101 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

ithomesolution
post May 20 2010, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(firestater @ May 19 2010, 05:36 PM)
on my samsung ht-zt225 come with ---> External Digital Optical Input Jack
and on this  880GM-UD2H ---- > HD audio (Realtek ALC892 with Dolby Home Theater)

so i just hook up both S/PDIF it will do the jobs is it....
if not mistake, ur specs can only can get dts & dolby digtal sound not dts hd sound.
if u want dts hd sound u need

option 1 - asus xonar 1.3 sound card
option 2 - ati 5 series graphic card

using hdmi to get the dts hd sound.
accs_centre
post May 20 2010, 10:59 AM

4,840 posts

His HTiB cant decode DTS-HD via HDMI input so no need to consider your option..
paskal
post May 20 2010, 11:34 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ May 20 2010, 10:59 AM)
His HTiB cant decode DTS-HD via HDMI input so no need to consider your option..
if HD audio isn't considered and not a gamer, and looking just to play 1080p mkv then by all means, an RM300 media player would suffice. biggrin.gif
yikyeou
post May 21 2010, 02:47 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

hi gurus and sifus, need recommendation on building a htpc. my budget is rm1500-2000.

my htpc is for playing MKV, youtube, surfing and PPS, that's all. =)
netherlord
post May 21 2010, 03:27 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ May 21 2010, 02:47 AM)
hi gurus and sifus, need recommendation on building a htpc. my budget is rm1500-2000.

my htpc is for playing MKV, youtube, surfing and PPS, that's all. =)
No pun intended but its like walking into shop and asking a salesman what he have for sale blink.gif

In order to build a htpc, there are various factors to take into consideration. What sound system your running now? HiTB or AVR? What output do you need? HDMI or Composite? Optical or Bitstream? What future upgrades you looking at? You need to do a little research then ask the correct questions.

BTW all your requirements are already answered in all the previous post. Take some time to browse thru the past post then ask again with the proper questions. As for your question, anything spec will suffice in doing that. Thats all rclxms.gif
yikyeou
post May 21 2010, 12:45 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ May 21 2010, 03:27 AM)
No pun intended but its like walking into shop and asking a salesman what he have for sale  blink.gif

In order to build a htpc, there are various factors to take into consideration. What sound system your running now? HiTB or AVR? What output do you need? HDMI or Composite? Optical or Bitstream? What future upgrades you looking at? You need to do a little research then ask the correct questions.

BTW all your requirements are already answered in all the previous post. Take some time to browse thru the past post then ask again with the proper questions. As for your question, anything spec will suffice in doing that. Thats all  rclxms.gif
forgot to mention, my video output will be hdmi and for sound will be spdif via toslink.
nocar
post May 21 2010, 03:22 PM

752 posts

Guys - any good speaker cables and cost per feet? I'm going to do wiring for my 10 feet x 15 feet tv room. The cheaper the better... smile.gif
netherlord
post May 21 2010, 05:11 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ May 21 2010, 12:45 PM)
forgot to mention, my video output will be hdmi and for sound will be spdif via toslink.
Core i5 530 + Gigabyte H55M-UD2H + 2GB RAM + 1.5TB HDD + China ATX Casing + 400W PS + DVD Burner = RM17++

Outputs will be HDMI(Video), Optical(Sound).

Future Upgrade = DD TrueHD / DTS MA Bitstream capable AVR (thru HDMI), Bluray drive for BD playback.

Core spec will be able to handle most of your req there and future upgrade to support DD TrueHD and DTS MA is in place if you wanna upgrade your HT set. Hope this fits your budget rclxms.gif
paskal
post May 21 2010, 07:14 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ May 21 2010, 05:11 PM)
Core i5 530 + Gigabyte H55M-UD2H + 2GB RAM + 1.5TB HDD + China ATX Casing + 400W PS + DVD Burner = RM17++

Outputs will be HDMI(Video), Optical(Sound).

Future Upgrade = DD TrueHD / DTS MA Bitstream capable AVR (thru HDMI), Bluray drive for BD playback.

Core spec will be able to handle most of your req there and future upgrade to support DD TrueHD and DTS MA is in place if you wanna upgrade your HT set. Hope this fits your budget  rclxms.gif
any particular reason in selecting core i5 when core i3 is enough?
firestater
post May 22 2010, 01:29 AM

470 posts

My final decision (already back to intel) will purchase it within next week

INTEL CORE I3 530 (390) + Asus P7H55-M (300) (using the iGPU) + 2gb x 1 (170)

and the casing should be either one
4-a) E-SuperCase Series Micro-ATX
4-b) Cooler Master Elite 360

future update if needed ATI 5 series (HD audio bit streaming)
g5sim
post May 22 2010, 01:35 AM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(nocar @ May 21 2010, 03:22 PM)
Guys - any good speaker cables and cost per feet? I'm going to do wiring for my 10 feet x 15 feet tv room. The cheaper the better... smile.gif
jalan pasar got plenty of pink color speaker cable tongue.gif veli cheap tongue.gif
netherlord
post May 22 2010, 07:07 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 21 2010, 07:14 PM)
any particular reason in selecting core i5 when core i3 is enough?
Based on your budget, dont you wanna get the best hardware possible?
paskal
post May 22 2010, 09:06 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(firestater @ May 22 2010, 01:29 AM)
My final decision (already back to intel) will purchase it within next week

INTEL CORE I3 530 (390) + Asus P7H55-M (300) (using the iGPU) + 2gb x 1 (170)

and the casing should be either one
4-a) E-SuperCase Series Micro-ATX
4-b) Cooler Master Elite 360

future update if needed ATI 5 series (HD audio bit streaming)
the core i3 paired with h55 is able to do hd audio bitstream. you don't need the ATI 5 series GC.

QUOTE(netherlord @ May 22 2010, 07:07 AM)
Based on your budget, dont you wanna get the best hardware possible?
nope.
i'm gonna choose the lower end of the core series which could do bitstream (core i3-530) since the extra clockspeed won't improve the decoding performance (if software decoding is used) and won't affect anything if hardware decoding is used.
the lower clockspeed reduces the heat output, thus reducing the fan speed and noise.

the saved budget will be used to get the most important part in (any) HTPC (media library):
STORAGE.
RM300 saved is another 1.5TB of storage. i already have 6 and fully filled 5 of it.

then again, my requirement might not be the same as everyone. smile.gif
nocar
post May 22 2010, 02:40 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ May 22 2010, 01:35 AM)
jalan pasar got plenty of pink color speaker cable tongue.gif veli cheap tongue.gif
so far away to get pinky wires. I'm going to window-shop at hardware store or the Car Hifi shops to get some quotes. Think of getting the white-colored cable pair. Luckily my wireman could not come today to rewire my tv room.
netherlord
post May 22 2010, 02:51 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 22 2010, 09:06 AM)
the core i3 paired with h55 is able to do hd audio bitstream. you don't need the ATI 5 series GC.
nope.
i'm gonna choose the lower end of the core series which could do bitstream (core i3-530) since the extra clockspeed won't improve the decoding performance (if software decoding is used) and won't affect anything if hardware decoding is used.
the lower clockspeed reduces the heat output, thus reducing the fan speed and noise.

the saved budget will be used to get the most important part in (any) HTPC (media library):
STORAGE.
RM300 saved is another 1.5TB of storage. i already have 6 and fully filled 5 of it.
then again, my requirement might not be the same as everyone. smile.gif
True that most ppl have different requirement from their HTPC. As per yikyeou request, i just provide a spec to match his budget. How he wants to change it is totally up to him.

For me, Processor play a bigger role than Storage cause occasionally i do some video/sound editing/authoring so the extra speed comes in handy. My HTPC is more like a transformer biggrin.gif , when hooked up to my Monitor i use it to do general work, when hooked up to my AVR it transforms into a Media HTPC. rclxms.gif

P.S Iam using Acer 6935G notebook as my workhorse and HTPC. Windows Vista for general work and XBMC for Media HTPC purpose.

This post has been edited by netherlord: May 22 2010, 02:53 PM
xsi
post May 23 2010, 06:56 PM

186 posts

where can i get biostar am3 ddr2 785g board?
very hard to find lah..
need am3 ddr2 x 4 slots...785g...if anybody can recommend anything below 300..
tq...
nocar
post May 24 2010, 12:25 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(nocar @ May 22 2010, 02:40 PM)
so far away to get pinky wires. I'm going to window-shop at hardware store or the Car Hifi shops to get some quotes. Think of getting the white-colored cable pair. Luckily my wireman could not come today to rewire my tv room.
Some info on cheap speaker cables:
1. The kinda thick cable pair with transparent plastic cover cost around RM45 for 40m per roll at Hardware shop. That will be around RM1.13 per metre.
2. One of the cables at specialist hifi shop that look the same as cable at hardware shop in #1 cost you RM5 per metre. But they provide you good buying experience lah .... aie-conditioned shops, can demo, give you reverse osmosis water etc. hehehe...
Skylinestar
post May 24 2010, 08:43 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(nocar @ May 24 2010, 12:25 PM)
Some info on cheap speaker cables:
1. The kinda thick cable pair with transparent plastic cover cost around RM45 for 40m per roll at Hardware shop. That will be around RM1.13 per metre.
2. One of the cables at specialist hifi shop that look the same as cable at hardware shop in #1 cost you RM5 per metre. But they provide you good buying experience lah .... aie-conditioned shops, can demo, give you reverse osmosis water etc. hehehe...
make sure that the core conductor is of heavy gauge. most cheap cables look big, but actually it's the insulation that's thick but with small core.
firestater
post May 26 2010, 06:14 AM

470 posts

Yesterday, i managed to complete my HTPC setup.
p7h55m-i3-stock hsf(not bad)-2gb ram-1tb ram-powerlogic allegra 500. So evrything working fine, the only thing is. How can i disable the sound from HDMI, just let it go through spdif home theater set.
accs_centre
post May 26 2010, 12:44 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(firestater @ May 26 2010, 06:14 AM)
Yesterday, i managed to complete my HTPC setup.
p7h55m-i3-stock hsf(not bad)-2gb ram-1tb ram-powerlogic allegra 500. So evrything working fine, the only thing is. How can i disable the sound from HDMI, just let it go through spdif home theater set.
Show us ur new HTPC ~~ brows.gif

101 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0326sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:22 AM