Dell Vostro 3700, Review and Discussion
phua1985
Jul 10 2010, 04:22 AM

QUOTE(a_yu_volution @ Jul 10 2010, 04:18 AM) Not sure what are you looking for but it says in there "There is typically nothing not to like about aluminum lids. Lifting the corner with one hand causes only minimal buckling and it withstood our press test fine." IMHO, I must say it feels abit fragile with the lid, like its going to bend, really feels different from the Latitude 6500 which is really sturdy. This is maybe due to the mix of material they use on the Vostro series. Seriously I don't think our Vostro will withstand a fall from lets say office table height. If it fell down with its lid open, the hinge will probably kaput too. Anyone had experience this one before? Sorry edited. I mean the thin plastic that is not fully cover by alluminnium can be bend easily like vostro 3400? This post has been edited by phua1985: Jul 10 2010, 03:04 PM
cala
Jul 10 2010, 08:29 PM
Can someone advice what kind of bags can fit the Dell Vostro 3700? Most bags i see online (SwissGear, Targus, etc) have bags for 17". Is there a standard way of determining 17 inch? I'm wondering if those can fit the Vostro's 17.3". Notable SwissGear that supports 17" http://www.swissgear.eu/ecproduct_detail.a...ssCatID=1147002http://www.swissgear.eu/ecproduct_detail.a...ssCatID=1146818Notable Targus that supports 17" http://www.targus.com/uk/product_details.asp?sku=TCB001EU For instance, can the Everki Swift Light Laptop Backpack (17") fits the Vostro 3700? http://www.everki.com/index.php?/Backpacks...s-up-to-17.htmlDo share if you guys are aware of other reasonably recommended bags yah! I've ordered my Vostro 3700 too!
a_yu_volution
Jul 10 2010, 11:53 PM
Im using Targus soft hug designed by dell that comes free with it. Pretty okay for me if you are packing for work related, however if you are planning to bring along headphones, it's not advisable. http://accessories.ap.dell.com/sna/product...1&sku=460-11171Also maybe you can check those backpack offered by Deuter, a friend of mine got the one for RM 300 ++, you can fit up to 18"lappy, and its quite spacey.
Jefferson1983
Jul 11 2010, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(cala @ Jul 10 2010, 08:29 PM) Can someone advice what kind of bags can fit the Dell Vostro 3700? Most bags i see online (SwissGear, Targus, etc) have bags for 17". Is there a standard way of determining 17 inch? I'm wondering if those can fit the Vostro's 17.3". Notable SwissGear that supports 17" http://www.swissgear.eu/ecproduct_detail.a...ssCatID=1147002http://www.swissgear.eu/ecproduct_detail.a...ssCatID=1146818Notable Targus that supports 17" http://www.targus.com/uk/product_details.asp?sku=TCB001EU For instance, can the Everki Swift Light Laptop Backpack (17") fits the Vostro 3700? http://www.everki.com/index.php?/Backpacks...s-up-to-17.html[COLOR=red] Do share if you guys are aware of other reasonably recommended bags yah! I've ordered my Vostro 3700 too! For Everki, better order Everki Beacon, as it fits until 18". Swift light might not be suitable..
cala
Jul 11 2010, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(a_yu_volution @ Jul 10 2010, 11:53 PM) Im using Targus soft hug designed by dell that comes free with it. Pretty okay for me if you are packing for work related, however if you are planning to bring along headphones, it's not advisable. http://accessories.ap.dell.com/sna/product...1&sku=460-11171Also maybe you can check those backpack offered by Deuter, a friend of mine got the one for RM 300 ++, you can fit up to 18"lappy, and its quite spacey. I see. According to the product description, the Targus softhug supports 17" but seems to have no problem with the Vostro 3700. That's good coz i previously purchased the HP Sport Backpack (support up to 17") which i think was going for a steal in Harvey Norman http://www.targus.com/us/product_details.aspx?sku=GN072AARM95... ok la.... |;o) This post has been edited by cala: Jul 11 2010, 05:38 PM
phua1985
Jul 12 2010, 05:48 PM

is it the laptop too big ? so hard to get a bag to fit in?
cala
Jul 12 2010, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(phua1985 @ Jul 12 2010, 05:48 PM) is it the laptop too big ? so hard to get a bag to fit in? I don't think its too big, but rather, it's a hint of the new things to come. 15.6" & 17" is more seen in Europe. We've been used to 14", but its time for bigger things to come. Embrace 17.3"!
phua1985
Jul 12 2010, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(cala @ Jul 12 2010, 07:19 PM) I don't think its too big, but rather, it's a hint of the new things to come. 15.6" & 17" is more seen in Europe. We've been used to 14", but its time for bigger things to come. Embrace 17.3"! Basically not much bags can fit in a 17.3 inch laptop now is it? the soft hug offer by dell can fit the 17.3inch laptop just nice?
rkgfantasy
Jul 13 2010, 10:50 AM
any1 can help me solve the problem about widcomm bluetooth not working?
kilowatt
Jul 13 2010, 09:12 PM
hello to all vostro3700 owners.. i just got my Vostro3700 this morning...but my question is...why when i play a song in winamp the song seems like lagging a bit....like zrreet zreett  ...is there any problem?... i will upload mine later...silver color
rkgfantasy
Jul 14 2010, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(kilowatt @ Jul 13 2010, 09:12 PM) hello to all vostro3700 owners.. i just got my Vostro3700 this morning...but my question is...why when i play a song in winamp the song seems like lagging a bit....like zrreet zreett  ...is there any problem?... i will upload mine later...silver color  when you know where your laptop speaker you will not complain the sound anymore hahas
kilowatt
Jul 14 2010, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(rkgfantasy @ Jul 14 2010, 09:12 AM) when you know where your laptop speaker you will not complain the sound anymore hahas hmm i already read some reviews & here in this thread and complaining about this stock lappy speaker...and i dont mind about that coz not using much... im using speaker for listening to music  ...btw i think the lagging coz i play direct from external & at the same time i transfer some movies  ... btw by now im satisfied with this lappy  ...here some pictures of my vostro  .. kinda messy  and sorry for the low quality  ...
rkgfantasy
Jul 14 2010, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(kilowatt @ Jul 14 2010, 04:41 PM) hmm i already read some reviews & here in this thread and complaining about this stock lappy speaker...and i dont mind about that coz not using much... im using speaker for listening to music  ...btw i think the lagging coz i play direct from external & at the same time i transfer some movies  ... btw by now im satisfied with this lappy  ...here some pictures of my vostro  .. kinda messy  and sorry for the low quality  ...
btw this laptop hard to keep clean hahas i almost clean it everyday when i back home
ladybird7
Jul 15 2010, 09:26 AM
@rkgfantasy: what is the thing you put besides the power plug on the left?
by the way, I've tested this lappy with L4D with all medium setting in a room with room temperature of around 25C and the heat for graphics card GPU was around 67C.
lee_what2004
Jul 15 2010, 09:27 AM
*stare* ji--------
cooler that attach to the ventilation and suck out the air....
bladegun
Jul 15 2010, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(rkgfantasy @ Jul 13 2010, 10:50 AM) any1 can help me solve the problem about widcomm bluetooth not working? Call Dell and ask them to troubleshoot for you. Make use of the support cause you already paid for it.
rkgfantasy
Jul 15 2010, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(ladybird7 @ Jul 15 2010, 09:26 AM) @rkgfantasy: what is the thing you put besides the power plug on the left? by the way, I've tested this lappy with L4D with all medium setting in a room with room temperature of around 25C and the heat for graphics card GPU was around 67C. i didt put anything dell's electic plug count or not? i quite scare it will burn my electric plug and damege my battery LOL
Jefferson1983
Jul 15 2010, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(kilowatt @ Jul 14 2010, 04:41 PM) hmm i already read some reviews & here in this thread and complaining about this stock lappy speaker...and i dont mind about that coz not using much... im using speaker for listening to music  ...btw i think the lagging coz i play direct from external & at the same time i transfer some movies  ... btw by now im satisfied with this lappy  ...here some pictures of my vostro  .. kinda messy  and sorry for the low quality  ...
how much u purchase for the cooling pad n the thingy on the left attached to the ventilation. Thanks.
kilowatt
Jul 15 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 15 2010, 09:27 AM) cooler that attach to the ventilation and suck out the air.... yup QUOTE(Jefferson1983 @ Jul 15 2010, 01:36 PM) how much u purchase for the cooling pad n the thingy on the left attached to the ventilation. Thanks. total around RM148..at The Hub in LYP...coolermaster cooling pad for widescreen 17" with 3 fans & evercool cooler like our sifu lee_what2004 said..it suck out the heat  ...
rkgfantasy
Jul 15 2010, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(kilowatt @ Jul 15 2010, 04:05 PM) yup total around RM148..at The Hub in LYP...coolermaster cooling pad for widescreen 17" with 3 fans & evercool cooler like our sifu lee_what2004 said..it suck out the heat  ... what the cooling pad name? it dont look like CM infinite LOL