13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

KOF XIII [Arcade|Console], Ash Crimson Saga Conclusion

TSman3k
post Mar 30 2010, 03:53 PM

52 posts

Yep, everything is like reversed now. Even Shinkirou, KOF's original Illustrator is now with Capcom. You can see tons of his artwork for the recent Tatsunoko vs Capcom and the upcoming Marvel VS Capcom 3.

KOF 2002 Unlimited Match for the PS2 was lucky enough because SNKP was smart to hire Hiroaki (Shinkirou's so called Protege). However, he's not a permanent staff. Just a Freelancer.

I really am lost of words why SNKP did not use Hiroaki's Art for the current KOF arc. Fans seem to love it, it was one of the main factors why KOF02UM surpassed Star Ocean 4 sales chart in Japan in the early weeks (besides the game itself retaining the old system).

The animation in KOF XII was lovely, but most people hated the art direction. It has lost the mature feeling. Not to mention redoing the character sprites in HD consumes time. Which is why they opted to use each characters basic/oldschool move instead of redoing all previously updated skills which is too much. Gradually, they'll be added in a more later KOF series.

Now you know why it's important to read the credits after finish playing the game! smile.gif

BTW, KOF XIII official site is now updated with each team's OST at the characters page. /Loving It

Update: Another interview translation, this time with the Game Director.

KOF XIII Intro + Promotion Video

This post has been edited by man3k: Jun 20 2010, 03:41 AM
kding2
post Jun 13 2010, 10:26 PM

1,007 posts

KoF XIII has immense hype. But still, I have the feeling that KoF XIII going to be HIT.

and do anyone here have any idea when it going to be released?
Vorador
post Jun 14 2010, 12:22 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

I want see the final boss fight only lar... ... I can see in the intro Mukai is there... (and some other scary looking boys and girls)
kianweic
post Jun 14 2010, 10:19 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Is this the one on PS3?

I am kinda confused by the number.
TSman3k
post Jun 14 2010, 11:16 PM

52 posts

No, this is the improved sequel. Which will be in the arcades later this year. The console port isn't announced yet. Should move this topic to another section anytime later.

Updates regarding the game mechanics can be seen here:
http://game.snkplaymore.co.jp/official/kof-xiii/blog/

This post has been edited by man3k: Jun 14 2010, 11:41 PM
kding2
post Jun 16 2010, 10:23 PM

1,007 posts

This is definitely must buy game for me for this year or next year.
kianweic
post Jun 18 2010, 09:34 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Actually I stop following KOF after 2003 or something.

That's like 7 years ago.

Are there still new iterations of KOF every year?
TSman3k
post Jun 20 2010, 03:16 AM

52 posts

They're not making it on yearly basis anymore since the technology switch. KOF XII and above is made using a unique process called 2D Dot Graphics.

Hit link the link below:
http://kofaniv.snkplaymore.co.jp/english/i...d_dot/index.php

It took them 3 years to finalize the new game engine, last year's KOF XII was experimental/incomplete. Thus the fan rage around the globe. KOF XIII intends to fix that with more character rosters, skills and updated game mechanics. Personally, with XIII i think the system is almost complete. But there is still half of the entire accumulated roster to catch up (30). With the previous KOF 2002 Unlimited Match having 60+ characters covering from the Orochi to N.E.S.T.S Saga. Add it up with another 10 to 20 of folks from the Ash saga would be a serious pain. Which is why they had to skip several characters according to Story Flow.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jun 20 2010, 03:53 AM
kianweic
post Jun 20 2010, 09:16 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

The characters in 2D Dot Graphics looks amazing.

Grapplers looked more buffed than before. Even the normal characters looked quite buff compared to the last series I played.
kding2
post Jun 20 2010, 11:57 PM

1,007 posts

For those who played KoF XII....What kind of single player mode does it offer?

How many matches?
Got ending?
Angel of Deth
post Jun 21 2010, 01:03 AM

1,242 posts

why since Playmore take over, the BGM and animation of KOF since 2000 went downhill? is it most of them have left the developer team?
kianweic
post Jun 22 2010, 08:00 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I should give the older KOF a try in ICMY gathering sometimes.

The last time I was there, somebody brought the KOF for PS3.

Should be pretty fun especially with arcade sticks.
TSman3k
post Jun 24 2010, 02:07 AM

52 posts

http://game.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/news/...622_376033.html
The arcade version will be available in Japan Next Month on 14/7. Now we wait for the console announcement.

kding2 you should really skip KOF XII. Without proper understanding it could deeply dampen your interest for KOF XIII. There's no story for it anyway so just wait for XIII.

Angel of Deth, KOF2000 was still developed by the original team. It was their last. Those guys are now in a new company called DIMPS, who collaborate with Capcom to produce Super/Street Fighter IV. Maybe at the time, issues concerning the previous SNK that's nearing bankruptcy made it hard for all of them. KOF2001 SHOULD BE THE WORST KOF EVER since it was Playmore's first task after take-over. But they managed to pull back the majority of Fan Confidence for 2002 since it was created based on KOF98 core. 2003 barely have acceptable soundtracks though, neither was the system any good. But it was an important release for the current Ash Saga. 2003 also introduced us to Rugal's Son Adelheid and his Sister Rose. It was clear that rose has been possesed/manipulated by Botan (Mukai's underling) in 2003 Ending. Only to return in XIII to announce the latest Tournament.

For XI in PS2, i have mixed feelings. They made the interface much better with bright anime stylings. But the system was pretty much an updated version from 2003. With the addition of Dream Cancels, a higher level of Super Cancel.

Now, XIII is the real deal. After the huge mess they caused in XII. SNKP have no other options than Do or Die. It's like KOF 2002 with XII graphics and Story Continuation from 2003 and XI. They even add NeoMAX to par-up with SFIV's Ultra. So longtime players should know the drill already. It's gonna be good.

Good news is, SNKP managed to get back SHA-V. The guy responsible for the Jazzy Saxaphone music for Iori Yagami. If i'm not wrong he is the only person to return from the original music cast. Personally, the only track in XIII that has the soulfull feel to the old days were:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2DUrpGvtCM
+
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvPOkRY086o
+
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5LUktho6eU

Btw, here's a new page regarding KOF XIII Special Video Updates: http://game.snkplaymore.co.jp/official/kof-xiii/countdown/

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 5 2010, 01:13 AM
kding2
post Jun 24 2010, 07:24 PM

1,007 posts

Well, In my opinion, KoF XI is the best KoF that I played. I just like everything about it.

As for the Dream match such as 98 and 2002, i just can't get into it.
TSman3k
post Jun 29 2010, 05:41 PM

52 posts

No Problem dude, everyone has their own opinions... smile.gif But to simply put, most koffers prefer 98/2002 due to the system balance. A small example, i don't like the character tagging in 2003 & XI because it feels like ripping of Capcom Crossover Series or Tekken Tag. People still prefer 3 on 3 the classic way. Nor did people like the Striker system back in 99 - 2001. Striker in 99 feels dumb coz you can't move while summoning them. In 2000 this has been fixed but i guess people still dislike it. 2001 striker was worse coz need to deduct power level. But in 98/98UM/2002/2002UM and XIII it's all about individual skill. XI was a mix between the new tagging and cancel systems, hence why i have mixed feelings for it. But i do agree it was better than 03.

More videos of KOF XIII, this time it's a Technical Reference Feature. rclxm9.gif New videos everyday!

Ash Crimson:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4WhEc_pjOE

Elisabeth, Duo Lon and Shen Woo:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFX8UBiyo8w

Benimaru & Goro:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXurbPgzWek

Kyo Kusanagi:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KIlyOUbMvC0

As you can see, the technical reference videos explain the use of EX, Supers, NeoMAX and basic ways to Chain them.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jun 29 2010, 06:16 PM
kding2
post Jul 4 2010, 01:53 AM

1,007 posts

Oh man...Every time there is a new video posted, it make me want KOF XIII console release NOW !

Nice video and Kyo's Orochinagi finally become useful.
TSman3k
post Jul 4 2010, 02:13 PM

52 posts

Yeah i like how they linked Kyo's Orochinagi from Oboro Guruma Kick. I never liked Kyo 94-95 stance but XII & XIII changed my perception.

Terry Bogard Tech Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfxLAjjdckw

HP > Burning Knuckle > EX Burning Knuckle > EX Buster Wolf > Neomax

Andy & Joe Tech Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJ5qVBA3QjU

Takuma Combo Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuCkKcVE74o

Ryo Combo Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cub--0zXs1s

They've added effects for Tenchi Haohken NeoMax

Robert Combo Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1U_5rCax8Y

Athena Tech Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibSZvON1U2M

Sie Kensou & Chin Tech Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5H73NEY7sfQ

Good to see kensou's air attack is back

Ralf Tech Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pVSOO7o3nZA

Clark & Leona Tech Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6UC-91WLYI

Clark's combo is Restored that's for sure, I miss leona's kicks... i like her old outfit more tongue.gif

Mature Combo Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IG6jUFGdtXQ

Vice Combo Vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEJmraZMWXM

Iori Super + Neomax:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rIl-_Li-yZg

They added blood backdrops for his neomax
kding2
post Jul 4 2010, 02:23 PM

1,007 posts

Don't you think it is funny that Kyo revert back to his classic style to beat someone stronger than Geonitz?

If I not mistaken, in the story-wise, Kyo 96 changed his fighting stance to melee fire punch because he can't beat Geonitz with his classic style.

However, the triple kick to the air is definitely better than RED Kick.

So, in KOF XIII, every character only have 1 SDM instead of 2?
TSman3k
post Jul 5 2010, 12:58 AM

52 posts

I have several opinions behind Kyo's change:

- The current SNKP didn't have enough time or expertise to make his fire punching combo animations. XIII was more focused on new characters, so previous characters only have minor graphic adjustments excluding Combos & Neomax.

- Since the main enemy now (ash) is a projectile user, maybe they want to suit kyo in-line with his current nemesis?

- Since SFIV comeback, many fighting games have taken the approach of returning back to "Roots". Including KOF. Since SNKP staff are mostly new people they're afraid of screwing the franchise. So returning to old roots is better than giving the characters unsuitable extensions. Hence why they're mixing classic & new elements on the current installment. In short, the new team is taking time to restudy KOF.

- Kyo's Oboro Guruma (the triple kick) is actually more similar to Shingo's version than to his own original in 94/95. SNKP knew too well changing kyo back to a projectile user has it's weaknesses so they had to add something. Yeah, R.E.D kick is almost useless i'm glad they changed to this.

Ryo back to his Art of Fighting, bulky self. Terry seems updated with his Buster Wolf given back. Andy looks like his old Fatal Fury 1-2 look. I prefer his FF3 or Real Bout outfit. Even Mai is currently portrayed using her Real Bout look where the cloth behind her back is different. King is back to her AOF styling, without jacket. I think those decisions were made to suit each character with the current Anime Graphics Styling. Unlike previous titles which has more mature/realism design.

If i had to blame someone, it's gotta be the guy who designs the sprite/in-game character graphic. On the other hand i am mostly satisfied with the new illustrator because he is able to capture the essence the character he drew.

Take this picture of the Kyoukugen Team for example. At a glance you're reminded Art of Fighting 3 Ryo if you played it before. Which is good.
But in-game appearance? It's another matter of mixed feelings..

The transition to new sprite/in-game designers have both good & bad implications. Some characters look bad, some others look very good. Have u seen K' Dash XIII sprite? It's AWESOME! However looking back at King, Ralf or Athena. You'll have some regrets.

In XIII, each character has 2 DM/SDM. But only 1 NeoMAX. Almost every skill has an EX version, not just supers. You can see a blue-ish aura when EX are used for specials. For EX supers, it will display red-ish aura.

This post has been edited by man3k: Jul 5 2010, 03:49 AM
kding2
post Jul 5 2010, 12:46 PM

1,007 posts

Well, they made Athena into FAThena...which cracked my heart when I saw her. Kof XI Athena is the best though.

Speaking of projectile attack, I wonder why they changed a lot of projectile attack to short range in Kof 96 and then bring it back again for almost all characters in KoFXIII... It is not like projectile attack actually affect the gameplay since everyone in KOF can dodge-roll.

The long-range projectile attack is a hell in Street Fighter though...

Kyo have 2 SDM right? So far, I only saw Orochinagi and the one where a pillar of fire blasting through the whol stage...I assume that is Neomax...So what is the other SDM? The punch one?

It is sad that Kyo has become a kick user compare to fist user...Haha

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:31 PM