Suits v3

netmatrix
post Nov 19 2012, 12:55 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

QUOTE(Jane's @ Nov 18 2012, 03:09 PM)
Anyone? Thanks again blush.gif
Sleeve alteration is usually cheap. From RM18 to RM50 in most places. Some charges more due to location or how you want it done. Also please remember that altering the sleeves mean just that. They shorted the cuff area and not the whole sleeve from the shoulder down. So you might end up having a different sleeve button set up. Since your sleeve does not have button holes, the tailor could move the buttons up so it would look like it was not altered. This will definitely cost more. If you sleevs have button holes then it cannot be done without looking like there wasn't surgery done there.
Jane's
post Nov 19 2012, 04:28 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 19 2012, 12:55 PM)
Sleeve alteration is usually cheap. From RM18 to RM50 in most places. Some charges more due to location or how you want it done. Also please remember that altering the sleeves mean just that. They shorted the cuff area and not the whole sleeve from the shoulder down. So you might end up having a different sleeve button set up. Since your sleeve does not have button holes, the tailor could move the buttons up so it would look like it was not altered. This will definitely cost more. If you sleevs have button holes then it cannot be done without looking like there wasn't surgery done there.
Oh alright, many thanks for your reply there mate! Luckily the buttons aren't real biggrin.gif
nitro
post Jan 19 2013, 01:12 AM

28 posts

Hi everyone..

i am currently looking for a tailor to make my wedding suit..
i am in short of time actually....
does any sifu here recommend Allen Khoo tailor in ampang
park?

i am also looking for the tailor "ALT Tailor" as mention many times
in the forum but i cant google any info on that...

i hope some sifu here can give me a hand here....

thank you
attacusatlas
post Jan 19 2013, 07:56 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

ALT stands for Ah Loke tailor. Yeah, I know, the name doesn't sound as impressive as Wardrobe or Lord's but trust me, the workmanship is far superior. I have commissioned three suits from him.

His enterprise is located along Heritage Row (doesn't it sound like Savile Row), behind Sheraton Imperial hotel.

When is your wedding? You will have to be very patient with ALT as a fully canvassed suit will consume about three months; shorter for a fussed one.

Of course if you would like to source for your own fabric, lining, horn buttons etc etc, it will prolong the period. You can always look for terrorsquad, a forum member for some very very nice fabrics ('nice' is very much understated adjective).

Be prepared to budget for RM2500 for a suit that can last longer than you with a disclaimer: you don't put on too much weight after getting married.

All the best and congratulations for joining the married men's club.

This post has been edited by attacusatlas: Jan 19 2013, 08:00 PM
nitro
post Jan 20 2013, 07:37 PM

28 posts

Hi bro,

thankz for reply...ALT= Ah Loke Tailor ?? wah...really got me there...
i thought it was 2 different tailor....

i dont think i have enough time for a full canvas bespoke...
my wedding is in May...but my photo shot is end of march...
with the CNY coming....i think i have around a month plus
to make my suit.....

i should have prepare earlier......the thing is we decided to
use a freelance photographer instead of a bridal shop...

so they have only limited choice on suits n gown for us...

i though of cincai get a suit of the rack or just any tailor
and get a suit done....

but after reading in lowyat forum n thekerbau.com
i got racun to get a good fitting suit....
but to bad time in not on my side....

anyone tried Allen Khoo tailor from ampang park?

wanted to try wardrobe from bangsar.....but the $$ is really high

thankz you.
attacusatlas
post Jan 20 2013, 11:04 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(nitro @ Jan 20 2013, 07:37 PM)
Hi bro,

thankz for reply...ALT= Ah Loke Tailor ?? wah...really got me there...
i thought it was 2 different tailor....

i dont think i have enough time for a full canvas bespoke...
my wedding is in May...but my photo shot is end of march...
with the CNY coming....i think i have around a month plus
to make my suit.....

i should have prepare earlier......the thing is we decided to
use a freelance photographer instead of a bridal shop...

so they have only limited choice on suits n gown for us...

i though of cincai get a suit of the rack or just any tailor
and get a suit done....

but after reading in lowyat forum n thekerbau.com
i got racun to get a good fitting suit....
but to bad time in not on my side....

anyone tried Allen Khoo tailor from ampang park?

wanted to try wardrobe from bangsar.....but the $$ is really high

thankz you.
You can still commission Ah Loke for a fussed suit if you aren't particular. Still a very nice suit, the end product. Also, it is a lot more cheaper.

nitro
post Jan 21 2013, 12:07 AM

28 posts

hi bro,

if i make a fussed suit....
can he pad the lapel ?
or stitch it...so it would look nicer?
more 3d....

hope i descript it correctly..

thankz
nitro
post Jan 26 2013, 09:31 PM

28 posts

Hi All,

Finally went to ALT to make my bespoke fuse semi canvas suit....(correct me if i am wrong)

wanted a English wool mohair but some how got too excited perhaps.
ended up with Italian super 180's wool cashmere
black paint strip fabric.....

seems like AL knows what i have in mind....
he knows about the high arm hole, slim fit, less shoulder pad
even b4 i mention it....
hopefully the outcome will be good.....

my first fitting will be around 5 of Feb.

but i would say their price is not the cheapest~

thankz.....

nitro
post Jan 26 2013, 09:51 PM

28 posts

Oops...
Italian super 180's wool cashmere

just got to know this is a bad choice....

dwin95
post Jan 26 2013, 10:55 PM

wow i finally get to type here since 2009
1,257 posts

Wrong section but this is the closest topic I could find that could relate to a jacket.

Should a varsity/baseball jacket be fitting or oversized?
nitro
post Jan 28 2013, 09:47 PM

28 posts

went to ALT n down grade to super 150,
change color to dark blue solid color....
kid mohair only have solid black in stock
so no choice la......
budget not permit for higher quality fabrics...

netmatrix
post Jan 29 2013, 01:32 PM

6,723 posts

QUOTE(nitro @ Jan 28 2013, 09:47 PM)
so no choice la......
Well the color choice is probably better thought out. As pin stripes comes off as too business look for a wedding. And u could use it again too if needed. Good luck on ur wedding. wink.gif
nitro
post Jan 29 2013, 06:26 PM

28 posts

thanks bro,

actually i felt better after the change....tongue.gif

MeToo
post Feb 1 2013, 01:29 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(nitro @ Jan 28 2013, 09:47 PM)
so no choice la......
when i read u got a black super 180s.. i groaned...

150s aint much better.... but better then the previosu for sure... and blue is definitely better then black haha

As for ah loke knowing what you wanted... i think too many people read this forum and went asking for the same thing.

I did my wedding suit there as well... wasnt too impressed, now I use other tailors and is much happier with the result.

Do post a pic of the suit when u get
nitro
post Feb 3 2013, 09:14 PM

28 posts

Hi Bro,

will try to ....
coz normaly i go alone...
no one take photo for me...
will take when its almost finish....

Tuesday will be my first fitting....
hopefully everything goes well...

thankz
douglas_tong
post Feb 4 2013, 10:48 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Edit: found my answer in general questions

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Feb 4 2013, 10:49 PM
fcfreak
post Apr 20 2013, 04:47 PM

102 posts

guys, i accidentally tear my suit. it's just a small tear at the armpit part.
any1 know any recommended tailor to re-sew near pj area?
n roughly how much it'll cost & how long?

This post has been edited by fcfreak: Apr 20 2013, 04:48 PM
netmatrix
post Apr 21 2013, 01:06 PM

6,723 posts

QUOTE(fcfreak @ Apr 20 2013, 04:47 PM)
guys, i accidentally tear my suit. it's just a small tear at the armpit part.
any1 know any recommended tailor to re-sew near pj area?
n roughly how much it'll cost & how long?
If it is tear along the stitching, its easy fix for any tailor. But if it is a tear on the cloth then there are some special techniques used. Bring the suit to the tailor to check. Prices, i dunno because never sent one to do it before.
stphnthdr
post Apr 28 2013, 12:21 PM

102 posts

where can i buy some nice suits? how about zara or g2000? budget around 400 max for blazer and 250 for trouser.. im searching for beige colored suit and slim fit.. no time to go to tailor d.. sad.gif thanks!
ArSe-SeNG
post Jun 3 2013, 09:25 AM

101 posts

Hi guys,

Does anyone here has Ron's mobile number? He used to be with Fit & Match in Curve, and has now opened his own shop in Hartamas.

Silly me forgot to back up my contacts when I switched phones.

Thanks!

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0278sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:34 AM