our KOTMJ spy will surely let us know the location soon enough.
The suiting thread v2
Sep 19 2011, 04:33 PM
323 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
our KOTMJ spy will surely let us know the location soon enough.
Sep 19 2011, 05:47 PM
3,802 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: City of Anggerik |
lei chau seong
Sep 20 2011, 02:09 PM
9,333 posts Joined: May 2009 |
3rd fitting this saturday at wardrobe. U know.... i would look forward to these more if they hire some hot looking CS officers there... they dont need to know much, just stand there trying to be helpful would more then suffice..
os : Maybe that's somehting kakmj can look into when he start taking order.. |
Sep 20 2011, 02:39 PM
Yes I will hire ravishingly beautiful girls (part-time college students) to service my customers in the shop. They will be dressed very tastefully (men's taste, not women's). Think Victoria's Secret.
Added on September 20, 2011, 3:06 pmI discovered a shop in KL that sells skins. Leather, but the whole piece. The price sounds quite reasonable too. They have several hundred types there. Thinking of making a leather holster for my Shozaburo. This post has been edited by kotmj: Sep 20 2011, 03:06 PM |
Sep 20 2011, 11:47 PM
201 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 20 2011, 02:39 PM) Yes I will hire ravishingly beautiful girls (part-time college students) to service my customers in the shop. They will be dressed very tastefully (men's taste, not women's). Think Victoria's Secret. where is it? i was thinking of making some different coloured belt straps to get a perfect match with my shoe colours. Added on September 20, 2011, 3:06 pmI discovered a shop in KL that sells skins. Leather, but the whole piece. The price sounds quite reasonable too. They have several hundred types there. Thinking of making a leather holster for my Shozaburo. once i master that i will move on to watch straps, and then to important stuff like whips and leashes. |
Sep 21 2011, 10:26 PM
Lokemui is coming to KL to do his internship, I wonder if anyone has warned him not to go out alone at night to 7/11 or wherever because of all the indonesian workers who go about in groups and who are very horny
Sep 21 2011, 10:36 PM
2,114 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 20 2011, 02:39 PM) Yes I will hire ravishingly beautiful girls (part-time college students) to service my customers in the shop. They will be dressed very tastefully (men's taste, not women's). Think Victoria's Secret. +1 for beautiful college studentsAdded on September 20, 2011, 3:06 pmI discovered a shop in KL that sells skins. Leather, but the whole piece. The price sounds quite reasonable too. They have several hundred types there. Thinking of making a leather holster for my Shozaburo. QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 21 2011, 10:26 PM) Lokemui is coming to KL to do his internship, I wonder if anyone has warned him not to go out alone at night to 7/11 or wherever because of all the indonesian workers who go about in groups and who are very horny LOL |
Sep 21 2011, 11:38 PM
I wonder what sort of misadventures Lokemui will have in KL. Looking forward to his stories.
Sep 24 2011, 08:23 PM
59 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Hi guy, i plan to commission a SB from ah like.was wondering whether 350 grams for fabric is a bit too heavy for Malaysian weather. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MOHAIR-WOOL-WORS...8e#ht_787wt_689
Sep 24 2011, 10:43 PM
21 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(Terrorsquad @ Sep 24 2011, 10:23 PM) Hi guy, i plan to commission a SB from ah like.was wondering whether 350 grams for fabric is a bit too heavy for Malaysian weather. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MOHAIR-WOOL-WORS...8e#ht_787wt_689 *sound of lurker emerging from the depths* Hi guys, pleasure to "meet" you all. I must say its great to see a Malaysian community of sartorially inclined men, some with extensive experience with bespoke garments.Back to your question - I'm sure some of the sifus here will chime in, but from personal experience, looking prima facie from the weight of the cloth 11.5oz's is not so heavy that it would disqualify it from consideration for wear in tropical weather. However, cloth weight is just one aspect. What is the fabric weave like? If the fabric is open weaved it will wear cooler. Also what jacket lining are you going for? If you get the jacket unlined/quarter lined, it will help make it wear cooler than a fully lined jacket. Take these factors into consideration as well in addition to the weight of the cloth. That being said, the cloth is in a great colour and it looks like it will make a great looking suit - 40% mohair will give it plenty of luster (aka 'disco shine') which in my opinion will give the garment some character. Post back the results if you decide to commission a jacket with it. |
Sep 25 2011, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(Terrorsquad @ Sep 24 2011, 08:23 PM) Hi guy, i plan to commission a SB from ah like.was wondering whether 350 grams for fabric is a bit too heavy for Malaysian weather. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MOHAIR-WOOL-WORS...8e#ht_787wt_689 Barathea is a tight twill weave. Not breathable, not stretchable. Choose something else or buy what shanecross bought from dugsdale. |
Sep 25 2011, 10:41 AM
Thanks guys. I have contacted Howard and he has recommended the following fabric:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/KID-MOHAIR-WOOL-...=item519b17e5bd I know kotmj will disagree but i also checked out Binwani's in Jalan TAR and after lengthy negotiations, i was offered Scabal's 100's for 3.5 metres for RM800 from the original price of RM550 a meter. I am leaning to the fabric above though i need the suit fast. hence the Scabal is being considered. How long does it take for the cloth from British Fabrics to arrive here? "6" =i plan to have it fully lined as i have managed to procure emarzine from a friend in england. Anyway, as an introduction i plan to make a SB to attend corporate meetings. After reading 120 pages of this thread, coupled with kotmj's thread and various threads in SF, i have a basic understanding of what i want for my SB. Paid a visit to Ah Loke yesterday and was quoted a fair price. Told him what i wanted ie fully canvassed, high armholes, 3' padded horsehair lapels, horn buttons, a waisted jacket, sloping natural shoulders and many more. Was showed some fabric by Ah Loke but declined as i remembered kotmj's advice on procuring fabric from tailors. Would appreciate guidance from the sifus here as i still have a long way before i reach their level. Will definitely post the results of the jacket for any criticism or advise. |
Sep 25 2011, 11:06 AM
21 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(Terrorsquad @ Sep 25 2011, 12:41 PM) Thanks guys. I have contacted Howard and he has recommended the following fabric: You negotiated it up to RM800? Remind me not to go shopping with you after lengthy negotiations, i was offered Scabal's 100's for 3.5 metres for RM800 from the original price of RM550 a meter. All the best in your collaboration with ALT. |
Sep 25 2011, 11:57 AM
I recommend you get 3.5 meters of this. It's a very good fresco.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/100-WOOL-WORSTED...=item519b16adaa |
Sep 25 2011, 02:34 PM
That's a very good price for the fabric that you recommended kotmj. I'll consider it. Any opinions on the link for the cloth I posted?
Sep 25 2011, 05:23 PM
That SKM cloth is obviously high grade but who knows how it really is? That fresco OTOH I've seen up close in person.
Sep 25 2011, 06:21 PM
Ok,thanks for your opinion kotmj
Sep 28 2011, 12:49 AM
Hmm.. have a dinner coming up. Will be wearing a suit but thinking of skipping the tie. Reckon a button down collar shirt would be the best choice?
Sep 28 2011, 07:36 PM
Best choice would be just the jacket on skin. Preferably with hairy chest.
Sep 28 2011, 07:46 PM
| Change to: | 0.0339sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:19 PM |