124 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V8, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

Kent3888
post Apr 27 2010, 06:52 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(kalido @ Apr 27 2010, 06:39 PM)
hey guys.......

gettin a little interested in the world of DSLR now ...smile.gif

Have narrowed down to either Nikon D5000  or Canon 500D but inclining more towards the Nikon.

Can someone suggest the best possible price for the D5000 with proly a single 18-55 or 18-55 and 55-200 . And where pls ?

Also is it really worth to just stretch it a bit and get the Nikon D90, I can see most of the features are pretty similar.

cheers fellas........
Get the D90!!at 3.3k u get the 18-105, u slash out the need of extra 55-200 zoom to accompany the 18-55!! 55-200 cost 890! for that extra u pay for D90, u got built in AF motor n commander body flash, which is indeed very useful!
noobie1
post Apr 27 2010, 07:01 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(kalido @ Apr 27 2010, 06:39 PM)
hey guys.......

gettin a little interested in the world of DSLR now ...smile.gif

Have narrowed down to either Nikon D5000  or Canon 500D but inclining more towards the Nikon.

Can someone suggest the best possible price for the D5000 with proly a single 18-55 or 18-55 and 55-200 . And where pls ?

Also is it really worth to just stretch it a bit and get the Nikon D90, I can see most of the features are pretty similar.

cheers fellas........
can u tell me which part of them see similar??
from what i see, there is alot different..
Kent3888
post Apr 27 2010, 07:08 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Apr 27 2010, 07:01 PM)
can u tell me which part of them see similar??
from what i see, there is alot different..
mayb he meant the image sensor as the most important similarity, both having 11 point of focus. n quite a few more.... difference would b less den similarity da articulating screen, top lcd, AF motor and command flash
celciuz
post Apr 27 2010, 07:24 PM

14,037 posts

I would say most people whose starting photography looks at the megapixels first biggrin.gif. Then sensor... since both D90 and D5000 has similar or is it the same?
wravez
post Apr 27 2010, 07:36 PM

58 posts

@kalido u may consider this offer
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...69&hl=wts+D5000
kalido
post Apr 27 2010, 08:51 PM

80 posts

hey guys...........

I'm still new in da world of DSLR but I guess I do understand that megapixels alone does not determine quality , if that was my consideration I'd proly be lookin at a compact with much higher megapixels for the same money ....haha

anyway, as I said I'm still new and was reading a bit bout the different DSLRs in this price range and came across this site that compared the D5000 and D90 . The writer pointed out that the D5000 shared many of the D90's features . But I though I'd check with some real world users here in da forum if that's the case.... smile.gif

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond5000/
^Roadrunner^
post Apr 27 2010, 09:00 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 27 2010, 01:11 AM)
Nah don't worry, it comes with experience and some learning on your part. Remember that the important part of producing good pictures is the person behind the camera, not the camera equipment.

ouh thanks bro biggrin.gif
celciuz
post Apr 27 2010, 09:11 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(kalido @ Apr 27 2010, 08:51 PM)
hey guys...........

I'm still new in da world of DSLR but I guess I do understand that megapixels alone does not determine quality , if that was my consideration I'd proly be lookin at a compact with much higher megapixels for the same money ....haha

anyway, as I said I'm still new and was reading a bit bout the different DSLRs in this price range and came across this site that compared the D5000 and D90 . The writer pointed out that the D5000 shared many of the D90's features . But I though I'd check with some real world users here in da forum if that's the case.... smile.gif

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond5000/
I was with the megapixel thingy before this as well tongue.gif, but I ended up with D90 instead of 50D xD

D5000 inherits a few stuffs from D90. 11AF, 12.1 CMOS sensor, Expeed processor etc. What D90 has better than D5000 would be, high resolution screen (good for checking focus), twin command dials (don't need to access menu at all, you can rely on these 2 most of the time), built in motor (to use the cheap yet good 50mm f/1.8D and many other good lens), D90 comes with EN-EL3e instead of the lower capacity one with D5000, and of course you have the MB-D80 original grip option to use. Not sure if I missed any, these are what I have in mind for now.
General_Nic
post Apr 27 2010, 09:14 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

u forgot top lcd screen n built-in flash commander biggrin.gif

wat D5000 is better than D90 is slightly better ISO performance n articulating screen (n some say light weight laugh.gif )
celciuz
post Apr 27 2010, 09:20 PM

14,037 posts

About the ISO performance, this is something I'm not too sure about. Most review says they are either on par, or D90 is better.

http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/eng/Image...brand2%29/Nikon

Not sure if the link can be used or not, but D90 scores better under Low-Light ISO, the rest is the same.
General_Nic
post Apr 27 2010, 09:22 PM

3,508 posts

this im not sure too, i c reviews say D5000 is better, slightly
which even if its true it doesnt reli helps or make much difference sweat.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Apr 27 2010, 09:22 PM
zellleonhart
post Apr 27 2010, 09:25 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Very easy to check... find one day TT, shoot same thing with same settings totally, ISO put 1600/3200. see how it goes when zoom at 100%. sometimes review can just be a reference, not a fact.

I trust my own eyes =D
General_Nic
post Apr 27 2010, 09:28 PM

3,508 posts

but like i said, difference is slightly, means u cant c it unless pixel peep more than 100%
but if base on hardware specs, both shud be the same
celciuz
post Apr 27 2010, 09:28 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 27 2010, 09:25 PM)
Very easy to check... find one day TT, shoot same thing with same settings totally, ISO put 1600/3200. see how it goes when zoom at 100%. sometimes review can just be a reference, not a fact.

I trust my own eyes =D
Reviews are better than you in pixel peeping for sure tongue.gif.
Kent3888
post Apr 27 2010, 09:34 PM

1,333 posts

Haha.... Nic don wanna feel regret getting D5000, at least got something important better den D90 tongue.gif
zellleonhart
post Apr 27 2010, 09:37 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 27 2010, 09:28 PM)
Reviews are better than you in pixel peeping for sure tongue.gif.
haha yeah @@ if not why they review XD
hmm.gif should be the same since same processor, same sensor. Doesn't have noticeable difference i think
celciuz
post Apr 27 2010, 09:39 PM

14,037 posts

Both same sensors, technically should not have differences biggrin.gif. Unless slightly different noise reduction algorithms on the expeed processor.
Kent3888
post Apr 27 2010, 09:41 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 27 2010, 09:39 PM)
Both same sensors, technically should not have differences biggrin.gif. Unless slightly different noise reduction algorithms on the expeed processor.
Sensor I know is the same.... but is the processor exactly the same?
General_Nic
post Apr 27 2010, 09:42 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Apr 27 2010, 09:34 PM)
Haha.... Nic don wanna feel regret getting D5000, at least got something important better den D90  tongue.gif
no, wont regret bought D5000
jz regret y that time dun have more $$$ to purchase D90 tongue.gif

anyway, i tot of 1 thg, if i got D90 instead of D5000, i wont getting Sigmalux laugh.gif

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 27 2010, 09:37 PM)
haha yeah @@ if not why they review XD
hmm.gif should be the same since same processor, same sensor. Doesn't have noticeable difference i think
different software makes the slight difference if theres any i guess

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Apr 27 2010, 09:42 PM
kalido
post Apr 27 2010, 09:42 PM

80 posts

Guys what's the best price for the D5000 so far ?

124 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0291sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:07 PM