124 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V8, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

TSshinjun
post Mar 30 2010, 10:34 PM, updated 16y ago

2,247 posts

Click here to be redirected to the V1 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V2 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V3 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V4 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V5 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V6 thread.
Click here to be redirected to the V7 thread.

D40
user posted image user posted image
The Nikon D40 is an all new affordable, compact, point-and-shoot digital SLR from Nikon, it follows on from the D50 but at a significantly lower price point and with a subtly different feature set. The biggest news however is probably fact that Nikon resisted the temptation to keep chasing megapixels (hooray for that) and instead appear to have concentrated on what makes a good camera, a decent viewfinder, short shutter lag, very short viewfinder blackout. They've trimmed some of the 'less important features' (you can't change the exposure steps for example) but have squeezed a range of new features such as custom Auto ISO which we welcomed with the D80.

Review of D40
Dpreview of Nikon D40
Ken Rockwell's Review

D40x
The Nikon D40 was announced just under four months ago, and yet here we are with a new version of that camera. The D40X has the same compact lightweight body and easy to use control layout, in fact the only external physical difference is the badge. Under the bonnet Nikon has swapped out the D40's six megapixel CCD for a ten megapixel unit, this also provides a lower base sensitivity of ISO 100 and must utilize dual readout because continuous shooting frame rate has gone up from 2.5 fps to 3.0 fps. Based on the specs and features this camera is clearly aiming to knock the EOS 400D (Digital Rebel XTi) off its pedestal.

D40x specifications

D60
D60 is a 10.2MP digital camera that will look and feel remarkably familiar to users of the D40X. It includes an anti-dust system that incorporates a self-cleaning sensor unit that shakes off dust, coupled with an airflow system designed to channel dust away from the sensor. The model also adds active d-lighting, a stop-motion recording mode and Expeed branding.

Review of D60
Dpreview of D60
Ken Rockwell's review

D3000
The D3000 dispels the view that DSLR cameras are complicated and makes taking great pictures simpler than ever before. You can really concentrate on having fun with photography and the Guide mode helps you to get the best results with the minimum of fuss.

Review of D3000
Dpreview of D3000

D5000
The idea of an upper-entry-level DSLR (for want of a better term), that sits below the 'enthusiast' grade D90 (with its twin control dials, big battery and pentaprism viewfinder), is hardly a radical one - the Canon 500D and Olympus E-620 seem to cater to a similar market.

Nikon D5000 vs D60: Key Differences

Review of D5000
Dpreview of D5000

USER LIST

D40 User List:

D40x User List:

D60 User List:

D3000 User List:

D5000 User List:

PM me to update the userlist if your name is still not there. TQ

This post has been edited by shinjun: May 13 2010, 07:26 PM
TSshinjun
post Mar 30 2010, 10:35 PM

2,247 posts

Information Zone

Autofocus Problem on Entry Level Body.

Many have ask about the problem of AF(AutoFocus) on entry level body, the problem here is whether the camera body has build-in AF motor or not. And unfortunately, for Nikon's entry level body, they don't come with build-in AF motor, hence in order to autofocus, the camera have to rely on the lens. While the lens must have its build-in AF motor, since the absent of the body AF motor. So, in Nikon's line-up, we have the "AF-S" and "AF-I" lens which has build-in SWM motor for the lens. Therefore, user of the entry level body, will have to look for lenses which has build-in AF motor in order for the autofocus function, else, the user will have to end up doing manual focusing.

While for the "AF" or "AF-D" lens from Nikon, it still can be mount on the camera, but since there is no AF motor in both the camera body as well as the lens, then the user have to work on for manual focus ONLY. On the other hand, the medium to high end of Nikon camera body will come with build-in AF motor, hence it allow the user to achieve autofocus through the camera's motor rotating the lens' element.

Below is for illustration,

Body without build-in AF motor.

Body with build-in AF motor.

Off camera flash setup

Body Area

Nikon DSLR current line-up comparison chart.

Lens Area

Nikon mount lens review

Various lens and camera accessory review.

PhotoMalaysia user product review.

The Motley Pixel: DSLR Lens Review

Technical Terms

This post has been edited by shinjun: Mar 30 2010, 10:36 PM
TSshinjun
post Mar 30 2010, 10:35 PM

2,247 posts

Upcoming Event and Outing Section.

Shooting session for bro maxh3h3 and his lovely wife0

Wedding Shoot for fellow photog

Theme : Maxh3h3 Pre Wedding Photo Shooting

Date :22-23 May 2010 (Saturday - Sunday)

Time : 8.00am
the earlier the better, because we have to finish shooting by 11.00am. the sun light after 11.00am is too challenging to shoot. Then, we can have lunch/TT after the session to get to know each other, since we wanted to have a TT session but it has been postponed.

1. Putrajaya (too far)
2. UPM (Vote: Isepunye)
3. Lakegarden (Vote: General_Nic)
4. Tmn Rimba Kiara (Vote: zio, illegaldragon87, shinjun, wravez)
please suggest if you have better ideas, but of course, we'll choose to go the the location with the most votes.

Confirmed kaki :
1. brian3455
2. illegaldragon87
3. shinjun
4. Isepunye
5. General_Nic (Depends on location)
6. zio
7. wravez
8. zackskate666
preferred headcount is 6-10 photog, anything more than 10 will spoil all photog's mood because you hardly get a nice spot to shoot because it's too crowded.

Please feel free to join and make it another success outing/shooting. Registration will close once the number of photog hit 10 - siapa cepat dia dapat!!

This post has been edited by shinjun: May 9 2010, 09:13 PM
C.P.U
post Mar 30 2010, 10:40 PM

------------------------------
2,280 posts

V8....=) Kinda fast.....
pmmonkey
post Mar 30 2010, 10:41 PM

485 posts

Bro shinjun... add me in D5000 user list, please... sad.gif
noobie1
post Mar 30 2010, 10:41 PM

2,538 posts

wow...V8 already...lolx...like car engine...V8...haha...
ezrasang
post Mar 30 2010, 10:45 PM

817 posts

wuuuuu v8, congrats to everyone rclxms.gif

@fcuk90: I will suggest the same thing to others, 1855 + 55200 = nice combo. 18105 gonna be a waste brows.gif
But still, just follow your heart~ icon_rolleyes.gif
C.P.U
post Mar 30 2010, 10:49 PM

------------------------------
2,280 posts

QUOTE(ezrasang @ Mar 30 2010, 10:45 PM)
wuuuuu v8, congrats to everyone  rclxms.gif
@fcuk90: I will suggest the same thing to others, 1855 + 55200 = nice combo. 18105 gonna be a waste  brows.gif
But still, just follow your heart~  icon_rolleyes.gif
If 18-200?.. biggrin.gif
Isepunye
post Mar 30 2010, 10:55 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(ezrasang @ Mar 30 2010, 10:45 PM)
wuuuuu v8, congrats to everyone  rclxms.gif
@fcuk90: I will suggest the same thing to others, 1855 + 55200 = nice combo. 18105 gonna be a waste  brows.gif
But still, just follow your heart~  icon_rolleyes.gif
why it just a waste?
ezrasang
post Mar 30 2010, 11:03 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Mar 30 2010, 10:49 PM)
If 18-200?.. biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Mar 30 2010, 10:55 PM)
why it just a waste?
No la, fcuk90 is asking for suggestion.
1. sell 1855 and get 18105 OR
2. keep 1855 and get 55200.
So my opinion, get 55200 lor. Can zoom zoom what XD

Aduh, now i feel 18105 not enough for zooming >.<
Lacus
post Mar 30 2010, 11:10 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

Btw, sifus notworthy.gif just wondering is flash really require for shooting weddings? (will not be around for the event sad.gif )
Isepunye
post Mar 30 2010, 11:12 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Mar 30 2010, 11:10 PM)
Btw, sifus notworthy.gif just wondering is flash really require for shooting weddings? (will not be around for the event sad.gif )
i use flash for 98% of my shoot tongue.gif
Lacus
post Mar 30 2010, 11:15 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

Flash as in those like SB600 or SB900. Are those required or built in will do?
Isepunye
post Mar 30 2010, 11:17 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Mar 30 2010, 11:15 PM)
im using more on my SB900 but sometimes SB600.... bad news, one month old SB600 burn ed. want to claim warranty sigh
reveur
post Mar 30 2010, 11:18 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Huiyo... Already V8! Anyway, wanna reply back the old topic

Night picture of KLCC illuminated by moon in black & white? I never thought of that....

Eh? The picture taking session. Still got lobang? thought full dee? Put me in then
Edit: Oh wait. It is full. Damn. meh

Lastly, Add me in D60 user list plz shinjun. Thx!

This post has been edited by reveur: Mar 30 2010, 11:23 PM
General_Nic
post Mar 30 2010, 11:20 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

congratz on V8 d~ rclxms.gif
Nikon's entry level bodies r going strong thumbup.gif

built-in is usable but result in harsh flash like PnS cams
fcuk90
post Mar 30 2010, 11:33 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

@ ezra . thanks for your pov ..

new thread . congrats.
SkyBlue99
post Mar 30 2010, 11:33 PM

Look at all their stars!! Not Mine!!
1,952 posts

Here's a few questions to your question:
1. Do you have a budget? External flash is to help with different lighting conditions. You may use inboard flash but does the result satisfy you?
2. Are you doing a paid job or just or leisure? If it's for
leisure then maybe u can consider using a difuser instead if you don't really bother much about overall pictures as u just want a photo for memories
3. onboardflash is usually producing yellow colors(if not mistaken) so color temp
may run off if u pay close attention.
4. Any users out there using external flash usually don't bother about on board anymore.

Zi-Tech
post Mar 30 2010, 11:34 PM

Eh, pangkat sudah tukar ka
774 posts

congrat~~~ v8 already....

wah another gathering... but cannot go...huhuhuh...
Darkripper
post Mar 30 2010, 11:34 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

Gratz on v8 =D.. Vrooom~

124 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:16 PM