8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

dvlzplayground
post May 7 2010, 12:46 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mois @ May 7 2010, 10:44 AM)
Im going to enter an university around october. So purpose would be gaming, assignment, normal usage n so on as a student. So i guess there will be no video editing and no some professional usages.
anyway... macpro is the desktop tongue.gif

u said u have an iphone 3gs rite? what do u think of it? iphone 3gs also have lower spec compared to cheaper phones from HTC, samsung, etc...but don't u think the experience is better?

that's y we shudn't compare Mac specs with PC. even though u're paying more for less CPU/GPU/RAM/HDD, it's the experience using OSX that makes it worthwhile.

i'm using an MBP since i entered foundation and still using mac up till now in my third year smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 7 2010, 01:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 7 2010, 12:58 PM)
iWork (including Pages and Keynote) are way better than MS Office for assignment work.
this is debatable... compatibility is very important for group projects n reports. i stick with microsoft office... 2010 even tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 7 2010, 02:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

for more complicated documents with diagrams (drawn in the word editor), equations (google docs isnt really good with this), then yes compatibility is important
dvlzplayground
post May 7 2010, 10:36 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 7 2010, 04:04 PM)
Diagrams - Copy and paste in Google Doc's Drawing

Equations - I used to use MathType. But I hear you can use Grapher as an equation editor.
grapher isn't that good for an equation editor. plus cannot paste on google docs tongue.gif

unless screenshot la of course. but then screenshot cannot edit diagrams/equations hehe

QUOTE(Qubezo @ May 7 2010, 07:20 PM)
I totally agree with this. Those who haven't really owned and jealous of having Mac would be bashing on Mac's hardwares. It's true that with the given price you can have, perhaps double the spec but once they started using OSX and really have the chance to experience the OSX itself, they might as well just gone baffled. I have another friend who is another Linux fanboy who constantly teases me of having Mac by saying Mac is another ripped off Linux product. doh.gif
lol...if im not mistaken, Linux kernel is the one who 'rip off' from UNIX. OSX is using the 'original' Unix kernel tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 10 2010, 04:01 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

keynote is already a whole new level on top of powerpoint...hahaha biggrin.gif

im really looking forward to office 2011. both office 2008 and iwork still have something i really really hate... the floating panels. im a huge fan of the ribbon hehe biggrin.gif even something like lightroom works great, i simply like 1 app to have 1 window smile.gif office 2007/2010 "view side by side" feature is neat, i use it a lot...i wonder if the mac version will have this later
dvlzplayground
post May 10 2010, 06:42 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 10 2010, 09:33 AM)
iWork can save files as PDFs. This is assuming your institution accepts PDFs...

As for Keynote, I just bring my laptop to the presentation and hook it up to the VGA display/projector. I will, however, admit that it's SO much easier to fall into Keynote's trap of over-using transitions, which is never a good thing for professional presentations.
but pdf how to further edit... tongue.gif

haha u're right with keynote. my recent presentations i just use PDF only if i dun need animations biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 11 2010, 06:50 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 11 2010, 12:44 PM)
erm.. my MBP cant really differentiate the white box at the bottom.. how bout u guys?

source: http://www.imaging-resource.com/ARTS/MONCAL/CALIBRATE.HTM
eh can differentiate what. not as obvious as when u look at it sideways la, but still noticeable. im about 60% brightness

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 11 2010, 12:54 PM)
Does anybody here use palm guards? Are they of any help on a 2010 MBP?
me! biggrin.gif well it protects from scratches lar...sometimes i forgot to take off my metal watch.. my previous MBP got a lot of scratches because of that
dvlzplayground
post May 12 2010, 07:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(terence8 @ May 12 2010, 01:39 AM)
why there is so many problems with mac ar?? i tot mac always very good..but i seen a lot prob like speaker not working..internet can't connect and stuff
because ppl would post when they got problems. no one will post "hey guys juz to let u know my mac is running fine today" tongue.gif that's why most of what u are reading is about problems etc

have a look at any forums u'll see the same thing. to know which brand is good or not, look for a survey. if i remember right, for notebooks, currently the top is asus, 2nd sony, 3rd toshiba n 4th is apple

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ May 12 2010, 10:41 AM)
I've a problem, i've formated my thumbdrive using disk utility and format into the MS-DOS (FAT) in order to read and write the file between Windows and Mac, is that right? There's no problem when i use on my mac, but when i connect to Windows, it's stated need to reformat in order to open my thumbdrive. Is that anything i've done wrong? kindly provide some info for me. Coz i read somewhere in this forum before says that FAT is ok for both mac and windows, just that not transfering more than 4GB stuffs. If i'm not mistaken smile.gif
shud be your partition map. this is different than fat32 / hfs kind of stuff. windows can only read MBR while macs default is to format to GUID. here's what to do:

- plug in ur thumbdrive n make a copy of everything inside it
- open disk utility
- select the thumbdrive on the left (the one that states the size, not the one below it), there shud be a Partition tab on the right
- for volume scheme select "1 Partition"
- click on Options, select Master Boot Record and click OK
- click Apply (this will reformat ur thumbdrive), then when it's done, copy back ur files onto ur thumbdrive

ur thumbdrive shud work fine on windows now

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 12 2010, 10:51 AM)
hmm.. yours one can differentiate? i still figuring how to calibrate my screen.. and i m using palm guard too!! it is useful.. sometimes when ur fren wear metal watch and type on your mac also u no need to worry.. smile.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

btw.. i m thinking to buy Spyder to calibrate the screen.. any idea on this?
hmm.. i think i will buy Spyder end of this month.. wondering it will help or not.. hoping to get more inputs from exp users.. smile.gif
i didnt calibrate my screen oh... the different whites arent that obvious but still can notice la if no one told me...
dvlzplayground
post May 12 2010, 08:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(terence8 @ May 12 2010, 08:14 PM)
well..personally not really, because i don't really know a lot people who use mac..but i seen all these probs in apple byte here..i seen a few people that they have to send back the shipment and wait for few weeks for replacement and stuff..wouldn't it be troublesome?
any product is like that, no matter what brand or what price. as long as it comes out of a manufacturing plant

the bad news always travels faster smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 15 2010, 01:50 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 15 2010, 06:16 AM)
I'm not aware of the existence of such cables. Apple only has VGA and DVI adapters for their mini-display port.
CMD + Click
got 3rd party ones
dvlzplayground
post May 16 2010, 01:42 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Hanifah H. @ May 16 2010, 12:07 AM)
Hi guys,

do you guys think the next MBP update, will they have 16 x 9 screens?

perhaps 14inch with a 1600 X 900 resolution?
or 13inch with 1366 x 768 resolution?

the imac has gone 16 x 9, why not MBP?

i've been wanting to upgrade my macbook, but i can't stand the 16 x 10 screens

what do you guys think?
icon_rolleyes.gif
16x10 and 16x9 so big difference to u meh..? i guess it's possible that they'll come up with a 16x9 MBP, but for me it's not a big deal. it's not like d whole purpose of my MBP is to watch movies hehe

QUOTE(Qubezo @ May 16 2010, 01:32 AM)
I have a really noob question. If I use an external monitor for my MBW, where should I plug in my keyboard? Should I use only keyboards from Apple? :T
plug at USB of course, or wireless. there are other mac keyboards from logitech n razer etc u can have a look
dvlzplayground
post May 16 2010, 10:40 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ May 16 2010, 10:09 AM)
just wondering, if i install windows via bootcamp, do i need to download the graphic card driver for windows? i'm using the gt330m graphic card. by right i have to right? cos i'll be operating windows and my graphic card driver is in mac at the moment.. can enlighten me please?
after u bootcamp, boot into windows n insert the Mac OS X dvd that came with ur mac. windows will detect it and will install all required drivers for you in one click. i dunno why other PC brands dun have like this +_+ always have to download n install 1 by 1

see, even windows is better on a mac tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 16 2010, 01:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ May 16 2010, 11:02 AM)
sorry for this noob question. Beside buying at apple online store, is there any other way to buy Mac? if yes, buying at outlet is cheaper or similar with the online store?
for brand new units, the price are same. resellers like epicentre, machines etc sometimes can throw in some freebies for you (normally keyboard protector, cheapo sleeve, cooling balls) or maybe got good purchase tie-ins offers, but very rare lah. if u're a student or work in the education sector, u can get education discount but only from the online store.

personally i'd prefer to buy online...no need to go out, n depends on ur luck if u get good or annoying/ignorant salesperson tongue.gif

QUOTE(Hanifah H. @ May 16 2010, 12:55 PM)
well yeah, you have got a point there...

but 1920 X 1080 also can do work what hehe....

plus can watch 16:9 tv shows/movies without the top and bottom letterbox...

feels more like a portable mini tv lol
icon_rolleyes.gif
1920x1080 on 15" too small for me eh..haha
dvlzplayground
post May 16 2010, 01:13 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 16 2010, 01:10 PM)
oh no.. no wonder the only game i play (fifa 10) wont run sad.gif is there anyway to install graphic card in to vmware? no way?

and is it too late to install windows in bootcamp now? since i didn't install it when the MBP come?
no way. that's why it's called virtualization. ur windows is running on a 'fake' computer, it doesnt have a clue what hardware do you have.

u can bootcamp anytime u want. the bootcamp assistant will help u to resize the partition, wont kacau ur data

dvlzplayground
post May 16 2010, 05:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(keepme88 @ May 16 2010, 03:48 PM)
a question on trackpad of macbook pro..apple claims tht we can click anywhere on trackpad surface rite? but mine cant click on top left and right of the trackpad surface..mind to know is it normal or a problem for me? sorry for my noob question..jst wnt to mke sure tht mine dnt hve any prblem since it is my first one n i really love it.. biggrin.gif
there's sort of like a hinge at the top end of the trackpad. so further up u click, the harder it is. still can click, but requires a lot more effort.
dvlzplayground
post May 16 2010, 10:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

16:9 in 2011? well, can say possible la hehe. better yet, 16:9 IPS panel biggrin.gif!
dvlzplayground
post May 16 2010, 11:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

and.. something i had wished for ages on a mac...although i know this is very very unlikely... a mechanical dvd eject button!
dvlzplayground
post May 17 2010, 04:13 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Xeonice @ May 17 2010, 03:01 PM)
Thanks guys for the replies smile.gif There're no CD/DVD in the drive, I'm not sure whether is it coming from the harddisk or not (might be the CD/DVD drive) but its confirm a mechanical sound.. Cant believe it happen to my 3 weeks old mbp, anyway I'll heed the advice and give Apple Care a call..
sounds like hdd problem. try copy something to n from ur mac and external hdd...is it longer than usual? dun worry bro, sometimes we just happen to get a bad unit. im sure applecare will take care of it

anyway we call the colourful round thing the "spinning beach ball of death" or simply "beachball" smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 18 2010, 01:36 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

in system preferences > display, u shud be able to set the resolution u want. note that there will be one window for each display
dvlzplayground
post May 18 2010, 03:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ May 18 2010, 02:24 AM)
well the resolution..it ok.. But the problem I can't get one screen working...it must be both running...so if extended display the screen with the full resolution.. And mirror it runs same the mac book 13...I need only my Dell to display the primary screen with full resolution...???
oh u mean u just want to use ur dell, n u want the macbook screen off is it? try shift+control+eject. this will sleep ur macbook screen, but im not sure if it'll sleep ur dell too. can't test myself right now sorry. u have no problems with getting full res right?

QUOTE(destfull @ May 18 2010, 08:42 AM)
I'm using iMac 27 C2D, I like to have Windows 7 continuously open at Spaces 4, while opens other web dev software in other 3 spaces.. I find it kinda laggy.. Did I need to add ram? What type of ram can I use
u can use "1066 MHz DDR3 SODIMM" RAM. take note of the "SODIMM" because it's normally for laptops. scared later the salesperson ask u "for desktop or laptop?" n if u answer desktop he'll give u DIMM instead. imac is a desktop machine using laptop rams tongue.gif also u dun need to get "apple RAMs", normal pc RAM is the same thing. u have four slots, currently your 4gb ram is 2 pieces of 2gb rams. so u can either add 2 more 2gb rams for a total of 8GB, or get a pair of 4gb rams (~1.2k i guess) for a total of 12gb, or juz upgrade to the maximum 16gb (2 pairs of 4gb rams).

but as others have said, try to make sure if RAM is ur bottleneck cuz it's probably your processor. u can check using Activity Monitor (in applications > utilities) n click on the System Memory tab. have a look at the CPU tab as well

QUOTE(nairud @ May 18 2010, 10:44 AM)
i thought of the same question too.

let's just say MBP13 -> DVI -> 22" LCD

the mbp can only display 800 reso but the 22 can go to 1050. when you connect your mbp to the lcd, can you set the reso to be 1050?
can can. the maximum resolution supported is 2560x1600

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 18 2010, 01:45 PM)
What's wrong with Bose & JBL?  ohmy.gif Please advice..

Well stationary.. Not too huge as I have limited space on my table...  laugh.gif
generally, bose products are too expensive for the sound quality. but they look good la biggrin.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:14 PM