post Jul 12 2010, 11:26 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

the game started to look an awful lot like blazblue :\
TSman3k
post Jul 13 2010, 01:18 AM

52 posts

I have to firmly disagree, although the graphics have been revamped and the Supers have been somewhat exaggerated. KOF is still KOF. It fits nicely between SF and Guilty Gear. You can't blindly mash a continuous combo in KOF, even in XIII. The play style is simply different. Don't let the new hit effects cloud your judgement. Even with HyperDrive Mode which is similar to 02's Max Mode, you can only cancel special moves. Which requires excellent timing and command rotation. It is clearly different from GG or BB where you can make continuous hits just by linking normal punchs and kicks. Now, i'm not saying GG/BB couldn't do the same. It's just that the game focuses more on other gameplay mechanics.

Here's a new vid, Mitsuhiro Ichiki (Yuzuko) playing against 3 KOF XIII Development Staff:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Juhy_pz5rT8

This is one of the best match videos so far.. he really put an effort fighting those staff who already memory combo connections like the back of their hand. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 14 2010, 03:36 PM
Peterbigeyes
post Jul 13 2010, 12:33 PM

205 posts

Yea, games have to evolve sooner or later no? If KoF remains the same every year and not improve, it wil die off like the other 324392 v.s games everywhere.

kding2
post Jul 14 2010, 12:51 PM

1,007 posts

King of Fighters XIII official opening

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXc9_4-kqhY

and the music is kickass!
kianweic
post Jul 14 2010, 02:50 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Let me post it here:

This post has been edited by kianweic: Jul 14 2010, 02:51 PM
TSman3k
post Jul 14 2010, 08:23 PM

52 posts

Nice update, but there's more!

Some of you may already know, Yuri & King's clothes can be torn with an aura K.O just like KOF94-95.

Light Review from MMcafe:
I'll make a short compilation from online reports later on if you want; people freak out when they get talked to.

My personal impression, it feels different from any of the previous KOFs. The game speed, hit delay, and character's size ratio to the whole screen makes it feel a bit to me like, say, somewhere in between Real Bout 2 and KOF98. You'll still be seeing a lot of jumps, but they can be punished from reaction. It feels like a step back into the old days, and at the same time, a step forward into the next decade with the new systems. Which is probably why I'm liking the game thus far.

The combos that worked in previous games still generally work, but there's a lot more to learn thanks to the drive meter. Though, I have a feeling that in the end, people might conclude that long combos scales away too much damage and drain meters ineffectively. Still, it's an additional freedom and option of strategy that's been added to the game.

Some of the Neomaxes comes out so fast that you can hit it right after a guard, and that takes away a nice chunk of life because there's no scaling. The way some of the Neomaxes can punish you after a careless move feels almost like the Revenge Attacks from vanilla SF4. Though of course it's justified in XIII when keeping in mind the required meters. And again, you have to think about whether it's worthwhile to burst out all that meter, or to hold on it for the later rounds. Strategy, strategy.

Of course, if there's any abusive bugs or moves, that spoils all the efforts that's been put into the game system. Hopefully that won't be much of the case.

Kyo Win Pose, shot after Arcade Release Gameplay: http://a.imageshack.us/img6/8062/693740.jpg

A fraction of Several Character Ending Images (SPOILER ALERT! WARNING, DO NOT CLICK IF YOU'RE NOT READY!!) mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 14 2010, 08:42 PM
kding2
post Jul 14 2010, 08:52 PM

1,007 posts

This is the first time I actually impressed with the ending..It is well-written in my opinion. Unlike other KoF ending, this one actually have the emotion impact to the players.

As for the final boss, I don't like it. I hate naked man.

Final Boss Video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSqISeeC_oA

It seems that MuscleMan isn't the final boss..I am happy with that...

This post has been edited by kding2: Jul 15 2010, 12:37 AM
Shadow Kun
post Jul 15 2010, 01:43 AM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(man3k @ Jul 13 2010, 01:18 AM)
I have to firmly disagree, although the graphics have been revamped and the Supers have been somewhat exaggerated. KOF is still KOF. It fits nicely between SF and Guilty Gear. You can't blindly mash a continuous combo in KOF, even in XIII. The play style is simply different. Don't let the new hit effects cloud your judgement. Even with HyperDrive Mode which is similar to 02's Max Mode, you can only cancel special moves. Which requires excellent timing and command rotation. It is clearly different from GG or BB where you can make continuous hits just by linking normal punchs and kicks. Now, i'm not saying GG/BB couldn't do the same. It's just that  the game focuses more on other gameplay mechanics.

Here's a new vid, Mitsuhiro Ichiki (Yuzuko) playing against 3 KOF XIII Development Staff:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Juhy_pz5rT8

This is one of the best match videos so far.. he really put an effort fighting those staff who already memory combo connections like the back of their hand. thumbup.gif
dude, chill. that's why i said it LOOKS like blazblue, not plays like it. and after i posted that one i take a peek at blazblue finisher compilation video and they are WAAAAY exaggerated. it looks truly awesome though.
Peterbigeyes
post Jul 15 2010, 01:45 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jul 15 2010, 01:43 AM)
dude, chill. that's why i said it LOOKS like blazblue, not plays like it. and after i posted that one i take a peek at blazblue finisher compilation video and they are WAAAAY exaggerated. it looks truly awesome though.
Damn, the graphics of Athena's skills are just wicked!
TSman3k
post Jul 15 2010, 04:04 PM

52 posts

It seems that i have misjudged you. I apologize if i was wrong. In no way was i mad or belittling your knowledge. smile.gif

Thx for the vid kding2, It looks like the same guy who did the ending for XI still doing XIII's ending. I kinda disprefer his style of drawing. But it does have that cinematic feeling.

A bunch of other team endings have been posted on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/user/sugarboy12201984

Dunno if anyone has noticed this but...

KOF XIII Plot Revealed: http://shoryuken.com/f308/king-fighters-13...tml#post9208424

It's actually a very nice plot i'd say, if only ash wasn't flamboyant/ghey and stuff... Could've been better.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 17 2010, 05:04 PM
kding2
post Jul 17 2010, 07:24 PM

1,007 posts

Already read the plot summary but still, it got me. It seems that the plot for this saga is extremely well-written IMO. Unlike other KoF series when it were pretty straight-forward (good vs evil), KoF XIII actually caught me off-guard.

Since that I already know more about the Ash, the intro opening theme sound very sad yet heroic especially you can see Ash slowly walking to somewhere in the opening.

Overall, KoF XIII don't disappointed me. I really want the GAME NOW !!!

ARGHHHH!!

As for Kyo and Iori, you guys suck. Still bickering with each other for stupid rivalry while Ash slowly developed into a better protagonist than both of you.

By the way, is any KL's arcade center got KOf XIII?

This post has been edited by kding2: Jul 17 2010, 07:28 PM
TSman3k
post Jul 18 2010, 08:05 PM

52 posts

Yeah, seriously the plot about Ash caught me unknowingly too. I didn't expect he was going to defy destiny. In that sense, he has a similarity to Iori Yagami.

From what i know, SNKP hired several novelists to do KOF XIII character dialogs (Pre-Fight Dialogs). But i'm not sure wether they did help crafting story plot.

About Kyo & Iori suddenly fighting right after Ash's dissappearance...

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 18 2010, 08:16 PM
kianweic
post Jul 19 2010, 10:59 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Fatal Fury's team ending is quite funny.

Unfortunately, the videos weren't captured nicely.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 19 2010, 11:56 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hohoho i dun play kof but i like what i see in this one.

kding2
post Jul 19 2010, 12:52 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(man3k @ Jul 18 2010, 08:05 PM)
Yeah, seriously the plot about Ash caught me unknowingly too. I didn't expect he was going to defy destiny. In that sense, he has a similarity to Iori Yagami.

From what i know, SNKP hired several novelists to do KOF XIII character dialogs (Pre-Fight Dialogs). But i'm not sure wether they did help crafting story plot.

kangaxx
post Jul 19 2010, 01:01 PM

43 posts

did...they render Mai's bouncy in HD sprites?
TSman3k
post Jul 19 2010, 01:58 PM

52 posts

All KOF XII & XIII sprites are in HD. On the previous XII, they viewed the sprites a bit too close, so XII sprites end up looking pixellated even though they're actually high resolution. Character Sprites in XIII are displayed a bit smaller so that players will see the characters in a normal way just like every other fighting game. This has resulted the background sprites looking a bit larger/more space than usual. But it's not a problem, since KOF style of gameplay is about Rushdowns.

Kding2, guess i'll just have to wait for the English version in US arcade recordings or Console for a better confirmation then.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 19 2010, 02:05 PM
Shadow Kun
post Jul 21 2010, 03:00 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(man3k @ Jul 18 2010, 08:05 PM)

so in the end..

Vorador
post Jul 21 2010, 03:54 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

That final boss is clearly a horny b*****d, beside being naked all the time, he nonstop catching our Mai and touch her tra la la.

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:41 PM