QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Dec 22 2010, 12:11 AM)
Strange, I received in the form of cheque. REIT V2, Real Estate Investment Trust
REIT V2, Real Estate Investment Trust
Dec 22 2010, 11:16 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Dec 23 2010, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(Veda @ Dec 23 2010, 02:16 PM) I dabble in both stocks and property. The problem I have with REITs are: 1) Yes, but not across is the same situation. Stareit has little debt, as good as none. 1. REITs are highly geared and all the currently still high yields are linked to the currently still low interest rate of their loans. When the interest rate goes up, won't the yields of the REITs go down? Of course, if some of the REITs are on fixed rate loans, they should be spared the negative effects temporarily .... until they need to refinance again. 2. there's an oversupply of office spaces in the Klang Valley and the situation is expected to get worse. This may have an effect on the office-based REITs. And new malls are coming up like mushrooms after a heavy rain, which might affect retail REITs. 3. the DY of REITs are pretty stable except in relation to 1. and cap appreciation is limited (except Axreit?) But there are a fewgreat stocks that offer increasing dividend and capital appreciation year after year. Correct me if I'm wrong Yes, interest rate if high, it will affect the cost of financing but I don't think interest rate will go high enough though. The most BNM and central banks around the world won't hike rate too much as economy is still rather fragile. Most probably we are looking for around 50 basic point high aka 0.5% the most in the coming future like 2-3 years down the road. While if economy turn really good, and force rate into higher due to inflation, it just means economy is good, by then rental market should be good as well, while existing reit property valuation will become higher. Yup, mostly under fixed rate until refinancing. The borrowing is capped on 50% of its NAV, so they can't over-geared like overseas reit. 2. Yes. Office space will be competitative and under-pressured in the coming future, but it still depends on the quality of of properties as well. It doesn't mean office can't be rented out if the location and building is strategy and good. A drop of 10-20% rental or income, still yield is way above FD rate offering. 3. Yes, ordinary stocks offer better than reit. Reit upside is somehow got a cap, while ordinary stock is unlimited. But reit is more a fixed income instrument as compared to ordinary stocks. While reit has one advantage, is only 10% witholding tax, while ordinary stock if under single tier 25% tax. Actually reit is different class of asset as compared to ordinary stock. It is in between bond and stock. As reit is not actually doing business, it is more like you bought a property, rent it out. |
Dec 23 2010, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(silentsurfer @ Dec 23 2010, 06:31 PM) that's good to know bro, didnt manage to top up cos of the low volume. bought some ATRIUM, 4 warehouse type assets, hopefully the surplus of office space doesnt affect this too Atrium is industrial warehouse, not office space.as mentioned before, i put to get higher returns compared to FDs, and as cherroy described earlier, should be ok QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 23 2010, 06:38 PM) Arreit under quarterly distribution alreadyQUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 23 2010, 08:09 PM) I have checked with ARREIT investor relation. Confirm that all REITS still using cheque. Not yet impose E-dividend. However, today i receive distribution statement sent by symphony. Did you guys received this? When? Your cheque was being sent through symphony as well? Please advice. Me also, receive today by cheque. |
Dec 23 2010, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 23 2010, 09:15 PM) Master cherroy i only receive the distribution statement without any cheque. How come There is a Q statement sent, a A4 plastic envelop, while cheque is sent separately, received on the same day today.Do you guys receive distribution statement and cheque on the same day? Cheque is also send by symphony right? May be just a minor delay in between. |
Dec 23 2010, 09:28 PM
Dec 23 2010, 09:34 PM
Dec 24 2010, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(gark @ Dec 24 2010, 09:09 AM) At 5% expected yield for Queensbay, I understand why they are not interested. It will dilute their earning per share, and then financing in malaysian is getting quite high. They would have hardly any margin left after financing costs. I would not buy a shopping mall for 5% yield. It is about escalating property valuation across aka properties bubble.Singapore is much different, their financing is much lower than Malaysia as their interest rate is very low, so even though they bought at 5% yield, they would still have substantial margins to boost their earnings. IMHO I really think the owner of Queenbays Mall made a killing with the sale at 5% yield. If interest rate continues to go up, the the REIT prices are going to continue to come down. Properties price keep on going on, but rental is not. So rental yield is squeezed an going down across. I recent come across, million+ condo, only can rent about 3-5K per months with fully furnished, still people rush to buy, might as well park the money in FD, easier. You need some properties market slump so that can get high yield properties. I reckon Capitaland bought Queensbay for future only, not now (as well as Sg financing is cheaper), as Queensbay is located between the 2 bridge, once the second bridge completed, the said location valuation may going up further. Also from foreigner pov, Malaysia property is damn cheap for them. This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 24 2010, 10:11 AM |
Dec 28 2010, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(spid3rx @ Dec 28 2010, 10:37 AM) Hi sifus, does anyone knows when is the sunreit dividend approx. paydate since its still IPO from Jun onwards? how to check ? Its financial year ended June one, so Dec is the half year result, so probably they will announce it during end of Jan, or early Feb, by then they are expected to distribute the dividend around end of Feb.in mreit.reitdata.com, what does it means by 1H-Sep10 ? I think the Q means quarter right ? thanks ... Most are under half year basic, while some are on quarterly basic. |
Jan 4 2011, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(2010May @ Jan 2 2011, 09:53 PM) It has been consistent climb because when economics not good (about 2 years ago), people allocate lesser $ in stock market. Then when economic is getting better, people starting to worry if their $ staying with fd or cash. People wants to earn more when stock market seems to be a lot more profitable. If stock market goes up and economy is good, reit will follow the overall trend as well, although the pace of up surely much lesser than ordinary stock, it still a upside bias for reit, following the overall market as well as better economy means property sector is better.Anyway, REIT history in Malaysia was still short. Malaysia started with REIT since 2006 only. There will still be risk with REIT if people are too confident with REIT performance. However REIT bubble should be unlikely to happen with current Malaysia situation. As I had posted many times, main risk of reit 1. Refinancing difficult, which force high gearing need to pare down at fire-sale. Which happened during 2008 financial crisis time. 2. Unable to get tenants 3. Property location, management quality which affect (2) It is very similar you bought a property and rent it out. I agree partly on Mnet has said, reit price shouldn't be too far away from NAV. But if the dividend yield is high enough, it can have some premium. As the high dividend can offset the premium pay for the NAV in the long run, while NAV may go up to offset your paid premium, as when economy good mean higher property valuation. Still what dictate the reit price movement is mainly on yield side. As it is little point to buy a reit or property at a discount, but cannot get tenant, difficult getting tenant, which lead to poor yield or little yield. It is as same buying a property at huge discount, but little people want to rent from you. This kind property is classified as liability already. Owning asset is about making money out of it. |
Jan 16 2011, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jan 16 2011, 12:25 PM) yeah but its good to know what the REIT is holding/generating the money from.. offices/factory spaces/retail or what.. Office space rental market is expected to be flat and under some pressure as more new supply come into market this year and next year.cause that might affect the return if you know the office rental is gonna go horland(burt bubble) but the last dividend is good and it has the highest return for last year.. tak kan u still wanna buy into it right ? So location and quality of office space matter a lot to see through this potential challenging period. |
Jan 16 2011, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 16 2011, 02:10 PM) I am in SUNREIT.. Quite diversified in its profile, and we had yet to see its full potential yet since it had just started 6mths back. Full year expect yield is around 6.x% or 6.x cents.Positive outlook for SUNREIT as it continue to grow and expand its market. Reit is not doing business, but rent out property its own only. So there is not such thing of "expand its market" like business. The growth is come from either rental revision become higher, better utilisation of its mall, to rent out more, or expand its properties portfolio by acquisition. |
Jan 16 2011, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 16 2011, 05:40 PM) There are already rolling out projects. This has nothing to do with Sunreit, but Sunway parent company. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1719428 Sunway Phase3.. And Sunway phase 4 is coming soon.. So expect Sunway affiliated shares to go up for the next 4-5 years.. Good for long term Sunreit's properties portfolio Sunway Pyramid Shopping Mall, Sunway Carnival Shopping Mall, SunCity Ipoh Hypermarket, Sunway Resort Hotel and Spa, Pyramid Tower Hotel, Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya and office properties. |
Jan 17 2011, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 16 2011, 06:41 PM) Yea i know.. Even injected into it, you must look at the price or valuation at time of injection.But we do not know if they would want to include that in the SUNREIT portfolio or not. But that phase3 development will see it making extension in the Sunway Pyramid as well if I am not wrong about it, and giving out more retail space. Direct or indirectly also contributing Quoted from the link "a 2.5 retail podium (extension of Sunway Pyramid New Wing), with a net lettable area of 240,000 sq ft and 900 parking bays. Linked to the existing mall, the RM250 million project is expected to be completed in August 2014. " If injected the properties at high valuation and resulted yield is not attractive, lower than currently, then it make little point to existing reit holders. Just like CMMT rejected Queensbay to be injected into it, if not mistaken. Invest in reit is nothing more than collect rental, never a business to start with. It is more like bond, instead of ordinary business. Reit nature is different, if really look for growth, go directly into equity and its parent company share. Added on January 17, 2011, 12:21 am QUOTE(cwhong @ Jan 17 2011, 12:06 AM) all the developement will be own by sunreit if their parents are willing to sell it if not then not related, just can calculate fingers only. If I am Sunreit holder, I am concern the price paid and yield of it. correct me if i'm wrong, please...... It is not solely more properties must be good. You want quality properties, and good rental yield properties. This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 17 2011, 12:21 AM |
Jan 17 2011, 04:08 PM
Jan 17 2011, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 17 2011, 09:57 PM) It is the extension of Sunway Pyramid.. Linked to the existing complex. I do not want to confirm anything, but theoretically, it should be under Sunway Pyramid. No, it doesn't belonged to Sunreit, until SUnreit buying from the parent company. So with that area of net lettable area of 240,000 sq ft, it can somehow increase to the portfolio revenue. And when portfolio revenue increase, dividend will increase. When dividend increase, share price will increase as well. But this will not happen immediately, and it will take some time to unveil this. Not to be bias, but I am positive with SUNREIT on its future expansion plans and developments. Just like CMMT, on Gurney plaza. Extension wing is not belonged to CMMT, until CMMT acquired it. Revenue increased from the new wing but with either more shares being issued or use borrowing to fund the acquisition. There is no such thing of theorectically in business world. and most importantly, it never come free. Do not expect new wing being built, then revenue goes up and rental income goes up, without acquire it first. It is not like that. Bias or not doesn't matter, but understanding of it must be right. Any new development, new project doesn't belonged to reit, until acquisition being made. |
Jan 18 2011, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 17 2011, 11:58 PM) I think REITS are barred from getting into the constructions even though it is meant to be its own building. Reit is not a property developers nor a construction company.Quite a high risk and would destabilize DPU/gearing/private placement or right issues, because there is no income during the construction period but lot of cash outflow is needed to be funded from somewhere, if allowed to do so. Just my view. Although new regulation did flexible some rules on it, but rather limited, which my personally view is a good regulation. No point to start a reit sector, but still has the exposure as same with ordinary property company. Reit is owning a property and rent out only. Nothing else. |
Jan 18 2011, 11:34 PM
Axis reit total DPU for 4Q is 4.30 + 0.95 cents = 5.25 cents
Jan 19 2011, 09:49 AM
Stareit give 3.286 cents. and 3.1 cents is tax exempted.
Jan 21 2011, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 21 2011, 12:28 PM) 3.x cents is not its actual earning. Its EPS only 1.x cents for the Q ended 31/12 And with new properties injection is scheduled only completed around 2Q 2011, the period from 1Q to 2Q of 2011, its EPS won't be too much, around 2.x cents is expected only, as newly injected properties only will contribute after the paper work of the injection/acquisition completed. With 6.89 cents full year EPS is projected after acquisition, at 0.88, seem an ok yield with around 8%. 0.88-0.03 (instant div getting) = 0.85 6.89/0.85 = 8.1% gross, net will be around 7.3%. So if one is ok with long term FD at 7.3%, this is an ok return. PS: I might be bias, as I bought again recently. |
Jan 22 2011, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 21 2011, 05:49 PM) Yeah, still good returns and also hope for some capital appreciation. The real effect will come in around second half 2011. But be prepare for some dismay DPU for the 1st half 2011. Thx for the explanation cherroy. Wah! You bought some recently? Ok, I will follow your behind next week (again)! I am ok for 7.3% for 15 years, if it can consistently deliver. (15 years lease for those newly injected properties) Added on January 22, 2011, 11:06 am QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 21 2011, 05:58 PM) I love February. NAV of Qcap now is 1.27. One disappointment of reit come from UOAreit, thinking to dispose, and change to Stareit or Qcap. Don't quite like the report, as well as office space may not doing good in coming future. This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 22 2011, 11:12 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0268sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:03 PM |