MeToo
post Aug 29 2012, 11:13 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Aug 20 2012, 10:35 PM)
beside howard maybe can try to see this seller in ebay

http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/royaltex10?ssPag...ME:L:OU:AU:1181

his picture resolution is much better than howard and he can send more pictures of the cloth if you wish
Oh have to make a mention...

Howard's really bad with his photography skills.. his fabric pics colour tend to be way brighter then the actual material is... so you look at the pics... imagine it to be 2 shades darker.. should be about right
PiggyAikz
post Sep 5 2012, 01:21 PM

193 posts

Any e-bay store you guys would recommend to purchase fabric for suit?
hochimama
post Sep 5 2012, 02:34 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Sep 5 2012, 01:21 PM)
http://stores.ebay.com/BRITISH-FABRICS
cenkudu
post Sep 5 2012, 11:05 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Sep 5 2012, 01:21 PM)
myworld.ebay.co.uk/royaltex10?ssPageName=ADME:L:OU:AU:1181

Royal textiles is 100% better than Howard. I have experienced buying from these 2 companies; Howard sold me a same fabric which in the photo looks like other colours. mad.gif
MeToo
post Sep 6 2012, 02:41 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Sep 5 2012, 11:05 PM)
myworld.ebay.co.uk/royaltex10?ssPageName=ADME:L:OU:AU:1181

Royal textiles is 100% better than Howard. I have experienced buying from these 2 companies; Howard sold me a same fabric which in the photo looks like other colours.  mad.gif
Its not his fault... he's just bad at photography...

His fabric is about 2 shades lighter due to the use of flash....
Harfan
post Sep 6 2012, 02:41 PM

210 posts

Hello there,

I'm getting myself a suit for my university event. I think it is a good time for me to invest in a nice suit. I've already try Padini suit, S size and I think it suit me quite perfectly. So, here's the picture and is it good?

sorry for the img quality.
MeToo
post Sep 6 2012, 02:44 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Sep 6 2012, 02:41 PM)
Hello there,

I'm getting myself a suit for my university event. I think it is a good time for me to invest in a nice suit. I've already try Padini suit, S size and I think it suit me quite perfectly. So, here's the picture and is it good?

U need to put atleast 1 hand straight down to check the sleeve length.

Then a sideways photo for sleeve rotation etc.

And the entire chest/wasit view of the suit is way too dark.... also dont button the bottom button...

But... for the price.. Padini suit is decent... get those with workign cuffs

This post has been edited by MeToo: Sep 6 2012, 02:44 PM
cenkudu
post Sep 6 2012, 07:40 PM

1,206 posts

if i made a suit with tailor A and its give really excellent fit can I just bring the suit to tailor B and ask them to follow the measurement?
khorkahyong
post Sep 7 2012, 01:49 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Sep 6 2012, 07:40 PM)
if i made a suit with tailor A and its give really excellent fit can I just bring the suit to tailor B and ask them to follow the measurement?
yes of course u can do that. they can copy exactly the same suit for you but quality depends on the workmanship of the tailor.

Added on September 7, 2012, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(Harfan @ Sep 6 2012, 02:41 PM)
Hello there,

hi, you should wear it with a shirt then put your hands down so you can observe whether u like the length of the sleeve. for me, i like to show half inch of the shirt.
from the picture it seems fit for you, but you need to feel it yourself whether you feel comfortable or not. slimmer suit looks good but more uncomfortable, a more relaxed fit gives you comfort but compromise the look. you need to find the balance.
most of the time, bottom button are preferred to(must) be unbutton.

*just a humble opinion.

This post has been edited by khorkahyong: Sep 7 2012, 01:59 PM
notorious_guest
post Sep 21 2012, 04:40 PM

is it possible to buy a suit in any store such as Padini, Zara or G2000 and then ask tailor to do some alteration?
deriku
post Sep 21 2012, 04:48 PM

879 posts

Yes it is possible.
MeToo
post Sep 21 2012, 04:50 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(notorious_guest @ Sep 21 2012, 04:40 PM)
is it possible to buy a suit in any store such as Padini, Zara or G2000 and then ask tailor to do some alteration?
Be very careful which part of the suit can be altered and which cant...

For eg, if u wanna alter the sleeve lenght, u better buy something with no working buttons..
aerenpurchaseon9
post Sep 21 2012, 06:02 PM

Hi all sifu,a stupid question here......i'm first time going to commission a suit,can i just wear casual like throwing on a t shirt and short pant? or should i bring my dress shirt along?thanks for the answer...
deriku
post Sep 21 2012, 10:39 PM

879 posts

Wear whatever you want when you visit for the first time. Only during subsequent fittings should you dress up.
notorious_guest
post Sep 22 2012, 03:37 PM

For your first few suits, stick to plain dark grey and plain navy. Never black. Avoid anything with stripes for now. Stick to a plain weave grey or navy.

quote from KOTMJ from "So you want to get a suit made, Here's how" Topic

my question... y "Never black" ? doesn't man look good in black?
sorry for d question... still a newbie...

netmatrix2
post Sep 24 2012, 12:34 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(notorious_guest @ Sep 22 2012, 03:37 PM)
quote from KOTMJ from "So you want to get a suit made, Here's how" Topic

my question... y "Never black" ? doesn't man look good in black?
sorry for d question... still a newbie...

What he is trying to say is, black is to common. Yes granted it is pretty easy to match with everything. But i mean you can't tell a penguin from another right? Is not like u should get chili red suit and all. But if dark suit, you could opt for dark navy or dark grey. Not necessary black. But having black suit could easily gain you entrance to any place as its almost like Visa. hahaha. But if u wanna stand out just a little, either dark grey or deep navy could be a better choice.
notorious_guest
post Sep 24 2012, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(netmatrix2 @ Sep 24 2012, 12:34 PM)
What he is trying to say is, black is to common. Yes granted it is pretty easy to match with everything. But i mean you can't tell a penguin from another right? Is not like u should get chili red suit and all. But if dark suit, you could opt for dark navy or dark grey. Not necessary black. But having black suit could easily gain you entrance to any place as its almost like Visa. hahaha. But if u wanna stand out just a little, either dark grey or deep navy could be a better choice.
thankz 4 d info... biggrin.gif

Added on September 25, 2012, 2:37 pmuser posted image

another question... there is a line in front of most suit... what is it called? is it a dart? i don't see here at this suit? is it a new trend? which is better? with line or no line?
sorry for questions... still a got a lot to learn...

This post has been edited by notorious_guest: Sep 25 2012, 02:37 PM
aerenpurchaseon9
post Sep 29 2012, 02:44 AM

Regard to all sifu here,I a newbie here and planing to have my first bespoke suit.i was hesitate between wool and linen to be use for my first suit,and here's the point:why people always prefer wool but not a breathable linen since our hot climate?
Cheers!
netmatrix2
post Sep 30 2012, 11:14 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(aerenpurchaseon9 @ Sep 29 2012, 02:44 AM)
Regard to all sifu here,I a newbie here and planing to have  my first bespoke suit.i was hesitate between wool and linen to be use for my first suit,and here's the point:why people always prefer wool but not a breathable linen since our hot climate?
Cheers!
If u could simulate wear & tear on both fabrics, linen would not be able to stand wear as well as wool. Which is why it is more suitable to have a wool suit. But like you said linen should be the fabric of choice in hot climates. The cooling factor of linen would only work if it is not fully lined with lining fabrics. I haven't go out and find any good linen fabrics for suits as i have been only going about looking at linen shirts and pants. But if you wanna get a clue of the types of linen and the combo material you could go to East India Company (Metrojaya) to look at the various linen materials for shirts. Some might be hard enough to hold shape, some smooth some coarse and some very soft when mixed with some other fabric yarn.
deriku
post Sep 30 2012, 11:50 AM

879 posts

Linen is traditionally worn as a summer outfit for a casual setting. In terms of formality wool is still the choice. So other than considering the suitability of a fabric for tropical climate you also have to decide for what occasions it will be worn.

14 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:46 PM