migration to Australia

KVReninem
post May 22 2011, 02:58 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(hotchoc @ Dec 21 2010, 07:46 PM)
very common for ppl to get high with weed / alcohol here and sleep around with randoms (i'm assuming that is what silver is referring to here). you can beat a cop / glass a person and receive a suspended sentence - means you don't need to go to jail but if you re-offend you will then head jail. in theory this is suppose to be a good deterrent but don't be surprise to see a person having a 3-4 suspended sentence under his belt. get a good lawyer and dress up in an armani suit on the trial and the court will pretty much say alrite you felt remorseful over yr actions which is pretty fked if you ask me but yeah that's the justice system here.

in terms of family values i suppose getting married and divorcing is quite the norm here. in my previous workplace alone there are about 4-5 single mum raising their kids on their own cos the husband cheated, alcoholic, drug abuse, etc so yeah some food for thought here. btw, if you do get married ovre here pls choose the partner correctly, it's not uncommon for women to be allocated 75% of yr assets cos the media here portrays women as the 'victim' eventhough she is having an affair. again, getting a good lawyer to argue it's the husband fault for the women straying is quite common. happen tp know a frd's colleague whose wife was having an affair with the gym instructor and at the end have to give 50% still O_O. Heng no kids or more jialat ocs you have to pay parental support till the kid is 18.

family wise, ppl tend to move out after 18 to rent / stay with friends over here though the trend is starting to change now cos of crazy house prices and cost of living atm. not much comment on this as i have yet to start a family.

having said that, each country will have its problems so it's up to you to see which one outweighs the other from you.

disclaimer:
the above is just my observation, diff ppl will obviously have diff experience. been in perth for 8+ yrs so the views above are from a person whois paying tax (damn bloodsuckers) and not some tourist talk : )
mm beg to diff.

Look; Australia not a perfect society; same goes our Malaysia.

In Australia; all this weeds; alcohol...is part of life living free. You can do what ever you want; but at the cost that if you caused trouble; trouble finds you back.

They value life; value family too. Some times things don't work out; you cant make all agree at a same point; but eventually, things work out.

About kids; yes. by 18 you have the rights to move out & give parents their space. Its a good move to keep them independent & learn the whole world themselves. Tell me; in Malaysia; why kids are still not growing up & be spoon-feed till their late pre marriage age?

naleh33
post May 22 2011, 01:17 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ May 22 2011, 01:34 AM)
as you know, the higher you earn, the more tax you pay..
in oz, i dont recall claiming those tax rebate that you enjoyed in msia, as in oz the welfare is good enough, which is why i think not much tax rebates..
the only tax rebate i claimed b4 are work related training/exams....

you can find the rates in ATO website

there are few calculator on the website that you can used to estimate your monthly nett salary as well..

Added on May 22, 2011, 1:39 ameven with PR, if you are not physically in Oz, i doubt you will get any replies from the SEEK jobs you applied..
it will be good if you can ask for a transfer from IBM Msia to IBM Australia..

definitely you will have face some hard time, as some recruiter will prefer local experience under your belt as well..
I know the about the tax bracket and the rates. The only thing that I am not clear is the tax rebates which you said is quite hard to come by since the welfare is good.
annielee
post May 22 2011, 01:23 PM

294 posts

yup, you can always engage an accountant or tax agents to do your tax and ask them about it..
and you can claim back the tax rebate for the tax agent fees for next year..
thats what i did for the 1st year, coz im not sure about the tax system over there..

QUOTE(naleh33 @ May 22 2011, 01:17 PM)
I know the about the tax bracket and the rates. The only thing that I am not clear is the tax rebates which you said is quite hard to come by since the welfare is good.

Added on May 22, 2011, 1:24 pmya i agree as well, we cant always get the best of both worlds, so it depends what you want..

QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 22 2011, 02:58 AM)
mm beg to diff.

Look; Australia not a perfect society; same goes our Malaysia.

In Australia; all this weeds; alcohol...is part of life living free. You can do what ever you want; but at the cost that if you caused trouble; trouble finds you back.

They value life; value family too. Some times things don't work out; you cant make all agree at a same point; but eventually, things work out.

About kids; yes. by 18 you have the rights to move out & give parents their space. Its a good move to keep them independent & learn the whole world themselves. Tell me; in Malaysia; why kids are still not growing up & be spoon-feed till their late pre marriage age?
This post has been edited by annielee: May 22 2011, 01:24 PM
mercury8400
post May 23 2011, 12:43 AM

2,703 posts

What I don't understand is why not choose Singapore instead of Australia. Apart from being more stressful the rest Singapore is so much better than Australia if u plan to migrate. Personal income tax is low, food cost less than sgd10 per person in food court, culture almost similar to malaysia (although they are more open compared to us) and no social discriminations. The city is safe. Yes prices of properties are high but property prices in Australia isn't cheap either and probably comparable. Things are definately more efficient here.
sploj
post May 23 2011, 03:18 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(the7signals @ May 21 2011, 09:52 PM)
Have you quit IBM? If not, possible for you to apply for transfer to IBM Australia? This could be a good stepping stone for you as Australia emphasize a lot on "local (Australian)" working experience.
QUOTE(annielee @ May 22 2011, 01:34 AM)
even with PR, if you are not physically in Oz, i doubt you will get any replies from the SEEK jobs you applied..
it will be good if you can ask for a transfer from IBM Msia to IBM Australia..

definitely you will have face some hard time, as some recruiter will prefer local experience under your belt as well..
thank you 7signals and annielee for your advice.
Unfortunately I have left IBM Malaysia, but while I was there, I was working as an engineer monitoring compliance for IT solutions developed by IBM Australia & New Zealand. My role was an ANZ Compliance Engineer. I wonder if that counts as local (Australian) experience.

Nonetheless, I have stated my working experience in IBM succinctly in my resume.
I am already all geared up, leaving Malaysia at the end of June for Melbourne.

Is the job market still tough?
annielee
post May 23 2011, 03:31 PM

294 posts

wish all the best, do update us on your job search when you are there next month :-)

QUOTE(sploj @ May 23 2011, 03:18 PM)
thank you 7signals and annielee for your advice.
Unfortunately I have left IBM Malaysia, but while I was there, I was working as an engineer monitoring compliance for IT solutions developed by IBM Australia & New Zealand. My role was an ANZ Compliance Engineer. I wonder if that counts as local (Australian) experience.

Nonetheless, I have stated my working experience in IBM succinctly in my resume.
I am already all geared up, leaving Malaysia at the end of June for Melbourne.

Is the job market still tough?
MeruChan
post May 23 2011, 05:17 PM

225 posts

I would like to share my experience to those who are interested to know about working and migrating to Australia.

I have graduated for almost 6 months been to a few interviews but still couldn't manage to get an accounting job or a proper full time job. I have been waitressing every since I got to Australia part time through out my uni and till now. I started with $12 an hour at an asian takeaway, $16/h at a Japanese dining now I am working at a Mexican restaurant for $20 an hour.

Apart from that, IELTS is screwing with me, took the test twice and couldn't pass the friggin' writing component..and it's just 0.5 point shy.

I am trying to beat time here, if I could not get a point 7 mark for my writing by the end of June, I would either have to marry my OZ bf or go through professional year or get hired in an accounting firm and work there for a year to get my PR.

It takes a lot of time, money and effort to get a PR. So to those who want to migrate, please don't be up in the clouds thinking the sky is bluer the grass is greener and the people smile more even though it is true, there are other factors here that would really frustrate the hell outta you. it depends on how strong your survival skills are.

Australia can offer a more laid back and secure life style in the long run, so if you really want to live here, u have to keep fighting and don't give up. Try making it a habit to send at least one resume a day. and don't be affraid to call up and ask for the job. they want to know you are the person for the job so prove them that fact. be courteos but show them you have the smarts too.

Nemesis1980
post May 15 2013, 06:54 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(NerdAlert @ Mar 11 2011, 08:18 PM)
Hi forumers,

In this end of year, I'm going to finish my degree study at Taylor's University. I have a internship for 6 month and I'm very interested to go Australia. The discourage of this internship is I've to do my own placement, but I've no choice because is compulsory.

I do some research on Australia and I acknowledge that in order to enter Australia for a job I need working holiday visa instead of Student Visa that only available foreign student who study at Australia. In other word, I've apply for working holiday visa.
in the past 2 week, I consulted E.T.Educational Service (http://www.etes.com.my/index.htm), they provide me visa, seek employer, accommodation, and they also estimate the return of investment as well as living cost. This offer is good for me to go Australia; however, the fees is RM20k for entire package..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

although they estimate the return of investment around 6 month time, but the point is the initial payment is RM20k. As a student, I've very difficult situation with the payment.

So here is my question

1) Do anyone know how to go Australia through agent with minimum charges?
2) Do anyone know about E.T.Education Service? I worried that they are some sort of cheater, RM20k is not small number.
3) Any other option to go work in Australia?

Please share your opinion
Your time is very appreciated
Bless you
NerdAlert
Yo, i even heard that some people have datukship who can help you migrate. It's so hilarious when i heard this. I become his datuk lar.
Wat you're mentioning here is extremely dodgy as wat other has said. Beware, there's so many syndicate try to trap you on this. doh.gif
GucciFendiPrada
post Nov 24 2013, 11:49 PM

14 posts

Hi , guys , im just wondering if , after my college life , whether i to be migrate to Aussie to work by leaving friends and family here , will it be a good choice or not ?
Anyone has any past experience or wise advice for me ?

Will working at aussie better than malaysia ? Eventho i know first few year in Aussie will be more difficult , without any one support , do u think i can make it ?
Anyone ? Mind to share your experience ? smile.gif

omnimech
post Nov 24 2013, 11:57 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

U think u use the word migrate is so easy ?

>_>

Go and google the procedures la .

What you planning to study ?

Will u study there or locally ?

Do you have proper financial backing from parents ?
MoonRider
post Nov 25 2013, 10:55 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

u mahu go there .. u must also think whether orang sana mahu u or not
mik@
post Nov 25 2013, 10:56 AM

55 posts

How exactly do you plan to migrate there?
wanisika
post Nov 25 2013, 11:40 AM

Everything is possible as long as you believe you can do it! ^__^
Here is the precious information from maxmillion for your kind references:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2013104/+2360

You can check this thread for more information about working in Australia.
But, you need to make sure if it's suitable place for you before you migrate.
Hope this thread helps you to get more insights~ ^^
GucciFendiPrada
post Nov 25 2013, 09:30 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Nov 24 2013, 11:57 PM)
U think u use the word migrate is so easy ?

>_>

Go and google the procedures la .

What you planning to study ?

Will u study there or locally ?

Do you have proper financial backing from parents ?
Ya i know i heard getting visa and evrything is actually quite troublesome , but thats not my main point i am currently studying acc & finance shoould be graduating by 2 years from now , was hoping if i were to Aussie maybe i might have better chance of getting better job and lifestyle . My parents can finance me not much , most prob gotta survive on my own if i go there . Wasnt sure whether is the right choice to make rclxub.gif
GucciFendiPrada
post Nov 25 2013, 09:31 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Nov 25 2013, 10:55 AM)
u mahu go there .. u must also think whether orang sana mahu u or not
Ya man , i heard alot of stuff about looking down on asian , Thats why im not even sure i can get a job there when i reach there haha shocking.gif
GucciFendiPrada
post Nov 25 2013, 09:34 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(mik@ @ Nov 25 2013, 10:56 AM)
How exactly do you plan to migrate there?
Erm , i actually am studying now , will be graduating about 2 years from now , but i scare if i were to go there after my studies not sure its advisable or not rclxub.gif
GucciFendiPrada
post Nov 25 2013, 09:37 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(wanisika @ Nov 25 2013, 11:40 AM)

Everything is possible as long as you believe you can do it! ^__^
Here is the precious information from maxmillion for your kind references:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2013104/+2360

You can check this thread for more information about working in Australia.
But, you need to make sure if it's suitable place for you before you migrate.
Hope this thread helps you to get more insights~ ^^
Thanks alot for the encouragement , just what I needed more information , before i make any decision , you are very helpful smile.gif
Azurika
post Nov 26 2013, 08:19 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(GucciFendiPrada @ Nov 24 2013, 11:49 PM)
Hi , guys , im just wondering if , after my college life , whether i to be migrate to Aussie to work by leaving friends and family here , will it be a good choice or not ?

Will working at aussie better than malaysia ? Eventho i know first few year in Aussie will be more difficult , without any one support , do u think i can make it ?
Anyone ? Mind to share your experience ?  smile.gif
whats your game plan ? Getting a job over in aussie aint easy. I have many friends who studies abroad hoping to land a job after college/uni, most of them failed.

QUOTE(GucciFendiPrada @ Nov 25 2013, 09:30 PM)
Ya i know i heard getting visa and evrything is actually quite troublesome , but thats not my main point i am currently studying acc & finance shoould be graduating by 2 years from now , was hoping if i were to Aussie maybe i might have better chance of getting better job and lifestyle . My parents can finance me not much , most prob gotta survive on my own if i go there . Wasnt sure whether is the right choice to make  rclxub.gif
If your parents cant finance you, I hope you have good grades and outgoing achievements to get a scholarship there. As I know, is more expensive to study in Aus then in UK.

QUOTE(GucciFendiPrada @ Nov 25 2013, 09:34 PM)
Erm , i actually am studying now , will be graduating about 2 years from now , but i scare if i were to go there after my studies not sure its advisable or not  rclxub.gif
Your best bet is to study in Aus, get an internship there. By finishing your studies here, seriously good luck to you to try and apply over in Aus as a fresh grad. There are thoudsands like you in the market, only the strongest/fastest survive.

maxmillion
post Nov 26 2013, 10:24 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(GucciFendiPrada @ Nov 24 2013, 11:49 PM)

Anyone ? Mind to share your experience ?  smile.gif
Just picked up on this thread. You are asking many questions without giving us many parameters to work with so my answers will be highly generalised.

leaving friends and family here , will it be a good choice or not ?
So there is a question of trade off here I can only answer partially. You value your family and friends at x, while on the other side, you would be giving up x for the following things in Australia
- "Higher Pay". So net wealth, after converting to MYR. On a net basis, you will be wealthier overall working here.
- Cleaner Air
- Western Work Lifestyle: 9-5 hours generally (depends on industry), and less of a command and control type management
- Overseas experience: broaden your views and experience

These things have individuals values unique to you which sum to y.

Will working at aussie better than malaysia
You need to help me out by defining better

wise advice for me ?
Finish study in Malaysia --> get graduate job in Australia. This route is basically impossible. I'm going to assume the reason for this is obvious.

Study in Malaysia --> Transfer/Study in Australia --> get graduate job in Australia. Doable but you have two constraints (one is likely insurmountable)

1.) Do you have enough money to go to Australia to study
2.) When you graduate, will you get a VISA to work in Australia? I don't know. But you can look here https://www.acacia-au.com/Getting_your_PR_2013_part_one.php. All I will say is that the accounting/finance field is exceptionally competitive in Australia at the graduate level (even for locals). I know of only 1 Malaysian ever getting a job here in that field after studying. 1 out of 200+ I became friends with while studying.

Study in Malaysia --> Work at MNC --> Transfer to Australia

This is basically from what I can see your best bet. That or marry an Australian girl.

Perhaps the best litmus test you can perform is by asking yourself, how am I different from all the other Malaysians out there in my peer group? If the answer is, you're not, then you're just counting on luck...But if you can honestly say to yourself, that you are more open, more extroverted, different in some way that can help you stand out in a positive way in Australia (or even Malaysia), then I would say go for it.

Obviously posting this question on this forum and thinking it is possible to go already differentiates you from a lot of others.

Best of luck to you.

This post has been edited by maxmillion: Nov 26 2013, 10:30 AM
OhNooy
post Nov 26 2013, 10:38 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(maxmillion @ Nov 26 2013, 10:24 AM)
Study in Malaysia --> Work at MNC --> Transfer to Australia

This is much more likely, I was in this path before.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0244sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:46 AM