28 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

[Review] Roccat Kave - Updated 8:55PM 27/Oct/2010, real 5.1 surround sound headset

nemesis94
post Jun 10 2010, 10:26 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jun 10 2010, 08:26 PM)
Set it to 5.1 and see if it works wink.gif. By the way Green is for front, while the black is the sub and orange the rear speakers if I'm not mistaken.
Is the setup for 5.1 like this?

control panel>>hardware and sound>>sound>>playback>>speaker>>configure>>5.1 surround
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 10 2010, 10:55 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Yep nod.gif.
GundamManiac
post Jun 11 2010, 07:59 AM

137 posts

Does it work now?

Added on June 11, 2010, 8:01 amAnd for the record:

Green = Front Left and right
Black = Rear left and right
Orange = Center and sub

This post has been edited by GundamManiac: Jun 11 2010, 08:01 AM
nemesis94
post Jun 11 2010, 08:56 AM

446 posts

No, it didn't work. When i unplug the green jack, no sound is produced. Is that mean it still in 2.1 mode?

Luckily it still produces sound, i can burn in the kave while trying to configure it. tongue.gif

Is there any setting i didn't change yet? Actually i bought 5.1 speaker abt 2 weeks ago, and still can't put it to 5.1. Really don't know how to set sound system in pc lol rclxub.gif
GundamManiac
post Jun 11 2010, 03:45 PM

137 posts

Ok, your Windows has been configured to 5.1

Your speakers are 5.1

Now it is the source that you need to check.

Forget about the Kave for the moment. It's easier to check with your 5.1 speakers.

Just play a game with 5.1 surround sound and see whether your rear channels got sound or not. If you want to try movies, make sure you use a player that can output 5.1, like KM Player or VLC.
nemesis94
post Jun 11 2010, 10:08 PM

446 posts

I just tried using the demo in the kave cd, and everything is perfect! Vibrations are there, and so does the 5.1 system. It seems like my music are the problems, lol.

Thanks for the help. Really appreciated it.

Btw, do you have any sample music that has 5.1 surround sound? I didn't feel any vibrations when playing music. Thanks.
genjo
post Jun 12 2010, 12:07 AM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

Could it be the player u are using?
nemesis94
post Jun 12 2010, 12:32 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Jun 12 2010, 12:07 AM)
Could it be the player u are using?
I'm using foobar2000 when playing music, and vlc player for movies.
chancsy
post Jun 12 2010, 12:34 AM

25 posts

Got my KAVE a few days ago, wanna share my experience tweaking it with my X-Fi Titanium PCI soundcard, hopes it helps some ppl on the hisisng sound.

My X-Fi has a FlexiJack connected (Black coloured) which could be set to become either as a Line-In or Microphone. When I set it to Microphone mode, I could start hearing the hissing, even with the Mic turned off (pressing the Mute Mic button at the KAVE desktop controller). Set to Line-In and the hissing is gone! laugh.gif But the hissing will come back when I needed to use the Mic. doh.gif

Some of you if you could hear the surrounding sound after the Mic is turned on, that's probably because your default playback devices is set to output what the Microphone has taken in.
Disable it via Sounds -> Playback -> Speakers -> Properties -> Levels, mute the Mic. That should stop the sound of the Microphone.

Yes normal music only have 2 channels (stereo) output, if using KAVE you'll only hear the sound from the two Front speakers. Unless you use your sound card/playback software to make it to a 5.1 output.

So far, had no problem with the bass/vibration unit, sounds getting better after 3 days burn in with Subwoofer volume turned off (scare the vibration unit cannot tahan overnight burn in rclxub.gif )

But the greatest downside for me is still the weight! Having headache after 1hr+ of using.. icon_question.gif I think the 3 cushions on the head are too thin and hard..for me only the middle one touch my head (yes I did tried to put the head band a little bit forward but it's still the same! Maybe my head is too sharp!?)

Please correct me if I said anything stupid~ tongue.gif
GundamManiac
post Jun 12 2010, 05:22 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Jun 11 2010, 10:08 PM)
I just tried using the demo in the kave cd, and everything is perfect! Vibrations are there, and so does the 5.1 system. It seems like my music are the problems, lol.

Thanks for the help. Really appreciated it.

Btw, do you have any sample music that has 5.1 surround sound? I didn't feel any vibrations when playing music. Thanks.
Normally you don't get any vibrations from music, unless you turn it up really loud, or has the ability to tune your equalizer. My suggestions to you is to get a cheap but reasonable sound card like the Creative. Your experience will be a ten times better, I promise you that.

As for 5.1 music, I think I actually have one CD encoded in DTS (note I said CD, and not DVD). I didn't really bother listening to it after buying it during the AV show. I do that some times. Ok, all the times. However, the best way to test surround music is through concert. Try out David Foster and Friends' Hit Man. Get the blu-ray if you have the player. Your next best concert would be Celine Dion's Live In Vegas, followed very closely by Michael Jackson's This Is It. But for surround effect, I would go with MJ first.

By the way, if you do want to try playing surround music (CD), I can pass my CD to you. If I can find it. I have no idea where it is. Alternatively, you can look for one of these CD in any Victoria Music stores. They sell them. My advise? Wait for the AV Show this 23 - 25 July. And AV stands for Audio Visual, not Adult Video in case you want to be funny.

Added on June 12, 2010, 5:24 pm
QUOTE(chancsy @ Jun 12 2010, 12:34 AM)
Got my KAVE a few days ago, wanna share my experience tweaking it with my X-Fi Titanium PCI soundcard, hopes it helps some ppl on the hisisng sound.

My X-Fi has a FlexiJack connected (Black coloured) which could be set to become either as a Line-In or Microphone. When I set it to Microphone mode, I could start hearing the hissing, even with the Mic turned off (pressing the Mute Mic button at the KAVE desktop controller). Set to Line-In and the hissing is gone!  laugh.gif  But the hissing will come back when I needed to use the Mic.  doh.gif

Some of you if you could hear the surrounding sound after the Mic is turned on, that's probably because your default playback devices is set to output what the Microphone has taken in.
Disable it via Sounds -> Playback -> Speakers -> Properties -> Levels, mute the Mic. That should stop the sound of the Microphone.

Yes normal music only have 2 channels (stereo) output, if using KAVE you'll only hear the sound from the two Front speakers. Unless you use your sound card/playback software to make it to a 5.1 output.

So far, had no problem with the bass/vibration unit, sounds getting better after 3 days burn in with Subwoofer volume turned off (scare the vibration unit cannot tahan overnight burn in  rclxub.gif )

But the greatest downside for me is still the weight! Having headache after 1hr+ of using.. icon_question.gif  I think the 3 cushions on the head are too thin and hard..for me only the middle one touch my head (yes I did tried to put the head band a little bit forward but it's still the same! Maybe my head is too sharp!?)

Please correct me if I said anything stupid~ tongue.gif
Suppose you will get used to the weight. It was heavy for me in the beginning too, gets a headache after an hour. Now I can play with that thing on for 3 hours without having to take it off at all. But I believe the problem is not to shift the headphone forward, but to loosen it up a bit. You won't be dancing around with that thing, so don't worry that it will drop off your head.

This post has been edited by GundamManiac: Jun 12 2010, 05:24 PM
chancsy
post Jun 12 2010, 09:10 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(GundamManiac @ Jun 12 2010, 05:22 PM)
Suppose you will get used to the weight. It was heavy for me in the beginning too, gets a headache after an hour. Now I can play with that thing on for 3 hours without having to take it off at all. But I believe the problem is not to shift the headphone forward, but to loosen it up a bit. You won't be dancing around with that thing, so don't worry that it will drop off your head.]
I'm current using the 6th step for the length of the headband, putting it to five makes the earcups squeezing my head so hard(headache comes faster) and putting it to seven makes the headphone's weight focus on the my head through 2 of the cushions only since the earcups no more holding as tightly as step 6..but haven try one side 6 one side 7..lol doh.gif

This post has been edited by chancsy: Jun 12 2010, 09:23 PM
GundamManiac
post Jun 14 2010, 12:00 PM

137 posts

Lately I am getting some headaches with the headphone too. Or with any headphones for that matter.

I want to feel the vibrations of the Kave, but I always try to keep the volume as low as possible, and now it is at 18% (Windows) so I barely feel the vibration, especially after I got used to it shaking my face.

Added on June 17, 2010, 11:24 amHmmm, post dead again.

Defibrilator! We need a crash cart in here!

This post has been edited by GundamManiac: Jun 17 2010, 11:24 AM
Ares`Vista
post Jun 20 2010, 12:30 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Jun 10 2010, 10:26 PM)
Is the setup for 5.1 like this?

control panel>>hardware and sound>>sound>>playback>>speaker>>configure>>5.1 surround
hi,why my sub no sound rclxub.gif
GundamManiac
post Jun 22 2010, 12:05 PM

137 posts

What do you mean by 'sub' ?
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 26 2010, 10:20 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

4 Strings - Catch A Fall

4 Strings - Catch A fall by Armin Van Buuren. Cool song wink.gif. Make sure to turn the bass up and the volume as well.

DJ Ton TB - Dream Machine ( First State Remix )

My other favorite, remember to turn the bass and volume up or it won't sound good.
gestapo
post Jun 28 2010, 01:58 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

guys the mic, if its on the light is on or the other way around?

btw hello all, just got my kave from a forumer here. + X-Fi platinum
nazeeman
post Jun 29 2010, 04:24 PM

huh?
1,061 posts

QUOTE(gestapo @ Jun 28 2010, 01:58 PM)
guys the mic, if its on the light is on or the other way around?

btw hello all, just got my kave from a forumer here. + X-Fi platinum
i guess if the light on..then the mic is on mute icon_rolleyes.gif
hikari85
post Jul 1 2010, 09:04 PM

GTech Solutions
1,869 posts

Tumpang Thread smile.gif

got problem with Kova,

The problem is as per below:
1) Light effect & color always turn to default whenever i turn on the PC,tht's means i had to switch my favorite light effect & color every time i on my PC
2) Sometimes i need to plug out n plug in again else the mouse won't work at all
3)The mouse cause my windows startup longer then usual, this problem does not occur when i use my previous mouse ,Logitech G9 and i'm using it right now and there is no such problem after i switch it from Roccat Kova

anyone face this problem before?

gestapo
post Jul 7 2010, 02:17 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

QUOTE(nazeeman @ Jun 29 2010, 04:24 PM)
i guess if the light on..then the mic is on mute  icon_rolleyes.gif
tq amuk, i tot something was wrong. they better make it the other way around smile.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 17 2010, 06:47 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jun 26 2010, 10:20 PM)
4 Strings - Catch A Fall

4 Strings - Catch A fall by Armin Van Buuren. Cool song wink.gif. Make sure to turn the bass up and the volume as well.

DJ Ton TB - Dream Machine ( First State Remix )

My other favorite, remember to turn the bass and volume up or it won't sound good.
More songs biggrin.gif.

Elements of Life - DJ Tiesto

And

Imagine - Armin Van Buuren

Above in the quote is the two previous song I have uploaded.

28 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:57 AM