REIT V2, Real Estate Investment Trust

TScherroy
post Oct 9 2010, 11:01 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 8 2010, 11:48 PM)
why is this so?
I mean, why abolishing will induce other players to list?
This has been explaining before mainly because of tax incentive.

Z Company has a freehold office building for its own use.
In Z company P&L, the office building itself is not an expenses, company only can claim through capital allowance which reduce the tax.

Now Z company sell the building to Z reit and Z company rent the office from Z reit. So nothing change in Z company operation and office.
But now rental is part of expenses of Z company, which is tax deductible.
While Z reit giving out the profit made with tax free. (if witholding tax being abolished)

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 9 2010, 11:02 AM
TScherroy
post Oct 9 2010, 02:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 9 2010, 12:39 PM)
Do REITs pay some kind of tax like how the companies pay 25% corporate tax?

If not, why would the Government want to do this?
On one hand giving tax deductions, and on the other hand allow tax exempt income?
If like this, what is stopping individual property investors from forming their own mini-reits? Then all the rental income will be tax exempt.

Hmmm, what's the requirement to become a reit? I've read alot about setting up investment holding companies to hold properties, but I've never read one whereby people set up reit to hold their properties.
No, as long as reit is paying 90% of their profit, only witholding tax applied.

To promote reit industry, aka develop capital market. Gov may lose a bit in the direct tax issue, but if reit market flourish, it gives incentive to the properties market to grow eventually the economy, which indirectly can bring in more revenue to gov. Just like Free trade zone concept.
Just like stock market.

Reit is a public trust fund to start with, it cannot be a private entity.
TScherroy
post Oct 11 2010, 09:38 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Oct 10 2010, 04:20 PM)
Is CapitaMalls Malaysia trust good?sure the expected yield of 6+% isnt the highest when you compare with others but looking at their properties Sungei Wang, Gurney Plaza it looks good. need to go thru broker/online share trading to buy REIT right? I saw some comments from some LYNers saying HL e-broking is good, do we have to open a saving account with Hong Leong Bank or it can be linked to other bank say Public Bank?
Sorry too many questions
Broking firm and banks are both independant entity, HL-ebroking is HL-ebroking, HL bank is HL bank. They are not related, although one might be the subsidiary company of the bank.

Reit is traded as ordinary shares, so you need to go for broking firm to buy/sell.
TScherroy
post Oct 11 2010, 02:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Oct 11 2010, 01:52 PM)
Just wondering, will a property bubble burst affect REITs? If yes, how so?
Yes & No.

Yes, if there is huge property bubble bursting, surely affecting reit. As valuation of property will come down, rental rate pressure etc.

No, locally, yes, there is some bubble, but not as big as worrying as what had happened in overseas, especially like US RE bubble, or China RE bubble.

The major worry of locally reit is about economy growth/recession, as those office space, industrial reit (which mostly in this catergory), is highly depended on economy situation.

Also, recent property fever is more on residential market, which almost all local reit has no exposure in this sector.
TScherroy
post Oct 21 2010, 12:37 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 20 2010, 11:52 PM)
whizzer,

They projected based on today's price.
QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 21 2010, 12:28 AM)
Did they calculated on today's price and the past 4 quarters properties income? That would be very misleading since lot10 and starhill is already gone. And when the reit inject new hotels in, another different story increase income+eps dilution. So, what's that forecast represents actually?  hmm.gif

Added on October 21, 2010, 12:29 am

On the MBB QCaptial paper, the forecast of FY11 for cmmt has a yield of 7.2%. But FY10 yield only 6.x%.
Wow, they have the crystal ball!

Which and which properties being injected is not yet known, they already can come out with some yield number?

Even use back the old properties portfolio, I don't know how to find a 11% yield. whistling.gif
TScherroy
post Oct 21 2010, 10:52 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Oct 21 2010, 02:14 AM)
starhill and lot 10 gone? where did they go? sold?
Sold to Starhill Global Sg
TScherroy
post Oct 22 2010, 03:01 PM

25,802 posts

Yes, reit can be a place for dumping properties, so does ordinary listed IPO. We have seen many IPO, major shareholders treat it as dumping site as well.
But we can't say it must be across.
If worry about cooking the book, ordinary listed company has even higher risk.

I don't mean reit is a safe place to be, just for any investment tool, there is every chance people taking advantage of the situation. Even some receivable in ordinary listed compoany account also can be fake.
At least rental collected must be real hard cash, if not, it is very easy to spot, as reit needs to distribute >90% of the income, if the rental is not collected and in cash form, very easy to spot.
Unlike ordinary company, sometimes, it is not easy to spot or pin-point something fishy before it is too late, as reit account is more straight forward while ordinary company operation can be very complicated.

If feel fishy and uncomfortable with the valuation, then just avoid it. icon_rolleyes.gif

TScherroy
post Oct 29 2010, 02:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Maxsimax @ Oct 29 2010, 08:57 AM)
For REITs investor, a five-year exemption from withholding tax will be implemented soon under the Government's new initiative to encourage growth of the sector. However, the date for the implementation is yet to be announced. Well, think will be implemented by end of next year? hmm.gif , since the current 10% policy will expire by end of 2011.

May refer to the website below for more details.
http://www.pemandu.gov.my/index.php?option...emid=83〈=en

Plus, more REITs will be announced soon, hope more thorough research and incentives would be given to revitalize this sector ^^
I won't worry on too much on this, as there is likelyhood, something implemented, if will continue to go on especially when your neighbour country is under tax exempted policy.

TScherroy
post Oct 29 2010, 05:20 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(veilside2010 @ Oct 29 2010, 04:37 PM)
REIT worth to buy and hold ??
1 year 3.5% + 3.5% = 7 % per year...
abit low !!
In current worldwide environment, 7% is considered pretty high return rate.

Very little investment product can come out with 7% yield (if capital appreciation doesn't take into account).

10 years US treasuries 2.6%
Aussie FD (considered one of highest in the world) 4.5%
Malaysia FD around 3%.
Own your residential properties, most around or below 5% net yield only.
Ordinary stock dividend, 5-6% is considered high already.

If you expect a 14% yield, sorry, none. Except when fire-sale time, especially during crisis unfold.

There is one time Axreit got 14% yield, during 2008, when it dropped to Rm1.00, with DPU around 14 cents.
But this was during financial crisis, and lot of risk and uncertainty involved that time, issue like :
1. Re-financing of loan might not able to get, which could trigger the fire-sale of reit properties and collapse of reit,
2. Can't get tenants due to severe recession etc.
TScherroy
post Oct 29 2010, 05:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(veilside2010 @ Oct 29 2010, 05:37 PM)
Thanks for your long words explainaion !! Ok !1 I'll take out all my FD and sai lang all to REIT,,,,Is better than put in FD,,,,
Please don't, reit is never the same with FD.
There were reit collapse as well, particularly during 2008 (particular overseas one with high leverage one)

There are some risk exposure, it is not a FD.
TScherroy
post Oct 30 2010, 10:28 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(groggy @ Oct 29 2010, 06:51 PM)
Has it been confirmed that NAV will increase year by year? if assets with lower NAV are injected into existing reits. might pull down the NAV?
There is no such thing of asset with lower NAV.

NAV = Net asset value + cash

If you want to inject/acquire new properties, what do you do?
Buy
Buy need cash.

If you use the Rm1 mil to buy RM1 mil worth of asset, the NAV still remain the same at Rm1 mil
NAV will be lower with below condition

1. NAV only will be diluted if you use Rm1 mil to buy a Rm900K properties.

2. Issue new share at a price below existing NAV

3. Company make a loss

4. Properties revaluation resulted in a loss.

TScherroy
post Nov 2 2010, 11:16 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 2 2010, 11:07 AM)
But this is a characteristic that is being observed everywhere, in Sgp REITs too, where the price remains behind the NAV most of the time. This trait is very much unlike other normal listed companies.
We need to know why, as we are just aftermath of greatest financial crisis, that cause a lot of oversea reit meltdown, so skeptic on reit is still everywhere.

While currently, economy is seems to be stalling, and people only willing to buy reit at discount rate. Nobody want to pay a premium on them as some investors may still scare about the market.

If flip back prior before 2008 crisis, reit was trading at premium mostly because the properties market looks rosy.

It is about investors risk appetite and optimistic about properties and particular reit sector.

TScherroy
post Nov 2 2010, 01:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 2 2010, 12:02 PM)
Cherroy, thank you. Well, on my part, I see many REITs, more so in the SG market, traded below their NAVs even before the crisis. Save or one or two, which traded above NAV, most are below.

Can't comment much about the local market though, have not followed that closely.
You need to look on yield issue to compare with as well.

For eg.
A reit with NAV 1.00, but DPU only 5 cents. Little people want to buy this reit above the NAV, as yield is not attractive at all if above NAV level.

B reit with NAV 1.00, but DPU is 10 cents, most investors willing to pay above the NAV to get this reit, and yield is attractive.

Do remember, NAV is adjusted upwards due to property revaluation, but yield/rental wise will remain the same until there is renewal of lease with upwards revision on the rental rate.

Reit price moves more towards on yield issue as compared with NAV.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 2 2010, 01:51 PM
TScherroy
post Nov 3 2010, 11:29 AM

25,802 posts

The one I eager to know is Stareit, aka their Q report without Starhill & Lot 10, and new properties injection.

I want to buy more. tongue.gif
TScherroy
post Nov 3 2010, 03:43 PM

25,802 posts

Added on November 3, 2010, 3:44 pm
QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Nov 3 2010, 12:06 PM)
follow follow  tongue.gif
This is titanic, so no follow follow one.
Only you jump, I jump. tongue.gif

Then sink.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 3 2010, 03:45 PM
TScherroy
post Nov 4 2010, 10:28 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(zhi guo @ Nov 4 2010, 09:21 AM)
I bought Atrium  2 mths ago. It's up 8% now (annualised 48% over 2 months).
Should I sell it now, collect my gains and buy back ex-dividend later at lower price?
Actually, annualised figure is a useless figure. smile.gif

This is million dollar question, that no one can answer.
From experience, buy back ex-div a lot of time back-fired.
As ex-div deduct 2 cents, and the stock might just stay there and drop 1-2 cents, you gain nothing in the process, all gone to broker commission.

Either you view the price is high then sell or keep for dividend.

At 1.05, it is about fairly value already. On par with NAV, yield at gross 8%.

Don't mean recommend sell or hold, just this is about individual choice.
TScherroy
post Nov 11 2010, 11:25 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Nov 11 2010, 08:38 AM)
I don't think REITs still give 8% return if buying at this moment, since the share price already appreaciate so much comparing to 08'or 09', if there is then it might be AMFirst. But I don't like it because it is like Alaqar, inter-related business module. In this case rental or profit is very easy to be manipulated.

I might be wrong, but just try to avoid it. smile.gif
Yes, your concern is reasonable, (which is my concern as well back then when buying Amfirst, and reason why I allocated smaller portion into it.

But still it is 8% yield
Amfirst expected DPU will be around 10 cents
10/120 = 8.3%

Arreit expected DPU 7.2 cents
7.2/90 = 8%

Qcapital expected DPU 8 cents
8/1.05 = 7.6%

Axreit expected DPU 17 cents (this one can improve further compared to others)
17/230 = 7 .4%

So most roughly around 7~8%, as most price are surging lately, if not, average is about 8%.
TScherroy
post Nov 11 2010, 11:38 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Nov 10 2010, 09:48 PM)
how come the appeal of Sunreit/CMMT is so great? 6% and people are still buying?

for me i'll take those with yields in the upper bands of the industry like arreit, axreit and hektar
You need to get into the shoe of fund managers especially foreigner one.
They are having zero interest rate, bonds yield also extremely low due to bond bubble, as compared to 2-4% in bond, 6% is still decent for them.

They need large cap reit for their large appetite.

QUOTE(veilside2010 @ Nov 10 2010, 09:53 PM)
Opss..sorry see wrongly !!!  blush.gif
Btw SUNREIT is laggest asset ~~ I think the counter RM1.50 without problem !  nod.gif
6 cents DPU/150 = 4%, net yield 3.6%, might as well park in FD, safer.
Doesn't make a lot of sense for people to invest at 1.50, unless we are having properties bubble to drive it to this level.

In order for it to rise to 1.50, you need DPU improvement to around 7-8 cents at least to justify the rise.
TScherroy
post Nov 11 2010, 01:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Nov 11 2010, 12:08 PM)
Interesting...Thanks yok70 and cherroy to enlighten me. I only hold TowerReit and CMMT at the moment. Sorry I do not follow others closely. Interesting to learn 7%~8% return still achieveable.

I have strong confidence on CMMT management, maybe the yield may not be as good as others now. But It has very much potential to increase the rental as their properties are located on very strategic location. Almost 100% occupancy rate.
Yes, no doubt, CMMT kinda like management is a strong selling point as well as its properties itself. I also like CMMT very much as well, just yield wise always make me think twice.

Rental won't be increasing dramatically, always very gradual one, as some lease may last 1 year or more, so don't expect sudden jump in rental income.
It is same across reit.

There is always some premium going on for large cap vs smaller cap.

Because too big to fail is a strong theory...... which I learned during 2008. whistling.gif laugh.gif (this sentence joking only).
TScherroy
post Nov 11 2010, 03:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 11 2010, 02:49 PM)
By the way Cherroy do you have any arreit ?  biggrin.gif
Got it for sometimes already, probably last year.
Forget what price liao, 0.78 or 0.80, something like that.
Not many though.

I always buy in several trench, (kedukut/buying vegetable style), no matter reit or ordinary stocks, so always forgot what price I bought. blush.gif biggrin.gif

16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:06 PM