Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V39!, The Orange Legion

neo_lam
post Apr 22 2010, 01:46 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 22 2010, 01:38 PM)
neo_lam : What is the reason for your upgrade to FF? Is there anything that you do not like or cannot get when using the A700?

If you are going FF just because you want to upgade for upgrading sake then I would advise you to wait for the A7xx

Going FF is changing format already. Apart from the need to get FF lenses, there are these things to consider:

1. The DOF changes. It gets narrower for the same aperture. If f4 can do in APS-C you will need at least a f5.6 or f6.3 when using FF. That means shooting much slower than you normally do.
wow...thanks bro for enlighten me....ur point makes me consider into more deeply of my mind....
Gouki
post Apr 22 2010, 01:49 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 22 2010, 01:38 PM)
neo_lam : What is the reason for your upgrade to FF? Is there anything that you do not like or cannot get when using the A700?

well said bro~ one of the many reasons why i stay at apsc as a hobbyist~ thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Apr 22 2010, 01:50 PM
kev da man
post Apr 22 2010, 02:03 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 22 2010, 01:06 PM)
Maybe the 16-35mm just causes people to move slightly due to its weight, LOL!

He was not using AF-C. That is not what AF Microadjust does - it's to correct for aperture-related focus shift and other cases where due to optical complications the AF unit brings the lens to front/backfocus. If he got it in focus correctly, and locked focus, and moved back, that is user error already!
had to reread that to fully comprehend ahahaha.
zstan
post Apr 22 2010, 02:05 PM

15,856 posts

hmmm..nice point about full frame.. i guess i should invest in better lenses rather than changing bodies.. rolleyes.gif

speaking of 16-80mm..how much does it cost?
neo_lam
post Apr 22 2010, 02:10 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 22 2010, 02:05 PM)
hmmm..nice point about full frame.. i guess i should invest in better lenses rather than changing bodies.. rolleyes.gif

speaking of 16-80mm..how much does it cost?
rm2500 can get...really good on apsc body...
signither
post Apr 22 2010, 02:16 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 22 2010, 01:29 PM)
neo_lam : signither win la these case. zzzz. Defend you just now, now you bomb me. Sigh.
oi oi. why bomb me pulak? vmad.gif

tongue.gif
zstan
post Apr 22 2010, 02:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Apr 22 2010, 02:10 PM)
rm2500 can get...really good on apsc body...
ok..i be will posting that on my facebook wall everyday stating i wan dat as my birthday present next year.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Apr 22 2010, 02:26 PM
jamesies
post Apr 22 2010, 02:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Apr 22 2010, 10:30 AM)
three weeks? i had back mine in one. forgot to pick it up summore from Sony's curve branch LOL
X_X~
yeah~
the fellow there say, will give me a call by 2 weeks time,
and tell me how much to pay for the repairing..
instead of telling me how much it cost to repair it.
they called me in 3 weeks time n tell me my baby is back on track XD

Added on April 22, 2010, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 22 2010, 02:23 PM)
ok..i be will posting that on my facebook wall everyday stating i wan dat as my birthday present next year.. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif
get lah sony 2875 f2.8 sam =D
i think its for both aps-c and FF XD

This post has been edited by jamesies: Apr 22 2010, 02:35 PM
zstan
post Apr 22 2010, 02:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jamesies @ Apr 22 2010, 02:29 PM)
X_X~
yeah~
the fellow there say, will give me a call by 2 weeks time,
and tell me how much to pay for the repairing..
instead of telling me how much it cost to repair it.
they called me in 3 weeks time n tell me my baby is back on track XD

rclxms.gif
haha..i prefer a wider angle..28 mm a bit mafan when taking group shots...even so on aps-c..
Zicron
post Apr 22 2010, 02:42 PM

Come to the Dark Side
899 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 22 2010, 02:39 PM)
haha..i prefer a wider angle..28 mm a bit mafan when taking group shots...even so on aps-c..
then u'll need 16mm, which is same as 24mm on FF
likito
post Apr 22 2010, 02:43 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(jamesies @ Apr 22 2010, 02:29 PM)

rclxms.gif
i totally give up SAM lens wink.gif , unless sony gonna improve it .
shootkk
post Apr 22 2010, 02:44 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Do NOT get the 28-75mm f2.8 SAM if you think that 18mm on your APS-C is not wide enough.

Although it is a FF lens and can be used on both FF and APS-C body, the 28mm on an APS-C will give you an angle of view that is 42mm.

For those of you who are not sure what I am talking about, turn your kitlens almost to the 50mm mark and look through your viewfinder. If you can live with that being the widest you can go, then you can consider getting the lens.

Just because it is a f2.8 constant aperture lens does not make it a good lens for you. If it does not suit your needs, the f2.8 constant aperture counts for NOTHING. Ditto for 24-70mm f2.8 lenses. Anyone of you guys with APS-C body thinking of getting that focal length, turn your kitlenses to 36mm, tape it there and use that for one week at least without removing the tape. If you can live with that, then you can get the lens.
neo_lam
post Apr 22 2010, 02:45 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Apr 22 2010, 02:43 PM)
i totally give up SAM lens  wink.gif , unless sony gonna improve it .
2875 same like the others??

Added on April 22, 2010, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 22 2010, 02:44 PM)
Do NOT get the 28-75mm f2.8 SAM if you think that 18mm on your APS-C is not wide enough.

Although it is a FF lens and can be used on both FF and APS-C body, the 28mm on an APS-C will give you an angle of view that is 42mm.

For those of you who are not sure what I am talking about, turn your kitlens almost to the 50mm mark and look through your viewfinder. If you can live with that being the widest you can go, then you can consider getting the lens.

Just because it is a f2.8 constant aperture lens does not make it a good lens for you. If it does not suit your needs, the f2.8 constant aperture counts for NOTHING. Ditto for 24-70mm f2.8 lenses. Anyone of you guys with APS-C body thinking of getting that focal length, turn your kitlenses to 36mm, tape it there and use that for one week at least without removing the tape. If you can live with that, then you can get the lens.
bro...turn to 28mm would be the same...not 50mm coz its almost 75mm on apsc...

This post has been edited by neo_lam: Apr 22 2010, 02:47 PM
zstan
post Apr 22 2010, 02:53 PM

15,856 posts

that's why i want the 16-80mm...not using full frame...widest at 50mm can have to stand 5 metres away only can take group shot wei..@@
albnok
post Apr 22 2010, 02:56 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Also, have you maximized your camera?

I say, I have not maximized my A900. Why? Because it has the potential to print LARGE. Huge like walking-past-floor-height in KLCC tunnel LARGE.

I haven't gotten to the level where I have clients with budgets where I can afford to have a make up artist, hairstylist, art director (and me, to press the shutter.) The A900 was designed to be a studio camera for making high-resolution prints. You can even print a billboard with it!

The biggest I've ever printed is 30x20".

Sometimes I look at pictures I took 4 months ago, and think "hmmm, I could've done better." And I keep thinking that whenever I look back. There is still so much to improve or make better, or a different angle to shoot, or a different expression to express.

So, long way for me to go.
neo_lam
post Apr 22 2010, 03:04 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 22 2010, 02:56 PM)

I say, I have not maximized my A900. Why? Because it has the potential to print LARGE. Huge like walking-past-floor-height in KLCC tunnel LARGE.

I haven't gotten to the level where I have clients with budgets where I can afford to have a make up artist, hairstylist, art director (and me, to press the shutter.) The A900 was designed to be a studio camera for making high-resolution prints. You can even print a billboard with it!

Sometimes I look at pictures I took 4 months ago, and think "hmmm, I could've done better." And I keep thinking that whenever I look back. There is still so much to improve or make better, or a different angle to shoot, or a different expression to express.

bro..nice point...will reconsider everything....
shootkk
post Apr 22 2010, 03:06 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

neo_lam: You're right! Sorry for that mistake.... crap.. being using the A850 for too long ady... hehehehe...
neo_lam
post Apr 22 2010, 03:11 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 22 2010, 03:06 PM)
neo_lam: You're right! Sorry for that mistake.... crap.. being using the A850 for too long ady... hehehehe...
ok..its customary actions.... icon_rolleyes.gif
lugiamcg
post Apr 22 2010, 03:11 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 21 2010, 06:50 PM)
lugiamcg: Yes the D90 has a bad case of rolling shutter (a few of my colleagues have it.) I haven't played with the 550D but the 7D does have the rolling shutter effect.

I have a Cybershot WX1 with Exmor R but I haven't really recorded video from it. I'll try to.

Sony has recently launched a full-frame 35mm format CCD video camera:
http://www.sonyinsider.com/2010/04/12/nab-...r-and-pl-mount/

CCDs have global shutters - they capture everything at once instead of scanning, so you don't get that effect.
i see
wondering why fellow manufacturers uses cmos sensors for movie recording lol doh.gif . Btw, is there any cmos video recording devices that could eliminate rolling shutter effect entirely? ie: cmos with global shutter
kev da man
post Apr 22 2010, 03:13 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 22 2010, 02:56 PM)

long way for you to go, even longer for us. laugh.gif

anybody knows whether the tamron 1118 is good enough for group portraiture or should i just stick to the sony 1118? itching to get an UWA now, or are there other UWAs available? how bout the sigma 10-20? tak nak samyang 8mm though, really niche lens tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kev da man: Apr 22 2010, 03:19 PM

125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:05 AM