HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

xsi
post Mar 19 2010, 11:51 AM

186 posts

Looking for cheapest mobo...my requirement..
-mini-itx
-play 1080p & BD
-cheaper solution compared to dual ATOM + ION...
I just dont know what mobo to use. Cracking my head already searching LYN for it..
Any mobo price approx at 200-300 (exc. processor) with chipset able to meet my requirement?
xsi
post Mar 19 2010, 02:24 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 19 2010, 01:48 PM)
already check Zotac GeForce 9300-ITX WiFi Motherboard ?
you prefer intel or amd? for mini-itx, Zotac are quite popular brand.
Bro,
thanks for the reply.
I dont mind intel of AMD....most importantly is the cost... blush.gif
Zotac is quite on the high side (in term of price), right?
I was thinking MSI or anything equivalent, but not sure whether it is available or not....
so far if found nothing when searching here...
xsi
post Mar 19 2010, 02:47 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(chuan1983 @ Mar 19 2010, 02:36 PM)
maybe you can consider micro-ATX, more room for upgrading. In future you can add some video capture card for Astro or TV Recording.  hmm.gif
Mirco-ITX is a good idea. But considering the size....hahaha..so malas one lah... tongue.gif
Found this Intel DG41MJ at ~RM300....
i'm still researching on it..

Found this review...http://www.silentpcreview.com/article960-page7.html

Conclusion...
The Intel DG41MJ is very power efficient, and with the exception of an actual high bitrate H.264 encoded Blu-ray movie, plays most content with little difficulty. The chipsets run fairly cool, but the board's automated fan control system is a disappointment. It is too passive, letting the processor get too hot before kicking in, and once activated, it is not aggressive enough in the face of high CPU temperatures. It may be optimized for use with Intel's stock heatsink/fan, or another HSF that has higher native speed than the fans we tested with. It is probably best to disable it if you plan to stress the system on a regular basis.

The DG45FC is equally power efficient, but its video decoding ability is superior. In addition, it offers a bevy of features including HDMI, S/PDIF, RAID, eSATA, an extra SATA port, and a PCI-E 1x slot instead of PCI. Not everyone needs these extra features, but in particular, digital audio and video outputs are essential for the most common application of mini-ITX systems: Home theater PC. Between the two, we would choose the DG41MJ only if cost was a major issue because the DG45FC can be had for only $25~$30 more. (It should be noted that both Intel boards only support processors rated 65W or lower.)
This one tested with Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 processor - 2.53GHz, 45nm, 65W

total price still almost the same with board with dual atom ION... mad.gif

This post has been edited by xsi: Mar 19 2010, 03:14 PM
xsi
post Mar 19 2010, 03:47 PM

186 posts

i3 & H55? if i have those kind of budget, i will not be asking in the first place....hahahahaha..!!

xsi
post Mar 20 2010, 02:12 AM

186 posts

mobo ~200, processor ~200. The lesser the better..tongue.gif
after browsing so far, realized impossible to get mini-itx with that kind of budget.
So have to settle for AMD micro-atx.....and based on my reading...i can even go for x2 (instead of x4) cpu if i get a 'sufficient' GPU to do the decoding....
Question now, what is the minimum GPU shud i go for..?

xsi
post Mar 20 2010, 06:49 PM

186 posts

i have yet to do any searching...but what is hd bit streaming..?
if 300 is the cost for minimum graphic card for 1080p playback, might as well dump the money on the processor then...300-400 can get a quad proc already...
next i guess i have to do research on sub 200 mobo then...assuming that quad processor can do the decoding with onboard graphic..
thanks for the help guys...
xsi
post Mar 22 2010, 09:07 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Mar 20 2010, 09:26 PM)
Mini-itx will cost a lots more than micro-atx.

AMD is good choice if you want build cheap htpc specially with it 785G chipset. If you couple with AMD Athlon II X2 250, it already capable of playing 1080p movies. Processor you can find around RM200 or below but for mobo RM3++.
Most probably you will not using hd bit streaming and you may forget about it. It need AVR to decode it, and an AVR cost almost the same as HTPC and usually higher.

Like above suggestion, AMD Athlon II X2 250 is good enough or you can get Phenom II x2 550 and unlock it core to get quad.
785g mobo does come with a built in graphic?
Actually, getting an AVR is part of the whole so-called masterplan....coz will need it for my other input..i.e. ps3, byond, 360...
So, will that actually affect the htpc mobo that i need to select? i thought audio output, coaxial/optical/equiv is standard?
xsi
post Mar 22 2010, 01:32 PM

186 posts

i was going for785g route already. I thought once you have the built in optical/coaxial output, you are OK already.
if that is the case, can i just get an external sound card and have that whatever TrueHD/DTS-HD capability.
5.1 is ok by me....TrueHD/DTS-HD is not 5.1?
xsi
post Mar 23 2010, 01:14 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 22 2010, 10:11 PM)

Added on March 22, 2010, 10:22 pm
if you're fine with 5.1 and no plan to upgrade 7.1 or TrueHD/DTS-HD. no need to get external sound card.
for example onboard ATI 4xxx motherboad or NVIDIA  nForce 730i / GeForce 9300 Chipset. there are able to do 5.1 already.
if you want low budget, no need to add-on card for that....

TrueHD/DTS-HD MA have both 5.1 and 7.1 standard. it's depend on the movie studio producer.
If as said the ati 5XXX can do TrueHD/DTS-HD bitstream.....it will be done thru HDMI right? any card that can offer thru optical/coaxial? This upgrade can always be done later right?
And it means, you will need TrueHD/DTS-HD capable AVR?

xsi
post Mar 24 2010, 08:02 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 24 2010, 07:48 AM)
yes, you're right. just forgot about optical/coaxial.....if you're interested on TrueHD/DTS-HD MA.
you can add the ATi 5xxx series later when you have TrueHD/DTS-HD capable AVR.
what AVR are you using now?
Now is a quite old denon, no DI. Planning to get ones with DI. Guess i have to re-think of the plan lah. Might as well get those with that capability...but later lah...
xsi
post May 18 2010, 12:42 AM

186 posts

Question.......

due to my super low budget, plan to get a very cheap mobo. Board got no back optical output. But, if the onboard/internal i/o has spdif output, how do i convert it to coaxial/optical?

been searching in the forum but could find the fact that i'm looking for.

I know there is a bracket, but where can i get it.

This post has been edited by xsi: May 18 2010, 12:43 AM
xsi
post May 19 2010, 12:19 AM

186 posts

yup...a lot of DIY guide for the spdif-optical thingy....but not planning to DIY....sucks at it...
been browsing lot yat for the bracket but cant find any..
help appreciated...

thanks..

Added on May 19, 2010, 12:29 amlooking at biostar am3 785g board (e.g. ta785ge)...this board can work with ddr2 pc2-6400 RAM?
Memory Technical Data
Internal memory - 1024MB
Internal memory type - DDR2-SDRAM
Form factor - 240 Pin DIMM
Bus clock rate - 800MHz
CAS latency - CL 5-6-6-15

Damn...i am that clueless...
thanks..

This post has been edited by xsi: May 19 2010, 12:29 AM
xsi
post May 19 2010, 08:37 AM

186 posts

thank mrbob..
btw...based on the spec, there are 4 RAM slots but 2 diff color convention..can i assume the slots are meant for the same type of RAM?

i have 4 identical 1GB RAM sticks (ddr2 800)...that i got at a very good price...so plan to use it all..
xsi
post May 19 2010, 04:29 PM

186 posts

power color ati 5450 can get below 200......anybody actually tried that card? hehehehe..
xsi
post May 23 2010, 06:56 PM

186 posts

where can i get biostar am3 ddr2 785g board?
very hard to find lah..
need am3 ddr2 x 4 slots...785g...if anybody can recommend anything below 300..
tq...
xsi
post Jun 10 2010, 09:20 PM

186 posts

question...
with pentium D, not sure which model, can i just get a pcie graphic card that can enable me to play 1080p mkv?
xsi
post Jun 11 2010, 12:30 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Jun 10 2010, 11:52 PM)
Pls refer to the Article below :-

http://www.guru3d.com/article/accelerate-x...-the-gpu-guide/

It will offload all the processing to a GPU...
Not really answering whether it is possible or not....
But will definitely read it...
Thanks for the link bro... rclxms.gif
xsi
post Jun 11 2010, 11:54 PM

186 posts

thanks for the reply...
what about ATI cards, will the 5000 series works?
xsi
post Jul 26 2010, 12:01 PM

186 posts

so many HDD....
what is the PSU requirement to put all this HDD?
300W sufficient for how many?

My HTPC project is like s*** now. Keep getting BSOD on Win7, fresh install summore on a virgin HDD. Sometime HDD not detected. Feeling like just want to throw my htpc in longkang right now. Dunno what's wrong. Is it the mobo, HDD..no idea at all.

This post has been edited by xsi: Jul 26 2010, 12:03 PM
xsi
post Jul 26 2010, 01:53 PM

186 posts

thank for the tips...
my PSU is a cheapo one...maybe will upgrade later coz i have 2 HDDs 1 DVD drive. And possibly buying another HDD.

btw, also getting BSOD when trying to re-install the win7 again. Bugger!

0.0406sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:41 PM