[Review] Roccat Kave - Updated 8:55PM 27/Oct/2010, real 5.1 surround sound headset

GundamManiac
post Apr 19 2010, 05:36 PM

137 posts

Hi all,

New Roccat-eer here. I just wanna share my experience with everyone. And maybe get some advice.

I bought the Roccat Kave the day after I read the review on The Star In-Tech. I didn't even know the brand existed before that, cause I don't read HWM and have never seen it on sale in Low Yat. Maybe I didn't look hard enough cause I am not big into gaming. I just play L4D2 and not even very good at it. I just play for the fun and laughter of spitting at Survivors.

Anyway, what attracted me to the Kave is that it has real 5.1 surround with actual speakers inside, and not just virtual surround (which although impressive, just isn't the same thing). As you might have guessed, I am heavy into surround sound. My home theater is all 7.1 Blu-ray lossless and all that, but lately I have been getting complains, and my work brings me home late at night so I can't really enjoy movies at louder settings. So I have been searching for a good surround headphone and the Kave was just what the doctor ordered, with multiple speakers and 3 x 3.5mm stereo inputs.

However, my experience with the Kave was not all sunshine and lollipops. When I first unboxed and plugged it in, I got a very loud static from the USB. This I connected to my PC. I tried connecting it to my amplifier, same thing. I connected it to my PS3, same thing. Not knowing what else I could do, I called the distributor (not the shop where I bought it from) and they adviced me (a day later) to bring it back to the shop for testing and maybe replacement. I did. I knew the shop very well by the way. The interesting thing was, when we tested it there, the static was not present. It was dead silent. Frustrated, I whipped out my laptop (which I had forgotten to test at home), and not only were there no static, it even sounded good. I brought the Kave back home and plugged it into my PC again, and this time around, no static! It's been over a week and the static issue has not re-surfaced. I hope it won't, ever again.

Then another issue arises. I read the reviews from a lot of sites, local and international, and almost all commended the Kave. I believe in them, that's why I bought it. Unfortunately, I can't quite get the Kave to work for me as I wanted it to. The sound was somehow not there. I mean, I am not comparing this to an Audio Technica or Sennheiser or AKG or Denon or Shure, but it just didn't convince me that this is what the reviewers heard. I mean, I didn't even get any vibrations. I was about to return the headphone to exchange with the Logitech G35.

Before I decided to do that, I thought maybe I should call up the distributor again. This time, I spoke to a product specialist, who discussed with me in great details on how to get the best out of the headphone, listened intently on my concerns and tried his best to help me with any advices that he could give. And after that, he even sent me an e-mail chronicling our conversation. I am more than impressed. At that point, I decided regardless of whether I can get the headphone to work or not, I am not returning it, just to show my support and appreciation for this kind of rare after-sales service.

But like I said, I wasn't expecting the Kave to sound like an AKG. I only wanted to hear what the reviewers heard. So I began to suspect my sound card settings (which worked for my Logitech Z5500), may not work this headphone. Ok, I knew it won't work (after all, I am not THAT noob) but no matter how much I tinker with the settings, I didn't get THAT sound. After reading through this thread, I realized something. I am using the Creative X-Fi ExtremeMusic sound card, 5-years old and discontinued. It was introduced even before Vista. And when I migrated to Vista, I only installed the driver and has been configuring the sound card from only the driver itself. So when I saw the screenshot of the Creative Launcher, I knew I have found the solution. Downloaded it, installed it, and from the various posts in this thread, I finally hear THAT sound.

The treble is clear and crisp even at higher volume. The mid-range is nothing to shout about, but not bad either. The surround, although not as pronounced as the Logitech Z5500, but that is to be expected. Still, I could pinpoint to the bulleyes where zombies are coming from. The vibration is kinda nifty, but very selective. L4D2 didn't seem to have it (although a teammate from Singapore told me that his similarly priced SkullCandy emits vibration from L4D2). No matter. Music and movies are properly configured now, but I only got the game settings in late last night. I was having trouble with the equalizer because the gunshots were either too sharp, or I couldn't hear the Special Infected. It's good now. Although, if anyone has some good settings, I'd welcome the advice.

And the headphone is LOUD! I often use it as a speaker! This is because I only have one soundcard and I need to pull out and plug in every time I want to switch between speakers and headphone. Actually, I do have an on-board Realtek soundcard but I really don't like the sound of it compared to the Creative. Maybe I am missing some calibration software again. I am not sure. So my problem now is, I need to be able to switch between the speakers and the headphone on the fly. I bought some splitters, but they were too big and they cannot fit side by side on the soundcard. So I bought extender cables for the splitters, and you know what I got after splitting the output? Mono sound. I have no idea why this is so. The splitters I bought were supposed to be stereo splitters, unless I was duped. So as of now, the Kave is connected to the X-Fi while the Z5500 is connected to the Realtek. Any advices?

On a related note, I am also looking into audiophile music playback on the PC, so maybe getting the Asus Xonar Prestige will solve my problem. Wonder if it will be as good for movies as it is for music. But then again, I will need to get another headphone for music. Maybe the Audio Technica M30 (I can't afford the jump to M50 and I owned the M30 before and I liked it).

It's a bit confusing right now with all the cables and multiple set-ups. Any advices you guys can give me will be very much appreciated. If not, I'll just keep testing out components by components. Thanks for reading by the way. It's a long post.

This post has been edited by GundamManiac: Apr 19 2010, 05:40 PM
GundamManiac
post Apr 19 2010, 05:52 PM

137 posts

Nope, I have not burn-in my Kave yet, but the sound actually sounds better as every day goes by.

It's a nice setup, but unfortunately my Z5500 is also a 5.1 speaker system, so it won't exactly work for me if I want the option to go 5.1 on both my headphone and my speakers. Thanks for the advice though!
GundamManiac
post Apr 20 2010, 11:39 AM

137 posts

Sorry, not the Asus Xonar Prestige, but the Asus Xonar Essence ST. I have no idea why I said Prestige.
GundamManiac
post Apr 20 2010, 04:10 PM

137 posts

Oh. That can work.

I am not very sure about AudioTrak. Is it good? How much is it?

I like the Essence is because I am looking for good, 'almost' audiophile-grade music.
GundamManiac
post Apr 20 2010, 04:48 PM

137 posts

Running on Windows Vista.
GundamManiac
post Apr 20 2010, 05:51 PM

137 posts

Very very interesting.

So now AudioTrak 7.1 HiFi vs. Asus Xonar Essence ST.

Maybe I should open a new thread. Out of topic edy. laugh.gif
GundamManiac
post May 4 2010, 03:05 PM

137 posts

Thanks for the feedback, guys. And sorry I have been gone for some time. Was busy fiddling with my new HTC Legend Android phone.

Ok, vibration got. After I downloaded the software for X-Fi and set the Bass Cross-over Frequency to 120Hz and Boost the Bass to +12dB (as instructed in earlier posts), the vibration is there, but if you turn it up to an uncomfortable level, the vibration will shake your head! But only for movie and music. Gaming don't have.

I did not get the Kave to work for the PS3. I connected it to the PS3's USB for power only. The audio I got it from my AV Receiver via headphone out. PS3 connected to AV Receiver via HDMI.

And by the way, I have already set my mind on Asus Xonar Essence ST. Anyone knows where I can get it cheap cheap?

This post has been edited by GundamManiac: May 4 2010, 03:06 PM
GundamManiac
post May 6 2010, 10:02 AM

137 posts

I've tried to get the G35 for a comparison but can't find anywhere or anyone kind enough to give me a demo.

The name of the software is Creative Launcher. Only works if you are using a Creative X-Fi Series sound card.

I actually prefer the PCI version, but if no more stock, then no choice lor. The PCI-E X1 slot in my PC is quite obscurely placed, so that's why I don't want to use it.

As for external sound card... I think this one will suit your needs, if you can find it: http://asia.creative.com/products/product....9&product=16642
GundamManiac
post May 6 2010, 04:39 PM

137 posts

That's what I am hoping too, cause I have a spare PCI-E x4 slot that is in a much better place.

I am getting the sound card tonight. Wanted to wait for the KL International AV Show this end of July (Audio Visual, not Adult Video), but I can't wait that long. The in-built sound card on my motherboard really sucks donkey buttocks. I can't stand it anymore.

Also, going to get Audio Technica ATH-M30 along with it. I know it's not the best cans to get, but that's the only one decent enough that I can afford right now.

Maybe during the AV show I will look see look see if there are any good ones at cheap cheap prices.
GundamManiac
post May 10 2010, 04:12 PM

137 posts

Not to be blunt, but it does.

I just bought it last week and the only thing I can say is: I endorse it.

I don't just recommend it, I endorse it. This is the first product that I endorse, although I am no celebrity.

I will probably write a separate review for this product, but it's pretty pointless, since there are so many professional reviews out there. Suffice to say that I have never heard music in such a state before. I have heard music that almost seem physical, like you can reach out and touch it, but this is actually the first time I have heard music with emotions, music that will stop you dead in your tracks, make you drop whatever you are doing, and draws you into the emotion of the song itself. It wasn't just like the singer is standing there in front of you, but it was like the singer's presence, his spirit is there with you, and you can hear every single change in his/her tone of voice, what he/she feels when each and every single word is sung. This card is not just a beauty, it is heavenly.

But like I said, that should be on a separate review. This thread is about Roccat Kave, and about surround sound for gaming. How does this card fare? Incredible.

The sound card has a game mode that can utilizes Dolby Headphone to create a sense of surround sound with a normal stereo headphone. In this case, I am using the Audio Technica ATH-M30. The effects? Stunning. Positioning were good, and the fidelity of the sound are the most accurate I have ever heard from a computer sound card.

HOWEVER. A virtual surround is STILL a virtual surround. When compared to the Roccat Kave on a Creative X-Fi sound card, I have to say the Kave and X-Fi combo has a more accurate surround effect (of course). Thanks to the multiple speakers inside the Kave and the triple stereo outputs of the X-Fi, surround effects has more accuracy. But you know what? After installing the Xonar, the X-Fi actually sounds better! Probably because the new hardware installation 're-booted' all sound settings to default, and this time, with the proper tweaking, the Kave sounded even better than before. The highs are not ear-piercing, and the lows are boomy. Best of all, the Kave is shaking my face even in games now! I mentioned before, while playing L4D2, the Kave does not vibrate. This time, not only it does, it does so incredibly! Every explosion, every melee hit to the head, every Boomer exploding, man it was awesome! For those of you who are using X-Fi and unsure of the settings to put, I have included them in the screenshot below.

So now I have 2 sound systems, and 3 sound cards in my PC. The integrated sound card in the motherboard does not fit my description of a sound system. The Xonar + Audio Technica works for music and movies and occasional gaming (it should also be noted that the Xonar bitstreams DTS and Dolby Digital to my Logitech Z5500 via an optical out, and damn do they sound amazing). The X-Fi + Kave combo are used only for gaming, and it gets so fun I just can't stop!

My next experiment is to connect the Kave to Xonar. Now this will only produce stereo sound, but I want to know how the Kave fares in terms of music production. I do not think it can beat the Audio Technica ATH-M30, but no harm giving it a try.

GundamManiac
post May 10 2010, 05:06 PM

137 posts

Yes and yes.

The X-Fi External is your only option for surround sound gaming on notebooks. At that price? BUY IT!!!!
GundamManiac
post May 10 2010, 05:17 PM

137 posts

I have never personally use that sound card before, but if I know Creative, and I think I do, your music will improve over your mobo integrated sound card. Unless your integrated sound card is built by Asus, then I don't dare say lor.
GundamManiac
post May 14 2010, 02:10 AM

137 posts

Wait, this may be a stupid question, but have you tried turning up the Bass knob on your Creative Launcher, AND on your Kave remote?
GundamManiac
post May 17 2010, 04:39 PM

137 posts

Don't quote me on this, but I believe the unit is not broken.

As long as you can feel some shaking, it means it is working.

I used to have that same problem. I believe it is a setting problem. Keep looking for anything with Bass setting.

If you guys notice his screenshot, his Creative Launcher does NOT have the Bass and Treble knob. Tried changing the bass setting in your Control Panel?

I am determined to help you get it shaking, cause it's really fun when you are playing a game and it starts shaking.
GundamManiac
post May 18 2010, 12:36 AM

137 posts

Different breeds lah bro.

Those of us who really demands something out of our equipments just cannot live with integrated sound cards. Mine is really bad when compared to the X-Fi and the Xonar Essence.

It's like you have a RM 10K speakers and then you connect it direct to a DVD player without going through an amp. Where got sound?

But 40% is quite loud. I can't make it past 30%. Too loud. Don't want to go deaf. Try to play L4D2 with it if you have it. Damn fun when the Tank is chasing you and the headphone is vibrating to the stomps. Or when you blast the head off a zombie with a shotgun. Or when you charge a guy into a wall. Just awesome.

But I gotta say, if it wasn't for the product specialist from Roccat distributor in Malaysia that I called, I would have probably returned the headphone before it realized its full potential. So thank him too. I am sure he is reading this. tongue.gif
GundamManiac
post May 19 2010, 12:49 AM

137 posts

One of the higher-end from Creative. Made for gaming. Good price.

I bought the XtremeMusic at RM 400 back in 2005 when it first came out.

But now, I am liking my Asus Xonar Essence.

Almost want to say Creative s#@ks, but I am sure I will get bombarded with hate mails. tongue.gif

Creative is good for gaming, but if you want an all-rounder, consider the Asus line of sound cards.

I am surprised at how well the Essence performs in gaming. Creative still wins hands-down, but if you are not a hardcore gamer, then the Essence is good enough for gaming, and ultimate in music. lust.gif
GundamManiac
post May 19 2010, 10:30 AM

137 posts

Dude, that was in my screenshot that I posted some time back.

You didn't see?
GundamManiac
post May 19 2010, 02:38 PM

137 posts

Oh, you meant the EQ on the Kave.

I meant the EQ on the Creative Launcher.
GundamManiac
post May 19 2010, 02:52 PM

137 posts

Errr... isn't the reason why you want a gaming sound card is to process the sound produce? The EQ for Creative Launcher is one of the things that you must configure, otherwise, you will not be able to bring out the best of the sound.

Gaming sound and movie sound requires processing. They are digital.

On the other hand, if you are talking about music, then you DO NOT want to process the sound. If that is the case, Creative sound cards not NOT the ones you should be choosing.

Asus Xonar Essence!!!

Asus should give me money for promoting their products so much! nod.gif
GundamManiac
post May 19 2010, 04:46 PM

137 posts

No, not external. Internal PCI-E.

Bought it at RM 530. Coupled it with Audio Technica ATH-M30. Still have yet to try the Kave with it.

0.0222sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:13 AM