8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

dvlzplayground
post May 18 2010, 06:21 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 18 2010, 05:41 PM)
I see.. Yeap my choice is more towards harder bass, that's why I'm asking about JBL, Bose and harman.... 
I think I've seen some speakers which comes with iPhone/Aux features... smile.gif
if u want harder bass then forget the Bose n studio monitors. here are my recommendations:

logitech Z-2300, ~rm500
acoustic energy aego M ~rm800? <- good choice for u cuz very small but power not bad
razer mako ~rm1000
logitech Z-5500, ~rm1400? <-- if u got space for 5-channel la

if u have extra money, consider getting USB sound card smile.gif creative xmod is great

QUOTE(shanecross @ May 18 2010, 05:44 PM)
Try klipsch promedia, heard some good reviews. Good luck.
promedia 2.1 GMX? damn good, but quite hard to find lately. but then i didnt look too hard either tongue.gif

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ May 18 2010, 05:51 PM)
@dvlzplayground

bro actually thanks for your comment..i new how to make the mbp sleep...but the problem here is mainly is when im on the mirror image the resolution is low and blur...so actually i want to know that in windows you can project to one display with particular device resolution but on my mbp i cant...i need to use extended display to get full resolution on my dell...that the problem...i need my dell to use as the primary screen with full resolution not extended and not mirror (due mirror resolution is low and blur)....
mirror of course low resolution mah. mirror mode simply shows whatever ur mbp is showing, it'll follow the mbp resolution too. if u look at urself in an actual mirror also u wont look extra huge right? hehe

so dont use mirror. u mean u want to off mirror mode so u can use the dell as the extended display is it? if yes then just turn off mirror mode, there will be a preference pane on ur dell monitor asking what resolution u want to use, and which display u want to use as the main display. so just pick the maximum, n pick ur dell monitor as the main display. maybe u shud try 1st, probably easier to understand. it's not hard

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 18 2010, 06:22 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 18 2010, 09:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ May 18 2010, 06:50 PM)
alright bro..i got that but how actually you make the dell as the main display...i cant find the way to make the dell as the primary display..is there any command key to press...sorry first time using mac...
ooo ok. in Display preferences (when connected to external display, n off mirror mode), u'll see two blue colour rectangles right? one is smaller (ur mbp display) n one is bigger (ur dell display). the smaller one has a white bar on top. the white bar indicates the main display. juz drag the white bar from the smaller blue rectangle to the bigger blue rectangle smile.gif

QUOTE(shanecross @ May 18 2010, 07:23 PM)
2.1 Gmx is the ugliest looking speaker but performance wise, not too bad at all. I used to have a z2300, didnt like the bass. no mids at all...even when i turn the bass to minimum, still got.lol. and bare in mind that the control pod is not for sale, not even from logitech.
agree on the ugly part haha. well logitech speakers are mostly for movies n gaming, that explains the boomy bass
dvlzplayground
post May 19 2010, 11:56 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ May 18 2010, 11:58 PM)
thanks bro...thank you very much... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
good job!

anddddd... how is warcraft 3 a high tech game?? this is 2010 wey... haha. last time in parallels 3 with winxp i can even play doom3 at full res, ultra quality tongue.gif probably bcuz of openGL lah

i agree with nimrod, the MBW is due for an update anyway. back on par with the MBP 13 smile.gif rm500 is a bit too close IMHO... shud be like rm2899 or rm2999.. at least it's "under rm3k" tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 19 2010, 01:10 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i thought the previous rm800 difference is just nice because it's gonna be either "macbook pro" or "macbook with ACPP" tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 19 2010, 11:57 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ May 19 2010, 11:41 PM)
hey all the pros here! need help! i have the VMware but not yet install and i wanna go to bootcamp to get a partition for WIN now..

and i wanna it to be in FAT32 as NTFS is incompatible with Mac..

so when i'm installing, all the setup process went smoothly but when it finish,the whole process restart back again..its like keep repeating..whats the problem?

has it got to do with the size of partition? the size for it must be smaller than 32gb?
which specific 'process' are u referring to? partition? installing windows?
dvlzplayground
post May 20 2010, 08:52 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(keepme88 @ May 20 2010, 01:43 AM)
question..what is the use of rosetta?? the notification of installing rosetta will appear evry time i boot to mac os..
this means u have an old software that runs on powerPC code on ur mac. could u identify which software is this? juz install rosetta, it wont take long

QUOTE(inachi @ May 20 2010, 07:31 AM)
hey all the pros here help me please! =)
u mean after completing the windows installation, u reboot but it tries to install again? please be more specific sad.gif no one wants to type long2 only end up answering the wrong question
dvlzplayground
post May 20 2010, 08:59 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ May 20 2010, 03:45 PM)
u know usually when after the blue screen setup,then WIN logo will appear right? but now im still at blue screen setup there..after the blue screen setup finish,it restart everything all over again..
?
fyi, my partition for WIN is 50gb..issit bcoz i already over the limit thats why the problem occur? its FAT32 anyway..not NTFS.
i never partition more than 30gb for bootcamp, but i dont think there's even a limit for it. hmm can u try format to ntfs? u can download ntfs-3g in OSX to deal with the incompatibility issue later

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ May 20 2010, 04:25 PM)
well anyone here had install or plying games on their mac os...(not windows)...????anybody recommend anything...
portal runs fine. i've also played spore (ok on 9600m gt, not nice in 9400m) and quake4 smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 21 2010, 02:37 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 20 2010, 11:06 PM)
u mean bootcamp right? i tried with with parallel or VMware.. it should be fine..
i wanna know too hmm.gif

and  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

my mbp just now when i doing something, suddenly the screen grey out from top to bottom and i see this

YOU NEED TO RESTART YOUR COMPUTER. HOLD DOWN THE POWER BUTTON UNTIL IT TURNS OFF, THEN PRESS THE POWER BUTTON AGAIN

and follow by a few other language as well.. i cannot do anything else except restart like the msg say.. any one experience this kernel panic stuff before?  sad.gif  sad.gif
i think i got it less than 10 times in 4 years of using macs. last time in windows i can probably get BSoD 10 times in 1 month hehehe. normally it's because of a bad program (my stupid huawei driver) n on even rare cases, bad RAM module (saw a few kingston users got this).

anyway, any mouse that works in OSX should work in parallels / vmware. bcuz the signal is from the mouse sensor > OSX > parallels/vmware > windows. so if OSX can understand, windows can understand. but im not sure if windows can understand the gestures or not

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 21 2010, 02:38 AM
dvlzplayground
post May 22 2010, 11:50 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

windows need good GPU to render icon correctly?
dvlzplayground
post May 22 2010, 10:35 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(terence8 @ May 22 2010, 01:06 PM)
hey just wanna ask, i read the about apple they support almost all the external device like mouse/hd/printer/keyboard.. but why ppl are getting like Mybook essential for mac? is there any diff from the normal wan..i have a WD essential passport..can i use it with mac?
cuz the mybooks looks very nice biggrin.gif

the studio version is different because they have fw800 port. on the WD website, this model is under "desktop for Mac" because most computers with fw800 are macs. very seldom got PC with fw800 port. that said, a PC with a fw800 port can use the mybook studio no problem, using fw800 or USB, if the mybook studio is formatted correctly lah

ur WD essential passport can work. 1st u go check the format 1st. plug into ur mac, right click on the volume icon and click on Get Info, u can see the format there. if it's FAT32, no problem, juz that u cannot store a file bigger than 4gb (this is the limitation of the format itself, not OSX). if it's NTFS, juz install ntfs-3g

Added on May 22, 2010, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 22 2010, 10:22 PM)
any mac users with VMware can confirm this?
i m buying MyBook Studio because of the firewire transfer...
i only have XP on my VM, so maybe that's i didnt realize anything different.

same here with the firewire... much much faster than USB biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 22 2010, 10:36 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 23 2010, 01:15 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ May 22 2010, 11:29 PM)
even i was looking up and down for mw2 for mac and it not thr yet...let wait and see..some sources telling it will out asap...now im running on bootcamp for gaming in flying spaghetti monster....

i think there is counter strike for mac???? correct me if im wrong..
QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 23 2010, 12:37 AM)
oo.. so u r using the mybook studio 1TB as well?  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif for time machine? did u make 2 partition, one for time machine, one for normal backup or?
yeap, i use it for both. time machine only stores the files in one folder. so i use it for random storage too, w/o partitioning
dvlzplayground
post May 23 2010, 09:48 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(RyanHo @ May 23 2010, 02:21 AM)
bootcamp can be install from apple online rite? and the windows 7 as well?
um bootcamp has nothing to do with online or not. it's a built-in application in OSX. get a copy of windows 7, launch Boot Camp Assistant and follow the instructions
dvlzplayground
post May 23 2010, 03:18 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 23 2010, 02:36 PM)
oo.. so u didn't make partition and format it to NTFS... then if u wanna copy something from Windows? u install macDrive.. right?

i hv a noob question, time machine can backup our stuff in VMware too right? i mean those files store in windows...
and will Time machine backup files on Bootcamp as well?
i dun have PC tongue.gif my wd studio is just for personal use only... if i wanna copy/share something with anyone else (mac or pc) i have another fat32 2.5" external. hard eh carry 3.5" and power plug around

im pretty sure it backs up VM as well. my VM is currently 24gb. everytime i backup sure more than that, and i can't think of anything else that's taking >20gb on my system tongue.gif bootcamp i dont think so... since u cant backup a FAT32/NTFS volume to a HFS volume. never tested myself though

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 23 2010, 11:31 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 23 2010, 11:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

should be because of different file system. i cannot confirm though.

about VM, i did a test. my previous backup today was 27gb (my VM alone is 24gb). after that i didnt launch my VM at all. downloaded a few stuff today, did backup again and it was only 2gb. this is likely because time machine decided not to backup my VM since it has no change from the previous backup.
dvlzplayground
post May 24 2010, 11:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cyberixus @ May 24 2010, 10:54 PM)
With due respect, I think CTO means Customized To Order.
I bought my MBP 13" together with a MiniDisplay to DVI connector.
Discovered a dead pixel with the first 20mins of powering it up.
Called Apple. Now it goes back to China and not Apple South Asia [ Singapore ].
Reason being ... it is a CTO unit. Not a standard unit.
Replacement takes 2-3 weeks from date the faulty unit was picked up.
My location : IPOH.
ah yes.. Customized to Order. i knew Complete to Order isn't right but cant recall the correct one tongue.gif

juz asking, who pays the postage fees of sending back to china (and back to msia)?
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 10:23 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cyberixus @ May 24 2010, 11:09 PM)
Apple bears the costs.
how do we post to apple n have them pay? sorry yah never done this sort of thing before tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 08:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ryuuzaki @ May 25 2010, 05:47 PM)
my mbp 13" was just delivered to my doorstep earlier today and im using it to post this =]]

so far, im impressed! this is my first mac =]]. +1 happy mac user here.
welcome to the club!

QUOTE(nairud @ May 25 2010, 06:34 PM)
Processed - Singapore - Singapore
Shipment picked up - Singapore - Singapore

it's like waitin for a baby... doh.gif
it'd be nice if i can just custom order a baby n have it shipped to me in 1 week instead of waiting for 9 months haha

got defect can ask for replacement summore tongue.gif

QUOTE(bjonbjonbjon @ May 25 2010, 07:22 PM)
Hey guys, my penryn macbook pro batt is giving me problems. saying "Service Battery". Could i get a new battery from apple? or do i have to fork out the money to get the new batt?

current batt capacity - 4147 mAh
Original batt capacity - 5600 mAh

181 batt load cycles
my mac is 25 months old..

info from coconut battery. no i do not have apple care.
of course u can get a new battery from apple. 181 load cycles in 25 months is okay (despite the above claim). for comparison, my cycle out is ~250 n it's only been about 17 months. really depends n how u use the battery obviously. how long can your battery last for ur average usage? if it runs out too quick, then get a new battery and save urself the hassle of using the charger all the time. if u rather hassle urself with the charger instead of forking about ~rm500 for a new battery, then juz be careful when moving ur MBP cuz the magsafe is designed to come off easily afterall

even if u have applecare, it doesnt make a difference. nothing is 'broken' here. batteries have always been consumables

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 25 2010, 08:52 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 12:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ May 26 2010, 12:05 PM)
do we here in Malaysia qualify for such thing?

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/campaigns...50-161102&sr=em
no. likely because they haven't got a surefire way to determine who are eligible for the offer. if the offer is valid here, they will be lots n lots of people taking advantage of it, including those not eligible
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 01:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ yeap, by then we probably would get a similar offer. too bad i'll most probably be graduating already once that happens tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 09:32 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

well it doesnt interfere so yea i just leave it tongue.gif that's a whole lot of procedures to remove something!

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0489sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:31 AM