi for the useful info.

2. Which model of VAIO is suitable for me?

- Depends on your needs and preferences. If you just using laptop for lightweight usage like office work and browsing internet, consider the P series because of its total portability. If you want a bigger screen, portable and more faster, consider the TT series. If you need a powerful, lightweight, portable PC have a go on Z series. If you need all in one PC which is good in performance, go for CR or SR. If you need the best performance with video editing function and such, consider FW or AW. You want a desktop replacement, please consider the TP series which is comes with Blu Ray and HDMI output or JS. If you have PS3 or handycam or Blu Ray player, consider the LN model because it comes with HDMI input function.

3. I have problems with my VAIO, who and where should i refer to?

- You can refer to any Sony Styles outlets which are located in KLCC, Berjaya Times Square, The Curve Damansara and Johor Baharu. The friendly Sony Styles staffs will advise you what you have to do and will try to solve your issue or answering your questions. If however they are unable to resolve the issue, you will be advised to either send your VAIO to the Sony's service center directly yourself or you can send your VAIO to Sony Style. They will help you to send your VAIO to the service center.

4. Which one is faster? Send directly to Sony Service Center or to the Sony Style?

- Sony Style is just the collection center. They don't have any technical team. They need to bring your VAIO to the service center however it took arround 2 weeks to get the issue resolved. If you want to get it done quickly, just head directly to their Service Center.

5. Where is Sony Service Center located?

- North Point, Midvalley. The Curve, Mutiara Damansara

6. How much do i need to pay for servicing in case my VAIO's warranty is already expired?

- Sony Service Center team will escalate the issue and will inform you what is the issue your VAIO is having and will quote you the pricing before repairing. The pricing/charges is depends on the problem like the spare part that is need to be replaced etc.

7. The charges is bloody expensive, can i decide to not to repair my VAIO?

- Yes. However there is small estimation refused charge which is RM20

8. What is V.O.S? Do i need it?

- VAIO Oversea Service.

9. I would like to purchase a VAIO by installment. Does Sony Style provide 0% installment scheme?

- Yes. From Maybank, Citibank, RHB Bank, HSBC and Standard Charted credit card.

10. Question:
A fully charged battery is being drained despite the computer is not turned on.
Answer:
Due to the following factors, the Li-ion battery power of the computer will always drain.

The proper running of Real-Time Clock (RTC) and CMOS consumes internal battery power.
Once the battery is inserted, the computer will not use the internal battery to run Real-Time Clock (RTC).

The power switch of the computer models after PC97 (※) is a soft switch.
The switch does not control the turn-on or turn-off of circuit directly, but sends turn on or off power signals to the controller of power manager to perform the operation.
When the computer is connected with the battery or power adapter, the controller managing power is usually in galvanical state which consumes power.

※  PC97 --- Microsoft recommend users to use the hardware specifications which can guarantee the proper running of Windows 95、Windows NT or more advanced Operating System.

Using microprocessor to send signals also consumes power.
VAIO battery is equipped with the microprocessor to check the battery state (the surplus capacity of battery, the current value when the battery is charged or discharged, the temperature of battery and so on).

As mentioned above, besides discharging automatically, the battery power is still drained no matter whether it is inserted in the computer or removed.
Therefore, the battery power is consumed even if the VAIO computer has been turned off.

* Both the microprocessor of battery and the Power Management Controller are running on power though the required amount of power is small.
     For Li-ion batteries of video cameras or computers of other brands, the same amount of power will be drained when used in the same way.

* For different models of VAIO notebook, the power consumption remains the same, disregarding the status of the computers. For different models of VAIO notebook in the same status, the discharged power quantity is basically the same in a specific period.
     Therefore, compared to computers with larger capacity batteries, computers with small capacity batteries may run for a shorter period of time.

※  Besides the capacity of battery, other factors such as the aging degree or temperature will influence the time of totally discharging.

Please refer to the following example for comparison of computers with larger capacity batteries and computers with small capacity and the running time.

Suppose there are two computers with different types of batteries as follows.

* Computer A: battery with 11.1V output voltage/4300mAh capacity
   * Computer B: battery with 11.1V output voltage/2000mAh capacity

Suppose the consumed quantity of power is 200mAH per day, what is surplus capacity of battery 10 days later?

* Computer A :4300 - 200 x 10 = 2300 (mAh) about 53%
   * Computer B :2000 - 200 x 10 = 0 (mAh) 0%

Thus, computer B with small capacity of power finishes discharging first.
Source: http://www.sony-asia.com/support/faq/270695
More information, proceed here: http://batteryuniversity.com/
This post has been edited by Miyabi: Dec 25 2012, 12:35 AM
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:42 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

VAIO Support Section

Warranty

VAIO Recovery Disc

Steps to Recover your VAIO

Downgrade Option to Windows XP

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Aug 23 2010, 01:10 AM
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 01:42 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

VAIO Users

VAIO Z

Previous Gen:
1. shinjin - VPCZ115GG/B
2. Bugeca - VPCZ115GG/B
3. verticalforce - VPCZ115GG/B
4. nck2205 - VPCZ116GG/B
5. strioch - VPCZ128GG/XQ
6. Effaw995 - VPCZ126GG/B

Previous Gen:
1. speedfamgirl - Z36GD/B
2. Arapan - Z36GD/J
3. hangy2k - Z27GD
4. Miyabi - Z12GN
5. adrian7386- Z56GG
VAIO S
1. PopYourHead - SVS13116FG
-------------------
New Gen: SB series:
1. lonewolfchua - SB16FG
2. zze121 - SB16FG
3. hijau1203 -SB18GG
4. hiroki8704 - SB26FG
5. the golden sukuk - SB16FG

Previous Gen:
1. kimwee85- VPCS117GG/B
2. kazama82 - VPCS117GG/B
3. alwinnng - SR12G
VAIO DUO
1. dannygeni - DUO 11
VAIO X
1. webwithoutwires - VPCX125LG
2. little ice - VPCX127LG
3. hiroki8704
VAIO Y
1. WhiteWing - VPCY115FG/S
2. Bugeca - VPCY115FG/S
VAIO P
1. tpl - P15G
2. edvpc - P25
3. jtdc - P25G
VAIO E
1. Liquid_Snake02 - SVE14A15FG
-------------------
1. drmdarif81 - EA16FG
2. Twinchest - VPEA15FG
3. kae7 - EA16FG
4. Sieg15 - EA16FG
5. Frostlord - EA36
5. sayming - EA336
6. MoonLite-DreamZ - EB42FX
VAIO F
1. mrashdi - VPCF135FG
VAIO CA
1. Strawberry<3 - VPCCA35FG

VAIO CW
1. jasmine_09 - CW16FG
2. quest_5692 - CW26FG
3. kaoru - CW26FG
Discontinued Model:

VAIO TT
1. hasratusaha - TT25GN

VAIO TZ
1. vaio.crazee - TZ37 with Win 7 Upgrade

VAIO CS
1. jacklsw86 - CS16
2. happy_she - CS16G/P
3. ryosuke - CS16G
4. Hoegaarden - CS16G/W
5. dollah_reader- CS36G/R
6. tim55 - CS36J/W
7. Kreet543 - CS36GJ/T

VAIO SR
1. Gilthoniel - SR35/B
2. tgrrr - SR36/B
3. se7enhafiz - sr12G
4. Revamperz - SR55

VAIO FW
1. 5uresh - FW33G
2. CrossX - FW35G
3. milosevens - FW23G
4. whis - FW33G
5. visioz - FW12G
6. ChrisD - FW43G
7. slanderesk - FW46GJ/B
8. presario316 - FW46GJ/B
9. DalphinuS - FW590
10. lethalyellow - VGN-FW56GF
11. shankar_dass93 - VGN-FW56GF
12. sli vs crossfire - VGN-FW55GF
13. jtdc - PCG-FXA47

VAIO NS
1. aza_360 - NS25G

VAIO NW
1. NismoSTI - NW25GF
2. kencsgoo - VGN-NW25GF

VAIO LM
1. Savlon

VAIO TP
1. webwithoutwires - TP3G

VAIO SZ
1. webwithoutwires - SZ75GN

VAIO CR
1. zippo86 - CR353/W

VAIO LJ
1. hibiki0104 - LJ25G

VAIO AR
1. kirakun - AR59GU

VAIO C
1. EmperorMeng - C13/B
2. pristina - C16G
3. Miyabi - C22GH

VAIO B
1. speedfamgirl - B66GP

*Please PM or leave message in this thread to have your name in the list. State your model as well.

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Dec 25 2012, 12:25 AM
DalphinuS
post Apr 29 2010, 02:09 AM

133 posts

Wow... The list of the users of respective model has been clean up a bit huh?

Previously the FW users were like a bunch...

Thanks miyabi for the hard work initiating this new thread- V2.5!
maxizanc
post Apr 29 2010, 02:16 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(DalphinuS @ Apr 29 2010, 02:09 AM)
Wow... The list of the users of respective model has been clean up a bit huh?

Previously the FW users were like a bunch...

Thanks miyabi for the hard work initiating this new thread- V2.5!
No, it's still 11 user same as previous version.

@Miyabi has very wide knowledge about VAIO and a VAIO user himself and also he is a regular. Posting in the previous thread regularly. 226 total post full of information and willingness to help other VAIO user hence i hand over the job as thread starter to him.

i apologize to everyone because i rarely update the thread. I feel guilty that is why i think i should stop being the thread starter.

Thanks to all of you and @ Miyabi. Have fun. smile.gif
TSMiyabi
post Apr 29 2010, 02:21 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

The user list will be updated. Just its going to take some time since im going to update the other parts of the thread.
kimwee85
post Apr 30 2010, 12:44 AM

143 posts

thanks to u guys who hv update and posted useful info here. biggrin.gif
welldone.
webwithoutwires
post Apr 30 2010, 02:00 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Apr 29 2010, 01:42 AM)
VAIO Users

VAIO Z
VAIO TT
VAIO CW
VAIO CS
VAIO SR
VAIO P
VAIO FW
VAIO NS

VAIO NW
VAIO LM
VAIO TP
VAIO SZ
VAIO CR
VAIO LJ
VAIO AR
VAIO C
VAIO Band dvd diff?

*Please PM or leave message in this thread to have your name in the list. State your model as well.
add me in for a VPCX125LG

my TP3 has a problem, i have a demo disc in blueray which i could play earlier but now cant even detect the disc in tray... otehr DVDs and CDs no problems.. what could be wrong? if teh lens for blueray and dvd diff?

can i upgrade my TP3 form vista to windows 7?

Thanks in advance
DalphinuS
post Apr 30 2010, 03:01 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Apr 29 2010, 02:16 AM)
No, it's still 11 user same as previous version.

@Miyabi has very wide knowledge about VAIO and a VAIO user himself and also he is a regular. Posting in the previous thread regularly. 226 total post full of information and willingness to help other VAIO user hence i hand over the job as thread starter to him.
i apologize to everyone because i rarely update the thread. I feel guilty that is why i think i should stop being the thread starter.

Thanks to all of you and @ Miyabi. Have fun. smile.gif
Dun be so humble.

Both of u did a great job solving all VAIO enthusiasts here.

Keep them up!

I have a question, dunno if it's related.
I wanna make my FW more cooler, any way to do that?
Using a cooler fan isn't help anything...

I saw some cooler gel pad, are those helping? As it's cool conductance & dissipate heat from the lappie base. But I believe it'll block the air vent at the base... Will this works?

Dun like my armrest getting warm (while in room temp without a/c).
WhiteWing
post Apr 30 2010, 05:37 PM

2,854 posts

I'm in ... well done on Vaio new thread biggrin.gif ~ I am proud owner of Vaio Y series smile.gif
TSMiyabi
post Apr 30 2010, 06:02 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(DalphinuS @ Apr 30 2010, 03:01 PM)
Dun be so humble.

Both of u did a great job solving all VAIO enthusiasts here.

Keep them up!

I have a question, dunno if it's related.
I wanna make my FW more cooler, any way to do that?
Using a cooler fan isn't help anything...

I saw some cooler gel pad, are those helping? As it's cool conductance & dissipate heat from the lappie base. But I believe it'll block the air vent at the base... Will this works?

Dun like my armrest getting warm (while in room temp without a/c).
i would still suggest to use flat surface, e.g table wood/glass to ensure the air flow is good under the notebook.
another way to cool down the notebook, is by undervolt the processor: http://forum.notebookreview.com/hardware-c...ting-guide.html
guide provide by flipfire
DalphinuS
post May 1 2010, 01:36 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Apr 30 2010, 06:02 PM)
i would still suggest to use flat surface, e.g table wood/glass to ensure the air flow is good under the notebook.
another way to cool down the notebook, is by undervolt the processor: http://forum.notebookreview.com/hardware-c...ting-guide.html
guide provide by flipfire
Is this thing Windows7 supported?

U tried this out yet?
TSMiyabi
post May 1 2010, 06:03 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(DalphinuS @ May 1 2010, 01:36 AM)
Is this thing Windows7 supported?

U tried this out yet?
am not sure, but try on vista works.. just you have to ensure that the software to downlock the cpu run everytime the windows starts.
Izwan898
post May 1 2010, 05:57 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

Anyone have any idea when will E series be available in our market?
dRaKoZ
post May 1 2010, 06:17 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ May 1 2010, 05:57 PM)
Anyone have any idea when will E series be available in our market?
should be more specific saying EA16 series D: whistling.gif E series (EB) is actually out already >.<"

84 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:30 AM