Sunken/Broken home button, All iPhones

TSphoenixxx
post Apr 9 2010, 08:28 PM, updated 16y ago

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,241 posts

Has anyone experienced this? My iphone is pretty new (2 weeks old) and I don't even press that button that much but now it has sunken in. Like, you can feel the edges of the circle.

It wasn't like this before. I can still press it (there's still some room for the button to 'click') so it's still functional. I'm surprised this is happening so soon after I bought the phone, with light usage only.
SUSMNet
post Apr 9 2010, 08:29 PM

11,954 posts

wat set?

digi set?
TSphoenixxx
post Apr 9 2010, 08:31 PM

1,241 posts

Yes.. Digi set
SUSMNet
post Apr 9 2010, 08:32 PM

11,954 posts

digi set like that 1

i also kene
TSphoenixxx
post Apr 9 2010, 08:34 PM

1,241 posts

Huh.. isn't all iPhones the same?
Shoki
post Apr 9 2010, 08:36 PM

2,139 posts

I suggest you claim for warranty.
tabs
post Apr 9 2010, 08:58 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

just go for warranty better
imesmtb
post Apr 9 2010, 09:44 PM

71 posts

claim for warrnty bro...
TSphoenixxx
post Apr 10 2010, 12:05 AM

1,241 posts

Hmm... is there anything I can do to wipe my phone completely before sending it for warranty? I have my credit card and other personal info in it.
denzel88
post Apr 10 2010, 12:11 AM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

Mine is Maxis set, no such problem
chingwooi
post Apr 10 2010, 12:15 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

It'll sink eventually, jus a matter of time, u may try send it for warranty, but not sure they will exchange new one for u or not coz it's kinda wear and tear issue~
quintesson
post Apr 10 2010, 12:34 AM

566 posts

come on lah! just merely 2 weeks only? already can feel the wear & tear sign, does this mean iphone is not durable? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by quintesson: Apr 10 2010, 12:35 AM
TSphoenixxx
post Apr 10 2010, 12:38 AM

1,241 posts

Yup... two weeks. Else I wouldn't really be griping about it. I've looked at some of my friend's phones... some almost 2 years, no such problem. Probably mine is defective is all.

BTW, I take great care of my phone!
alexkwlee
post Apr 10 2010, 08:24 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Apr 10 2010, 12:05 AM)
Hmm... is there anything I can do to wipe my phone completely before sending it for warranty? I have my credit card and other personal info in it.
yes u can do reset brows.gif
objectifyme
post Apr 10 2010, 08:59 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(alexkwlee @ Apr 10 2010, 08:24 AM)
yes u can do reset  brows.gif
Go to

Settings -> General -> Reset -> Erase all content and settings

Hope that helped. smile.gif
TSphoenixxx
post Apr 10 2010, 04:59 PM

1,241 posts

Yes it did help. Thanks guys. Went to DiGi center but was too late... closed at 3pm. Gonna go next week.
kelvin88
post Apr 10 2010, 06:57 PM

aDD 0n3 m0r3 staR t0 m3!
1,365 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 9 2010, 08:32 PM)
digi set like that 1

i also kene
eh pls la dude... dont assume that all digi sets are like that.
Everything is from apple, so why not you say it's apple sets that's having problem? yawn.gif

gurus
post Apr 10 2010, 10:53 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

QUOTE(kelvin88 @ Apr 10 2010, 06:57 PM)
eh pls la dude... dont assume that all digi sets are like that.
Everything is from apple, so why not you say it's apple sets that's having problem?  yawn.gif
agreed nod.gif maybe its this batch from apple thats defected hmm.gif
suffian79
post Apr 11 2010, 12:55 AM

19 posts

guys...my colleagues two days ago also 'kene', she went straight ahead to digi service centre and got one-to-one replacement..also one week old..but the thing is she bought those expensive screen protector lor....and now have to buy new one...ouch
TSphoenixxx
post Apr 11 2010, 03:55 AM

1,241 posts

Yeah, I bought my casing right after... so I'll also lose the screen protector. How is your colleague's new phone? Does it have issues? Appreciate if you can share some info!
CallMeMonkey
post Apr 11 2010, 04:15 AM

506 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Apr 11 2010, 03:55 AM)
Yeah, I bought my casing right after... so I'll also lose the screen protector. How is your colleague's new phone? Does it have issues? Appreciate if you can share some info!
actually you guys can re-use the screen protector >.<

just check youtube how to do it, it's amazingly simple! rclxms.gif
billhambridge
post Apr 11 2010, 10:32 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 9 2010, 08:32 PM)
digi set like that 1

i also kene
ALL IPHONE COMES FROM APPLE.INC NOT BECAUSE OF DiGi IPHONE TERUK.. DONT ACCUSED CARRIER SERVICE LIKE DAT. BTW digi offering the best charges on call & plan. Better then maxis. Mayb sometime digi line sux but as long u happy paying every month u using it..
derik87
post Apr 11 2010, 11:29 AM

134 posts

i think im experiencing the same prob too, but how can i confirm it is sunken?
any picture or something?

QUOTE(suffian79 @ Apr 11 2010, 12:55 AM)
guys...my colleagues two days ago also 'kene', she went straight ahead to digi service centre and got one-to-one replacement..also one week old..but the thing is she bought those expensive screen protector lor....and now have to buy new one...ouch
any Digi centre?

This post has been edited by derik87: Apr 11 2010, 11:37 AM
ahnien
post Apr 11 2010, 11:35 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

thats the button that we use the most daily. we use any app or phone or msg... oso must press that lil button .... lol

the g-spot for iphone = ="
derik87
post Apr 12 2010, 08:05 PM

134 posts

Hi. Which digi centre should I go which can help me to solve my iPhone problem immediately?
amyhs99
post Apr 12 2010, 08:24 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 12 2010, 08:05 PM)
Hi. Which digi centre should I go which can help me to solve my iPhone problem immediately?
Where u get the phone is where u need to go lor~
derik87
post Apr 12 2010, 08:45 PM

134 posts

I got it during their launch at 1u. Should I go their main digi centre o wht? So tht I can get my problem solved immediately
amyhs99
post Apr 13 2010, 01:53 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 12 2010, 08:45 PM)
I got it during their launch at 1u. Should I go their main digi centre o wht? So tht I can get my problem solved immediately
Last time i get my iphone and simply ask for warranty, digi says any digi centre. I think machines also can~ smile.gif
Maestrol
post Apr 13 2010, 02:51 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 13 2010, 01:53 AM)
Last time i get my iphone and simply ask for warranty, digi says any digi centre. I think machines also can~ smile.gif
DiGi Iphones Warranty and Service Centre. I am going there tomorrow. My 4-day old iPhone is suddenly dead sad.gif

yuvanesh
post Apr 13 2010, 08:30 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Apr 13 2010, 02:51 AM)
DiGi Iphones Warranty and Service Centre. I am going there tomorrow. My 4-day old iPhone is suddenly dead sad.gif
what happen to it...?????how come so new can be dead???
Maestrol
post Apr 13 2010, 09:43 AM

345 posts

I bought the phone on Friday. On Sunday, I was using it until around 50%+ battery, then as usual I clicked the sleep button and left it inside my pocket. After 5 minutes or so, I click again, no response. Just black screen. 5 hours later, the phone shows LOW BATTERY SIGN, then I recharge and can be used again.

I thought this was normal. Then yesterday I used until around 40% battery, and clicked sleep again. After 10 minutes or so, I clicked the sleep/wake button again, no response. As I was at home, tried connecting to the laptop and everything, no response at all. I guess I have to send it back. sad.gif

objectifyme
post Apr 13 2010, 09:46 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Apr 13 2010, 08:30 AM)
what happen to it...?????how come so new can be dead???
ya lor.. digi iphone lik dat wan..

Kidding. Sorry to hear about your iPhone, man. sad.gif
yuvanesh
post Apr 13 2010, 10:17 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Apr 13 2010, 09:43 AM)
I bought the phone on Friday. On Sunday, I was using it until around 50%+ battery, then as usual I clicked the sleep button and left it inside my pocket. After 5 minutes or so, I click again, no response. Just black screen. 5 hours later, the phone shows LOW BATTERY SIGN, then I recharge and can be used again.

I thought this was normal. Then yesterday I used until around 40% battery, and clicked sleep again. After 10 minutes or so, I clicked the sleep/wake button again, no response. As I was at home, tried connecting to the laptop and everything, no response at all. I guess I have to send it back. sad.gif
its surprising the battery is finishing fast...but recover your second day problem..try connecting to pwer source not pc....then on the phone it will working perfectly fine...you can also restore to new upddate because maybe your indication might give problem on your percentage reading...
derik87
post Apr 13 2010, 10:55 AM

134 posts

problem with my iPhone is the buttons are loosen, and my screen colour turn yellowish.
denzel88
post Apr 14 2010, 06:43 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 13 2010, 10:55 AM)
problem with my iPhone is the buttons are loosen, and my screen colour turn yellowish.
new or old phone?
derik87
post Apr 14 2010, 07:50 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Apr 14 2010, 06:43 PM)
new or old phone?
10 days old iPhone...
DiGi centre refused to change a new unit, he said he doesnt see the problem cry.gif but i really feel the difference!

Feugo
post Apr 14 2010, 09:18 PM

111 posts

wah digi iphone..??? derik can you show me the picture of your iphone screen turn yellowish? and btw.. which centre?? mind sharing?
mentos
post Apr 14 2010, 10:59 PM

156 posts

why this problem occur at digi iphone only?
derik87
post Apr 15 2010, 12:24 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(Feugo @ Apr 14 2010, 09:18 PM)
wah digi iphone..??? derik can you show me the picture of your iphone screen turn yellowish? and btw.. which centre?? mind sharing?
i wish i could, the pictures i took can't actually see the effect. maybe u can compare with your friend's iPhone?
I dont think it is a good idea to list the centre here, but what i can say is different centre has different kind of staff, and their services, attitude and professionalism are totally different smile.gif

QUOTE(mentos @ Apr 14 2010, 10:59 PM)
why this problem occur at digi iphone only?
I believe this is not the problem of DiGi but the batch of iPhone production. As my friend got the same model iPhone as me, at the same time, same place... his iPhone is in good condition with whiter sreen, tighter buttons and firmware 3.1.2 while mine is yellowish, loosen button and 3.1.3
mentos
post Apr 15 2010, 02:33 AM

156 posts

can chose the firmware version when take the phone from digi store?
amyhs99
post Apr 15 2010, 08:51 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(mentos @ Apr 15 2010, 02:33 AM)
can chose the firmware version when take the phone from digi store?
I tried to ask is there any 3.1.2? The answer i get is: "Oh, tat one more stock ad lo. This iphone stock came today, all is 3.1.4"
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
derik87
post Apr 15 2010, 09:40 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 15 2010, 08:51 AM)
I tried to ask is there any 3.1.2? The answer i get is: "Oh, tat one more stock ad lo. This iphone stock came today, all is 3.1.4"
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
LOL thumbup.gif great answer.....
then what response u gave him?

yvonnesoo
post Apr 15 2010, 11:17 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 15 2010, 12:24 AM)
i wish i could, the pictures i took can't actually see the effect. maybe u can compare with your friend's iPhone?
I dont think it is a good idea to list the centre here, but what i can say is different centre has different kind of staff, and their services, attitude and professionalism are totally different  smile.gif
I believe this is not the problem of DiGi but the batch of iPhone production. As my friend got the same model iPhone as me, at the same time, same place... his iPhone is in good condition with whiter sreen, tighter buttons and firmware 3.1.2 while mine is yellowish, loosen button and 3.1.3
means when u get ur phone on the spot.. everything is ok? or u didn't really check properly??
derik87
post Apr 15 2010, 11:21 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 15 2010, 11:17 AM)
means when u get ur phone on the spot.. everything is ok? or u didn't really check properly??
i didn't check properly... i only notice the difference when i play around with my friend's iPhone, which is 1 week later.
yvonnesoo
post Apr 15 2010, 11:41 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 15 2010, 11:21 AM)
i didn't check properly... i only notice the difference when i play around with my friend's iPhone, which is 1 week later.
tat's the probs la.. iphone is nt flawless n perfect.. i had bad experience on tis case.. so when i bought the phone again.. i check thoroughly.. hahaha.. where as i saw mostly ppl jz take the phone directly without checking.. doh.gif

if within 24 hrs.. still can replace a new set on the spot.. bt nw u r 1 week old.. need to send in for warranty dy.. (if they accept ur case)..

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Apr 15 2010, 11:43 AM
SUSMNet
post Apr 15 2010, 11:50 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 15 2010, 11:41 AM)
tat's the probs la..  iphone is nt flawless n perfect.. i had bad experience on tis case.. so when i bought the phone again.. i check thoroughly.. hahaha.. where as i saw mostly ppl jz take the phone directly without checking.. doh.gif

if within 24 hrs.. still can replace a new set on the spot.. bt nw u r 1 week old.. need to send in for warranty dy.. (if they accept ur case)..
what thing you check?
derik87
post Apr 15 2010, 11:51 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 15 2010, 11:41 AM)
tat's the probs la..  iphone is nt flawless n perfect.. i had bad experience on tis case.. so when i bought the phone again.. i check thoroughly.. hahaha.. where as i saw mostly ppl jz take the phone directly without checking.. doh.gif

there is 1 centre that willing to change for me, the replacement unit solved the buttons prob but did not solve the screen colour.

so i went to another centre. this centre did show me the replacement unit too, but the replacement unit's screen is even worse than mine. the staff told me i'm not the first customer to complain about this. DiGi has feedback this problem to apple, they are still waiting for the reply from apple. will see how after this.

Not the matter of check or did not check, you will only see the differences once you compare to another one.

conclusion, iPhone sold by DiGi might have different batches. As far as i know, one of the batch's iPhone has this yellowish screen, DiGi is wondering why this could happen too.

This post has been edited by derik87: Apr 15 2010, 11:55 AM
yvonnesoo
post Apr 15 2010, 12:05 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

actually screen color is nt the worst probs.. the worst is the edge chrome tat near the screen go up.. usually people no notice
K for Ketamine
post Apr 15 2010, 01:31 PM

1,188 posts

no product are prefect in general, if look into details.

there is always micro scratch or defect.

you will only notice, when compare with other, then is too late tongue.gif

This post has been edited by K for Ketamine: Apr 15 2010, 01:34 PM
TSphoenixxx
post Apr 15 2010, 04:40 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 15 2010, 12:05 PM)
actually screen color is nt the worst probs.. the worst is the edge chrome tat near the screen go up.. usually people no notice
What is that? I want to check mine also
GagakMan
post Apr 15 2010, 05:05 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 15 2010, 12:05 PM)
show us some pics of this plz?.. i dont know how to imagine it
yvonnesoo
post Apr 15 2010, 09:45 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

dun haf pic la.. as my current phone dun haf such probs.. >_<

actually it's the gap between the chrome and the glass screen.. if it's nt obvious thn u won't notice it.. unless u go thru n touch wif ur finger or u take up ur phone n c under the light.. u can feel it's nt balance cz the side of the lcd near the chrome there slight go up.. u can differentiate it if u view around it.. usually will occur at the left side around the volume switch

if the gap is worst.. thn u can c light coming thru
wmx9969
post Apr 15 2010, 10:40 PM

187 posts

is it digi taken all is da apple refurbish iphone??
SUSMNet
post Apr 15 2010, 10:56 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(wmx9969 @ Apr 15 2010, 10:40 PM)
is it digi taken all is da apple refurbish iphone??
is it true?
saddient
post Apr 16 2010, 12:01 AM

yes or no
686 posts

we need some picture here..
amyhs99
post Apr 16 2010, 12:32 AM

3,807 posts

I compared mine(3.1.3) from digi with another 2 iphones. 1 is from maxis 3.1.2(old bootrom) and another is digi iphone (3.1.2)

Their phone seems to be slightly yellowish compared to mine.. All brightness max and off auto brightness
SUSMNet
post Apr 16 2010, 12:35 AM

11,954 posts

come show the picture here
derik87
post Apr 16 2010, 12:35 AM

134 posts

erm.....

mine is the opposite case... ><
headache...
and my button is really loosen
yvonnesoo
post Apr 16 2010, 01:11 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

something like tis.. the screen is nt flush.. bt tis phone more serious la.. haha. some barely noticeable but if you run your fingers through it you can tell...some just looking at it you can see it slightly raised.

actually there are alot of complains regarding tis issue.. some of them even mention here:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2119483

TSphoenixxx
post Apr 16 2010, 02:41 AM

1,241 posts

Found an example:

Scroll down to post #11

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=518950
Eclipse80
post Apr 16 2010, 03:09 AM

113 posts

Ok wait so all DiGi Iphones are problematic?
metaled
post Apr 16 2010, 03:46 AM

273 posts

no...that have nothing to do with the telco company....
manufacturing issue with apple....
saddient
post Apr 16 2010, 08:08 AM

yes or no
686 posts

mine dont have any problem so far... more than one week old d...
derik87
post Apr 16 2010, 11:27 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(metaled @ Apr 16 2010, 03:46 AM)
no...that have nothing to do with the telco company....
manufacturing issue with apple....
yes, u r rite.
but DiGi has to take responsibility on it also since v bought it from them
yvonnesoo
post Apr 16 2010, 11:43 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 16 2010, 11:27 AM)
yes, u r rite.
but DiGi has to take responsibility on it also since v bought it from them
nt only digi phone gt probs.. telco m oso the same
derik87
post Apr 16 2010, 11:52 AM

134 posts

tht's y metaled said it is not either D o M problem. it's apple. but still, D o M need to do replacement for me if the problem encoutered
yvonnesoo
post Apr 16 2010, 02:18 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 16 2010, 11:52 AM)
tht's y metaled said it is not either D o M problem. it's apple. but still, D o M need to do replacement for me if the problem encoutered
bt some centre.. their CS is nt well trained. in d end, they will reject ur replacement n etc.. oso depends on which CS attend to u oso.. neway.. good luck
derik87
post Apr 16 2010, 02:21 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 16 2010, 02:18 PM)
bt some centre.. their CS is nt well trained. in d end, they will reject ur replacement n etc.. oso depends on which CS attend to u oso.. neway.. good luck
u r right, i've been to the centres. u better keep the wishes to ppl who r going
pengmp4
post Apr 16 2010, 03:15 PM

i got no such problem with digi set....
Shoki
post Apr 16 2010, 06:43 PM

2,139 posts

Today Maxis staff at PC Fair told me for iPhone 3GS warranty issues, please drop by Epicenter.

Make me damn blur...
SUSMNet
post Apr 16 2010, 06:56 PM

11,954 posts

why go epic center?
Shoki
post Apr 16 2010, 11:27 PM

2,139 posts

They say refer to Epicenter for warranty.

I think those workers are only part-time (during PC Fair) and don't know much.
Feugo
post Apr 16 2010, 11:55 PM

111 posts

They say refer to Epicenter for warranty.
I think those workers are only part-time (during PC Fair) and don't know much.

u sure?? last time i went to epicenter. their staff ask me to go maxis centre for warranty wor..

QUOTE(derik87 @ Apr 16 2010, 02:21 PM)
u r right, i've been to the centres. u better keep the wishes to ppl who r going
pm me which centers!! please share with me sad.gif

This post has been edited by Feugo: Apr 16 2010, 11:57 PM
PeeEl
post Apr 17 2010, 01:33 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Feugo @ Apr 16 2010, 11:55 PM)
u sure?? last time i went to epicenter. their staff ask me to go maxis centre for warranty wor..
pm me which centers!! please share with me sad.gif
For warranty claims, they can be processed by the telcos only, no where else. And any centre/branch will do.
yvonnesoo
post Apr 17 2010, 05:16 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

i wonder pc fair gt any iphone promotion meh??
ESLord
post Apr 17 2010, 09:51 PM

54 posts

eh, just got my unit from Digi and been using for 2 days,
ever been reading this thread make me uncomfy to press that button.

but seems like can't avoid.... to close all apps also need to press that button right? anyway to get around w it?

amyhs99
post Apr 17 2010, 10:38 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ESLord @ Apr 17 2010, 09:51 PM)
eh, just got my unit from Digi and been using for 2 days,
ever been reading this thread make me uncomfy to press that button.

but seems like can't avoid.... to close all apps also need to press that button right? anyway to get around w it?
Wont have a problem de la... A lot of digi users are happy with their phones, just some of them habing problems...
Feugo
post Apr 18 2010, 12:26 AM

111 posts

yeah.. its like less than 10% of digi customer having that prob..
my maxis set kena white screen of death! so sad~ my sister digi set working fine.. asdasdhgajshgda

aztechx
post Apr 18 2010, 01:35 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

mine was fine until i read this thread..then my button felt 'sunken'..mind playing games i guess..but my screen is yellowish compared to my friends 3gs BUT..ive seen a video review on the iphone and they said that it was normal..

This post has been edited by aztechx: Apr 18 2010, 01:35 AM
xpresside
post Apr 25 2010, 04:37 PM

1,982 posts

mine also, need to press many times only get respond
leyley
post Apr 25 2010, 10:06 PM

2,096 posts

is it a defect
emblavonpros
post Apr 25 2010, 11:04 PM

Im a maxis iphone user, been using it for 185 days (i make a note in d note apps right afta i got my iphin tongue.gif).
atm, i felt tat d home bttn is pretty sunked in. But, if you ought to look at its mechanic, it will likely reacts wen u pressed right in d centre of d button. few weeks afta i got my iphin, i spammed d home button n notice d responds time is somewhat slower from 'main page' to 'search' afta few times. I assume slow response is not just related to d sensitivity of d button but also d processing part.
Thus, my point is as everyone else would said, test everything, i mean everything on ur iphin within a week of ur purchased. d sooner d better. Warranty, satisfactory nowadays isnt as simple as it used to be. just my 2cents.
nders
post May 13 2010, 08:47 AM

Age of lost direction
1,070 posts

hi ppl, my iphone now have this similar problem after a year usage... not only has it sunk in but i have to press quite hard to get a response. can phone shops repair this kind of defect?
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 10:18 AM

1,057 posts

So far having my iPhone 3 weeks nothing happen just sometimes need to on/off my iPhone cause off keep stuck loading website lol sad.gif guys know how to fixed it ? It's look like it can't detect ....
th3_glove20
post May 13 2010, 11:03 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

steven mayb you can try restoring your OS?
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 11:06 AM

1,057 posts

just sometimes only
iori57
post May 13 2010, 02:59 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

I have the same problem.. though the home button is not 'sunken' but it's getting harder and harder to press each day...

nowadays i always press the home button, then nothing happens, press harder the second time, still no response, then press hard hard the third time only got response =(
th3_glove20
post May 13 2010, 05:21 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ May 13 2010, 02:59 PM)
I have the same problem.. though the home button is not 'sunken' but it's getting harder and harder to press each day...

nowadays i always press the home button, then nothing happens, press harder the second time, still no response, then press hard hard the third time only got response =(
iori how old is your unit??
Actually I've been very gentle to my "Home" button since day one.. coz I afraid someday I might encounter this problem *kiasi* laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Well if is still under warranty, go claim for warranty.. smile.gif
Shoki
post May 13 2010, 06:10 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 13 2010, 05:21 PM)
iori how old is your unit??
Actually I've been very gentle to my "Home" button since day one.. coz I afraid someday I might encounter this problem *kiasi* laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Well if is still under warranty, go claim for warranty.. smile.gif
Claim warranty means 2-6 weeks without iPhone sad.gif
Feugo
post May 13 2010, 06:26 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Shoki @ May 13 2010, 06:10 PM)
yeah.. send my iphone for RMA 4 weeks ago sad.gif white screen of death sux! bought on dec 09
The <M> staff said it was my problem for downloading weird apps..
they did fully reset and few "magic tricks" and the white screen of death still there! vmad.gif try to blame me ehh??
they promised me a new iphone.. haizz wait so long cry.gif
thefryingfox
post May 13 2010, 06:27 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Just got a kne to one replacement for my iPhone with the sunken power/sleep button replacement at digi center ss2
Shoki
post May 13 2010, 06:35 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 13 2010, 06:27 PM)
Just got a kne to one replacement for my iPhone with the sunken power/sleep button replacement at digi center ss2
When did you send in your iPhone?

This post has been edited by Shoki: May 13 2010, 06:36 PM
thefryingfox
post May 13 2010, 08:26 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(Shoki @ May 13 2010, 06:35 PM)
When did you send in your iPhone?
sent it today. On the spot one to one exchange.
th3_glove20
post May 13 2010, 09:13 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(Shoki @ May 13 2010, 06:10 PM)
I believe you can get 1 to 1 exchange on the spot... they should have reserved stock for exchange smile.gif
Gud luck...

QUOTE(Feugo @ May 13 2010, 06:26 PM)
yeah.. send my iphone for RMA 4 weeks ago sad.gif white screen of death sux! bought on dec 09
The <M> staff said it was my problem for downloading weird apps..
they did fully reset and few "magic tricks" and the white screen of death still there! vmad.gif try to blame me ehh??
they promised me a new iphone.. haizz wait so long  cry.gif
Well, if I was in the situation I will definitely fire them up & down... Trying to put the blame on me... blush.gif

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 13 2010, 06:27 PM)
My gf's IPHONE is having the sunken power button as well... sad.gif
How often do you use the Power button??
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 09:22 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 13 2010, 09:13 PM)
I believe you can get 1 to 1 exchange on the spot... they should have reserved stock for exchange  smile.gif
Gud luck...
Well, if I was in the situation I will definitely fire them up & down... Trying to put the blame on me... blush.gif
My gf's IPHONE is having the sunken power button as well... sad.gif
How often do you use the Power button??
can i know sunken power mean the button hard to touch ???
mikelim89
post May 13 2010, 09:29 PM

180 posts

Wah... There are so much of problems about iPhone... I tot only i facing problem... Now i facing a problem ( not sure whether is tis a problem). There is a dried glue beside my screen(btw the screen and the shining border).
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 09:32 PM

1,057 posts

huh nobody answering my question T_T
thefryingfox
post May 13 2010, 10:18 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 13 2010, 09:22 PM)
the power button has sunk ( ie same level as the frame and its quite hard to press the button in to enter sleep mode )
Cyan7
post May 13 2010, 11:01 PM

124 posts

Mine is maxis set, no prob.
But had a friend who bought from a shop.. Don't know where they get the phone from, the button sunken and battery bloated which makes the vibrate/sound button hard to switch. Need to press (hold) the screen and switch only can..
Don't know if the iphone is genuine or not.
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 11:08 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Cyan7 @ May 13 2010, 11:01 PM)
Mine is maxis set, no prob.
But had a friend who bought from a shop.. Don't know where they get the phone from, the button sunken and battery bloated which makes the vibrate/sound button hard to switch. Need to press (hold) the screen and switch only can..
Don't know if the iphone is genuine or not.
lol called yr friend go to repair the iphone and check it >.< same maxis set nth hapen ^^ satisfy
Cyan7
post May 13 2010, 11:14 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 13 2010, 11:08 PM)
lol called yr friend go to repair the iphone and check it >.< same maxis set nth hapen ^^ satisfy
Haha when with my friend to the shop seller, what he told me is "ini problem biasa punya, semua iphone pun macam itu. U tak percaya, gf saya punya pun mcm itu, saya boleh tunjuk sama awak'
I was stunned when he said that.. I told him, my iphone not like that also?.
Then he started repeating the same sentence, so i lazy to say already.
Asked for replace 1 to 1, he said cannot. Ask repair, he said he try but end up cannot also.
No choice, my friend just use it as it is.. 1 year warranty = like no warranty..
derik87
post May 13 2010, 11:20 PM

134 posts

i feel like my buttons are sunken, but the staffs said no, so i can't change! sigh.... ><
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 11:21 PM

1,057 posts

lol.... look like seller like scam yr friend warranty should fix it and should not keep said cant fixed fainted.... or the guys donknow how to fixed just know earn our money only ...
thefryingfox
post May 13 2010, 11:21 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

u must insist.

when i approach the counter, my first sentence is;

" take a look at this iphone and please explain to me how come 1 month old set has this button sunk in?, Is this how Digi achieve lower selling price by selling low quality product? ini reject shop punya ka?"

then she stunned. asked her collegue how....then he look at me..i told him, look at me for wat, look at my phone and explain to me please!...explain to me now please.

Few customer turn and look at me and i sat beside someone that just about to buy iphone from em.

Then they realise they cannot fak with me so just say, ok sir i will change 1 to 1 with another set. Then i tell them ' one to one with what? old phone or new phone?. then she said ' new phone'. I told her, i want you to take out the new phone from the box infront of me.

She brought a new box, open it, change the warranty card with my existing one and passed me the phone. i had to sign some document validating the warranty claim. Thats all biggrin.gif

stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 11:24 PM

1,057 posts

hahahah nice tricks next time i also wan learn from you hahah customer always right haha
Cyan7
post May 13 2010, 11:26 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 13 2010, 11:21 PM)
u must insist.

" take a look at this iphone and please explain to me how come 1 month old set has this button sunk in?, Is this how Digi achieve lower selling price by selling low quality product? ini reject shop punya ka?"

then she stunned. asked her collegue how....then he look at me..i told him, look at me for wat, look at my phone and explain to me please!...explain to me now please.

Few customer turn and look at me and i sat beside someone that just about to buy iphone from em.
Then they realise they cannot fak with me so just say, ok sir i will change 1 to 1 with another set. Then i tell them ' one to one with what? old phone or new phone?. then she said ' new phone'. I told her, i want you to take out the new phone from the box infront of me.
She brought a new box, open it, change the warranty card with my existing one and passed me the phone. i had to sign some document validating the warranty claim. Thats all biggrin.gif
Yeah in your case, i believe those service provider who sells Iphone has the 1 to 1 exchange warranty basis. Correct me if I'm wrong.

But not those hand phone shop sellers.. I've advice my friend to get from either Maxis or Digi but he don't want cause need to go through a contract so he bought from normal shop.
It's too late anyway. Anyway grats on your new handphone ;p

This post has been edited by Cyan7: May 13 2010, 11:27 PM
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 11:32 PM

1,057 posts

hahahah nice y so good the iphone reseller should help you to fixed it.... y so fast exchange for u hahah
thefryingfox
post May 13 2010, 11:35 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

i think 3rd party handphone seller dont sell original ones whch can be sent back here....

they bring in AP set which basically means they bring in stock just to sell and not to bother about warranty.

Remember, iphone is not officially in malaysia without digi/maxis. Thats why i refrain myself from buying from handphone shop eventho its so much more cheaper. Warranty time is the time u start crying
stevenng97
post May 13 2010, 11:38 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 13 2010, 11:35 PM)
i think 3rd party handphone seller dont sell original ones whch can be sent back here....
they bring in AP set which basically means they bring in stock just to sell and not to bother about warranty.

Remember, iphone is not officially in malaysia without digi/maxis. Thats why i refrain myself from buying from handphone shop eventho its so much more cheaper. Warranty time is the time u start crying
u exchange yr iphone cause of the button sunk inside when touch the home button like no touch ??? it is sorry if my english poor
thefryingfox
post May 13 2010, 11:43 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

not home button( home button is the black center one based on my understanding)

The power/sleep button is the button im talking ( the silver one beside headphone input). SUNK IN = im pressing the frame instead of the button coz the button is stuck and im guessing the spring has failed to push it back up
derik87
post May 14 2010, 12:29 AM

134 posts

u must insist.

I think u r right. As I posted earlier. They have forward me to 3 different centres n still, not changing for me. Other than sunken button case, my screen appear to be yellowish. Which I really don't know what's wrong.

I thought replacement unit got no box? The one they showed me without the box.

This post has been edited by derik87: May 14 2010, 12:31 AM
thefryingfox
post May 14 2010, 12:58 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

forward you to 3 diff center? are u a wuss? how long u waited at each center? i waited 2 hours damn farking long only can see someone .

I wasnt going back empty handed without answers...so i decided to be strong and go in the harsh way.

This post has been edited by thefryingfox: May 14 2010, 01:04 AM
mikelim89
post May 14 2010, 07:01 AM

180 posts

u must insist.

Wow~ Nice man. Next time if i got problem again on my iPhone, i will use this way to claim my warranty. So jealouse u got ur new replacement unit from a sealed new box... I don't know where they took out a unit for me as a replacement last time... Hope nothing happen to my phone anymore. Enjoy ur new phone icon_rolleyes.gif
d33pbluez
post May 14 2010, 09:11 AM

559 posts

For those with yellowish screen...mind asking what screen protector that your using ? I had an experience that screen protector with finger proof stain does effect on the screen color... as previously when i brought my phone, i apply them with screen protector with finger proof stain...then one day after playing with the device. i decided to take my wife iphone ( With no screen protector ) to compare and what i find out was my screen a bit dull and yellowish so i though it was the phone or the setting . After foundering the device i find the yellowish is still there...until i remove the screen protector and left it for few day without it and the brightness are back to normal...

Just share my experience on the yellowish screen to see if it helps... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: May 14 2010, 09:13 AM
childish_gal81
post May 14 2010, 09:31 AM

308 posts

Hi d33pbluez,

Mind to share what screen protector are you using? is it SGP?
th3_glove20
post May 14 2010, 11:03 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 13 2010, 09:22 PM)
Usually when you press on your button you should feel the "click" but with this condition it's without the "click" feeling and it's only flat feeling.. smile.gif
*sorry with the poor description*

u must insist.

Manyak garang ni... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Should learn from you man.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Feugo
post May 14 2010, 05:18 PM

111 posts

aiyohh just got my 2nd Iphone RMA today! after waiting for a month!
you know what....
the power/sleep button sunken sebelah! mmg knn laa this people..

I show it back to the maxis staff, they said its a manufacture defect
he main tarik tali with me.. said the button still can be use and no need send warranty.
and he also said if send warranty for the 3rd times have to wait!! no immediate replace. MCB! doh.gif
Luckily the staff talk very nice and try to calm me down(nak rage pon kesian) He said try the phone for this 2 days.. if not happy send it back on Monday. *sighhhhh*

I blame the distributor bodoh betul.. cannot check properly ahh?? gimme reject iphone for what!! &*^%$%^$##@$@!#@ vmad.gif
thefryingfox
post May 14 2010, 05:43 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

most probably it was an rma unit and they release it to you after they think they repaired it.

If im your shoes, i wont accept this and i will speak to the manager how can you ask me not to send warranty. IF I HAVE WARRANTY I WILL EXERCISE MY RIGHT TO WARRANTY IT!

no one can say otherwise.

If that fellow kena from me, i make sure i humiliate him to the max
th3_glove20
post May 15 2010, 09:12 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(Feugo @ May 14 2010, 05:18 PM)
aiyohh just got my 2nd Iphone RMA today! after waiting for a month!
you know what....
the power/sleep button sunken sebelah! mmg knn laa this people..

I show it back to the maxis staff, they said its a manufacture defect
he main tarik tali with me.. said the button still can be use and no need send warranty.
and he also said if send warranty for the 3rd times have to wait!! no immediate replace. MCB!  doh.gif
Luckily the staff talk very nice and try to calm me down(nak rage pon kesian) He said try the phone for this 2 days.. if not happy send it back on Monday. *sighhhhh*

I blame the distributor bodoh betul.. cannot check properly ahh?? gimme reject iphone for what!! &*^%$%^$##@$@!#@  vmad.gif
You didn't open the box on the spot to check before you leave?

Btw what is RMA? blush.gif
stevenng97
post May 15 2010, 10:50 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 14 2010, 05:43 PM)
most probably it was an rma unit and they release it to you after they think they repaired it.

If im your shoes, i wont accept this and i will speak to the manager how can you ask me not to send warranty. IF I HAVE WARRANTY I WILL EXERCISE MY RIGHT TO WARRANTY IT!

no one can say otherwise.
If that fellow kena from me, i make sure i humiliate him to the max
u should call them exchange it .... on spot add somemore damn scare iphone got those problem .... >.<

Added on May 15, 2010, 11:13 amjust saw iphone power/sleep button sunk one side but look so function should i go ask for warranty ??

This post has been edited by stevenng97: May 15 2010, 11:13 AM
thefryingfox
post May 15 2010, 07:04 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

if ur phone one side sunk in, cannot claim..

if u need to use ur finger nails or thumbs n press it really hard, then can claim.

one side should be still ok.
PeeEl
post May 15 2010, 07:21 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 15 2010, 07:04 PM)
if ur phone one side sunk in, cannot claim..

if u need to use ur finger nails or thumbs n press it really hard, then can claim.

one side should be still ok.
Whilst your statement is not entirely incorrect, it is also not right. If there is a defect especially if it affects the functioning/performance of the unit, you can send in for a warranty claim.
Feugo
post May 15 2010, 08:55 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 15 2010, 09:12 AM)
You didn't open the box on the spot to check before you leave?

Btw what is RMA? blush.gif
After using my 1st iphone for 6 month, the prob appear(white screen of death).. i sent warranty.
1 month later they replaced me the new device.. and the 2nd device also got prob(sunken power/sleep button) rclxms.gif
That maxis staff said try first, because the sunken button still can be push.. vmad.gif

RMA - return merchandise authorization
th3_glove20
post May 15 2010, 10:42 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 15 2010, 10:50 AM)
u should call them exchange it .... on spot add somemore damn scare iphone got those problem .... >.<

Added on May 15, 2010, 11:13 amjust saw iphone power/sleep button sunk one side but look so function should i go ask for warranty ??
Yes my GF's Iphone is hacing the sunken 1 side power button as well.. I supposed she hardly press on the power button...
Prolly will send in for warranty next month.. Is there any procedure we need to follow?? smile.gif

QUOTE(Feugo @ May 15 2010, 08:55 PM)
After using my 1st iphone for 6 month, the prob appear(white screen of death).. i sent warranty.
1 month later they replaced me the new device.. and the 2nd device also got prob(sunken power/sleep button)  rclxms.gif
That maxis staff said try first, because the sunken button still can be push.. vmad.gif

RMA - return merchandise authorization
Ohh... RMA..
So are still planing to replace another unit??
How many times we are entitle to claim for warranty?? ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
PeeEl
post May 15 2010, 11:43 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 15 2010, 10:42 PM)
Yes my GF's Iphone is hacing the sunken 1 side power button as well.. I supposed she hardly press on the power button...
Prolly will send in for warranty next month.. Is there any procedure we need to follow?? smile.gif
Ohh... RMA..
So are still planing to replace another unit??
How many times we are entitle to claim for warranty?? ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif
AFAIK so long as the unit is within the warranty period and if it is defective, you can send in for warranty claim until the period runs out.
thefryingfox
post May 16 2010, 01:03 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ May 15 2010, 07:21 PM)
Whilst your statement is not entirely incorrect, it is also not right. If there is a defect especially if it affects the functioning/performance of the unit, you can send in for a warranty claim.
yea definitely can send. my bad. What i mean is a 1 to 1 exchange. My worry if its just slightly slanted ( which is normal for iphones), they might take it in for warranty check etc and take 2-3 weeks.

This is nonsense. What i went in is based on solid foundation to ensure they give me a 1-1 exchange. Because they will definitely test it on the spot to verify and the way the button is sunked in( ie 45 degrees), it just may be pressed like a normal operation and it works. However in my situation, normal operation does not apply and u need to exert more force until ur finger hurts to press that button.

So in this sense, i know for a fact is a 1 to 1 warranty. If sunken and u just making noise, my only worry is that they make your life miserable by taking in for checks etc. Seeing how it is not only affecting DIGI Iphones and a global bunch of iphones ( read other forums or google sunken button), they may say can still work and is normal for iphone UNLESS it affects normal OPERATION of using it ( ie. Using more than usual force and hurts your finger lol)
icycokes
post May 16 2010, 11:06 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

may i ask, digi customers dont get to exchange on the spot?

or.. both maxis and digi require further check on iphones before they do an exchange?
tiny
post May 17 2010, 01:01 AM

133 posts

I used my iphone for more than 6 months adi.
The button starting to fail me went to the warranty centre to ask why n they gave me a new one after 15 minutes.
I never use protective casing n my iphone is a little scratched here and there but they didn't care.
Just replaced one for me when they find that I din jail break or open the casing before.

xaw5126
post May 17 2010, 09:17 AM

3,488 posts

@tiny
where was this? very unusual for maxis / Digi to perform a one-to-one swap ...
th3_glove20
post May 17 2010, 12:00 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(tiny @ May 17 2010, 01:01 AM)
I used my iphone for more than 6 months adi.
The button starting to fail me went to the warranty centre to ask why n they gave me a new one after 15 minutes.
I never use protective casing n my iphone is a little scratched here and there but they didn't care.
Just replaced one for me when they find that I din jail break or open the casing before.
Question here when you guys send for warranty, do I have to restore my iPhone?
I did Jb ald for my phone... hmm.gif hmm.gif
felixwlchuan87
post May 18 2010, 09:55 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 17 2010, 12:00 PM)
Question here when you guys send for warranty, do I have to restore my iPhone?
I did Jb ald for my phone...  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
yes u need to restore back
stevenng97
post May 18 2010, 10:03 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(felixwlchuan87 @ May 18 2010, 09:55 PM)
yes u need to restore back
look great mean iphone warranty ^^ keep exchange and exchange... mine 1 sunk one side but i feel waste to exchange coz i already put scrren protector >.< should if claim ? maxis customer
ahnien
post May 18 2010, 11:03 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 18 2010, 10:03 PM)
look great mean iphone warranty ^^ keep exchange and exchange... mine 1 sunk one side but i feel waste to exchange coz i already put scrren protector >.< should if claim ? maxis customer
1 screen protector cost less than the repairs. moreover... you get to have a new phone??? hahaha
thefryingfox
post May 18 2010, 11:06 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

change the screen protector urself lah
i insisted the phone come with the plastic untouch when they insert my sim.

So i just remove my SP from my old phone and repaste it back on the new phone. Offcourse that place not clean so dont be kiasu one peck of dust in between.

Went home and i use the selofan tape method to clean both the phone and the SP. after that, look like normal
stevenng97
post May 18 2010, 11:14 PM

1,057 posts

but sure will exchange 1 to 1 i scare they refuse will ?

Added on May 18, 2010, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 18 2010, 11:14 PM)
coz its still function nicely should i ?? will they accept my claims?

This post has been edited by stevenng97: May 18 2010, 11:32 PM
th3_glove20
post May 19 2010, 10:47 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 18 2010, 10:03 PM)
Come one buddy... Brand new phone man... I would rather sacrifice my SP....

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 18 2010, 11:14 PM)

Added on May 18, 2010, 11:32 pm
coz its still function nicely should i ?? will they accept my claims?
Yes you should... icon_rolleyes.gif
Go claim it..
stevenng97
post May 19 2010, 10:55 AM

1,057 posts

but its look not so side la... juz little
th3_glove20
post May 19 2010, 12:54 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

This depends on how you explain on your issue... Hehehe try not to show your friendly smile to them... mad.gif mad.gif
stevenng97
post May 19 2010, 02:25 PM

1,057 posts

Lol just now I dhow friendly then they said to me that cause always keep touching the button so become like that and then I claims failed lol sad .... How lol guys can I claim this phone to another state maxis centre ?
PeeEl
post May 19 2010, 07:52 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 19 2010, 10:47 AM)
Come one buddy... Brand new phone man... I would rather sacrifice my SP....
Yes you should... icon_rolleyes.gif
Go claim it..
Can I just correct you a little? You may not get a new set. Highly probable that it would be a refurbished unit.
yusvogue
post May 20 2010, 08:48 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Cyan7 @ May 13 2010, 11:26 PM)
Yeah in your case, i believe those service provider who sells Iphone has the 1 to 1 exchange warranty basis. Correct me if I'm wrong.

But not those hand phone shop sellers.. I've advice my friend to get from either Maxis or Digi but he don't want cause need to go through a contract so he bought from normal shop.
It's too late anyway. Anyway grats on your new handphone ;p
You can find a shop that sells Maxis set without have to q or to get the hotlink starter pack..
Some more, I bought it RM10 cheaper than Maxis tongue.gif
My Hubby just bought his last Sunday at RM2430 for 16G-3Gs...
and got the screen protector for free...
Just love it! If you wanna know which shop, I can introduce it to you..
And the seller is so friendly, ooo they even transfer all the contacts for you rclxms.gif
stevenng97
post May 20 2010, 10:10 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ May 19 2010, 07:52 PM)
Can I just correct you a little? You may not get a new set. Highly probable that it would be a refurbished unit.
So if I want claim my iPhone if my sunk button problem how to I know it's refurbished set ? shocking.gif
ksc_3688
post May 20 2010, 10:18 AM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 20 2010, 10:10 AM)
So if I want claim my iPhone if my sunk button problem how to I know it's  refurbished set ?  shocking.gif
If they decide to give to refurbished set, there is nothing much can be done as thats how it's done. This sets are called warranty set. You can check the lifetimer
th3_glove20
post May 20 2010, 03:29 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

Sorry I don't get it.. What do you mean by refurbish unit?
So whenever we claim for warranty we don't get 100% new unit?
thefryingfox
post May 20 2010, 03:35 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

new unit can be hardly define. it could be all the units even brand new sold are refurbished dont you think so?

As long there is no scratches etc, it will look new. Apple just need to change the casing and it will look brand new. How would u know the one u are getting from the box is also brand new?

This is a business tactic that we consumers dont know. even mine also they took from box, for all i know its brand new. For all Apple knows, its just another recycled iphone smile.gif
PeeEl
post May 21 2010, 04:11 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 20 2010, 03:35 PM)
new unit can be hardly define. it could be all the units even brand new sold are refurbished dont you think so?
As long there is no scratches etc, it will look new. Apple just need to change the casing and it will look brand new. How would u know the one u are getting from the box is also brand new?

This is a business tactic that we consumers dont know. even mine also they took from box, for all i know its brand new. For all Apple knows, its just another recycled iphone smile.gif
The trend or perhaps I should say practice thus far is that most if not all replacement units are refurbished. The exception would be that when one sends in a phone for warranty, a new 'model' is just launched which Apple then would not have any refurbished units available, he/she would get a new set.

Most of the refurbished units are of US origin and therefore by referring to the Part No. which would be a US one, you would know that it is refurbished but it would be officially unlocked.

tabs
post May 21 2010, 09:56 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

yaya.. that time i send my iphone 3gs to maxis and i get back the iphone within 2 week+ and i get back the number is mb instead of mc that time i was worry is locked set even go back maxis to exchange other.. but they told me the chip inside is changed so no need worry..
stevenng97
post May 22 2010, 12:37 AM

1,057 posts

so it's mean if it is a refurbished set but inside is still fine ?? and how we know it is new set?? and what different mb or mc ? is it mb is from us ??
Maestrol
post May 23 2010, 08:37 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 22 2010, 12:37 AM)
so it's mean if it is a refurbished set but inside is still fine ?? and how we know it is new set?? and what different mb or mc ? is it mb is from us ??
They used to say MB = iPhone 3G, MC = iPhone 3GS. However, my replacement iPhone 3GS starts with MB smile.gif
mikelim89
post May 23 2010, 09:23 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ May 23 2010, 08:37 PM)
They used to say MB = iPhone 3G, MC = iPhone 3GS. However, my replacement iPhone 3GS starts with MB smile.gif
MB? U all mean the model number? If u all talking about Model number, than my replacement unit also starts with MB doh.gif

This post has been edited by mikelim89: May 23 2010, 09:37 PM
Jackygwh
post May 23 2010, 10:25 PM

1,131 posts

hi all brothers.....wanna ask ... is there anyone who bought the Maxis 16GB 3GS set... hows ur power button ?? issit "sunken" also ?? mine i suddenly felt like it is almost flat with the iphone casing ed.... not so stand out ...can i send to warrenty like this ??
stevenng97
post May 24 2010, 12:02 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(mikelim89 @ May 23 2010, 09:23 PM)
MB? U all mean the model number? If u all talking about Model number, than my replacement unit also starts with MB  doh.gif
so weird y like this 1 ?? >.< it shopuld is 3g y came wif 3gs ?

Added on May 24, 2010, 12:04 am
QUOTE(Jackygwh @ May 23 2010, 10:25 PM)
hi all brothers.....wanna ask ... is there anyone who bought the Maxis 16GB 3GS set... hows ur power button ?? issit "sunken" also ?? mine i suddenly felt like it is almost flat with the iphone casing ed.... not so stand out ...can i send to warrenty like this ??
ya u can and u must have the mouth skill to call them to exchange if u wan warranty only juz let it only ... so u using how many months?

This post has been edited by stevenng97: May 24 2010, 12:04 AM
Jackygwh
post May 24 2010, 10:16 PM

1,131 posts

bro warrenty means how ?? the repair ??? if exchange can kah ? i no skill in this :S ... i use since last year august !!
stevenng97
post May 24 2010, 11:44 PM

1,057 posts

ya repair only if yr iphone very serious and cant use it than juz exchange for u ... or u have a mouth skill talk till them exchange wif u
5w33
post May 25 2010, 01:15 AM

638 posts

My 3G home button didn't sink, but it's getting harder and harder to get a respond from the button. Anywhere we could repair this? Mine is Singtel set and no more warranty.
xaw5126
post May 25 2010, 01:41 PM

3,488 posts

out of warranty repairs = contact forumers = wei or crxr
mikelim89
post May 25 2010, 05:28 PM

180 posts

seems like iphone got alot of problems... Where can we repair our phone after the warranty period? Machines?
Jackygwh
post May 25 2010, 10:59 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 24 2010, 11:44 PM)
ya repair only if yr iphone very serious and cant use it than juz exchange for u ... or u have a mouth skill talk till them exchange wif u
ya thanks bro for ur info biggrin.gif
xaw5126
post May 26 2010, 12:16 PM

3,488 posts

for official repairs, take it back to the carrier (maxis / Digi) and expect it to be expensive. those would be guaranteed original parts & official technician.
for unofficial repairs, contact our forumers wei or crxr.

also, AFAIK, Apple is only doing replacements in Malaysia. Maybe its cos there's no iPhone technicians here?
Jackygwh
post May 26 2010, 09:48 PM

1,131 posts

ya ka ?? i heard someone spill water on thier Aus set iphone and get replacement also... hmm
xaw5126
post May 27 2010, 11:35 AM

3,488 posts

I don't think anyone here wanna try, since iPhone has a water sensor in 2 separate areas. Authorised partners are supposed to check and Apple suppliers will definitely check... so if you wanna experiment, go ahead smile.gif

xpresside
post May 27 2010, 04:45 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(mikelim89 @ May 25 2010, 05:28 PM)
seems like iphone got alot of problems... Where can we repair our phone after the warranty period? Machines?
machine wont entertain product with no warranty doh.gif
sent my ipod to change battery but they just say no.
mikelim89
post May 27 2010, 05:21 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ May 27 2010, 04:45 PM)
machine wont entertain product with no warranty  doh.gif
sent my ipod to change battery but they just say no.
Huh! I tot they are official distributor? If they refuse to repair, who should we looking for? Malaysia really don't have any Official customer service center?
Jackygwh
post May 27 2010, 10:43 PM

1,131 posts

JB machine at City square SUCKS also.....berlagak alot.......
aztechx
post May 30 2010, 10:49 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

well..just discovered i do have this sunken home button problem after taking off my casing..since it was under the protective silicone of my casing,didnt notice it..

the button is still operating so if i didnt notice it before i guess it wouldnt be a problem..hope it doesnt get worse though..disappointing since i expected a whole lot more from apple, quality-wise..
DDTYEAP
post May 31 2010, 01:46 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ May 23 2010, 08:37 PM)
bro,you are wrong
seem all new set from maxis and digi is MC model
for exchange unit,because apple was give only handset to
Apple ditributor service centre and this set all is start MB but also new
seem in the world have same MB model handset for exchange
is not mean MB will be 3g and MC is was 3gs

i hope this can made all clear here
Maestrol
post May 31 2010, 11:28 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(DDTYEAP @ May 31 2010, 01:46 AM)
bro,you are wrong
seem all new set from maxis and digi is MC model
for exchange unit,because apple was give only handset to
Apple ditributor service centre and this set all is start MB but also new
seem in the world have same MB model handset for exchange
is not mean MB will be 3g and MC is was 3gs

i hope this can made all clear here
Ya I know bro. I was refering to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry22081349 when I say they used to say MB phones are 3G phones:

QUOTE(Maverick Wil @ Dec 11 2008, 12:53 AM)
Section 'A' : iPhone Basics & The Difference Between Unlocked Vs Locked Units:

1) iPhone Basics

Apple has to date launched two generations of the iPhone which is the iPhone aka iPhone 2G (2007) and the iPhone 3G (2008):

iPhone generation model starts with: [by nokia2003]

MAxxx are 2G iPhones
MBxxx are 3G iPhones
MCxxx are 3GS iPhones
th3_glove20
post May 31 2010, 01:58 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

I plan to send in my 3Gs to claim warranty for a sunken warranty..
The question how am I suppose to tell the service persons and do I have restore my iPhone because currently is jailbroken..

Please advise =)
Maestrol
post May 31 2010, 08:59 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ May 31 2010, 01:58 PM)
I plan to send in my 3Gs to claim warranty for a sunken warranty..
The question how am I suppose to tell the service persons and do I have restore my iPhone because currently is jailbroken..

Please advise =)
For official warranties, you MUST restore your iPhone before you send it in.
keon1217
post Jun 2 2010, 01:25 AM

49 posts

Mine is O2 set from UK. No such problem ocour
zeone
post Jun 2 2010, 12:37 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

Sunken Home button? Really not get it cos fr new, the Home button is in the form of a "depression" /sunken state wan... Just look at all iPhone ads. wink.gif
chuan106
post Jun 3 2010, 01:04 AM

35 posts

I have my maxis set iphone one month before and i found out that my home button has sunken. can i claim for one to one exchange from maxis under warranty?
unknowmaster
post Jun 3 2010, 01:05 AM

376 posts

of coz you can... but you still have to wait for it.
chuan106
post Jun 3 2010, 01:11 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(unknowmaster @ Jun 3 2010, 01:05 AM)
of coz you can... but you still have to wait for it.
erm... bout how long?
stevenng97
post Jun 3 2010, 06:18 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(chuan106 @ Jun 3 2010, 01:11 AM)
erm... bout how long?
hmmm i think u need a talkative skill to exchange yr iphone... cause if juz said sunk button maybe they juz will bring back factory to repair only... that time make u more suffer than now ... if not so serious no nid claim waranty ...
KannaSai1
post Jun 6 2010, 09:10 AM

6,933 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Apr 10 2010, 08:59 AM)
Go to

Settings -> General -> Reset -> Erase all content and settings

Hope that helped. smile.gif
better backup b4 reset. biggrin.gif
dhui
post Jun 7 2010, 01:28 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(chuan106 @ Jun 3 2010, 01:04 AM)
I have my maxis set iphone one month before and i found out that my home button has sunken. can i claim for one to one exchange from maxis under warranty?
We can't answer you this but advise you to go ask at maxis center.
KannaSai1
post Jun 9 2010, 12:20 PM

6,933 posts

QUOTE(chuan106 @ Jun 3 2010, 01:04 AM)
Depend on stock availability.
twilight_fever
post Jun 21 2010, 08:54 AM

660 posts

mine sunken abit,but i am ok with it
as long as it still function as usual i think that shldn't be a big problem...
Shoki
post Jun 21 2010, 10:16 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(twilight_fever @ Jun 21 2010, 08:54 AM)
mine sunken abit,but i am ok with it
as long as it still function as usual i think that shldn't be a big problem...
Better claim warranty before it gets worst! I sent in mine a week ago.
twilight_fever
post Jun 21 2010, 10:21 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(Shoki @ Jun 21 2010, 10:16 AM)
Better claim warranty before it gets worst! I sent in mine a week ago.
if sent back to maxis,gotta wait for some time b4 get it back,haih
might as well wait till 1 month b4 d warranty expired then ony claim warranty laugh.gif
Shoki
post Jun 21 2010, 10:28 AM

2,139 posts

Lol smart. Same as what I did. Warranty ending next month. Tough time bearing with the home button for months.
Mackiddo
post Jun 21 2010, 10:11 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ May 27 2010, 10:43 PM)
JB machine at City square SUCKS also.....berlagak alot.......
i think they are ok. I even bought a few things from the store. Some of them are quite knowledgeable.

maru
post Jul 6 2010, 09:52 AM

1,191 posts

Hi guys....

i dont know what is the definition of sunken home button cause my naked eye cant c it clearly...is there any picture or something like that?

Well as my case, sometimes the home button i need to press several times in order for it to get response. Some time i even need to press the power button first then the home button response. My question is this hardware problem or software problem?

my iphone from maxis set, it was 3GS. I lazy want to format my iphone because there are lots of stuffz inside. i know i can backup but eventually i need to JB it again n reinstall everything.

if there is anyone took their iphone claim warranty 1 to 1 due to this cause. would be glad if u can tell me how the procedure, mine still under maxis warranty
yezhacolic
post Jul 6 2010, 09:56 AM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHBKtZnl_uQ&feature=related

The effect of sunken button looks like above if not mistaken. Someone confirm this. drool.gif

This post has been edited by yezhacolic: Jul 6 2010, 10:00 AM
maru
post Jul 6 2010, 05:38 PM

1,191 posts

hmm similar case....

can warranty for 1 to 1 exchange?
yezhacolic
post Jul 6 2010, 05:55 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Jul 6 2010, 05:38 PM)
hmm similar case....

Since you still under warranty, give a try. Bring back to Maxis centre and address the problem to them.
If problem can be fixed, then not eligible to 1 to 1 exchange lolz.
PeeEl
post Jul 6 2010, 06:40 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Jul 6 2010, 05:38 PM)
hmm similar case....

The prerogative is the carrier's. But generally, they will replace 1 for 1. In any event you are assured that your problem will be addressed and solved either way. So, just send it in for a warranty claim.

On the positive side, at least your predicament arose whilst it is within the warranty period. Some, I know, was past it and therefore had to fork out their own money to have it repaired.
Shoki
post Jul 9 2010, 11:28 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Jul 6 2010, 09:52 AM)
Hi guys....

i dont know what is the definition of sunken home button cause my naked eye cant c it clearly...is there any picture or something like that?

Well as my case, sometimes the home button i need to press several times in order for it to get response. Some time i even need to press the power button first then the home button response. My question is this hardware problem or software problem?

my iphone from maxis set, it was 3GS. I lazy want to format my iphone because there are lots of stuffz inside. i know i can backup but eventually i need to JB it again n reinstall everything.

if there is anyone took their iphone claim warranty 1 to 1 due to this cause. would be glad if u can tell me how the procedure, mine still under maxis warranty
I exchanged mine for warranty. Took about 10 days. You can't really tell just by looking. It just feels that the home button is unresponsive.

QUOTE(yezhacolic @ Jul 6 2010, 09:56 AM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHBKtZnl_uQ&feature=related

The effect of sunken button looks like above if not mistaken. Someone confirm this.  drool.gif
The video is quite blur. As long as you need to press multiple times / very hard to press = problem.
maru
post Jul 10 2010, 02:42 AM

1,191 posts

hi bro...

sometimes i get response with a click sometimes few times only response

so how to convince them my iphone is faulty? or this is a common problem?
Shoki
post Jul 10 2010, 11:58 AM

2,139 posts

I suggest you walk in to your telco centre and speak to their PIC of warranty. Try to sound frustrated and convince them that it has been causing you a lot of trouble and demand for an exchange.
cyberminator
post Aug 1 2010, 02:18 AM

18 posts

Can anyone help me ?
I dropped my iphone, once i pick it up, i realise the homebutton isn't working and function like it used to be.
Now when i wanna close an app, i hav to turn off the phone and on it again sad.gif
any ideas ?
cafuheva
post Aug 1 2010, 02:27 AM

1,188 posts

probably worse case your home button chip inside already broken. Or your home button is not responsive.

Replacement home button alone is RM150 now.

cyberminator
post Aug 1 2010, 02:47 AM

18 posts

HOme button is not responsive ..
=(

where to go for repair ?
trustable one ?
cafuheva
post Aug 1 2010, 04:47 AM

1,188 posts

if your iphone still under warranty, you can send to replace it. If not, there is couple guys in this forum can help on repairing it. Can search for the service in this forum.
xaw5126
post Aug 3 2010, 10:48 AM

3,488 posts

I got tired of my iPhone 3G squishy home button, and had the mechanism replaced to the 3G [S] mechanism... much better smile.gif
netboy
post Aug 3 2010, 04:59 PM

Bang Your Head
2,126 posts

Hi all,

My 3GS home button is losing it's responsiveness too. It's not physically sunken but usually have to press few times to get it to work. Still under warranty about 10 months old. Looking at the replies in this thread, I think it's a common problem for 3GS.

I'm not too sure about sending back to Apple because AFAIK they usually replace with a refurbished set, therefore I will lose my SHSH blobs of 3.1.3 and 4.0 (Yes, I jailbroken).
tinkerbel
post Aug 3 2010, 05:03 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@netboy,
Go get a new unit; it's gonna be difficult to dispose/sell the unit if the Home button is sunken or not working, right?

Live without having to JB ur phone biggrin.gif
Snuffykl
post Aug 3 2010, 05:08 PM

**emolified**
835 posts

QUOTE(netboy @ Aug 3 2010, 04:59 PM)
Hi all,

My 3GS home button is losing it's responsiveness too. It's not physically sunken but usually have to press few times to get it to work. Still under warranty about 10 months old. Looking at the replies in this thread, I think it's a common problem for 3GS.

I'm not too sure about sending back to Apple because AFAIK they usually replace with a refurbished set, therefore I will lose my SHSH blobs of 3.1.3 and 4.0 (Yes, I jailbroken).
oh well just like mine I gave crxr fixed my sunken homebutton just last week Friday...If u still want ur jailbreak and old bootrom then just fixed the homebutton. If u want a refurbished with new bootrom then just claim warranty hehe...
nokia2003
post Aug 3 2010, 05:47 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(netboy @ Aug 3 2010, 04:59 PM)
Hi all,

at this point of time, they will.
nx7010
post Aug 8 2010, 02:53 AM

148 posts

i rather have proper hardware...
you can always rejailbreak...

iZuDeeN
post Aug 9 2010, 09:29 AM

3,466 posts

Guys anyone had a sunken Power Button?

How long does it usually take to RMA? Will I get back my set or another refurbished set?

its DiGi set bTW
m|key
post Aug 19 2010, 09:33 AM

271 posts

hi,
any maxis user went to claim warranty for home button less responsiveness? do they honor the warranty?

This post has been edited by m|key: Aug 19 2010, 09:35 AM
sebz
post Nov 27 2010, 08:33 PM

331 posts

guys,i jus get an iphone 4 from maxis(outright purchase from some forumer)

my home button is loosening/rattles its like when u place ur finger on the button(not pressing on it) and move slightly 4 direction
its a bit loose and wiggles back and forth , it's possible to move the button around without pressing it down. its really annoy me!

i did try to ask maxis for dis problem,they said its replaceable..

but the problem is im having dificulty for the warranty method since the phone is not register with me,lets say even i am able to get the phone warranty im worry the actual owner will be contacted and runaway with my phone

i got frens who specialise in repair handphone including ip4 , should i let them open up and fix the problem(which will void the warranty apparently)
or um...is there any other way? cry.gif

i been headache for dis problem quite a while rclxub.gif , i would greatly appreciate for any recommendation and suggestion from any frens here...
i am out of idea for now,imagine spending 2.45k for a problem phone , pls help me out icon_question.gif

sebz

related picture for ref

This post has been edited by sebz: Nov 27 2010, 08:37 PM
vez
post Nov 27 2010, 10:13 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Nov 27 2010, 08:33 PM)
guys,i jus get an iphone 4 from maxis(outright purchase from some forumer)

my home button is loosening/rattles its like when u place ur finger on the button(not pressing on it) and move slightly 4 direction
its a bit loose and wiggles back and forth , it's possible to move the button around without pressing it down. its really annoy me!

i did try to ask maxis for dis problem,they said its replaceable..

but the problem is im having dificulty for the warranty method since the phone is not register with me,lets say even i am able to get the phone warranty im worry the actual owner will be contacted and runaway with my phone

i got frens who specialise in repair handphone including ip4 , should i let them open up and fix the problem(which will void the warranty apparently)
or um...is there any other way? cry.gif

i been headache for dis problem quite a while  rclxub.gif , i would greatly appreciate for any recommendation and suggestion from any frens here...
i am out of idea for now,imagine spending 2.45k for a problem phone , pls help me out  icon_question.gif

sebz

related picture for ref
you should have the maxis warranty card right when you buy from the forumer?

why not u try ask maxis to contact you rather than the owner? since it is outright purchase, it does not tie to any contract plan smile.gif

I found that some i4 do have this problem after 1month+ of usage, mine still ok, but some of my friends use for 2months, they have this home button wiggle problems, but they said it do not bother them cause the button functioning well, still with good responsive, just abit wiggle/rattles as you mentioned when you place your finger on it and moving around without pressing it smile.gif

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 27 2010, 10:15 PM
Revamperz
post Nov 27 2010, 11:27 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,163 posts

on/off button wiggles i can still bear , but home button? yikes

btw, bumper/casing quickly "eliminate" the issues of rattling on/off buttons laugh.gif
vez
post Nov 28 2010, 12:49 AM

4,622 posts

i think if it is wiggle when u touch and moving around without pressing it, it is fine

if it wiggle/rattling when u softly shake your phone then it can be annoying smile.gif
dhui
post Nov 28 2010, 02:35 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

Try ask maxis to contact you rather the buyer.
sebz
post Nov 28 2010, 12:57 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 27 2010, 10:13 PM)
you should have the maxis warranty card right when you buy from the forumer?

why not u try ask maxis to contact you rather than the owner? since it is outright purchase, it does not tie to any contract plan smile.gif

I found that some i4 do have this problem after 1month+ of usage, mine still ok, but some of my friends use for 2months, they have this home button wiggle problems, but they said it do not bother them cause the button functioning well, still with good responsive, just abit wiggle/rattles as you mentioned when you place your finger on it and moving around without pressing it smile.gif
i not really asking for the owner perhaps it will be better if he dont noe...i worry during warranty done they usually refer to the phone register to whos number during outright purchase and contact back him not me shocking.gif and runaway with it...

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 28 2010, 12:49 AM)
i think if it is wiggle when u touch and moving around without pressing it, it is fine

if it wiggle/rattling when u softly shake your phone then it can be annoying smile.gif
somehow wad u said is reasonable....some fren sstilll telling me jus forgot it and enjoy the great phone doh.gif
jus im annoying , pay a high price for an un-perfect

This post has been edited by sebz: Nov 28 2010, 01:02 PM
zaff1984
post Nov 28 2010, 05:14 PM

187 posts

im often use double click the home button... afraid will sunk my home button in future...
dhui
post Nov 28 2010, 05:52 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Nov 28 2010, 05:14 PM)
im often use double click the home button... afraid will sunk my home button in future...
Nvm, got apps called QuickDo to solve this problems. smile.gif
vez
post Nov 28 2010, 06:51 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Nov 28 2010, 12:57 PM)
i not really asking for the owner perhaps it will be better if he dont noe...i worry during warranty done they usually refer to the phone register to whos number during outright purchase and contact back him not me  shocking.gif and runaway with it...
somehow wad u said is reasonable....some fren sstilll telling me jus forgot it and enjoy the great phone  doh.gif
jus im annoying , pay a high price for an un-perfect
i think it will be maxis fault if they contacting who they sell the phone to, but not the person send for repair

since you have the warranty card, it cant be stolen phone right biggrin.gif (if maxis staff think so)

no harm you go to the maxis center and ask for them if you leave it to claim warranty, can they contact you instead of the first buyer, you are paying and buy the phone from others, not doing anything illegal smile.gif (it is outright purchase, not tie with any iValue plan)

for maxis i4 warranty claim, it will be 2-3weeks, if you stay at KL, it might be faster
i have friend claimed warranty on i4 from maxis Penang, need to wait 2-3weeks, although it is 1-1 exchange

p/s: if someone buy i4 for his gf, and his gf send the i4 to claim warranty? who will maxis call biggrin.gif
jimbet1337
post Nov 28 2010, 07:18 PM

meh
2,670 posts

For those who currently having problems with the home button, just use "Activator" as a temporary solution. At least you won't having the hard time to press the problematic button till you send it for repair.
vez
post Nov 28 2010, 07:34 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 28 2010, 07:18 PM)
For those who currently having problems with the home button, just use "Activator" as a temporary solution. At least you won't having the hard time to press the problematic button till you send it for repair.
only for JB right?

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 28 2010, 07:34 PM
jimbet1337
post Nov 28 2010, 08:03 PM

meh
2,670 posts

Vez, yes. I don't mean to discuss about JB here but if anyone who already JB'ed and currently having the problem with the home button, just do it smile.gif
yezhacolic
post Nov 28 2010, 10:13 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 28 2010, 08:03 PM)
Vez, yes. I don't mean to discuss about JB here but if anyone who already JB'ed and currently having the problem with the home button, just do it smile.gif
Thats just for short term, think long term yo. Its worth all the hassle thou.
Mackiddo
post Nov 28 2010, 10:31 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Nov 28 2010, 05:14 PM)
it will. it took around 8 months for my 3GS home button to sunk and i'm talking about heavy usage, my 3G always on 24/7. I only took it back on the 11 month to change under warranty and sold off the perfect replacement set. I expect the same will happen to my iP4 but i'm not too worry about it.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 28 2010, 11:31 PM
holoman
post Nov 28 2010, 11:09 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

mine also the same ..
but use few month already ..
3gs maxis set .. now hard to press d smile.gif
this prob can claim to maxis not ?
mine still with warranty
dhui
post Nov 28 2010, 11:36 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Nov 28 2010, 11:09 PM)
mine also the same ..
but use few month already ..
3gs maxis set .. now hard to press d smile.gif
this prob can claim to maxis not ?
mine still with warranty
Mostly can, just go maxis centre and ask them then you will know whether you can or not.
holoman
post Nov 28 2010, 11:43 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Nov 28 2010, 11:36 PM)
Mostly can, just go maxis centre and ask them then you will know whether you can or not.
usually how long took for replacement ? few month ? ..
just bring service card right ? ..
and need to restore the ori setting ?
dhui
post Nov 29 2010, 03:01 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Nov 28 2010, 11:43 PM)
usually how long took for replacement ? few month ? ..
just bring service card right ? ..
and need to restore the ori setting ?
Sometimes Maxis may not give you a new replacement unit, they might send it to Apple Singapore Factory to repair it.

If this is the case, it might take weeks.

Bring the service card of course... If you have jailbroken then you must restore it before you send it in.
Mackiddo
post Nov 30 2010, 09:49 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Nov 29 2010, 03:01 PM)
Sometimes Maxis may not give you a new replacement unit, they might send it to Apple Singapore Factory to repair it.

If this is the case, it might take weeks.

Bring the service card of course... If you have jailbroken then you must restore it before you send it in.
they will give a new refurbished unit.
holoman
post Nov 30 2010, 03:59 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

wah,i thought they give the new one,not refurbished,haiyaa ..

Neo_Y
post Nov 30 2010, 05:33 PM

219 posts

Loose or sunken home button are just common issues, what about stiff and hard to press button?

Does anyone here having issues with the iPhone 4 volume buttons being stiff and hard to press?

The + or up volume button makes a clicking noise once I pressed it, but the - or lower button is really stiff, makes no clicking sound and doesn't feel like its being pressed, although the phone does react to the press. Well, what should I do for it?
vez
post Nov 30 2010, 08:58 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Nov 30 2010, 03:59 PM)
wah,i thought they give the new one,not refurbished,haiyaa ..
u wont know it is new or refurbished set

it can be new, can be refurbished

http://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/iphone.pdf
jimbet1337
post Nov 30 2010, 11:42 PM

meh
2,670 posts

Wow Vez! refurbished! Haha.

Anyway my i3G still lying around due to home button prob, maybe I'll replace the parts someday, easily to get from ebay. No time to DIY due to work.

Lesson learned. Gotta be gentle on i4. Hopefully the button will last abit longer, I hope. lol
celciuz
post Dec 1 2010, 03:55 PM

14,033 posts

Great, I didn't know iPhone had this issue :S. So any ways to prevent this? Like precautions?
vonzipper
post Dec 1 2010, 04:50 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Nov 30 2010, 05:33 PM)
Loose or sunken home button are just common issues, what about stiff and hard to press button?

Does anyone here having issues with the iPhone 4 volume buttons being stiff and hard to press?

The + or up volume button makes a clicking noise once I pressed it, but the - or lower button is really stiff, makes no clicking sound and doesn't feel like its being pressed, although the phone does react to the press. Well, what should I do for it?
Mine also hav the same problem.. Volume buttons loose & rattling sounds when u press/touch. Not sure is common issue or not. Should goto DiGi for replacement/repair? Any idea or anyone had successfully got replacement unit regarding this issue??? rclxub.gif
vez
post Dec 1 2010, 09:21 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(vonzipper @ Dec 1 2010, 04:50 PM)
Mine also hav the same problem.. Volume buttons loose & rattling sounds when u press/touch. Not sure is common issue or not. Should goto DiGi for replacement/repair? Any idea or anyone had successfully got replacement unit regarding this issue???  rclxub.gif
you should try your luck at Digi smile.gif if you feel it is annoying, cause some people do not bother, as the button still functioning (still responsive)

I have a friend send back to Maxis just one day using i4

Malaysia i4 Model Number should be MC***MY, when Maxis give my friend a so called "new" set from Maxis, the Model Number no longer MC***MY, it is *******, totally different, not even a single character match biggrin.gif i do not know whether is it the model number telling us that it is replacement set (new? or refurbished?)
Neo_Y
post Dec 1 2010, 10:36 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(vonzipper @ Dec 1 2010, 04:50 PM)
Mine also hav the same problem.. Volume buttons loose & rattling sounds when u press/touch. Not sure is common issue or not. Should goto DiGi for replacement/repair? Any idea or anyone had successfully got replacement unit regarding this issue???  rclxub.gif
Mine one is totally different, stiff and kinda sunken volume button..

Should I got back to Maxis and make a claim or just live with it since the button is still functioning..
nevic
post Dec 2 2010, 08:53 AM

53 posts

I read it on some of the forums is that if the mobile number is ****** and not MC***MY is probably a refurbish set.One of my fren also changed her unit with maxis and what she got also *******.But so far no problem.

0.1180sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:24 PM